Skip to main content
12345...6

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2022 GX 460, so we've included reviews for other years of the GX 460 since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

Materialman , 04/16/2022
updated 10/20/2023
2022 Lexus GX 460 4dr SUV 4WD (4.6L 8cyl 6A)
40 of 42 people found this review helpful

Some say it’s dated. For me it’s perfect. V8 power, tried and true, full time 4wd, 6500 pound towing capacity, body on frame. It’s been a pleasure to own, no problems, zero. Build quality, paint, interior, all great. This is a quality vehicle that will give you many years of service. Update 10/22. The GX has been perfect with zero issues. Still drives new and no rattles. Interior still looks new. Still feeling good about this purchase! Update 4/20/23 Just passed 70,000 miles. Had the front brakes done along with the scheduled maintenance. No issues at all to report. The GX still runs and drives as new, with not a squeak or rattle. The paint and interior are still great and I get compliments on it. The phone companies recently phased out 3G and it affected some of my telematics, which is disappointing, because Lexus is not offering any repair/updates to upgrade the truck to 4G. These are great vehicles and if your looking at a used one buy a 2019 or newer, which have 4G. Update 10/20/23: no issues to report. I just got back from an extended trip to several states. She was loaded down but performed well in the mountains. For a 2016 with 81,000 miles to still be as tight and rattle free is impressive. I will look at the all new 2024, but it may be out of my price range. These are great vehicles.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

It has flaws, but everything else is awesome

Tommy S, 06/20/2022
2022 Lexus GX 460 Luxury 4dr SUV 4WD (4.6L 8cyl 6A)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

MPG is not great, tech is okay with Apple Car Play, but that’s not really the point of this vehicle….. this is a very rugged and luxurious SUV. It really is the Japanese G Wagon. The styling stays pretty much the same year after year and it’s near timeless. Safety is incredible and off road capabilities are as good as any 4x4 Jeep or truck if not better. Very hard to beat the value.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Rugged SUV

Modcookieparty, 02/15/2022
2022 Lexus GX 460 4dr SUV 4WD (4.6L 8cyl 6A)
36 of 38 people found this review helpful

I watched and read many reviews on this vehicle and eventually purchased one with the Premium trim. First off, it's a body-on-frame vehicle and it drives like that - I like it, some may not. On the stock tires, the ride is pretty smooth. Even over rough roads and bumps - did I mention it's a body-on-frame SUV...The V8 is responsive - not incredibly quick but strong enough. I get 17.5 mpg on mixed driving. Every review mentions that it has an ancient engine and transmission. Other than the gas mileage, it performs well and it's bulletproof. If you're looking for a proven vehicle that can handle the rough stuff and comfortably tackle the daily drive, this is a great choice.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best Value

Therednsx, 09/10/2022
2022 Lexus GX 460 Luxury 4dr SUV 4WD (4.6L 8cyl 6A)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

I've read the reviews over the years for this vehicle and it turns out the most of what "car reviewer" say is correct. But here's the rub, when compared to Mercedes it cost far less to operate in terms of maintenance cost and resale value. This means your money stays where you put it. And compared to Range Rover reliability is where the GX460 takes the easy win. If you like the the Range Rover dealership experience you'll get plenty of it just trying to keep it slapped together. If you need to impress your friends and neighbors in the short term, by all means you should buy something other than a GX460. If you need a vehicle of this type and size but you want to be able to transport you and those important to you anywhere at any time and not worry about whats going to break next the GX is the better choice. I'd like to see the ride quality improve along with the gas mileage on the GX460, but not at the expense of reliability. If you ever asked why the average age of an airplane is 25 years old and why some airlines are using aircraft that have been out of production for over 15 years, take a closer look at the GX460's build quality and compare.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

love my 2021 gx 460 premium w/ sport package

Louis C, 02/27/2021
updated 03/02/2022
2021 Lexus GX 460 4dr SUV 4WD (4.6L 8cyl 6A)
56 of 61 people found this review helpful

Don't listen to negative reviews, i was shopping around Range rovers, Mercedes suv and this Lexus Gx since i drove a GS 350 which was bulletproof reliable. The range rovers have awful reliability complaints, mercedes are nice but don't hold their value well so i went to Lexus and test drove this 2021 Gx with sport pack and fell in love. The infotainment system is plain but works and im getting 14.5-16.5 mpg in city and 19-20 mpg in hwy which is not bad for a v8. Love the triple beam headlights ! it makes it look almost like a new bodystyle Gx even though its a refresh. This car with the sport package, 19 inch black wheels and white paint exterior turns heads. I was looking at 2020 pre owned and they are almost same price as the deal i got on new one, these hold value very well so you won't have to be thousands upside down when its time to trade like a range rover junk or mercedes and on top of that its bulletproof reliable ! Today is 3/1/22 and i still feel the same about my GX , great vehicle and such a mean looking presence with the sport package when i drive or see another on the road :)

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: