Used XC70 for sale
List Price Estimate:$5,367 - $9,159
See All Cars For Sale
cash graphic with confetti

Get More For Your Trade-In

2011 Volvo XC70 appraisal values can range from $3,297 - $7,676.
Find out what your car is really worth in minutes.
See your car's value

Edmunds' Expert Review

  • Wonderfully supportive seats
  • ample cargo capacity
  • plentiful safety features
  • available integrated rear booster seats.
  • Lackluster base engine
  • subpar fuel economy with turbo engine
  • dull handling
  • unintuitive navigation system.

We generally prefer wagons to SUVs due to their superior fuel economy and handling, but the 2011 Volvo XC70 doesn't offer any such advantages when lined up against more modern and efficient crossovers.

Vehicle overview

Introduced more than a decade ago, the Volvo XC ("Cross Country") is essentially a Volvo V70 wagon with increased ground clearance, all-wheel drive and rugged SUV-like styling cues. In its younger days, the Volvo XC was a viable alternative for folks who wanted the foul-weather ability, cargo capacity and look of an SUV without the attendant hard-to-park exterior size, sloppy handling and appetite for fuel. These days, the 2011 Volvo XC70 will have a harder time winning over shoppers.

The XC70 hasn't changed much through the years, but even so, there's a lot to like about it. It offers 8.3 inches of ground clearance, more than the Audi Q5 and Mercedes GLK crossovers, and it's available with a turbocharged, 300-horsepower inline-6. The latter, seen in the T6 trim level, gives the XC70 some welcome pep.

Cargo capacity is pretty impressive, and its total capacity of 72 cubic feet is about 11-15 cubes larger than a typical compact luxury crossover. And of course, safety is paramount when you're talking about a Volvo. Though no government or independent crash tests have been conducted as of this writing, the XC70 offers a wide variety of safety features, ranging from the practical (integrated rear booster seats) to the paranoid (a keyless entry system that alerts you to the heartbeats of potential attackers lurking in your backseat) and the preoccupied (driver inattention alert system).

With its combination of safety and style, not to mention available all-wheel drive and spirited turbocharged engine, the 2011 Volvo XC70 is very appealing, especially considering significant price reductions this year. But with a number of compact luxury crossovers (Audi Q5, Mercedes GLK, Volvo's own XC60), full-size family crossovers (Buick Enclave, Mazda CX-9) and wagons (Ford Flex, Subaru Outback) offering equal or greater capability often for less money, the Volvo XC70 is a harder sell than it was at the turn of the century.

2011 Volvo XC70 models

The 2011 Volvo XC70 is a five-passenger wagon available in 3.2 FWD and T6 AWD trim levels.

Standard equipment on the 3.2 includes 16-inch alloy wheels, front and rear foglights, heated mirrors, cruise control, dual-zone automatic climate control, a 40/20/40-split rear seat, an eight-way power driver seat with memory functions, a tilt-and-telescoping steering wheel, neoprene-like "Tricotec" upholstery, an auto-dimming rearview mirror, Bluetooth and an eight-speaker sound system with a CD player, satellite radio, auxiliary audio jack and an iPod/USB audio interface. The Premium package adds a sunroof, leather upholstery, an eight-way power passenger seat and wood trim. Seventeen-inch alloy wheels are a stand-alone option.

The T6 AWD adds the content of the Premium package along with a turbocharged engine, all-wheel drive, 18-inch wheels and upgraded gauges.

For more equipment, you can select the Climate package that adds heated front seats, heated windshield-washer nozzles, automatic wipers and headlight washers. Heated rear seats are also included in this package unless the optional integrated booster seats are ordered. The Convenience package includes front and rear parking sensors, a power tailgate, rear privacy glass, power-folding rear headrests, a cargo cover and a trunk grocery bag holder. The Technology package ups the ante with adaptive cruise control, a collision warning system, a distance alert system, driver inattention alert system and a lane-departure warning system. The Multimedia package adds a navigation system, a rearview camera and a 12-speaker Dynaudio surround-sound stereo with rear seat headphone jacks and controls.

Stand-alone options include adaptive xenon headlights, integrated rear booster seats, a blind-spot warning system and keyless ignition/entry.

2011 Highlights

For 2011, the Volvo XC70 gets more horsepower, an available front-wheel-drive version and a minor shuffling of standard and optional features. Volvo also drops the XC70's price by several thousand dollars to make it more attractive against more modern and efficient crossover rivals.

Performance & mpg

Both front-wheel-drive and optional all-wheel-drive versions of the 2011 Volvo XC70 3.2 come with a 3.2-liter inline-6 that produces 240 hp and 236 pound-feet of torque.

Volvo claims the XC70 3.2 AWD will sprint to 60 mph in 8.4 seconds -- about the same as full-size crossover SUVs. The T6 AWD features a turbocharged 3.0-liter inline-6 that produces 300 hp and 325 lb-ft of torque.

The 3.2 FWD rates respectable fuel economy at 18 mpg city/25 mpg highway and 21 mpg combined. The AWD version rates 18/24/20. The T6 AWD earns disappointing figures of 17/22/19.

Safety

The 2011 Volvo XC70 comes standard with antilock disc brakes, hill descent control, stability control, front-seat side airbags, full-length side curtain airbags and anti-whiplash front head restraints. Integrated rear booster seats are optional on both models.

Additional available safety features include a blind-spot monitor and Volvo's Personal Car Communicator (offers keyless lock/entry/ignition). The Technology package adds adaptive cruise control, collision warning with "Auto Brake" (primes the brake system in anticipation of panic braking), a driver fatigue warning (monitors a variety of factors including the driver's face to determine whether he or she is dozing off) and lane-departure warning.

Driving

The 2011 Volvo XC70 has a smooth and refined ride befitting its premium status. It's not much fun, though, as its light steering, ample body roll and elevated center of gravity make it feel less nimble than past Volvo wagons. Nevertheless, the XC70 is markedly smaller than most crossover SUVs, so it feels more maneuverable in tight spots. Acceleration from the base six-cylinder engine is sluggish and rather coarse for a premium brand. The turbocharged power plant helps matters considerably, but carries with it a fuel economy penalty.

Interior

The available matte wood and leather trim really dresses up the XC70's otherwise austere cabin. In any form, though, the XC70's cabin is a showcase of modern Swedish style, with Volvo's trademark "floating" center stack panel and artfully designed controls. Sadly, the navigation system remains cumbersome because of an awkward interface that utilizes steering-wheel-mounted buttons and a handheld remote that duplicates those controls for the passenger.

The XC70's front seats are among the best in the business, achieving a rare combination of chiropractor-approved comfort and body-hugging support. The backseat is also comfortable, though perhaps a bit short on legroom. A 40/20/40-split-folding seatback enhances the XC70's versatility, as do the available integrated booster seats. With the seats folded flat, the XC70 can hold 72 cubic feet of cargo.


Consumer reviews

Read what other owners think about the Used 2011 Volvo XC70.

Trending topics in reviews

Most helpful consumer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Sleeper T6
neilxc70,06/29/2011
T6 4dr Wagon AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
A fine car. Comfy, functional, powerful, attractive, high quality, safe, and nearly a bargain compared with other "wagons". It replaced my wife's 1996 850 wagon- which I never liked-- and we bought it with European delivery for about $40k (with climate, convenience, incl taxes and license). We put about 3k mi on it in Europe and averaged, according to the display, 24.4 mi/gal. (But $140 fill ups are very painful). The mpg was a pleasant surprise considering the EPA rating (22 mpg hwy) and some of the reviews. Effortless cruising at 200 kph on the Autobahn. Overall, almost as impressive as my BMW 335i E92 but they're much different beasts.
5 out of 5 stars
I LOVE my T6!
lindsayg,05/06/2011
T6 4dr Wagon AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
Volvo has read my mind- all my "issues" with my 2008 standard XC70 have been completely corrected in the 2011 T6 model. It is absolutely worth the extra $ for the turbo version. I traded in my 2008 and a 2008 BMW M3 on this Volvo and I don't miss the BMW at all because the new Volvo is so much fun to drive. The best of both worlds. Way to go, Volvo!
4.63 out of 5 stars
Consider the T6 if you're looking for an XC70
abmwfan,12/19/2010
T6 4dr Wagon AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
I traded a 2009 XC70 3.2 AWD for a 2011 XC70 T6. The turbo engine significantly improves this vehicle: quieter, smoother, more than adequate acceleration and no noticeable reduction in mpg. The 3.2 is slow, buzzy/noisy and it gets lousy mpg (worst of all worlds). You're always aware of the engine working at the limits of its capacity to move this heavy vehicle. And, while the T6's base price is $6k higher, it comes standard with AWD and premium/leather package which are nearly always added to the 3.2, so the "base" sticker price of the T6 and 3.2 are essentially the same before other options. Why not get the bigger engine?
5 out of 5 stars
Why I just purchased a second 2011 XC70 T6
Robert Zamenhof,03/01/2016
T6 4dr Wagon AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
Overall this is a pretty good car. Having had only Volvo wagons since 1980, I have to say that this 2011 seems more solid and heavy (in a good way) than any of my previous models or later models I have driven as loaners. Generally reliability has been good--with a few exceptions: At 85,000 miles, the engine started to use a lot of oil. Volvo examined it and replaced the entire engine. They told me that it was a bad batch of piston rings that was responsible, so this wasn't really a "bad" feature of the car. Volvo has never been able to properly balance the wheels, so I have learned to live with a slight steering wheel vibration at around 60 mph. They said the rims were distorted and sent them for repair; but that didn't help. Tire Rack replaced all 4 tires TWICE, with no improvement. The design of the rims is such that mud stays put and makes the balance problem markedly worse. I have never been totally happy with the brakes, but a recent full brake replacement has fixed this problem. There is a really stupid feature of the software: when the fog lights are on, they go out when high beams are selected, but don't come back on when you return to low beams. Interestingly, the second identical model I just purchased doesn't do this! Finally, I am singularly unimpressed with the headlights, specially the high beams. I've replaced the low-beam bulbs with high intensity "silver tip" bulbs, but see hardly any difference. There are no high intensity replacements for the high-beam bulbs, so when I drive at night plplllI envy the bright headlights of much cheaper cars. LlLL2nd Review 9/1/16: L having now owned my 2nd 2011 XC70 T6 for about 6 months, I can add a little to this review. The 2nd XC70 seems just as well built as my first one. I do, however, miss the folding rear-view mirrors and the front seats don'r seem to be quite as comfortable; but since the car has less than 30,000 miles, it could just be a break-in phenomenon. The headlights are markedly superior to those on the first car (see above review), even with standard bulbs, and there are no problems with wheel balance or braking (see above review). The silly fog-light phenomenon I described for the first car is also absent. In summary, the 2nd car is just as good as the first, and just as robust and "heavy" in a good way. I'd like to replace the first car with another 2011 (it has 130,000 miles); but I don't think I could find a low-mileage 2011 again. Since the first review (see above), the first car has had the following major repairs (all covered by an extended warranty policy): New A/C compressor, new motor for driver's side mirror (motor failed).

More about the 2011 Volvo XC70

Used 2011 Volvo XC70 Overview

The Used 2011 Volvo XC70 is offered in the following submodels: XC70 Wagon. Available styles include 3.2 4dr Wagon (3.2L 6cyl 6A), and T6 4dr Wagon AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A). The Used 2011 Volvo XC70 comes with front wheel drive, and all wheel drive. Available transmissions include: 6-speed shiftable automatic. The Used 2011 Volvo XC70 comes with a 5 yr./ 50000 mi. basic warranty, a 5 yr./ unlimited mi. roadside warranty, and a 5 yr./ 50000 mi. powertrain warranty.

What's a good price on a Used 2011 Volvo XC70?

Shop with Edmunds for perks and special offers on used cars, trucks, and SUVs near Ashburn, VA. Doing so could save you hundreds or thousands of dollars. Edmunds also provides consumer-driven dealership sales and service reviews to help you make informed decisions about what cars to buy and where to buy them.

Which used 2011 Volvo XC70s are available in my area?

Shop Edmunds' car, SUV, and truck listings of over 6 million vehicles to find a cheap new, used, or certified pre-owned (CPO) 2011 Volvo XC70 for sale near. Simply research the type of car you're interested in and then select a used car from our massive database to find cheap prew-owned vehicles for sale near you. Once you have identified a used vehicle you're interested in, check the AutoCheck vehicle history reports, read dealer reviews, and find out what other owners paid for the Used 2011 Volvo XC70.

Can't find a used 2011 Volvo XC70s you want in your area? Consider a broader search.

Find a used Volvo XC70 for sale - 10 great deals out of 21 listings starting at $24,969.

Find a used Volvo for sale - 12 great deals out of 17 listings starting at $21,939.

Find a used certified pre-owned Volvo XC70 for sale - 9 great deals out of 19 listings starting at $17,976.

Find a used certified pre-owned Volvo for sale - 6 great deals out of 24 listings starting at $15,972.

Should I lease or buy a 2011 Volvo XC70?

Is it better to lease or buy a car? Ask most people and they'll probably tell you that car buying is the way to go. And from a financial perspective, it's true, provided you're willing to make higher monthly payments, pay off the loan in full and keep the car for a few years. Leasing, on the other hand, can be a less expensive option on a month-to-month basis. It's also good if you're someone who likes to drive a new car every three years or so.

Check out Volvo lease specials
Check out Volvo XC70 lease specials