Used 2001 Volkswagen New Beetle Consumer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
111 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,080 - $4,740

Used New Beetle for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Still gets a big smile

Andi S., 03/04/2002
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

We've had the car for about 18 mos, a little over 22k miles. Not a single bug (no pun intended) with it in all these miles. Fuel economy is outstanding at 45 mpg overall (as low as 39mpg in NYC traffic, 52mpg highway). I can fit adults in the back seat for short trips (like taking client to lunch last week). Great fun to drive, and definitely does NOT fit the profile of the traditional diesel. If you've never driven one, you should try one out.

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Ode to Jerry

Greta427, 11/16/2009
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
34 of 35 people found this review helpful

This car is not for anyone who can't handle a few (well okay, a lot) of quirks. Having driven this daily for three years and put 100K miles on it in that time I would describe this as a reliable car. Word to the wise all VW's have a timing belt, if it blows, chances are so will your engine :( I loved this car. It was super fun to drive, had lots of zip for a 4 cyl and with low annual maint costs. Keep up with the maint and you will have little to no serious issues. I would highly suggest replacing the timing belt sooner than recommended just in case. Overall, my beetle, Jerry was very dependable with few "real" problems. Check engine light was always on due to fault O2 sensor.

Report Abuse
3.13 out of 5 stars

Eh...

Jon, 04/07/2009
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

A really fun car for the first few years; peppy engine, tight suspension, solid feel. however, since then I've had recurring problems with the ignition coils, O2 sensor and coolant system. maybe it's a poor service department at the dealer where I've been taking the car, but I've noticed a drastic decline in performance (acceleration) and fuel economy. plus, don't let the size fool you, these cars are freakin' expensive to fix!

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

My Bug

kay burges, 03/31/2015
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
29 of 31 people found this review helpful

327,000. Miles running strong yes you definiately have to stay on top of maintaining your bug just like anything you own and when in need of replacing something inside that has broken , ebay is your best option if your a do it yourself person but overall I love my bug 49 mpg on this economy it's the bomb diddley

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

At 168k, here's hoping for 200k+ miles

ThunderBunny, 02/23/2010
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

This review is for an '01 1.8T New Beetle (Auto), GLS trim with 17" rims, sports suspension, leather (heated) seating, steering wheel & shifter, and sunroof. At 50k miles, the ECU was chipped to 1 BAR. Now at 168k miles I must say my NB's been an excellent vehicle. The only items fixed under warranty were coil-packs and a MAF sensor. I replaced the Cam Chain Tensioner, 2 Oxygen/1 MAF sensors, valve cover gasket and a few hoses at 154k miles. Otherwise, everything else works! (Knock on wood!) I guess I'm lucky as the NB is not rated highly for reliability. But with my other cars, I do my own maintenance/repair and follow the scheduled maintenance very closely. Hope it'll go beyond 200k miles!

Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

Never ever again will I buy a VW (any)

davemoon22, 01/21/2012
GLX 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 4A)
24 of 27 people found this review helpful

1st Beelte had a bunch of issues (a/c, batteries would never last over a few months, oil leaking - had to do a major repair, then sold it). Second, a 2001 with 70k, has had more issues than I can possibly recall. I must have spent over 7k withing a 9 month period. Ridiculous. The major problem I have is with the dealerships. They'll diagnose something is wrong, you get that done, the car still has the same issue and then they will tell you "Oh, well, then, it must be something else" Replace driver's seatbelt buckle, both windows regulators, cam shaft adjuster, turn signal relay, inner tie rods, valve cover gasket, pcv hose, door latch and list goes on: all major $$$ repairs.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Fun and economical

Dan & Karen, 09/03/2005
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

We bought our 2001 Beetle GLS 1.8L Turbo Hatchback a year ago and have had no problems with it, whatsoever. It's not as comfortable as a Cadillac but it's still comfortable, even on long trips. It's excellent on fuel, fast, and fun to drive (a modern and improved version of the classic Beetle). We enjoy waving to other Beetle owners on the road (sort of a cult thing). We also have two large artificial daisies in the vase on the dashboard which complement the car. Overall, we highly recommend this car for those who want something different, economical, and fun to drive.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

VW Not Such an Honorable Manufacturer

Jon, 03/20/2008
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

It seems like shop mechanics are a thing of the past. Nowadays they plug the car into a computer for $200. It's a great car, but the temp light has started to flash on and off. Well we took it in to get looked at and were told in a bright tone that we'd need to get the engine replaced for $8000. When asked why. Because you're loosing oil pressure? Oh whats causing that? Hmm.. Don't know.. Can you find out? Yes but then we'd have to get dirty and open the engine up. That'll cost you $4000. So you think the engine is stuffed? It might be, or it might last 10 years, can't tell. I don't know whose to blame! VW, VW dealers or the car. I think I'll buy a horse. I will never buy a VW again!

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

2001 VW Beetle GLS TDI

Green Bean, 07/23/2002
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Great little car. Gas mileage is unbelievable! 45+ MPG!

Report Abuse
2.13 out of 5 stars

Never buy volkswagen again

Tina, 10/31/2009
GL 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I had so many problems with my car this year alone. Anything that could have gone wrong with it it did. I had to change the whole transmission in early january, then in the summer i had to change alternator alternator belt speed sensors and connector and battery. I will never buy a used vw or any vw ever again. All my expenses were more that $3000

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Over 315,000 miles and still getting 49.5mpg!

twincitytdiguy, 02/07/2014
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

I bought this TDI Beetle from a customer at 300K. He had it from new. The car is in great overall condition, original clutch, rustfree, and still gets an amazing 49.5 mpg highway at 78mph in the summer. I bought the car a little over 4 months ago and managed to put on 15,000 miles. I go where I want. I am not afraid to take this car across the country, I am planning a trip to Florida in the spring for some baseball action. Very fun car to drive. Gotta go with the folks upset by the cupholders. They seem to be an after thought. Germans can't understand why we drink beverages in our cars. If you are a taller person, I'm 6'7", This car has a lot of room. I can nearly straighten my left leg.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Maintenance, maintenance, maintenance

johnnygeneric, 05/09/2015
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
16 of 20 people found this review helpful

I've enjoyed the heck out of this car. I would not hesitate to buy a new one. In fact, we are becoming a VW family. We bought my wife a 2015 Passat. It would have been a Beetle but the Passat was rated as very quiet, which was her #1 criteria. But, having said that, if you don't maintain the car, it will fail you. The 2001 model has lots of misgivings. Stay on top of the maintenance and fix things when they break. And you will be happy with the car.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

Fun, but not worth it

James, 10/09/2010
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 4A)
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive, but cheaply made. Interior isn't thought out well, and is almost funny in it's badness. Interior peels off, switches and knobs break very easy, and forget about getting a drink and planning to fit it in the cupholder.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

2001 Volkswagon Beetle TDI

Ben , 10/08/2008
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Having driven everything from a Ford Thunderbird to a Dodge 2500 the Beetle TDI (Turbo Diesel Injected) was an interesting buy. The acceleration for the Beetle is not that bad. You must remember, it's a gas saving coup NOT a sports car. Folks made the same mistake with the Delorean. Driving experience is fun but not outstanding. Excellent reliability as long as the car is maintained properly. Remember, you get what you pay for. Interior is well designed but cup holders are not made for holding the average cup unless you're a hobbit. Paint is good but could use a thicker clear coat. Unless you are abusing it or are just rough on cars, this v-dub is a tough little sucker. Not luxury, but works

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The porsche of the middle class, the 2001 vw Beetle Vortex Blue Edition.

vortexblue2001, 02/21/2013
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Purchased this Beetle in 2006 with 216,000 thousand miles. Now has 255,000 thousand miles. When i purchased the car it needed many things like 4 coils, 4 spark plugs, all the filters,brakes, etc. Basically a a deep regular maintenance. I spend about 1,500 hundred dollars which included the parts and labor to put it up to speed, of course i did not take it to the dealership otherwise labor alone will had cost me 1,500. After that never had a problem with it. I replace the water pump and timing belt 3years ago so i have another 60,000 miles more to go. The Beetle has a ( 5- speed manual transmision) thats one of the reasons the car has lasted this long.This car is a good car if you service it.

Report Abuse
2.38 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive when the car works.

hombeboyfu, 07/19/2011
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

The TDI Beetle has some nice characteristics to it like great fuel economy, reasonable amount of torque produced from the 1.9L engine, and overall fun to drive. The down side is the car is almost completely plastic. So expect thing to randomly break apart on it. These cars is riddled with electrical problems that doom every VW owner to spend massive amounts of time and money at repair shops. In conclusion, unless you have plenty of money, time, and want to become a good friend of your local VW/Audi Tech avoid this car like it was an ex-spouse with the plague.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned!

Gravel Gertie, 10/14/2008
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Husband & I bought this great diesel auto on a whim . Traded our 4 Runner in on it and I'll drive it till the wheels fall off. We get 50 MPG and will pass anything on the road. Has a manual tranny and that makes it more fun !! AND I still get 50 MPG with the A/C running! Why they stopped making them is beyond me! I love this car --- and it still has the original battery, going strong.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

I must have gotten the good one...

Stan Balog, 08/01/2004
GLX 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

2001 GLX "Sport" limited edition bought in 9/2002. In contrast to 90% of the reviews here, I have never had anything go wrong with this car. Not one thing. Three years of perfect servitude. My dealer could suck; I wouldn't know. Beefed up the turbo with a performance chip - this thing is an Audi TT with more headroom (6'2") but with a mushier suspension for those hard turns. Bought this as a winter car to complement my C5 Corvette, and it's held its own. Checked out this place to see whether to buy as it's going off-lease- all these other reviews made me think that I got lucky (maybe that's the 'limited edition' part?

Report Abuse
3.25 out of 5 stars

2001 Volkswagon Beetle

Jen, 04/30/2008
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've only been driving this vehicle for a couple of weeks. I bought it because of rising fuel costs and I thought I could save some money with this car. I can't complain about. What used to cost me $400 a month in gas is now costing me not even $200! Unfortunately what you save in gas will cost you at the mechanic. This car is EXPENSIVE to work on. As far as interior? Forget it! Chipping door handles, broken sideview mirror knob, broken, good for nothing cup holders, broken arm rest, cheap material easily stained seats, I could go on and on. In fact, just this morning, I went to start my car and the key broke off in the ignition! 2 weeks of driving this car and I'm ready to sell it!

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Love my Bug

be, 06/08/2005
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I adore my bug, buuuutt, it has had a few "bugs" of it's own. I have had 3 headlamps go (they are super hard & expensive to change out...even for mechanic). My window button broke with the window down of course. I took out my oil pan, which was my fault, but found out from mechanic they are "fragile" aluminum and low. Dealership service is way pricey (aren't they all?) My paint is chipping on the interior door panel. It has great pep even on long uphill (not your mama's bug!...I had one of those too.) Great air and heat system..not like old Bugs!! Lots of room...you could do ballroom dancing on the dash! Great safety features, bags on front & sides too, roll bar, drop away engine.

Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

Good riddance

Theresa, 04/17/2008
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Being a baby boomer I just HAD to have one of these. Big mistake. Once things started going south it was fast and furious. The biggest downer was having to have the transmission replaced for $3500. While it was there they managed to find another $500 worth of work. Part prices are ridiculous. A dash light was always coming on for one reason or another. The cup holder was just plain dumb and there was no CD player--oh yeah--you could put one in the trunk if you wanted to. The gas mileage was terrible for a car that small. Overall workmanship was shabby. I have made it my mission to tell anyone who will listen how poor the overall quality is.Don't make the same mistake I did.

Report Abuse
2.13 out of 5 stars

Run don't walk from this car!

Angry VW owner, 06/09/2008
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car from a friend who had won it. So, I was considered a 2nd owner, so I got cheated out of a 50K mile warranty by VW, even though my friend never insured or drove the car. Beyond that the car is plain and simple--JUNK! The catalytic converter needed to be replaced at about 52K miles, VW wouldn't warranty it. They finally did up to 100k by that time I had over 100K. The check engine light has been on forever, and the transmission is sketchy. The interior is a mess. Cup holders broken, seat fabric is torn, rear view mirror is a joke, not to mention the interior light. Trunk release broken and the fuel release door broken. Don't buy this car unless your are a masochist

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

For the Love of Torque

linderov, 03/16/2007
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This has been a terrific car, very durable and reliable and looking good doing it. My kids don't ever complain about being cramped although I think they probably are. It's cozy and all their friends love it. With the sunroof and windows open, it's like a convertible, too, fun and loud, and like a party ready to go. Even though the car is now 6 + years old, it still attracts attention, and not just from kids, although kids really love it. It gets 45 mpg in mixed use, typically. I've never had problems here in Detroit with the cold weather and diesel. The diesel is quiet and pleasant sounding in normal use, and has a higher pitch singing sound when you hammer it to kick in the turbo.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Fun, economical, but too many problems.

Kristi, 05/17/2007
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have been a VW driver my entire life and never even considered anything else, but this car has been a huge disappointment. The electric windows malfunctioned twice, the trunk latch has had to be fixed twice, the sunroof wasn't draining properly so every time it rained I had 2 inches of water in my car, the back seat head rests are broken, the lens cover on the headlight pops off randomly, and I have an electronic issue causing a drain on the battery, so the car is dead and has to be jumped about half of the time. Our neighborhood mechanic couldn't fix it so we took it to the dealer, they had it two weeks and still were unable to solve the problem. We sadly will not be buying another VW.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Great Economy Car!

DN, 07/06/2007
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We purchased our '01 Beetle TDI for the sole purpose of wanting a car that was great on fuel and have been relatively happy with it. It's by no means a luxury car. It's loud on the highway, but great on gas. We average mid-upper 30s in the city and upper 40s on the highway. We did manage to squeeze out 54 mpg on the way out to Nevada last summer. I would recommend this car for the econo minded person.

Report Abuse
2.25 out of 5 stars

Looks are so deceiving...

ncnurse, 08/05/2011
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought mine in March 2010 with 60k miles on it. She ran perfectly...for 6 months. The catalytic converter went out immediately followed by a wheel bearing. 2 months later the ignition coils and spark plugs went out. I've put around $2500 into this car, which I've dubbed Beelzebub since everything that can go wrong, has. The a/c went out at the beginning of this summer and now the gears grind when I put it into reverse. While the turbo is awesome (and the reason behind my 3 speeding tickets) the reliability just isn't there. I'm trading this car in a.s.a.p. because I refuse to put any more money into it.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

Cute on the Outside, Cheap on the Inside

Brina, 07/26/2006
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have wanted a Volkswagen Beetle since they came out, and I finally got one last year. I admit it is a fun car, but having to replace the turbo already (before I made the first payment!) and having strange transmission problems, I don't know that I would buy another one. I would absolutely reccomend buying from a dealer, and spending the extra for the extended warranty! The inside is incredibly cheap and easily broken, but the cute flower holder makes up for part of that! It is still fun to drive, but it's going to my husband to drive the commute in, and I'm getting something different!

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

What a great ride ...

needaname, 10/13/2017
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

... unfortunately, ​I am afraid after my insurance looks at my rear ended Beetle it may be totaled due to the cost of repairing my beloved Beetle. This is the second time in the 17 years I have owned my Beetle that it has been hit. I know they are expensive to repair. The first rear end occurred when a texting driver crashed into the rear end at 40 mph. I wasn't hurt as the seats absorbed all of the impact but it was expensive to repair. I am 5'3.5" inches and I found the entry and exit of the Beetle excellent though I have taller friends that have complained. I found that to be an advantage as they would not be willing to drive the car since they had to put their hands on the ground to exit. However - anyone and everyone who has ever driven a turbo Beetle will tell you how much FUN FUN FUN this car is.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2.63 out of 5 stars

Peppy car with lots of repairs

twincitiesvwdriver, 07/31/2008
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2002 used and at first the car was fun to drive. It has a lot of pep, gets a lot of looks, exterior styling is good. I have put on 50,000 miles since I got it and have had nothing but problems since about the first 6 months. This car has had electrical problem after electrical problem. Left me stranded on the side of the road and without a car time after time. The check engine light has not been off in 2 years even after countless very expensive trips to the dealer repair shop. Unfortunately, I think this car is so fun but I have been so burned by it I would not recommend even buying a VW to anyone.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

Where to Start?

Michele, 08/06/2008
GL 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Wow! For such a cute car it has been terrible when it comes to repairs. Cat. Converter, alternator, Intake valve, check engine lights, oil pan, rear brakes, rear taillight, headlamp replacements, front spoiler, trunk latch, key replacement, cup holders, window regulator, peeling door, seats stain, interior panel lights, airbag light, small sun visor, loud engine on the highway, not as good on gas as you would think. I'm sure there's more. It seems nit picky, but really the issues are extensive. I had a 1995 Jetta and it was awesome!!! But this beetle is impossible. We want to sell it, but feel guilty passing it on to someone else! Maybe VW will buy it back, lol.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love my TDI Bug!

zilym, 04/26/2002
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Had it for over a year and still LOVE my bug. It's so much fun to drive! The power steering, power brakes, cruise control, fully adjustable seats, drive by wire accelerator, and everything just makes driving it effortless. The TDI engine is great for turning heads at stop lights (noisy diesel idle in a car!), and yet quieter than a gas engine while you're cruising at highway speeds (which is great for listening to classical music). Not to mention the incredible torque the TDI has for quickly accelerating from a stop or going up hills. Fun, fun, fun!

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Cute, but flaky

Katherine, 12/19/2008
GLX 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had the car over five years, after buying it used in 2003. Within 18 months, the alternator went out and had to be replaced, the clutch went out at 16,000 miles and had to be replaced (believe me, I do not ride the clutch THAT hard), the hoses had to be replaced twice, and the power windows both had to be replaced. Later, the blinkers and cruise control failed and had to be replaced (though it was always fun to flip the blinker switch and see what would happen. It would blink in some pretty spectacular random patterns, until it was fixed). It handles surprisingly well in the snow, but due to the myriad electrical and mechanical issues - I will not be buying a VW ever again.

Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

Don't waste your money!

Jess, 02/07/2009
GL 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This was the first car I ever bought and have I ever regretted it! It has absolutely no room. Not to mention all the mechanical problems I've had with it from the moon roof to the locks and the trunk latch breaking. It is definitely not worth the money. VW is way too pricey for this all around poor quality car.

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Cheaply made

unhappy smith, 01/07/2008
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A joy to scoot about in and to park. It has had one thing after another break off in the car. It seems that they did not have the correct recipe for plastic. To replace costs $40.00 for each broken item. The trunk brake light has been replaced twice at $129.00 and this one has cracked apart. I am the only one driving the car. The cloth front seats are grossly stained, the explanation being that they got wet once.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Great fun-to-drive automobile

Patrick, 06/10/2009
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have been driving for more than two years and this is my favorite car. The authentic volkswagen sound, the internal computer, and the comfort level are amazing. The ECU could use some work however as it limits the revs and it changes the shifting pattern too often (due to adaptive transmission). The winter driving is ok as long as you do not give it too much gas, and you can even drop it down into 1st or second gear for better stability and torque. The flaws I do not agree with are the window motors, as they wear out quite easily. The O2 sensors go quite quickly as well, we have had the car for about 8 years and it has gone through over 14 O2 sensors. The handling is very good on turns.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Fast easy riding and driving Fun Bug

zcarid, 08/25/2009
GLX 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Each year the GLX has pleased us with the performance on long trips averaging 2500 miles. Cruises easily at highway speeds between 80 and 100 mph. Will go a lot faster but so will the police. Quick responsive steering and at end of long days feel like we have been treated to an easy ride. Visibility is great all around. Acceleration with the Turbo is a real safety feature in itself. Have had a few problems all easily fixed by family mechanic. Not a fan of dealer maintenance who seem to be way too expensive and eager to replace assemblies when an adjustment or a minor part is all that is needed.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great car

ch0ppersrule, 06/25/2002
GLS TDI 2dr Hatchback (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our car ran awesome, nice and quiet until the recall item was replaced. Now you can definately tell it is a deisel, but the car still runs great. Love the mileage 42-43 in town and 49- 52 on the highway. This is of course a manual TDI. Lots of room, more than you would think looking at it.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Disappointed!!!

BaaadJenny, 12/20/2002
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I thought I was buying a good, reliable car and ended up instead with a lemon. It's a 1.8 GLS turbo and has 21,500 miles on it. I like the look and the way it drives, but problems? Let's see...Gas door will sometimes open/close, sometimes not, trunk usually does not open with the remote or the inside switch, the screws fall out of the window levers, the driver's side window got stuck and the regulator inside the door broke, the passenger side door lock malfunctioned and had to be replaced. Shall I go on? Oh yeah, and the service from the dealer sucks!

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Almost worth the Trouble

youareslow, 12/31/2002
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I leased my '01 Beetle and it has been in the shop about 4 times in the first 2 years for various things. They are all minor things, but still issues. The window regulators, the speedometer, center console, and gas cap have all failed since it was new. These are not huge issue's but should be noted. The window regulator has a recall so if you have this problem go get it fixed. Otherwise the car has been everything I hoped it would be. The Turbo motor is quiet, smooth, and very powerful. The heated seats are great in the winter and car is very quiet at highway speeds. Overall I would call the car "Not so trouble- free fun."

Report Abuse
2.25 out of 5 stars

Think before you buy this car

thinkagain, 12/03/2003
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned '01 Beetle GLS Turbo for the past three years, and found it unreliable car. Not to mention there have been numerous recalls which my local dealer can not fix properly, there have been many breakdowns such as 1. driver-side door hinge cracked within 2yr, 2. headlamp lightbulbs out 3. a portion of dashboard lights out 4. can not roll down passenger-side window due to major defect in window kit 5. rear breakpads wornout before 15K (I am not an aggresive driver). I strongly advise potential buyers to think before buying this car. Remember beauty is only skin-deep (some may disagree this is a beautiful car) !!

Report Abuse
3.13 out of 5 stars

Bursting the bubble

kestrel, 03/26/2004
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Beetle is fun to drive and for the money delivers enjoyable performance. My complaints with the car lie in the maintenance problems that I seem to always have with it. Under warranty I had to replace a headlight, the emergency break lever, and the center console dash light. The last was not covered by warranty. After 30000 miles I have had to replace the cables that pop open the gas cover, the emergency break cables and one new tire, all of this in addition to routine maintenance. The aluminum spokes of the steering wheel show wear. Some of the rubberized plastic is pealing. The exterior paint started to chip and spider around the door pulls.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Faster Than It Looks

Tim Bob, 04/07/2004
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our 2001 Turbo Beetle has been a real hoot since day one! Ours has special limited-edition Vortex Blue paint, which seems to get noticed a little more and looks great with its black leather seats. The 150 hp 1.8 liter turbo motor and 5-speed manual really gives the car some punch, to the point that it seems to surprise some other drivers with its quickness. It's especially responsive while at highway speeds and the need to pass or speed up for a traffic opening happens. Response is "right now" in any gear. There no real turbo lag. It's been reliable and is now at 40,000 miles with no major troubles. My wife drives it most and she loves it, too.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

Fast Fun Trouble

kate_9999, 06/02/2004
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Love the ride...its a zippy little car and fun to drive, but I'm selling it as soon as possible. Its out of warranty and given the amount of problems that occurred within the warranty I'm not willing to risk my pocket book any further. Problems...headlights going out (cost $80 to replace), gas cap door broken 3 times, ignition key broken 2 times, rear brakes needed to be replaced at 20K...get real I don't ride the break, A/C problem $900 for a new fan, several recalls, hatch never worked correctly, service slow and you're waiting a month. Don't buy this car its fun but not worth the hassle.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

So sad about my bug

nomorebug!, 07/01/2004
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I should have done a little more research about this car before I bought one... I fell in love with this car the moment I saw/drove it. It was beautiful, roomy, and a very comfortable drive. I loved the seat warmers too! But I've had nothing but problems since I bought it. The window control broke off, the gas door doesn't open all the time, the hatch doesn't open al the time, the turbo was having problems, etc. I'm so glad I bought the extended warranty. The gas mileage is also very bad, 14-18 mph and it needs premium gas. I might as well own an SUV. I finally got rid of it last week.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Few Complaints

Jillian Kennedy, 07/18/2004
GLX 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned my VW for nearly 4 years now and it has only recently started to give me problems, but most of my complaints about that would be with the local VW dealership and service department (Moffitt Volkswagen in Bossier City, Louisiana; my advice: do yourself a favor and go elsewhere). Other than that my VW has been an absolute joy to own and drive!

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Not for me

lynnurd, 06/26/2006
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

When I first bought my Beetle, it was great. Then all sorts of things started going wrong. My check engine light came on (which cost more for the diagnostic check then for the parts and labor) - 2 weeks later, it came on again... my dealer can't find anything wrong with it though. My headlight went out and I had to pay $45 for the dealership to fix it. Any time I have a problem, I have to take it to the dealer because no one else can fix it. Forget saving money on gas, you'll only spend it on oil changes because it uses synthetic only. I am NEVER buying an import car again. I'm going back to Chevy. I never had a problem with any of their cars! The only positive is it can cut in and out of traffic well.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great car for your daughter in HS

Suvacrew, 04/13/2007
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'm an Audi guy, had one of the first TTs and they had some issues, now drive an A8. But got my daughter the Beetle Sport 5 spd, red and loaded. Have had NO ISSUES apart from the door handles chipping. It's very similar to the TT in drive quality, if not giving up 30+ HP on the engine and feels much lighter on the road. The Sport's lo-pro wheels give it a nice handling sensation and the brakes are much more manageable than in the Audis. Perfect car for a new driver in HS. Relatively cheap to insure, the wheel panels are plastic and cheap to replace (luckily have had no need to) and it's a total chick car. I feel it's a safe car to be in.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

AWESOME

MELLISSA, 05/27/2003
GLS 1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE, I WILL BUY NOTHING BUT VW AUTOMOBILES AFTER MY RECENT ACCIDENT. THE SAFETY FEATURES ARE BEYOND AWESOME, MY NEW BEETLE SAVED MY LIFE!!!!!!

Report Abuse
1.5 out of 5 stars

HATE IT

MichaelJ, 05/30/2003
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

If you loved the old beetle You will hate the "New" beetle. This car is a nightmare. Gas door Cable,Pwr windows,very poor. Quality of build is terrible.Most problems seem electrical in nature. Heated seats Change their control switchs at will? Throttle is dangerous it ignores your foot and does what it wants, another computer marvel.The transmission needs reset frequently as it learns driving habits according to the service people. My wife and I can't figure out who it is learning from.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Not too shabby car

Retoo, 03/13/2008
GLS 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am a travel therapist and use my car to commute. It is pretty good on gas and I love the moon roof. It also came with a sporty racing stripe design on the doors... cute! Even though 'she' is 7 years old, I still receive compliments on her. My husband likes the gas mileage but says that he feels like the guy on the Simpsons when he drives it (he's 6'2). It's also a great car for wives who have problems keeping their husbands from driving their cars. :0)

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050