Used 2000 Audi TT Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,096 - $2,376

Used TT for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

total quatro fun

gary m bouvier, 08/30/2015
quattro Turbo 2dr Coupe AWD
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have owned my tt for 15 years now and have just had my first bad experience with it. the repair shop charged me 400 bucks to replace an o2 sensor and it still ran like crap...they wanted another 700 to fix the problem...well...first of all this has been the best car ive ever owned, I normally do all my own work and have made some major upgrades such as brembo brakes and rotors, heavy duty torsion bars, larger turbo/ exhaust/ racing ignition..from audi..larger tires and rims but these were made when they needed replacement, except the turbo which I still have. I have driven this car from main to calif to florida to washington. fully loaded with my wife as copilot and were extremely comfortable. Even with the extra hp..about 300..I still get 34 mpg highway and have had fun with a few dodge challengers with their hemis. I'm due for some shocks and a timing belt and hoping I find a reasonable shop to do that. my only [non-permissible content removed] is with audi, the dash acted up almost as soon as I bought it and they replaced it, then about a year later it happened again and I had to pay the second time. well it screwed up again but I have never gotten it fixed, the temp gauge never says its warm and the gas gauge light comes on at 1/2 tank saying its empty. in 2001 they changed the analog part of the dash and from then on their hasn't been a problem. but audi never admitted their was a problem until 2010 and then you had to be the original owner of the vehicle to have it replaced, well I was exempt because I already had mine replaced..another scam. so I live with it and its really not that big a deal. the car has been used for everything from hauling construction material, groceries, cement, windows and doors, 2x4s. camping gear, moving. and my work car everyday. I love it and wish audi would make a motorcycle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Beautiful Car... But Lots of Problems

mgio, 03/30/2008
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

II've owned my TT for 8+ years and 115,000 miles. It's had it's share of problems and is not cheap to fix: dead water pump, broken steering rack, two broken ABS sensors, broken wheel bearing, dead ECU, misfiring cylinder, two broken instrument clusters, blown Bose speaker, etc. I still feel its one of the best looking cars on the road and it STILL turns heards today eight years later but it's dying at only 115,000 miles and I need to sell it and something at least a little bit reliable. There is nothing like this car out there anymore though. The new TTs just aren't the same.

Report Abuse

Audi TT problems (car is not a turbo)

kmiyara, 09/10/2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Within 5 months of purchasing this car I was left stranded on vacation. I was told the clutch was bad and I was not able to shift into any gear but 3rd. I had 2 clutches replaced and the transmission before it was finally repaired. In addition over the next 2 years the rear suspension was replaced, electronics for speedometer and the front windshield due to a stress crack. The low profile tires are terrible. Replaced a total of 8 tires before hitting 25000 miles. The wheels constantly get scratched since they protrude out from the tire. The area inside the gas cap gets plugged and when it rains the water is retained.

Report Abuse

nice, but needs fixin'

whippit, 10/25/2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

i bought this car as a certified pre- owned which included the extended warranty. good thing. the car has required regular car and attention and many parts have been replaced similar to the experience of other reviewers-- suspension, problems with alignment, etc. i have the same problem with the wheels and i am not convinced the wheels are ever balanced and aligned. the car is fun to drive, performs well on the road and is terrific for passing and moving up in the pack at high speed. shifting is tight and the clutch seems a bit "delicate" so shifting smoothly is not always easily.

Report Abuse

TT -- a Great Car that has Issues

Rick, 10/07/2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I had always wanted a TT. It's a beautiful, timeless, distinctive design. Have had many problems with this car so far. Replaced the clutch @ 44k and the water outlet (common problem), $2,500. Then we had window lift mechanism issues, ($1,000). The gas door switch broke ($125), headlight washer -- (the front bumper has to be removed $400). Problems with the back-up lights, etc. Have read other forums that the timing belt can break unexpectedly. Buy a used one if you know how to work on cars. Edmunds repair estimates need to be adjusted upwards. However, the TT handles great and gets good MPG -- important in LA. Presents itself well anywhere. Easy to get in and out of.

Report Abuse

Love It, Can't leave it.

2 Owner, 12/12/2008
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

The Audi TT MK1 was designed to remind us of the Auto Union cars. It was a pure form with Bauhaus influence being key to its creation. I didn't originally agree with the design of the interior, but now I find it to be of such a quality that it puts most other automotive interiors to shame. The car is holding up well appearence wise. I maintain the car myself and find it's upkeep to be easy. I don't trust another mechanic working on my car. I've driven over eighty thousand milesa in my TT and it continues to run without any major events. Changed the timing belt at 66,000 miles. I've replaced the alternator once, the starter three times, the water pump once and other things. I still love it.

Report Abuse

Still the one

starange, 04/28/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have been driving my TT ( at every opportunity ) since May 99. I purchased it off of the floor at an auto show. I figuered as good as it looked, if it didn't drive well I would use it as a sculpture. As it turned out, nothing to worry about about, the ride is great, the music sounds great and the inside is as nice to look at as the exterior. If it is reliable over time, it will be a long while before I look for another car.

Report Abuse

Owner

Dee and J, 03/18/2002
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Flawless.. o9nly car I have not gotten tired of.. it's like a new car after 3 years.. just as much fun to drive each time.

Report Abuse

Lemon

Miki Smith, 02/26/2003
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This Audi I bought was "Assured" and Certified! It was in the shop more than 15 times in one year! I have 2 friends with other Audi's and they have simular problems. Audi "Customer Care" wouldn't do anything since the Assured warranty went over 2 months before I called. They are so cute to look at, but a major pain in the &#@ to take care of.

Report Abuse

Good but not great.

Mark, 07/15/2017
quattro Turbo 2dr Coupe AWD
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

We bought our turbo Quattro in early 2000 for its excellent all wheel drive and turbo performance. Excellent attributes for Colorado. Back then it's performance, handling, traction, braking and overall quality were cutting edge. In 165,000 miles it was reliable and fuel mileage quite good. However expert views of its "fashion statement" persona then and now are fair. Sporty driving with the manual transmission was nearly impossible given the positioning of the brake and accelerator pedals and poor brake feel. In 2017 there are better choices if you want performance, quality and handling in a snowy high altitude world such as the turbo, all wheel drive BMWs we now own.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

YOUR WARNING HAS ARRIVED!!!

justinharper07, 02/20/2014
6 of 17 people found this review helpful

Super angry!! Had this car for 6 months and my car has 40,000 miles on it!! This car isn't a high mileage car. So where do I begin, lets start with the electrical, a bulb in the tail light went out and fried the whole lamp and some other electrical components- $1100. The radiator fans clutching system went out- $800. The cooling module went out- $900 (causing the turbo to malfunction). The suspension is going out- $????. At 40,000 miles I find this to be a little ridiculous!! In just 6 months! I think this is totally unacceptable!! Go look somewhere else!! I ignored the negative reviews because I thought this was what I wanted... Please don't make the same mistake as me!! Save yourself!!!

Report Abuse

It's better than the editors rate

thompja53, 09/23/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the front wheel drive, 180 hp model. I don't drive it in snow so I opted for the cheap way out. It's deceptive. It seems really quick, but if you read the automotive reviews, they show it around 7 sec to 60. I think that's because of the "slow" shift from 1-2. If you're like me (middle aged, want a sporty car) then this is a good choice. The seats are a tad tight for someone of my weight (250) but at 6'2" this fits me fine. The base stereo stinks. I hate Bose's but if I get another I will opt for that or do a custom installation.

Report Abuse

Driving the 2000 Audi TT

Gary Stevens, 10/13/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Really fun to drive. No mechanical problems. Excellent manouverability in traffic. People still remark about distinctive styling.

Report Abuse

Really Nice Automobile.

CashMorganLee, 08/23/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased our TT used and have had no major problems. There is not a Audi dealership in Charleston, sc, yet, so we have to take it to Columbia, for service, and any warranty work. I agree with the other reviews. I love it on the interstate at about 85-90 mph. It always gets a few looks where ever we are.

Report Abuse

Audi TT - still the best

jaz50y, 07/18/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

As one of the earliest TT's, had some recalls and small failures, like window motors and cd changer, but all repairs have resulted in no follow-up problems. Still the best looking car on the road, still smells new inside, still a pleasure all the way around.

Report Abuse

fantastic TT coupe

tqg4ply, 12/06/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car used at 47,000 miles and 2 years old. It has always started and run flawlessly without any maintenance problems whatsoever. Now at 50,000 miles it still drives and looks new. Although only 180 horsepower, it has sufficient power, so I would'nt bother chipping it - even though the chip would produce 225 HP at a very low price ! The only problem, if you can call it that, is I had to put on snow tires for NE snow. The standard tires are 17" high speed rated, so they are no good for snow. I highly recommend this entertaining coupe to anyone.

Report Abuse

This is whats up

Alistair314, 06/19/2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Had this car for 10 months, bought it with 69,000 miles on it. Considering I bought it for 15,000 it was absolutely amazing. Very fun to drive, quite good in the curves except for the mild understeer, and considering the size of the engine (1.8l) very fast. This car also handles remarkably well in snow. Zipping past Wranglers and Tacomas in 10 inches of snow is always fun.

Report Abuse

Sports car station wagon

Rich, 08/04/2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car continues to be fun to drive, even after eight years of ownership, the longest I have ever owned one vehicle. What I love most is that for me, it is the perfect compromise between sports car performance and practicality. I have driven it at Sears Point, the most fun I have ever had in two days. I would highly recommend attending track events with your Audi, it was a total blast. On the practical side, I love the outdoors and can stuff camping gear, and a foldable 14 foot kayak in the back (with the seats folded down) and still have sports car performance on the way. There isn't another coupe with this versatility on the market.

Report Abuse

Volkswagen on Steroids

Kaefer, 05/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is for everyone who put a 356 Porsche engine into a VW Beetle to see how fast it would go and how many heads you could turn at a stop light. A very easy car to drive at high spped on the highway.

Report Abuse

Unbelievable Quality & Workmanship

Jay1, 05/31/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased car new in Feb 2000 and have put 26k miles on it since. I drive this car HARD and have had ZERO problems and no rattles or loose pieces. The car is assembled flawlessly with very high quality materials.

Report Abuse

Audi TT Coupe

Ron Lambert, 06/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This with out question is the most fun car to drive. the quality & performance of this car is the best. I had this car for nearly 3 years now & had no problems.

Report Abuse

I Love My TT!!

nanadude, 06/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm a 57 yr. old grandmother & always desired a small sporty car. First time I saw a TT coupe on the road I fell in love with it. I sped up to get close enough to find out what it was. All I could think about was the cute curved shape. When I found out it had a small back seat that folded down to make extra room in the trunk, that was it for me. I had to be able to get all my "stuff" in the trunk for trips- luggage, golf clubs, etc. It was a yr before I drove the TT, all the time thinking to myself "this isn't going to be all I've dreamed of this past yr", but sure enough it was and much more. It's so peppy on acceleration and hugs the curves(quattro).

Report Abuse

It works for me.

adsmith, 09/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We LOVE this car. Bought it new 3/1/00 and have loved it ever since. Have had a few minor problems but nothing of any major concern. People still look at it like the piece of art it is. And it crosses all lines, it's loved by kids, seniors, black, white, young, old, whatever...everybody wants to know "what IS that???" And it is as much fun to drive today as it was two and a half years ago.

Report Abuse

Great!.. .but some 1st model yr bugs

Capt Nemo, 01/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The TT is incredibly fun to drive. The quattro provides great feel for the road at high passing speeds as well as in cornering. I expected to sacrifice some reliability in return for having a unique car the first few years, but Audi has had their problems coming to terms with how to satisfy their customers. Go to the audiTT forum website (use your search engine) and you'll see for yourself. I would recommend the 225jp version if power is your main desire, but the 180hp version can satisfy most. You won't find another car that looks as good for the $, so be willing to put up with a few service inconveniences. I love my TT.

Report Abuse

audi tt

tigra, 08/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bauhaus on wheels. Great syling, nice performance, lots of attention. Fun to drive and look at.

Report Abuse

The TT is peppy!

Kristen, 03/30/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Driver seat is comfortable, interior circle theme is interesting and catches everyone's eye. This car has a reputation for being fast and upscale. Despite a 4 cylinder, this car quickly accelerates, the AWD feature must give it an extra jump. Smooth ride at high speeds. AWD does indeed help in the snow. The rumbling sound gives it a race car feel. Small enough to fit in the tiniest of parking spaces. Leather is first rate. BOSE sound system is awsome. Large trunk when seats are folded down. Red interior lights are cool. Downsides: 0 legroom in back, this car is made for 2 and a couple of dogs. Expensive oil changes.

Report Abuse

Fantastic Fun for all Seasons

koelle.p, 10/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I never expected to own a sports car but I could not resist the test drive. It was so much fun! The 180hp engine gives plenty of power to this small car, accelerating so fast that before you know it you have to slow down to the speed limit. The 4WD grabs the road on every turn and is really convenient an safe in the snow. The front seat is comfortable even for me (6'2"), which does not happen even in some SUVs. The biggest surprise was the trunk, much more space than I expected, luggage for 2 people is easy to accomodate. And on top of all: It is BEAUTIFUL! Necks turn to look at it all the time.

Report Abuse

Just add snow...

TypeA, 08/15/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded in my BMW 740, so this was a huge change. This has been a great car overall. The 180 hp is much too slow, so I had to add a chip and the MTM performance package. Still too slow. I never appreciate my car more than when it snows, the TT Quattro is amazing in the snow and cold temperatures. You can't buy a German car and complain of the cost for repairs, it comes with the territory and although it's pricey you get what you pay for. Really wish I had gotten the 225hp!

Report Abuse

German Reliability?

aceTT, 01/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just traded my TT in...a sad day, because it is one of the most attractive production cars I've seen. Too bad it spent so much time in the shop as it was certainly fun to drive. Good looks and performance though are only part of the equation. Nowadays, you expect a $30k to be designed and be well built. Maybe it was just my model but Consumers Report gives it the "thumbs down" for reliability as well. It was also a happy day, as my payments to the service department at Audi will cease.

Report Abuse

best awd on the market and fun to drive

Eaglehwk02@aol.com, 02/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

had this car a year now and its been flawless. Best car I have ever owned

Report Abuse

Great All Year Round!

Chris, 03/25/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned 3 Audis in the past 5 years and the TT is by far the best. It's been practically fault-free. Those who complain about the maintenance should know better; when you buy a German car, be prepared to pay a lot when something breaks! This car is more VW than Audi, so parts are somewhat reasonably priced. If not for the size, I'd definitely go for another TT!

Report Abuse

Fun car

Alonso, 03/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun car to drive and have people looking at it all the time.

Report Abuse

Dream Car or Maintenance Nightmare?

Parnelli, 06/15/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Driving my dream car is great but owning it is not. Good thing I bought the extended warranty because I needed all I could squeeze out of it. If my money is going to Europe, I want to go with it so I'm selling my TT. I'll miss driving it and parking in sports car row but not the too-frequent trips to the dealer and the bite on my finances. And I'll stop twitching when the gas warning tone goes off because I think something else has gone wrong. This was my second German car and I'll never buy another one. Get AAA road service; you'll need it. Audi understands nothing about customer satisfaction or support.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive

triumpher, 05/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is just fun to drive. It feels and is very fast and quick, and the quadro makes it feel like running on rails. We had a Corvette befor that , but this one is more fun.

Report Abuse

i'd buy one again

Mike_Hodgskin, 10/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Audi TT 225hp quattro is a dream car.

Report Abuse

Amazing Ride - When it's not in the shop

aerobab, 04/01/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Wow...truley an impressive car! World-class styling (inside and out), great performance, a real head turner! I use this car for my every day vehicle and loathe the days when I can't drive it! It's a shame that I'll be getting rid of it soon, as I am unable to afford the monthly (sometimes bi-monthly) maintenance on it. Relatively simple repairs to unnecessary luxury features (i.e., headlight washers) should not cost $500!! I have only had repair work on these little nuisances...never anything major. The Certified Pre-Owned "warranty" offered by Audi is a load of garbage. The TT really is an awesome (initially affordable) toy to have...as long as you have deep pockets for repair!

Report Abuse

Fun little car

JeffE, 09/11/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2000 Quattro (29,000 miles) in 05/2005. I drive this car HARD and so far no problems except for the instrument cluster, but this seems to be rather common. This is a fun little car which has a lot of room (I am 6'2, 300), and fits the wife and dog just fine! I would like this little coupe to have some extra horses and a 6th gear, but it handles on rails. You CANNOT beat this car in the snow. I love zooming past the tahoe/jeep/escalade drivers in 10 inches of snow, and seeing the look on their faces! All in all a great car, as long as it holds up!!

Report Abuse

Best Bang for the Buck!

Fun Hatch, 01/18/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I loved the design aspect of the TT. I've been through a few frustrating repairs, but overall I have greatly enjoyed this car and will be purchasing a new TT when the next generation makes it to showrooms. I would easily recommend the TT to anyone, with a side note of expensive repair bills, but it's German... all German cars are expensive to repair.

Report Abuse

Audi TT

audi tt, 01/29/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a hot car... it turns heads everywhere I go. Also, on the functional side it is very reliable, no problems at all with it.

Report Abuse

Worth it to buy but not for racing

Jim, 04/26/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very nice car, interior and exterior. RARE car so gets good attention. 180 hp is not that strong but you're driving for style not for racing.

Report Abuse

Mean design, not so mean performance

discjedi, 09/13/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When I first took this car out, I was a little disappointed by its lack of pep. Supposedly this car has the same engine that they put into the VW GTI that year, the same GTI that my friend has. My friend's GTI definitely had more go-power, especially in 3rd gear. This car lacked that "mean" mentality even after dropping down from 4th to 3rd to get that extra rev boost. After coming off of a Honda Prelude, shifting seemed a bit sticky and lacked smooth transitions from 1st to 2nd especially. The car's handling was phenomenal even on wet roads and felt glued to the ground the entire way. I love this car because of its head-turning design, handling and ability to amuse!

Report Abuse

The Audi you'll remember

JohnDoe120934, 06/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This might be the best car I've ever owned. A few minor issues - wheels seem to need to be 'aligned' a little to often. It handles very well, very very well. No complaints about horsepower - although I know a few people have. Seats are very comfortable and the interior and exterior are eye catchers everywhere you go.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050