Used 2005 Lexus IS 300 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,884 - $6,291

Used IS 300 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

On month 7

Kevin, 01/17/2006
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I love most everything about this car aside from the craptacular gas mileage. The ride is also a bit harsh, but that might be just me getting older :-) To date I haven't had any warranty work done to the car - a primary reason for buying this car for me was Lexus reputation. If you are considering buying this car I would encourage you to do so.

Report Abuse

I didn't know I could love a car so much

southernguy138, 10/17/2012
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I just bought this 2005 IS300 with 129k miles and is simply amazing. Drives like new, literally. Very quiet and the straight 6 engine is superb, its quick, and you can't even feel the transmission shift. By far, this car is the most fun I've driven. I know these cars are good for over 300k miles with little maintenance. Everyone should have the opportunity to own one of these. You'll have a hard time sleeping knowing its in your driveway. I have had no regrets buying this car! GET ONE!

Report Abuse

One of the Best RWD Car you can get

Testing123, 12/09/2005
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

The styling of the car is very agressive and sporty. For a 3255lbs vehicle the car perform very well. The engine was build for import tune spec and respond very well to performance modification. I wish Lexus would have use a more agressive cam from supra engine to move the stock rear wheel horse power up to 188whp. My IS300 AKA Altezza has gone through couple of performace Mod, like a stage1 turbo kit from inovative turbo and fujitsubo high flow exhaust, which boost the WHP to 323whp. The stock clucth will take this mod without any problem. This is one of the best vehicle ever build and it will surely out performed a BMW series 3 with a small modification to the intake and exhaust system.

Report Abuse

My Most Fun Car in 50 years!

Gina Hudson, 11/09/2005
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've been driving 50 years and have driven a Lexus automobile since 1993. This IS 300 is undoubtably the most enjoyable car I've ever owned to drive, exceeding even the Lexus 400. As a rather "vertically challenged" woman, I've never, until the IS 300, been able to see over a hood of any car I've driven (scary thought). This automobile allows me to sit high enough to have a clear view of the front of the car. It makes driving fun and much more comfortable for me. In today's market, this automobile is a bargain!

Report Abuse

IS 300

txbuzzman, 06/29/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Love the car, great gearbox. If you like manual transmissions and rear wheel drive this might be the car for you. Fun increases exponentially when you turn the traction control off........

Report Abuse

2005 IS300. What a car! Sporty and luxury

javalencia, 08/19/2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The best car I've ever owned. A smart decision if you get one. 124k miles and runs like a champ. In the city will eat up gas a little more than it should but on the fwy is as good as my previuos 07 Corolla. Powerful, smooth, quiet and very responsive engine. Automatic transmission shifts smooth. I love the reliability, confortablity, style, interior design, re-sale price and everything about this car. Even with "kind of" high mileage haven't had a single problem. Do regular maintenance and car wont let you down. It's just a blast to drive.

Report Abuse

EJM

ejm, 08/10/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It had been a long time since I purchased a new car. Driving the IS 300 is like a breath of fresh air. It is manuverable, responsive, and quick off the line. It is quick to deliver whatever I ask it to do. It performs so well that I rarely require the use of some of the other high-performance options.

Report Abuse

Most fun I Have had in many years

Wolfpodd, 09/20/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The only problems I have had was scraping the front right bumper on a high curb!! My Bad!! This vehicle is a ton of fun to drive. Handling is great, powertrain is strong. I have a 5 speed manual so gas mileage is better.

Report Abuse

It's a Lexus afterall!

Michael, 12/28/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A very athletic 4-door sedan with many luxury standard features which are expensive options in her class. Both the ride and feel are so good that I can drive it all day & still have fun. Trouble free still and well built with no rattles after over 14000 miles with only the 2 scheduled oil change service calls.

Report Abuse

Perfection

Awesome Vehicle, 12/30/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car! Purchased two weeks ago, and loving every moment behind the wheel. Test drove the BMW 325i and Acura TL. I was unimpressed with the acceleration of the 325i, and didn't like the feel of leatherette. I did like the TL but, didn't care too much for the front-wheel drive. Driving enthusiasts will love the IS300, as it seems to be the most well rounded vehicle in its class. Good acceleration, smoooooth Inline 6, classy, yet trendy interior, handling and braking comprable to the 325i, and unbelieveable customer service at Lexus dealerships. For the money, BMW didn't offer much more than the name, and Acura didn't do enough with the TL to win driving enthusiasts over...

Report Abuse

IS 300 Great for the price

Richard, 01/26/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Fantasic beautifully crafted sedan. Has all options I wanted. Just plain great automobile

Report Abuse

1 Awesome Car

YellowIS300, 03/23/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Since I bought the IS 300 I have not been able to get myself out of it. The car is amazing. It handles extremly well, it has a lot of appeal to everyone, and I get consistent compliments by friends who are very picky about cars. The manual makes this one fun car. If it had an extra 40hp it would be PERFECT.

Report Abuse

The best

slav, 03/13/2010
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Awesome to drive and really nice on a round smooth and perfect in winter this car is best for a teenager looking to race and customize the car sweet ride have fun.

Report Abuse

Thankful Soldier

Jumpmastercmb, 05/27/2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

From the first time that I learned to drive, I always wanted a BMW, but after test driving the IS 300 my boyhood dreams changed. This vehicle is awesome! It's small, powerful, and classy. I guarantee you, once you drive a Lexus you won't even consider any other vehicle. The Lexus customer service and maintenance teams are also top notch! This is the best gift I could have purchased for myselg after a tough 12 month tour in Iraq.

Report Abuse

I wanted so bad to like this car!

mjf, 11/21/2005
3 of 12 people found this review helpful

Where do I start… I have had this car at the Lexus shop 7X in the past year for numerous rattles & squeaks which still aren’t fixed. I have had the clutch on the AC replaced, the AC/heater fan motor replaced, the heating/AC control unit replaced, & the sunroof track system replaced. I wanted so bad to like this car but it has been nothing but a pain. Performance wise, it just OK. The 5-speed manual shifts hard & the traction control is bad, kicks in when taking off or cornering hard & then stays activated too long causing lack of power. The car handles well on dry & wet pavement, however, it's downright scary on any remotely slippery roads. I wished I'd bought a BMW again.

Report Abuse

For the price, you can't do better.

1SickLexus, 04/07/2005
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

The Lexus IS 300 is probably the nicest looking car from the inside and outside. It is a blast to drive, and for the money, it is pretty quick. Luxury, style, performance, and reliability make this car the best I have ever owned.

Report Abuse

Lexus IS 300 or is it a Toyota?

jeffb, 06/01/2005
0 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car is a total let down. It has no interior room or space for anything. The back seat is a joke if anyone up front is near 6ft. The trim inside is cheap. Not at all what I expected from a "Lexus" - I really feel this car is a Toyota with a face-lift. You even feel the bumps of the road and you can hear the outside. I would not buy this car again.

Report Abuse

Who's supposed to buy these things?

Lmigliore, 10/15/2005
0 of 5 people found this review helpful

The IS 300 seems conceptually confused. It's an imitation 3-series BMW but Lexus had to muffle its road feel and give it unreadable instruments. The instrument cluster on this car is the ugliest and least functional I have ever seen. The traction control cuts the power on city street corners. It burns much more premium gas than a car its size should. It beeps if I get out of the car wrong. I guess if I wanted a Toyota I should have gotten a Corolla.

Report Abuse

Lexus' Rocks

krazykanuck, 10/30/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car! I have my permit and I'll get this car when I get my license. I love it! It has very responsive steering, great acceleration, good looks, and such a great stereo! Have I said I love this car?

Report Abuse

Love it!

Sassie, 05/19/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car. It gets up and goes when you need it to. It is the best car that I have had. I have not had any problems with it. No squeaks with this one. I have bought new cars in the past and heard one like 3 months later with the doors. This one has none.

Report Abuse

Great Sporty Luxury Car

Stephen, 12/19/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My friend picked up this car after crashing his Passat. After he took me for a ride, I had to get my own. Although it's not as fast as the 250/350 series, I think the exterior is more attractive. I bought mine with a ground effects package, custom rims, and spoiler. Later, I added tinted windows. Overall, especially with the customization, it is a very attractive and sporty car. It is fast with great handling except for occasionally slipping in wet spots. The price was right for a luxury vehicle. The mileage isn't great for a small car. After 30,000 miles, I haven't had a single problem.

Report Abuse

The little lexus that could

radardodger, 11/06/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is a blast to drive! It feels so light and nimble on twisty back roads it's just plain fun! It never feels like its going to get away from you, even when the front tires are pushing into a turn. Little "step outs" from the rear end are easily corrected on dry roads. The only thing this car needs to be the ultimate entry level "luxury sport", in my mind, is another 50 hp. Very quiet inside, even with 19s. The tiptronic auto works well, although 2nd gear could be a bit taller. Traction control is a bit intrusive, but does its job, even if it stays on to long when it kicks in. The motor, although lacking power, is silky smooth! And that's an understatement.

Report Abuse

My love

brooke, 02/12/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I think that she handles very well. It is front wheel drive so snow isn’t the best, but for everything else it’s amazing. Gorgeous lines and interior. Great acceleration as well as sound system.

Report Abuse

Know I can Depend on It

Sherron, 07/10/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The interior styling and exterior styling could be better. However, it has plenty of power, top speed, and is a blast to drive. Most importantly, I have not had to even think about going into my pocket to pay for some type of mechanical problem. It is one of the most reliable cars I have ever owned along with my former 1987 Mazda RX-7. I wish it were a little bigger but overall for the money it is the best quality vehicle in its class. With its power and torque it will do anything I ask in Los Angeles driving.

Report Abuse

Street Racing

Witman, 07/26/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is nice around the curves and bends in the industrial areas. It has a nice acceleration and good top speed. The E-shift provides good handling and power too. Very good design also.

Report Abuse

Dream Car

Lexy, 08/16/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Incredible handling, style, and capabilities. I loved the look of this car and had to have one. I love the way it drives even more, and would buy another, if I had a bigger garage!!!

Report Abuse

BabyLexus

Tony Santini, 10/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the IS300 5 speed back in June 2005. The experience so far is excellent. No complaints aside from the poor reception from the radio; specially when you turn the rear window defroster. The suspension makes this car to stick to the ground at higher speeds. Everyone has complimented me on the great looks of the car.

Report Abuse

Sports 4 door Sedan

Onyx IS300, 10/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent Driving, the car feels like a well balanced sports car, Braking system rivals BMW. Beautiful interior fabrics and high build quality, keeping with the Lexus name.

Report Abuse

wheel noise

lkuhl, 10/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It makes a lot of road noise and even though it has been to the dealer they refuse to fix what is a bad wheel bearing or tires that have problems. One tire popped out the tube like a bike tire and it cost $225.00 to replace. Acts liked it was wrecked or something and dealer will not fix it I would not buy another one!

Report Abuse

Great sports sedan value

deanedell, 11/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a well-rounded sports sedan, the IS300 should definitely be in your consideration. The 2JZ-GE I6 is one smooth engine mated with a transmission with barely perceptible shifts. Excellent handling and brakes that stop RIGHT NOW. High quality interior materials and world- class fit and finish worthy of the Lexus name.

Report Abuse

IS300 Sport Sedan

smedley, 11/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned. Performance and comfort and reliability and "looks" are what I wanted. Not a lot of chrome- in fact there is none on body of vehicle.

Report Abuse

Lexus Fan for Life

hmntafiel, 12/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Not only does it have an attractive body style, but it is lots of fun to drive! The handling is GREAT around those curves--smooth and very responsive. I traded in a Celica for this baby and am not sorry I did. The interior is stylish and comfortable, with a sporty-feel, and attractive instrument panel/gauges. The E-shift option comes in handy when you want to have a little more control over the gears. Gas mileage is also pretty good. Lexus has once again produced another excellent quality car. I love this car. Lexus has definitely won me over as a customer for life!

Report Abuse

the best ever

emily, 01/04/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i got my car for my birthday and its awesome it is really fun to drive and soo sleek looking how can u not love it!!!!!!

Report Abuse

Fun car!

Ko, 01/05/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My top 3 choice was C230k, 3series, and Is 300. I had a chance to test drive each vehicle, and I would have to say in terms of performance and comfort, IS300 blows off the other 2. Obviously, IS300 has its own flaws as well. If you are seeking luxury/status quo vehicle and don't mind spending $1500 to $2500 more, this is definatley not the vehicle of choice for you. However, if you are a working professional, who feel little bit uneasy to be driving around on a sport-car, but miss the good old days, this is the vehicle of your choice. In addition, depending on your negotiation skills, you may easily cut down the price to $29000-30000 without any problem at all unlike BMW or MB.

Report Abuse

Fun car

Ko, 01/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Pros: competitive pricing, mechanical quality and reliability of the vehicle. Excellent driving mechanics and handling of the vehicle. Drives like a sports car, yet it has a comfort of a luxury vehicle. Cons: Outdated style (poor interior design), poor MPG. Not a vehicle of choice for winter road.

Report Abuse

IS 300 Rating

R. Freudberg, 03/12/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A beautifully constructed vehicle, fun to drive, great looking and very comfortable for a sports sedan vehicle.

Report Abuse

Lexus IS 300, A smart buy

tweeter, 08/10/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After seeking out the best car for the money and be fun to drive, I would seek no further than the IS 300. With it's reliability, resale value, power, handling, options and price this car is the best all around. Thumbs Way Up!!

Report Abuse

It was love at first sight

helen, 01/30/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was so in love with this car when I first saw it and took a look at all the features, but the only downside was the mpg. Not a big deal at the moment, I thought. So WRONG. The mpg is the only reason I don't want to own this car anymore. I feel safe driving in this car and everything's nice (although the inside could be bigger), my brakes squeak a lot too. Everytime I ask someone who works at the dealership what's up with it, they keep saying it's brake dust, and I don't buy it.

Report Abuse

Loved the IS300 since debut

jeremp, 09/16/2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I recently picked up the last year IS300 (2005). I have always wanted one and I do not like the IS250 or IS350, they look too much like other lesser vehicles. I love the reliability, mine has 93k miles but I have seen them with over 200k and still running. The sunroof doesn't work, but it is 7 years old and I don't use the sunroof. I love the inline 6, v6 are not as torque'y.

Report Abuse

One of the best cars I own

leonstark, 01/22/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

By far one of the best cars I have owned in the past 10 years! when i bought the car I didnt think it was better than the 330Ci but i gotta say its just like it but better than it in some ways! i love my bimmer but i gotta say although this car was released a year ahead of e46 bimmers it did a good job competing against them. =D

Report Abuse

dash gone bad

Pablo Rivera, 11/30/2018
E-Shift 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the dashboard on this car is melting and sticky, and black stuff sticks to your hands and clothes. heard from some mechanics that lexus was replacing the dash , but when I called lexus, they said is was only for 2006 models. my car is 2005 and they will not cover it.my car has the same problem as the 2006.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050