Skip to main content

Used 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage Rockford Fosgate Edition Hatchback Review

Consumer reviews

Read what other owners think about the 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage Rockford Fosgate Edition Hatchback.

Most helpful consumer reviews

4 out of 5 stars
I'm hooked!
Ted,07/27/2016
Rockford Fosgate Edition 4dr Hatchback (1.2L 3cyl CVT)
My little white Mirage is very economical and pretty fun to drive. I can get 42-46 with mixed driving. It goes way down with a head wind, but I usually find a truck to draft when that happens. I go from 37 to 42 when I draft at about 65 mph. I would have gotten a 5 spd if one would have been available, but am glad I got the CVT. When you get used to it you can kind of make it 'shift' and … get your highway rpm's to about 2200 and save fuel. On hilly 2 lane roads I can get 48 mpg if I'm not in a hurry. I pop it in and out of neutral a lot. I also like the trans brake and really think it will save the brake pads. It has tire pressure monitors, hands free phone, high quality sound, auto, ac, PW,PB, alloy wheels and 100K warranty for $11,600 out the door! (Plus sales tax) I just went to Louisville a couple weeks ago (850 mile RT). It cost about $40 in fuel. My mileage check will be over $400! I did some drafting and didn't use the Cruise Control, but I'm a little OCD about my mileage now! Nearly the same mileage as a Prius and 1/2 the initial cost! My 'normal' commute is 160 miles RT. I used to need 11 gallons every other day in my Century, now its about 7.5! I had to fix a flat today, I was pleasantly surprised at the jacking points. The tire monitor probably save me a tire. My first couple miles is on gravel and I may not have noticed the rear tire was flat if not for the light. I'm hooked! Would recommend and re-purchase if a deer or other accident were to total it! I still like the Mirage and now have 35,000 miles on it. I recently put a little center console in it. It was on Amazon for about $50 and is a great addition. I just replaced the factory tires yesterday. To get the 165/65/14 tires would have been $85 per tire but getting 175/65/14 tires was only $55 each. So be sure to ask! I haven't had a single bad experience with my Mirage and would replace it with another if it were totaled. Update: Nothing new, I still like the car at 55,000 miles. I've had no problems to date. The tires I installed at 35000 miles are wearing better than the factory tires but initially caused by mpg's to drop to 38 for a couple thousand miles. They were not the 'low rolling resistance' type. I did a little bit of internet research and found this is normal. Due to the price difference the cheaper tires will still cost less per mile to run. I am still running the factory brakes and they have plenty of life left. I am very easy on brakes though. My 2000 Silverado 2500 with 150K has it's original brakes! The Bluetooth is great for listening to audio books on my commute and making hands free calls. I would still replace it with another and saw a grayish one at the dealership that looked sharp. I am kind of interested in the Kia hybrid though but do want to run the Mirage to 200K. Now I have 72000 on the egg and still think it’s great. Getting ready to put the second set of tires on it soon. There have been no problems and I don’t notice any loss of performance or efficiency. It’s still a keeper and I would definitely look at getting another one if I were to wreck this one. It’s still looks new though! I’m at 105K now and the car still performs as new. No issues at all, I haven’t done a thing to it except tires and oil changes. Still getting 40+ and still like it. I am very interested in seeing how long it lasts before it becomes unreliable. I’m still on factory brakes and battery also. Now at 123,000 (August 2019) and still runs great and gets 40+ mpg. I did put front brakes on and will soon get the cvt fluid changed. No other maintenance besides oil changes and tires. My price per mile for operating this car is very low! Hoping for another 125,000 miles out of it before I have to start car shopping again. February 2020 update: Now at 140k, nothing new to report. Still runs great and gets 42 mpg. Looks like a new car, tires wear evenly, no rattles or defects. I haven’t done the cvt fluid change yet but don’t notice any difference in shifting. I’m still a fan! August 2020, 155k. Still runs great. I did have the CVT fluid changed at the dealer and I replaced the belt myself. It had started squealing some. It’s quiet now and I probably could have tightened the old one had I known the car doesn’t have a spring loaded tensioner. But Rockauto has the belts plenty cheap. I got a new air filter and cabin air filter on the same order as well as new wiper blades. I will probably get new spark plugs installed before 200k. It looks like it’ll be a bit of a job so I’m not sure if I’ll do it or let a mechanic. It still runs and drives great and I usually get 42 mpg. Hopefully it’s only half done and it’ll go 300 k economically! August 2021, pushing 190k! Still running great, I did have the dealer replace the plugs, also had a wheel bearing replaced there. It really looks and runs like new! 42 mpg is still happening quite a bit. I think it’ll go another 100k easily! 200k now in February 2022, still going strong, fuel mileage is not quite as good, 40 rather than 42, maybe a tune up is in order. No rattles or other signs of it’s age or mileage, still happy and impressed.
4 out of 5 stars
This is a great extra car.
Jerry Smith,11/26/2015
Rockford Fosgate Edition 4dr Hatchback (1.2L 3cyl CVT)
This car is great basic transportation. After adjusting my driving habits from a 300 Hp ride to a 74 Hp economy car I have no complaints. All cars have different handling characteristics and should be driven accordingly. While this car is capable of doing just over 100mph I recommend keeping it under 75mph. I did add some spring stiffness blocks to the rear springs and handling improved … significantly. I do not know why the professional ratings are lower than consumers. They are either out of touch or do not have realistic expectations when it comes to basic transportation.

Edmunds Summary Review of the 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage Rockford Fosgate Edition Hatchback

Pros & Cons

  • Impressive fuel economy with CVT
  • low base price
  • long warranty.
  • Harsh ride
  • uncoordinated handling
  • sluggish acceleration
  • intrusive engine noise
  • low-quality interior materials.


Full Edmunds Review: 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage Hatchback

What’s new

For 2015, the Mitsubishi Mirage sees a handful of minor upgrades. Both trims now have a shorter radio antenna and added chrome interior accents, while the ES trim now features mirror-mounted turn signal repeaters and new upholstery.

Edmunds says

Although the 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage is affordable and fuel-efficient, other small cars offer vastly better performance, comfort and overall refinement.

Vehicle overview

The subcompact economy car segment, once comprising mostly rolling penalty boxes, has matured into one with a number of pleasant, inexpensive transportation choices. Sadly, the 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage, despite being one of the newest entries here, seems to be a holdout.

You won't immediately notice this just by looking at the specs. With an EPA-estimated 40 mpg when combined with the available continuously variable transmission (CVT) and an impressively low base price, this four-door Mitsubishi hatchback is certainly thrifty. Standard features on the base model are pretty good and even include automatic climate control and a USB/iPod hookup for the audio system, while the options roster includes a navigation system, a rearview camera and front and rear parking sensors. Adding more window sticker conviction is the generous warranty coverage.

Head out on a test-drive, however, and the bloom comes off the rose, quickly. Underway, you can't help but notice the wheezy acceleration, bumpy ride and unsettled handling. Furthermore, the cabin environment isn't especially pleasant. There's a lot of engine noise no matter how fast you're going, and most of the interior materials are low in quality even for this fairly thrifty segment.

For these reasons, we've given the Mirage an Edmunds "D" rating and strongly encourage shoppers to consider other choices in this price range. If affordability is top priority, the Chevy Spark actually has a lower starting price. It's also a more enjoyable car to drive, and its interior doesn't feel cheap. If you can spend a bit more, you'll find that cars like the 2015 Ford Fiesta, 2015 Honda Fit and Hyundai Accent offer quite a bit more room inside, better ride qualities and quicker acceleration. Sometimes retro has its appeal, but that's not the case with the 2015 Mirage.

2015 Mitsubishi Mirage models

The 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage is a small, four-door, five-passenger hatchback offered in two trim levels: DE and ES.

Standard features for the base DE trim include 14-inch steel wheels, a rear spoiler, keyless entry, full power accessories, automatic climate control, a tilt-only steering wheel, 60/40-split-folding rear seats and a four-speaker sound system with a CD player and USB and auxiliary audio inputs. Alloy wheels are a stand-alone option on the DE.

The ES adds those 14-inch alloys, along with keyless ignition and entry, foglights, cruise control, a height-adjustable driver seat, a leather-wrapped steering wheel (with audio controls) and shift knob, Bluetooth phone connectivity and metallic interior accents. The optional Navigation package adds a navigation system (imagine that!) and a rearview camera.

Available on both the DE and ES trims, the Park Assist package adds front and rear parking sensors. Other options include various chrome exterior accents, added interior lighting and utility items like cargo nets and mud flaps.

Performance & mpg

Powering the front-wheel-drive 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage is a 1.2-liter three-cylinder engine that produces 74 horsepower and 74 pound-feet of torque. Both trim levels give you the choice of a five-speed manual transmission or a CVT.

The EPA's estimated fuel economy for the Mirage with the five-speed manual is 37 mpg combined (34 city/42 highway). With the CVT, the estimates are even higher at 40 mpg combined (37/44), which is impressive for a non-hybrid vehicle.

In Edmunds performance testing, a Mirage with the CVT went from zero to 60 mph in 11.7 seconds, a slow time even for a subcompact car.

Safety

Standard safety features for the 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage include four-wheel antilock brakes (front discs, rear drums), front-seat side airbags, side curtain airbags, a driver knee airbag, and traction and stability control. Front and rear parking sensors are optional on both trim levels, while a rearview camera is optional only on the ES.

In Edmunds brake testing, the 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage came to a stop from 60 mph in 121 feet, an average distance for a car in this class.

In crash testing by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, the Mirage received the highest possible rating of "Good" in the moderate-overlap frontal-offset, side-impact and roof strength tests. The Mirage's seat/head restraint design was also rated "Good" for whiplash protection in rear impacts. In that agency's small-overlap frontal-offset test, however, the Mirage received the lowest score of "Poor." In government testing, the Mirage earned four-of-five possible stars for overall crash worthiness, with five stars in side-impact and four stars for rollover potential.

Driving

Thanks to a small turning circle and light-effort steering, the 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage is easy to maneuver in dense urban settings. On the highway, though, the little car becomes fidgety and demands more of the driver's attention. The Mirage rides harshly over bumpy pavement, and handling isn't what we'd call confident or secure. Rival subcompact cars far surpass the Mitsubishi in these areas.

Although the three-cylinder engine is certainly fuel-efficient, acceleration is quite slow and you'll need to plan well ahead for passing maneuvers on the highway. Even more annoying than the sluggish performance is the excessive noise from the engine compartment. Even at low speeds, the three-cylinder makes a considerable racket. The CVT often adds to the mayhem, as the slightest increase in accelerator pedal pressure results in a dramatic increase in engine rpm.

Interior

Don't expect anything fancy inside the 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage. Most surfaces are hard plastic and not particularly high in quality. On a positive note, all the essential controls are easily accessible and simple to use. The lack of a telescoping steering wheel might make it a little difficult for some drivers to get comfortable behind the wheel, but taller folks should find enough head- and legroom. On longer drives, the hard door armrests and the lack of a front center armrest reduce driver comfort.

In the rear, headroom and shoulder room are limited, and average-size adults will likely find the quarters cramped. In addition, the rear bench is quite flat, with minimal cushioning. With the rear seats in place, the Mirage offers a respectable 17.2 cubic feet of cargo space. With the seats folded down, capacity increases to 47 cubic feet: a good number for this class.

Edmunds Insurance Estimator

The Edmunds TCO® estimated monthly insurance payment for a 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage in Virginia is:

not available
Legal