Skip to main content

Used 2004 Toyota Sienna Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,317 - $5,267

Used Sienna for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

XLE Limited 406,000 Miles with only Minor Issues

walleyeman57, 02/15/2012
updated 10/05/2022
2004 Toyota Sienna XLE Limited 7-Passenger Fwd 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
106 of 111 people found this review helpful

I purchased this van with 60K miles on it in 2007. Since then I have put over 240 more. This has been the most reliable car or truck I have ever owned. The items I have repaired or replaced include tires, brakes, spark plugs, and two timing belts. I had to have a new A/C compressor last summer. Both power sliding door cables broke some time ago but I have not fixed them because the doors open and close with one finger-they are a waste. This van still has the original alternator, starter, shocks, springs and of course engine and transmission. It rides and drives nice with no real issues. I would rate the comfort very good. Well, with well over 400,000 this van remains a daily driver for our family. Three timing belt changes (two with water pumps) three spark plug changes, two radiators, a couple strut changes. I do a transmission drain and fill every year. This van just keeps on going. No rust to speak of-and we live in MI where our roads are heavily salted at least 4 months out of the year. It is almost scary that the alternator, starter, and of course engine and transmission are original . We still use this van for long road trips-but I did put the title in the glove box just in case we have to make a quick trade while far from home. My 92 YO mother comments that she loves the smooth and comfortable ride. This van has lasted more than twice as long as the two Dodge vans we had in the past (190K and 170K) and shows no signs of giving up. Yes, you do have to maintain it. I change the oil about every 5-10K miles in addition to the trans fluid changes. I add up what we spend on repairs and maintenance every year and it still does not make sense for us to lay out another $40K for a new one. I think Toyota never got the message of planned obsolescence. This van is used in mixed driving as we live in the country but travel to urban areas at least 3 times per week. 10-3-17 we still drive this van everyday. This past year we put a new radiator and brakes. The starter and battery were replaced. This was the original starter-so really not a surprise. With 428k mikes people are shocked there is no visible rust anywhere on the body. I did change the tranny fluid again. I had an oil analysis done by Blackstone Labs and it came back great with no issues. 1-6-19 we took the van on a 1000 mile trip with no issues. While in the trip we purchased a 2012 Sienna. I sold this 2004 with 452,xxx miles and she was running great.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

'04 Sienna LE 7-passenger

jrobey747, 05/31/2012
2004 Toyota Sienna LE 7-Passenger Fwd 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
32 of 33 people found this review helpful

My wife and I recently purchased a used '04 Sienna w/122,000 miles on it. I didn't think twice about buying this Sienna because of Toyota's reliabilty (we also own a '02 Camry w/175,000 miles on it). The model we got is the LE 7-passenger w/leather interior. It is a very comfortable vehicle to ride in and fun to drive, even though it's a minivan. Other than some slight vibration in the dash the Sienna drives like new, very smooth and quiet. My wife loves the right rear sliding door that opens w/a push of a button. Although, I have heard of many instances when the chain breaks in that power sliding door being a costly repair (over $1400 I believe). We love the minivan life!

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Awesome van

minime51ad, 02/23/2015
2004 Toyota Sienna XLE 7-Passenger AWD 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
31 of 32 people found this review helpful

I bought this AWD van with 150K miles on it. It doesn't use a drop of oil, rides smooth and is free of major body defects but the prior owner did have it rustproofed regularly. I now have 180K miles on it and it is still running strong. The only serious problem has been a rear wheel bearing which cost less than $400 to repair. I love the sure footed feel of this van in our snowing northern climate.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Best minivan

jeffv, 07/04/2010
2004 Toyota Sienna LE 8-Passenger Fwd 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Toyota has done a superb job. We have had 5 minivans. 4 Chryslers and one Pontiac Montana. We buy all of our vans with high milage with the exception of the Montana. I would take a Sienna with 190,000 miles over the others with half that. At 190,000 it is still tighter and smoother than the Montana with 50,000 miles. We have taken a number of trips with all 8 of us plus the back stuffed with luggage add a car top carrier & we still average 22.8 miles to the gallon. The best we have seen on a shorter trip was 26.7 mpg with no luggage. I just put the top rated new Michelin tires on it & it is so quiet you would almost think you were flying. I will definitely buy another Sienna.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Happy so far

Happy so far, 07/29/2010
2004 Toyota Sienna LE 8-Passenger Fwd 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

Purchased at 92k from original owner who had only needed routine maintenance. Aside from radiator (below), our only maintenance has been scheduled (including the 90k timing belt swap) and an ATF flush for good measure. OEM front rotors finally replaced at over 100k. After being bled to death by domestic vehicle repair costs (and that with doing lots of the work ourselves) this has been a wonderful change. Easy to maintain, well-thought-out engine layout, etc. Sure footed and nimble: great in upstate NY snow with dedicated snow radials, and a quiet, controlled ride with good quality all-seasons the rest of the year. Our local repair shop is experienced with Toyotas, a good source for advice.

Report Abuse
Items per page: