Used 2015 Ford Focus Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,900 - $14,990

Used Focus for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Third One

Dave, 12/29/2015
Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
34 of 34 people found this review helpful

Have owned 3, a 2007 SES, a 2010 SEL and now a 2015 Titanium. I have found all three to be what I expected. Good all around drivers with some minor issues but no major ones. My iPhone connected well and works well. Mileage is good, around town so far is 29-30 MPG and freeway looks to approach 40 MPG. While intended to be our run around town car, it is comfortable enough to travel in. Instrument cluster initially confusing but now is OK. I do not understand why you can reset the "Oil Life" but can't find a percentage left... Makes no sense to me. Vehicle is smooth on the road and quiet on the freeway. I have not noticed any clutch issues, my guess is that they have been corrected. Have had the vehicle for a bit over a month and have a quiet rattle in the rear that is not always noticeable. I may take it in but I get easily frustrated with the "No problem found" response from dealers. Overall, I would recommend this car to those considering something in this segment. I now have 18K miles on the vehicle. The "Clutch Issue" reared its ugly head. Took it into the dealership and to my surprise, they worked on it in earnest to correct the problem. Result: The entire clutch assy was replaced. Approximately 10K miles have passed and the clutch seems to be working OK. I hear some rattling once and awhile from the new clutch but the jerking is gone. I can live with it. Most people would not notice it. It is my understanding that the next version of the Focus will be manufactured in China. That means that this will be my last Focus. I will probably look at something from GM if Ford does not have a North American alternative. Follow up... Overall, I am still happy with the vehicle. My one and only major complaint is the transmission. Specifically, the clutch. It is an automatic and has (I am told ) a double dry clutch. What ever they did in the design of this thing was / is a major muck up. Lots of judder at take off from a standing start. All other gears shift fine. This issue will not make me shy away from Ford, but it is a major nuisance. Whoever is responsible for this at Ford should be taken out to the woodshed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Traded my Audi A5 for a 2015 Focus Titanium

Scott, 11/02/2015
Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
41 of 42 people found this review helpful

After owning the Audi for less than 2 years, I decided that I didn't want to own it when the warranty ran out. I tested Toyotas, Mazda, and Kia. I was more impressed with the Focus than any of these, but still a bit hesitant to go from an Audi to a Ford. Well, I couldn't be happier. While it doesn't have all the pep of the turbo on the A5, it handles just as well, is actually quieter riding, and has better navigation. Added benefits are regular gas, better mileage, and a lower car payment!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My 3rd Focus

sanfla52, 05/12/2015
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
37 of 39 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd Focus. I decided to buy "new" this time, having bought used before and the cars were great. This one is great also in most ways. However, I do NOT like the transmission. The hesitation felt on acceleration is a big issue for me. Both of my previous Focus vehicles had quick acceleration. This one will too...but if you push past the "hesitation" then it REVS up to 3500 rpm and goes back down again, which I also do not like. When I bought this car I thought with it being new and the fact that I don't drive much that this might be my "last" car, now it will depend on how much I can tolerate that hesitation issue. No option to choose 4 cyl auto transmission which I have. UPDATE 5/2016: After contacting the dealer where I bought the car, and Ford itself and both telling me that the transmission has a "unique" response I thought I was stuck with it. It started getting worse and in March I went to a different Ford dealer. After testing, the clutch in my transmission "failed". The part was on national "back order" for 8-10 weeks. It was repaired last week and running really well now. My gas mileage has increased dramatically. For anyone with transmission issues on your Focus and not getting resolution from Ford, there is a law firm that is putting together a class action suit against Ford, you can contact them at www.attorneyzim.com. One other thing: I'm having an ongoing issue with a fuel odor that is very strong at times, it is intermittent, I can't make it happen and I can't get the dealer to take the situation seriously. My next "Ford" battle! Update November 2016: I don't drive a lot so after owning this car 1 1/2 years I have only 13,000 miles on it. The transmission issue is okay, my mileage dropped quite a bit for a while. Now I can get better pick up but I have to push it a little harder also and tolerate the revving up of the engine to do so, it sounds like a sports car when doing so. Not a sound I enjoy, I like relatively quiet cars. Regarding the fuel odor mentioned previously, it continues...been to two different places both of which tell me there is nothing they can do unless it's happening while the car is at their shop. The overall testing of the car says it's okay. But the intermittent odor continues, although now the smell isn't just a gasoline odor, it smells more like grease and gasoline...I have to turn my a/c up to max to shut off the outside air and therefore, also the odor. I've written to Ford about it and they offer solution. Update: 11/15/17 I no longer own this vehicle, traded it in 2 months ago.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Test Drive Was Great! The 2 years after....

Mathew Knudson, 12/27/2017
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

The Ford Focus seems like a decent car on the lot. It looks sporty, the backup cam is nice, the seats adjust for quite a bit of leg room even for a very tall person. Doing a 20 mph test drive around the suburban streets near the dealership, you may think it rides smoothly and accelerates nicely. It may seem to be made well, but what brand new car doesn't? You read the reviews on Car and Driver and Edmunds and think you're making the right call. THEN you try to drive the car home on the highway and realize the car isn't actually automatic, it is a "computer controlled manual", which slips, gets confused if you even lightly reduce pressure on the gas pedal, refuses to grip when you press the pedal to the floor, and generally handles like a drunk robot from a 50s scifi movie is driving a manual tractor after dunking his hands in cooking oil. Further, the build quality is awful. My car is 2 years old. In that time, I have developed problems with the trunk hinge, with my wiper fluid hose, interior liner falling, plastic becoming discolored, a massive array of weird noises, and due to some design flaw in the wheels, perpetual air loss. I have even changed one of the tires and still experience this. Thankfully, your Ford Focus is equipped with a delightful dinging sound so that you can be harassed for 3 minutes when you get in the car about the low air pressure. I have only ever had my car serviced at the Ford dealership, and they lie through their teeth about their "report card". When I picked my car up one day, the wiper fluid tank was totally empty (it was not when I dropped it off) and wouldn't spray- Yet I saw 3 spots where a "Ford Certified Mechanic" gave the wiper system, sprayer, and hoses a green light. Makes you feel real confident about the breaks. I complained to the shop, and they said that "little critters" must have damaged it in the parking lot after they serviced it. Despite the fact the hose was snapped clean off in 2 places and the brackets that held it were smashed. Must have been a Ford Certified squirrel . I contacted Ford Corp, and after a month, I got a letter saying I could pay to have my wiper hose fixed at any Ford Dealership. In conclusion, the 2015 Ford Focus is a Kia Forte, but you pay an extra few grand for them to replace the normal automatic drive engine with a ride-on mower that is shifted by a rock-em sock-em robot. They truly honor George Orwell's 1984- War is Peace, Service is Damage, and Automatic is Manual.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't buy this car!

Archer, 06/21/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
21 of 23 people found this review helpful

I have a 2015 Ford Focus. After 3,000 miles the transmission issue started, I thought it needed an oil change, but after another 3,000 miles I took the car in to be looked at and was told there was no fix! All they can do is change the clutch assembly and I would probably be back every 3,000 miles to fix the issue again! After the warranty runs out I have to pay for the issue. I looked it up and the 2011-2015 Ford Focus and fiesta all have this same problem.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: