Used 2010 Toyota Tacoma Access Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$9,391 - $16,583

Used Tacoma for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Access cab, AC, Speedctrl etc package..

calletacoma, 07/05/2013
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Our first truck got it through a local car dealer as I traded in my VW 2.0 T Lemon (self disintegrating POS). Our Tacoma is fantastic with it's instant heat / AC. "Only" 159 HP, sure but it's 2.7 L engine produce plenty of torque. Mixed mpg was 21, which is great on a 2010 with 35K miles. Engine compartment looked in mint condition and the rest of the body had a few small dents / scratches. I'm keeping this car and adding a dew upgrades to it..

Report Abuse

My 3rd Toyota truck...

MikelJay, 12/20/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I love my Tacoma. This is my 3rd Toyota truck. The '10 Tacoma carries on the tradition of great build quality and reliability. This is one of the quietest trucks I've owned. The 4 cylinder/auto tranny is very responsive, pulls well and builds speed quickly. The interior is very comfortable and quiet. Although I've had the truck for 2 weeks now, the fuel mileage seems to be getting better as it gets broken in. Averaging 25 combined city/highway miles per gallon, and I expect it will only get better as it gets broken in.

Report Abuse

Buying ANOTHER

ricoman, 05/07/2018
V6 4dr Access Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Owned my 2010 Tacoma 4x4 Off Road since new in Nov. 2009...was a second vehicle,so only had 63K on it when I sold.Its been the best reliable vehicle I've ever owned,and besides changing the oil,only repair I ever had done was the AIR went out on it and I replaced the entire system at a cost of appx. $1400...Truck was never used Off-Road,so the off-road package was overkill for me,and will be buying a 2019 Sport instead of the Off Road.Its also been the best resale value of any vehicle I've owned...IF..you sell yourself...as with all types of car dealers,they really try to screw you,but with this toyota,they were the worst......You buy a Toyota for high resale value,yet they still try and tell you its not worth much...in my case 1/2 what I paid for it...and my truck was MINT....their offer was $14-$15K...HAHAHAHA.....I sold it in 1 day to first buyer for $22,750!!So...bottom line....yes..but the Tacoma...its a great truck....but dont deal with the dealers if your selling one..!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Owned many Toyota's but this is my last!

jscott418, 12/27/2010
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

I decided to lease my Toyota and had all kinds of trouble with the dealer. It took 4 months to get plates, they messed up paper work and had to redo. They did not notify me of this. So its not been good. So now for the truck, its a DOG plain and simple. The 4 Cylinder engine has 30 less HP then my wife's RAV 4 which has a smaller 4 Cyl? The 4 speed trans is awful and when its in overdrive which happens way too soon I get a vibration because the RPM's are so low and the engine lugs. Who ever mated this engine with the transmission and programed it does not drive it! I have had trouble with a whine from the trans too but have not been to a dealer yet.

Report Abuse

Why so different?

sweetjustice57, 08/30/2013
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have 2 2010 Tacoma 4x4's one is a 4 door sr5 and the other is an access cab with the trd package. The 4 door is very quiet and is a great truck, My truck with the trd package has so much road noise that I can't use a blue tooth devise. We bought the 4 door first brand new and we bought the trd used with 8,000 miles on it, I can't believe the difference in these to trucks for basically being the same vehicle, I am not happy with the trd truck although it runs good and no issues mechanically, just way to much road noise.

Report Abuse

Envy of the Truck World

Bruce, 04/12/2010
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I currently own four Toyotas, the experience i have had with this TRD packaged truck is the same boring run forever, well made, reliable, blah, blah, blah, that all my Toys have provided me. This truck has truly been a pleasure to drive, always starts up on the first revolutions, i could not find one exterior flaw, not one undercarriage flaw, composite bed is something that all trucks should have by now. The V6 provides an enormous amount of power while giving 20-20.7 miles to gallon when driven sensibly. Other truck owners have the look of "why didn't i spend the extra money" as they stare at my Barcelona Red TRD. Toyota even provides 2 years of free oil/filter, etc changes. No regrets.

Report Abuse

Taco

Warren Sparrow, 06/11/2016
V6 4dr Access Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Great truck for light hauling and towing,, good in snow up to about a foot

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Tacoma TRD Sport 4x4 Access Cab

BlueTacoMan, 11/14/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Performance: Performance and handling is great. Has plenty of power. Driving the mountain pass had no problem passing the big rigs even towing. 4x4 handled the snow well. The electronic transfer to 4x4 is smooth. Interior: Quality throughout. TRD seating is very comfortable. AUX jack is a bit awkward in placement as the flap that covers it gets in the way. The sub woofer is a plus. B/U camera would be nice to be able to use when not in reverse. Exterior: The TRD Sport comes with a stylish hood scoop. The 17" TRD wheels and tires are stylish and handle well, especially in the snow. The composite bed is a plus as you don't need a bed liner, but is slick so cargo tends to shift and slide.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Dave, 11/15/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It has been a great truck so far. Bought the TRD Sport version. Rides great and looks great.

Report Abuse

I'm a TACO man !

Sasquatch, 03/26/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just purchased my 2010 Taco' (Pre- Runner V6 SR5 auto) with the TRD off- road package in Pyrite Mica. I love, love, love this truck. Added the bull bar, chrome accents to mirrors, door handles, front and rear taillights, and a tool box. The first two tanks of gas averaged right at 20 mpg. Not sure why some of the other posts here do so poorly on mileage. I am not a lead foot, that probably helps! I would recommend this truck to anyone. It's perfect size and does whatever I need it to do, and with style!

Report Abuse

No change really from the 05

PatB, 03/22/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my second Tacoma after having an 05. This one has a quieter engine, and I like the USB audio port. Biggest surprise is Toyota made very few changes after 5 years! Mileage is still low but reliability is high. It is a workhorse. Nissan comes somewhat close and Honda just has that overstuffed Ridgeline so Tacoma is a solid midsized choice.

Report Abuse

Very Uncomfortable

James, 05/09/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I like the styling, performance, quality of build. However, the seats are very uncomfortable! They make your back hurt if you drive for any distance. I even had the cloth seat covers replaced w/ leather. It did not help. I am seriously thinking about trading this vehicle for something else. I have never thought about getting rid of a new vehicle! Stock stereo system and speakers are WEAK! I replaced them.

Report Abuse

Disappointed

Toyotaowner, 11/25/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have wanted a Tacoma for years, finally got one and I am sorry for it. The rear bumper has rusted all around the edges. One of the Plastic tie downs broke for no good reason. The engine ticks loudly. The Heater/A.C blower motor screeches, I did have that replaced under warranty.....and now the new one does the same thing! The access door won't open, I will be getting that fixed. The console between the two seats in the back is worthless and takes up a lot of room. The transmission also has trouble gearing down, almost like it is stuck in too high of a gear. Also sometimes I have a hard time getting it to gear down on the hwy while in cruise control. Awful vehicle

Report Abuse

Toyota Tacoma 2010 Bought New

blipnick, 06/07/2012
4 of 15 people found this review helpful

Problems: - Uncomfortable Seats - Uneven Pedals (clutch pedal is higher than the others) , foot is trapped between top of clutch pedal and underside of dash when releasing clutch (wearing workboots, 6 Ft. tall driver) - Stereo system is weak. Use of Aux. input requires turning volume up full. - Gas mileage is poor (25 MPG highway). - Stock rims rusting after 6 months. - 4 wheel drive switch not illuminated. - Requires multiple turn overs to start.

Report Abuse

build mistakes

rmulder, 02/05/2012
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

the tacoma is an awsome truck with a few small but, painfull errors 1: the ABS and traction contol is too overwhelming(its the reason i lost my first truck.)2: the heater motors have issues and why cant the trucks heater and A/C work better, i can drive for 2 hours on full A/C and im still sweating.3: the rear shocks piled up on me on the last cold snap and now my truck is like an old suburban and never stops bouncing and the rear springs squeak everytime my truck moves.4: there is also a nice leak coming out from inbetween the tranny and motor. its all nagging me and getting old!!!! kind of sucky for 22000 KM.

Report Abuse

My 2010 Toyota Tacoma, best pick-up truck I ever own........

2lolo, 03/09/2011
4 of 16 people found this review helpful

In my life time I own many trucks from Chevy, Ford etc. When I was a young kid when gas was $.89 a gal.

Report Abuse

Perfect Truck

SOHAIL, 10/05/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this truck some 1 week now and I've been driving around to get used to is. This is my first truck. I love the quality interior and how quiet this truck is. My truck is TRD off road package and there are tons of offroad features in this package. Everyone keeps telling me how reliable Toyotas are. So far I have good experience with this.

Report Abuse

Fast and Roomy

SOHAIL, 10/12/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my Tacoma for few weeks now and it's faster and more comfortable then any other mid size truck I've owned. I have lots of off-road features to play with. The interior of the truck is not cheap quality as most new vehicles these days. Toyota is always on TOP of quality and reliability.

Report Abuse

Best Mid Size Truck

BEST TRUCK, 10/18/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned many trucks but new 2010 TACOMA stands out in every way. I shouldn't have to say that TACOMA is one of the most reliable and comfortable drive. These trucks run forever and require little maintenance. It's a great family truck for me.

Report Abuse

Tow Package

Toyota Buyer, 11/02/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2010 Tacoma with a tow package as an option. The cost of the package was approximately 500+ dollars. Much to my surprise the package was lacking a tongue to hook up a trailer. Without the tongue the hitch is a useless piece of steel. Buyer beware Toyota is going cheap.

Report Abuse

Toyota Tacoma Access

Harold Hatcher, 11/24/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I took delivery on a speed wagon blue V6, auto. SR5, access cab Tacoma pick- up. This is my second in 3 years. Obviously I think they are a good product and depreciation is low. I have had no reliability problems. Comfort and performance are excellent. I have found that gas mileage is very close to EPA sticker I love the back-up camera, traction control and side air bags. My wishes: a more adjustable driver seat, a smaller "A" pillar (blind spot drivers side) and a dash light that tells you if the parking lights are on. I am satisfied.

Report Abuse

TRD Off-Road

Richard, 12/22/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best bang for your buck in the truck world. The 6-speed transmission is pretty much flawless. TRD Suspension is very compliant for a daily driver. Tires aren't the best but that is personal preference. There is a reason the taco is the best selling truck.

Report Abuse

Toyota 2 Dr Access Cab 4x4

Ben P, 01/12/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 1st truck and I bought it because of the reputation. I should've gotten more features in the truck like remote mirrors, cruise etc. because once you spend that kind of money you feel like you should have more comfort and luxuries. I'm a little disappointed on the gas mileage so far and how toyota "cheaped out" on some thing like the 4 wheel drive switch doesn't illuminate in the dark so you have to put the light on to locate it or the 1 CD player, seems like everyone else gives a better stereo system these days and at least cruise control?? Seems like they just give the "basics" and make you pay through the nose for any additional features.

Report Abuse

First Truck

David , 01/19/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the first truck I've owned, but I've always liked the looked of the Tacoma and trusted the reliability of Toyota. Due to a limited selection, I got the sport package and tow package which was more than I needed, but the truck has a beefy look. It rides well for a small truck and the 6M is fun to drive. I've only had the truck for about a month and haven't made any road trips, but as a daily commuter it is comfortable. I got the extended cab for the additional access, but like the other reviewer, I agree that the space would only work for a kid; however, its fine for small tools, groceries, etc. I considered the Nissan Frontier but I liked the and feel of the Toyota better.

Report Abuse

Good Truck

Dustyrider, 02/05/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Traded a 2009 Toyota reg cab 4 cyl automatic for this truck. Pulled a motorcycle on a trailer 1000 miles and decided I needed the 6 cyl auto instead. This new truck is much nicer and better equipped than the '09. The fuel economy is not what I expected (17 MPG so far), but it may get better as it breaks in. The cab is nosier on the access cab than the reg cab was, probably the extra doors. The Prerunner package makes it sit about 3 or 4 inches higher than the 09, and I feel that the seat will wear quicker from getting in and out. I like the buckets and the rest of the interior features better than the base truck, and hope the mileage improves as it gets some miles on it.

Report Abuse

Second Toyota I'm owned

Callie, 05/13/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Design changes with respect to my 2003 Toyota are great. The opposing rear doors to load items behind the seats is an excellent change. The tilt/telescoping steering wheel is not well engineered. I'm 6"4" and the steering wheel will not rise as high as my 2003 and my legs hit the steering when when I get into the driver's set. The other item that needs re-engineering is the overhead display of the temp/compass. It is dimmer than the clock and can't been seen during daylight driving very well. The gas tank door is another item that needs changing. My 2003 had a saw tooth device to attach the gas cap while fueling. The 2010 has nothing to hold the gas cap. Overall, I am well satisfied.

Report Abuse

Good Truck, No Issues

Dustin R, 06/01/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After the purchase I installed a Flowmaster Muffler, this helped to improve my feelings towards a 4 cylinder 4x4. Currently, I have over 4,000 miles logged and no complaints thus far. It is a far better truck than the competition, and it was made in California! I did not think I would buy a Toyota, with the economic issues but it has been well worth it. I recommend the SR5 package, it has a lot for the money, although the stock wheels and tires are horrible. Although most stock tires usually are not the best, I expected better. Overall, this truck is worth the money, no matter what the media says.

Report Abuse

2010 Tacoma

Don, 06/04/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my new Tacoma with high hopes that it would match up to my old 1992 SR5 Toyota truck. I am very disappointed to say that it does not. The steering wheel does not angle high enough to get out of the way of my knee when I shift. Come-on Toyota. The center console storage compartment should lift back, not to the side. I already had to replace my passenger side seat belt because it was torn. The gas mileage is horrible for a manual,(15-16). The engine is loud above 2300 rpm. The engine does not throttle down fast enough when you shift so you get this horrible whining each time you shift gears. I had much more storage in the cab with my 1992 Toyota. 250K with this truck. Not a chance

Report Abuse

Great little truck

RCR, 07/05/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We really like the truck - it does great pulling our 2-horse aluminum trailer and we've not been stuck in the snow on our steep driveway. It gets fantastic gas mileage compared the the durango we traded in for it. On the downside, the steering wheel does not pull out far enough for someone with long legs, making the driver Rather uncomfortable. We pulled out the center console in the back for more space (it was easy). The automatic transmission doesn't shift well from almost stop to go - it can't seem to figure out which gear to be in.

Report Abuse

1st time Tacoma owner

Taclover, 07/30/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really love this truck. I was looking for a truck that would last me at least 10 yrs and get good mileage. I love the box and suicide doors. The SR5 package is worth the money.

Report Abuse

Prepare for TRACTION!

ooch owwch, 08/10/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I replaced a 1995 Nissan pickup. I love this truck for the styling. It is bigger than my Nissan and gets better gas mileage and they are both 4- cylinder engines. The SR5 Prerunner is great for its value and features except for the front seats. These things separate your spinal discs no matter how you adjust the lumbar support. Even turned all the way down to no lumbar hump it cripples you by the time you get to a destination of 15 mins or longer and I am not 70, I'm 43yrs old and fit. UGH! I love this truck too much to return or sell it but I wish I had known before hand. Anyone who says it is comfortable is not in the 5'8" range. I'm definitely going to have to spend the bucks on new seats

Report Abuse

Best pick-em-up-truck made

Dan, 09/09/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Quite simply the best intermediate pickup made. From style to quality of build, it is outstanding. The ride is very good and the bucket seats are fine for me and my wife. I don't understand why all the criticism of the seating. Well done Toyota.

Report Abuse

Nice truck!

frank, 10/28/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just bought pre-runner, auto, v6, this month. Love it! Everything inside out is all nice! One problem though, the transmission is a little sluggish, when slow down to 40, 30 mph. Overall, this is a nice truck!

Report Abuse

Have truck will travel!

Fred, 01/05/2019
V6 4dr Access Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

At this point, I haven’t gotten completely under the hood to know everything, but it has a lot of power and fits my needs here in New England.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Capability at the Expense of Comfort

Jake, 07/11/2019
V6 4dr Access Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A very capable and versatile little rig though a long drive on the freeway was anything but pleasant.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050