Used 2002 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$8,644 - $18,383

Used Corvette for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Red Rocket

sdz06, 06/01/2009
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I've owned this car since new. It is the second Corvette that I've owned. The car is extremely fun to drive, handling and acceleration of this car exceeds most driver's abilities. The ride is surprisingly good for such a high performing sports car.

Report Abuse

My Red Rocket Toy

Chuck, 03/08/2007
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2002 Z06 in Oct. of 2001 and it gets just under 2000 miles a year put on it and is garaged whenever it is not driven. It has been in the rain twice and never in snow. This was a dream car for me for a long time and I love just about everything in any category with this car. It is a blast to drive for both power and handling! And the fuel economy really impresses me for an engine with 405 horsepower. This car will be in my family for a long time!

Report Abuse

Daily sports driver

FN Lawyer, 08/30/2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

After owning 2 Porsche Carreras in a row, it was with great reluctance that i viewed the Z06 as an alternative. Yet, the press kept heralding its performance prowess, and new found reliability. Went to a dealer for a test drive, my mistake. How could it actually better a Carrera? Well, after 2 years, it simply does. It still hangs tight, no chassis noises, brakes better, accelerates and outcorners better, and i still can't believe the gas mileage. No, it doesn't enjoy same interior design and quality, what a shame, wouldn't mind paying an extra 2k for them. Yet, it's roomy and more comfortable than it seems. I don't think i'll be going back to Porsche.

Report Abuse

ZO6 Corvette, 405 HP

Dueclaws, 04/10/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

In one word: AWESOME! Prior to owning this ZO6, I've driven Porsches (most recently), BMWs, Jags, etc. The Porsche was a nice car and I "thought" it was fast. But, the ZO6 just demolished that idea. This car is incredibly fast, great handling, and at the same time it's easier to drive than all of my previous (14) sports cars! Here's the real clincher: my wife absolutely loves the ZO6 and drives it more than me!

Report Abuse

Fun

BABS, 06/26/2007
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Incredible car. Fun to drive, powerful. Great gas mileage considering performance and incredible stopping power.

Report Abuse

2002 Red Z06 bought new in 2/02

Z06 torch, 12/05/2009
6 of 11 people found this review helpful

I've thoroughly enjoyed my z06. Fun to drive, comfortable, fast & a great handling car with all the comforts. My favorite "passenger scare" is the 270 degree on ramps here in SoCal! Build quality on exterior is excellent. (AND if you care!: Gas mileage is exceptional on the fwy ...between 27 & 30 depending upon speed). I have had the car in for work...mainly interior problems. I'm also on my 4th battery. I also changed the shifter the 2nd month I owned the car. Overall I'd say it's had less problems than MOST vehicles.

Report Abuse

A true American

Bear & Carol, 08/29/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I sought the ZO6 for what it is. Sprots car. Since it has no insulation (weight) and even a thinner window that the other models (weight), I know that I would give some comfort over the coupe. I got what I exepted. A highy engineered sports car that competes easily with cars costing 400% more. The engine is truly a mavel. Has a single cam and two valves per cylinder for effency, reliability and lower rotating mass. Over 400 foot pounds of torque and 28 miles per gallon tell the story there. The quality and thought that went into this car shows it's fifty years of engineering. The more I find out about this car, the better it gets.

Report Abuse

Amazing

geo, 09/04/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my first corvette, but I have been around them and driven many different models. I must say the C5 is the best one yet. The Z06 has superb handling and ridiculous amounts of HP. Hold down the active handling button for five seconds and put her into competition mode and flex the true V-8 power.

Report Abuse

2002 Z06—Better Than You Think…

n938b, 12/13/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The 405 hp Z06 is a terrific car. No fan of the Corvette since mid-year Stingrays, my first drive in a C5 changed my opinion instantly. Solid without the cowl shake, squeaks, and rattles of the past. Low sills, analog dash, comfortable seats. But it was the greatly improved rigidity that made me a believer that Chevrolet finally got the car right… or close to it. If you haven't driven one, don't let old perceptions preclude consideration of this terrific performing automobile.

Report Abuse

Hard to Beat!

Lee Whitney, 06/04/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

For the money, the 02 Z06 is hard to beat! Performance is right up there with exotics that cost way more. My only real complaint is the slight amount of "orange peel" in the paint and they could have used better quality leather in the seats. On a trip, I got 30 miles per gal with the Z06 in 6th gear and the cruise control set at about73 mph.Not bad for a 405 HP hot rod.I recent put a Vortech (smog legal) supercharger on my Z06 and it's now putting out over 560 (reliable)HP at the crank and it still gets over 27 miles per gal. It's a real animal and should be able to stay right with the new 2006 (500 hp) Z06. Even with the blower, I am extremely happy with the durablity and reliablity of my Z06.

Report Abuse

Vette the Best

mickeyalso, 05/18/2004
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

There is nothing to compare in Europe or Japan as far as price, performance, and just planin darn fun. Handles and accelerates like a bat out of hell. Looks better than Ferraris, Porsches, Nissans aren't even close. Buy American, cause its the best.

Report Abuse

Consider one for your next car!

JLH, 06/19/2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a perfomance car in the $35,000 range, this is your car. Seriously, go drive one before you buy something else. In my opinion, moving up in price from the Z06 only seems to buy exclusivity. Consumer Reports doesn't rate the reliability well, so I got mine at Carmaxx with an extended warranty until 2009. My mileage is nearing 26,000 and I haven't needed the warranty yet. A Z06 is only about 200lb heavier than a Porsche Boxter but has 140 more hp, is 250lb lighter than an M3 (but has 75 more hp) and 400lb lighter than a Viper, but just slightly less hp. Supercharger kits put the C5 hp at 550 for about $7,000. The C5 drivetrain is reportedly reliable to 700hp.

Report Abuse

Can't touch this for the price

bcarnalis, 08/07/2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Are there better sports cars in the world? Yes, certainly. Are there better ones for less than twice the price of the Z06? That is much less clear. This car is a performance monster, in all regards. It isn't just a straight line car, but will corner with Ferraris and brake with Porsches, and do it all for 1/2 to 1/3 of the cost. Of course you pay for this in terms of quality of the interior materials, which do not match Porsche and Ferrari. But if you just want to hang with your buddy's F360 on the track, this car will do it right out of the showroom. And it has a heads-up display!

Report Abuse

Keep them coming

Andy, 01/04/2007
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this Z-06 against my better judgement, especially after owning 2 wonderful 911 Carreras. Well, now I'm hooked and ain't returning to Ferdinand's best, for a long while. It's incredible how much more I would have to pay to get this amount of performance (and joy) out of another option. It does everything effortlessly. Scary at first when pushing it (read: torque master). I strongly recommend spending some time at a local track learning the in/outs of the performace envelope and borderline. This could prove very rewarding and definitely satisfying to those willing to experiment the threshold limits.

Report Abuse

All American Sports Car at a Great Price

Gary Simms, 05/12/2016
Z06 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

It's an amazing car. You can get more HP, but not much more acceleration or fun. Too fast and you just go to jail!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Yessiree!!!

Kitty Kitty, 04/09/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I only have one thing to say: It is simply the best!!

Report Abuse

The best yet!

brave2121, 04/12/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the best corvette yet. In the next two years we will get a 50th aniversary and in 2004 we will get a new model can't wait. Go Vette!

Report Abuse

Awesome!!!

Beanie, 04/12/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is sooo sweet! Great engine, very good handling and gas mileage...everything!

Report Abuse

1Fun Z06

1Fun Z06, 09/03/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my first vette and a Z06 at that. It's my daily driver and I've had it 8 months. It's like being at Disney World every day. Never had so much fun driving. I can pass 99% of cars at will and it's a beautiful car also. I call it my "stress-buster". After a tough day at work, I just have fun on the way home. Never knew driving could be such fun. Worth every penny!

Report Abuse

Bad Ride

Kingtiger, 09/30/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my 22nd Corvette. My '66 427 was not near the league the performance of this Vette is in. This is the most perfectly balanced sports car I have ever owned, Ferarri's included. The rev limiter needs to be about 7,000 rpm's to really make the car scream, but an absolute joy to drive. Life is too short people, get one and never settle just to be settling. What a blast!

Report Abuse

JIMMY

lONGVAL, 11/13/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

IT IS AWESOME WITH EXTREME POWER. ITS INTERIOR IS WELL DONE WITH MANY USER FRIENDLY FEATURES

Report Abuse

ZO6

rcap, 02/20/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Corvette ZO6 is a dream come true. Of course mine is red. I am 6'-5" and its comfortable. I also own a 1996 Impala SS and the difference is like night and day. But that differnece is waht makes owning both cars so enjoyable. I can either "cruise on auto" in the Impala or stay "wide-eyed" driving the 6 speed Vette. I purchased both new and still paid less than a Porsche -- and have much more fun.

Report Abuse

no substitute for horsepower

rdwb5, 06/19/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car simply rocks. Performance, ride, handling, and looks can't be beat. Breathtaking acceleration and mind numbing ability to stop on a dime.

Report Abuse

Wow

bearlemley, 03/28/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

A very sticky car that needs no replacement for displacement. Perfect for a long commute, Sunday mountain roads or a long road trip.

Report Abuse

Great Car Best vette ever

F_anz, 04/06/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Title says it all Z06s Rule!!

Report Abuse

2002 coupe mn6

maninblack, 03/10/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

i had this car as an 02 since 0ct 2001,since than it had close to 4000km on it ,everything seems okay (I had a 97 before),much had improve frm 1997 especially on the active handling options.However,Chevy should look at the big picture here,interior design is okay compare to what chevy's been doning,but far far apart frm its competetors,maybe use less plastic looking material or even carbon fibre. Other than that,heated seats or steering wheel radio control would help.

Report Abuse

I Love It

Camaro Racer, 03/22/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Its good

Report Abuse

Lives for more horse power

Norge1956, 04/02/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

If you drive in heavy traffic - go with the automatic. The 6 speed is alot of work..

Report Abuse

corvette z06 review

awfrwet, 05/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the corvette is fast fun to drive and is a real realible car to own

Report Abuse

great

lyle wimer, 05/20/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the best car ever

Report Abuse

SOOO Fast!

Bertrand, 05/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have driven many cars before recently buying my Z06 - AMG C32, Lexus SC430, BMWs and others - but nothing under $70K can compare to the performance of the Z06 - 0-60 in 3.9, 1/4 mile in low 12s, 1G lat. pull - one cannot truly understand the power of this car on full boil without trying it for themselves - simply obliterates anything out there.

Report Abuse

Z06 is amazing

n00dles, 06/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is amazing for the money. quicker than anything else on the road for half the price

Report Abuse

Outrun 911 Turbos for 70 grand less

A convert, 06/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Never did like Chevys until I got this bad-boy. It's good to be able to humiliate 911 turbos and (if I was rich) still be able to buy another Z06 and an F250 Powerstroke with the money left over.

Report Abuse

Not meant to be driven hard!

Jrock12, 08/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well I've owned this car about 5 months and the dealer has had it about 4 of those months! It's been mechanical problem after problem. Tranny has been replaced, rear diff blew up, bent rod, etc.. The service manager told me I must be driving it too hard! lol.. It's a $55k piece of crap. I should have stayed away after hearing about friends experiences with vettes. I'm getting rid of this thing and getting an M3.

Report Abuse

The Best Car Ever

Dave-O, 08/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nasty handling and performance, a really fast car perfect brakes and style of the car,simply the best car!

Report Abuse

Wonder Car

william_Tarasen, 04/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

5700 miles on the 02 Z06. Averaging 25.6 MPG, over 30 on trips. Great road car, comfortable, pulls moutains in 6th gear with ease. Digital cruise is a charm. Car is noisy on rough roads without insulation but does an exceptional job of not beating you up. 1-4 shift around town is a pain, I find myself either exceeding 3000 RPM or doing a 1-3 shift. It is by far the most fun/powerful/best handling car I have ever driven.

Report Abuse

Great car...

Shaun, 02/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Its definately some of the finest technology America has produced in the automotive industry in the last 30 years. It is faster than any vehicle in its price range, of higher quality, and off the scale in pure joy. Its also very refined and sophisticated. Would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a fun car with lots of redeeming features.

Report Abuse

best car ever

john, 02/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

get one

Report Abuse

Best Vette I ever owned have had three

Dan Carlton, 02/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Newest 2002 is the best. I had owned three c5's and this one is truly the TOPGUN

Report Abuse

yay

Chrisy_221, 02/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has made me soo happy.

Report Abuse

very good

jerry west, 01/26/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

my experience with corvette's has been an awsome ride up and along the roads and I would recommend any corvette to anyone, anytime!!!!!!!!!!!

Report Abuse

What a ride

eddie44, 08/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my convertible for four months. What a ride! HP,handling,comfort and style. What more could you ask for? I have 6500 miles in 4 months. Does that say enough?

Report Abuse

2002 zo6

joko, 05/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my Zo6 as most owners do , The most performance for the buck by a long shot

Report Abuse

The Corvette !!!!!!!

The VIKING, 04/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The HUD is great - check it out

Report Abuse

My millennial yellow vette baby

K buck, 03/04/2018
Z06 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Owning a vette in general gives you a high. This vette drives like new. A real head turner. It is not only a thrilling ride 0 to 60 in 4 sec, but economical as well 25 mpg. Maintenance has been top notch. Exterior and interior is nothing less then fabulous. Tires are original Goodyear eagles, that’s right only about 9k On entire vehicle. Never seen snow or ice. This is die for cherry..

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050