Used 2005 GMC Canyon Crew Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,757 - $4,896

Used Canyon for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Long term review

Andy L., 01/09/2010
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new in Oct 2004. My review from Jan 06 remains true. This truck has been outstanding. The fit and finish on the interior is fine, the exterior has held up perfectly. It is very well powered, and a pleasure to drive. Does great in Michigan winters. Even better with new Dick Cepek FC-II tires. I've hauled many loads of wood, pulled a small boat, traveled with family of five and never been let down. The only two issues have been the theft deterance went out (minor), and the drivers window regulater died ($300) I have 86k miles and plan to put on many more.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Matt, 05/05/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Great truck for doing things you need to do, without the gas of a full size. Great family car to take to the beach, worth every bit of money.

Report Abuse

Engine /electrical problems

marc, 10/23/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

After purchase it was noted to have bad water leakage on the passager side under the dash that shorted out the OnStar system and caused the computer to error. Problem was found to be a bad lead seam over the windshield. Computer error causes one of the cylinders to runs rich, crack in exhaust manifold, now getting only 11 mpg. Remote failure also, attempted to open the door with key and found that the tumblers in the door and back gate had been missed keyed. Lots of problems with remote entry system and electrical connectors under vehicle rusting loss of plate lights and other exterior lights. Vehicle only 18 month old and GM providing little help.

Report Abuse

Still going strong

sullylang, 08/04/2012
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

Coming up on 8 years owning this truck. It still runs great, drives great, very reliable, and good efficiency (18mpg city / 22 mpg hwy). Gas mileage was better with regular hwy tires. Dick Cepek FC-II tires took about 1 mpg off the fuel economy. Just did 120k service on vehicle. I wrecked my brakes, but they would have needed rotors and drums at 120k either way. Only issue that's odd is the rough, or low idle from a dirty throttle body. Very simple to clean, and now runs perfect again. Very satisfied with this truck. The experts have their blinders on when giving it poor performance ratings. Power is great and it tows very well.

Report Abuse

Great Little Pickup!

05CanyonOwner, 11/19/2018
4dr Crew Cab Z71 SLE Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this Canyon new in 04/2005 and it’s still going strong in 11/2018. There are now so few smaller/mini pickups out there that some people confuse my cherry 2005 Canyon as a 2019 model, and want to know where they can get one for themselves. Consumer Reports trashed this vehicle back in the mid-2000’s in so many ways… I know after 14 years of owning one, I am so glad I got this pickup. My 2005 Canyon has never let me down and it gets its recommended servicing per owners manual when due. It has always gotten about 20 MPG combined mileage since new. It’s nothing fancy or classy in any way – it is just reliable, bullet-proof small pickup transportation. If you can find one for sale that has been cared for, you’ll be most rewarded with loyal transportation.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sweet 5 Cylinder-GMC Pickup Truck

angelballs, 02/09/2014
4dr Crew Cab Z71 SLE 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
27 of 43 people found this review helpful

Bought my truck new in October 2004, This sweet 5 cylinder pickup has served me well on long 1100 mile runs from Florida to Maryland and back as well as 5 and 6 mile trips to buy heavy materials such as sod and mulch, as well as lumber from big box stores. The paint quality is exceptional and day after day in Florida sunshine it is still beautiful after all these years. A dream to drive, it still stirs my soul when I see it sitting in solemn eloquence. My Canyon will be Thirteen years old this October, I have 66,000 miles on her and the Silver Birch paint is still beautiful, (I wax once per year). I drive it 4 or 5 times a week, First truck I ever had a seven year original battery in. Just replaced the second battery with a 5 year one. Like I said when I saw her on the dealers lot, "That sure is a pretty truck", she still looks like a million bucks to me and I drive her 4 to 5 times a week. Just paid $1700 dollars to replace hoses, plugs, and front end work. Now she is "good as new" to me. I can send you a photo if needed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Stone

Pete Stone, 08/07/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have a 2005 Canyon with off road package and 3.5/5 cyl. eng. I have 46,000 mi on it and it has been a great truck. It rides smooth and has good power. I have a K&N air filter on it, a bed cover and I run full synthectic oil in it. I get 24-26 mpg if I keep it at 70 MPH. I drove it at 65 MPH and got 27.6 which is great. I think for the money it is the best mid size truck out there and I've driven them all. With the V8 option in 2009 no other mid-size truck will be able to touch it. I reccomend the Canyon especially with the Off Road package.

Report Abuse

Love It

Zach, 09/08/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This truck can do a quarter of a miles in 13.267(average) I love it it burns out fast and the the I5 has 246 hp and its perfect i would love to get the 5.3 v8 but i got it for a great price.

Report Abuse

Perfect small truck

Andy, 01/06/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have taken this truck across the US twice going from Florida, to Maine, back to Florida, and then to Michigan. I've gotten as much as 24 MPG at 75 MPH with 5 people, and luggage. I hauled a 3000lb trailer from Florida to Michigan with no problems, and got 17 MPG while doing it. No problems on climbing steep hills in Tennesee, or with braking. I love this truck. It is perfectly powered for a small truck. It has also performed excellant during the Michigan winter with it's traction control, even in my steep driveway with snow.

Report Abuse

Look before you buy

chevylover1965, 12/14/2005
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Overall the truck offers inferior quality, poor towing capability, and poor service from General Motors. The turning radius is horrible, as is the braking system. It is underpowered to the point that the transmission must shift often to maintain speed. The most significant problem is a weak air conditioning system. The air fluctuates between cold and warm. GM is aware of the problem, but does not have a fix.

Report Abuse

Love it so far

Jason, 12/22/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned my Canyon for a month now and this being my first truck I love it! It has plenty of power and the look is great, only thing I have any sort of problem with is the rear seat is a little shallow but I don't sit there so no biggie. I would recommend this truck to anyone who wants a small truck that has good gas mileage and lots of HP.

Report Abuse

Best Truck I have ever owned!!

Devastator_454, 04/19/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had no intention of trying to improve this vehicle when I first bought it. But after driving it for the first 2mths I was curious about what else I could do to improve its performance and make it more fun to drive. Just adding a K&N intake to it, the results were undeniable. Since then I have added a Magnaflow exhaust system, changed the 3.42 to 4.10 and added belltech anti-sway bars to name a few. This truck is now Super Awesome. It is the best 4cyl truck out there. Not even import cars with modifications can beat it. One day I plan to drop a larger engine in it. Then I will really be kicken!!

Report Abuse

Nice truck so far

Ron, 02/02/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I really enjoy the ride of this truck. The seats are comfortable. I have used the truck to pull people out of ditches and it does it easily. I have the Z71 extended cab with a 5 cyl automatic 4X4. My truck has the side steps and at first I thought they were useless. When someone slammed their door into the side steps and not my door, I really liked them. I have about 11,000 miles so far with the only problem is getting out of 4 low.

Report Abuse

Cool Canyon

John Jenkins, 10/17/2016
4dr Crew Cab Z71 SLE Base Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love My Canyon!

woofie, 11/27/2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

What a great truck to run around with and take out hunting! It's a little workhorse and it looks good no matter what we do with it. Consumer Reports doesn't rate this truck well at all but they dont know anything but Toyota,Honda, Nissan etc. Not every truck is perfect, but this truck suits us just fine!

Report Abuse

Good All-Around Truck

Dan, 07/22/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded a 2002 Blazer for my '05 Canyon. The Canyon has great mileage for a 4x4 truck; interstate travel is about 24mpg, 19mpg around town. My 3.5L I-5 does great for fuel but compromises in towing. Pennsylvania winters are no problem, it does great in a lake effect snow storm! At 76,000 I haven't had any major work outside of normal wear and tear. I drive the truck everyday and it fits my lifestyle great, including many outdoor activities. I try to not use it like a work truck. I still get compliments at the gas pump! Speaking for the crew cab, I would highly recommend this truck

Report Abuse

Frustrated with Canyon

Kristen, 10/15/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Wow! What frustration with this truck. I love the looks of it and wanted it to be the best. However, it's been to the shop at least 10 times. At 25,000 the engine and head went bad so they put a new one in. Luckily it was under warranty. Now, at 65,000 miles the head is bad again! Within 25,000 miles, the brakes and tires needed replaced. Like others I've noticed the air conditioning system is not good and doesn't cool very well. In addition, my CD player is broke. I've done every suggested GM service at the mileage marks to keep it in top shape but it didn't work. I'm in the process of looking for a new truck and contacting GM. Very dissappointing!

Report Abuse

Nice Truck

Cris, 03/04/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck, my first "new" vehicle, for my 50th birthday and BA degree graduation present. It's been great. I did have a squeak in the radio but there was a kit that the dealer put on for me (rubber molding around the unit) that got rid of it. Great running, only in the shop for a recall once. I do get the oil changed as recommended, which helps on vehicle longevity. I did notice molding around rear tires now coming loose so that's a problem. Otherwise impressed and a nice ride (my carpooler said the heated leather seats help his back more than his chiropractor!)

Report Abuse

I love this truck

chris , 04/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have only had this truck for about a month now but it has already seen snow and hauled some mulch and dirt. It handles great and the drive is smooth. It is very roomy and comfortable. I wanted the interior room to take adults with me. Seats 5 easily. I really enjoy driving it.

Report Abuse

Love my Canyon

chris, 05/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this truck for two months now and I love it. The ride is smooth and comfortable. I have had nothing but compliments from everybody that's seen it. The back seat is very roomy considering it's a truck.

Report Abuse

Rides great, looks great

Terry, 08/12/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had a number of people ask me about this truck. They love the front end look. I've added a cap (Century), sunroof (CRL) and upgraded the sound system (Alpine XM) and made this into a great ride for my wife and I on some long trips. Lots of open cab room, leather and heated seat... the only way to go in New England.

Report Abuse

Awesome Truck

IIZFISHIN, 09/23/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this truck with 14,000 miles on it in July and have 18,000 on it right now. It’s a super truck and pulls the boat and camper just fine. Plenty of power and very roomy inside. I'm 6'2" with plenty of leg room and headroom for me.

Report Abuse

GMC Tough

fatboy, 12/22/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

So far this truck has been everything I thought it would be for a small 5cyl truck. It gets the small jobs done perfectly and is a lot less expensive than the Tacoma. It is also easy to change the oil and air filter. Nice room under the hood.

Report Abuse

Good Mid-sized Truck

RSWARD, 12/29/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very happy with the truck. Like the I5 engine, good acceleration, fun to drive, gas mileage is around 17 (city). Get compliments on the vehicle. Would have liked a better turning radius. Interior plain and simple. Otherwise very happy with the truck and got a good deal on it with all the rebates.

Report Abuse

Canyon z71 crew 4x4

CrazyEyez, 02/05/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just got the truck in October already has 4110 miles on it and I got it with 88 miles on it. Fuel mileage really stunk at first, but as with other owners I’ve talked to, it’s getting better as it breaks in some more. The ride is pretty good, though it is stiff being that mine is the 4x4 z-71. Handling is pretty good for a truck. The inline-5 motor has plenty of power, but it lacks in a good strong sound. The engine, though more powerful then the old 4.3L v-6, doesn’t sound as powerful as the v-6. I drove a 4.3L powered 2000 Blazer 4x4 4door, and I am missing that extra 25lb-ft of torque that the 4.3L has over the inline-5. And though I haven’t had a chance to, 4wd seems pretty strong.

Report Abuse

awesome truck

Power, 11/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the funnest truck i've ever driven. I've owned 7 trucks in my past

Report Abuse

Canyon

Cindy Miller, 12/02/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I personally think that it is probably the best vehicle on the road.I would recomend it to the whole world.

Report Abuse

On The Road In A Canyon Pickup

Kent Sherry, 12/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I like the exterior styling and had several friends remarked how great it looked. Of course there were some extras such as the mud flaps and running board. The first day out of the dealership I took it out on some snow covered mountain roads in Pennsylvania. The 4-WD high range feature came in handy and the change from 2-WD to 4-WD was fast and smooth. I purchased a unit with alot of extras such as an MP3 radio, power windows and side mirrors, and remote locks. The truck has a 6 cyl Vortex Engine that kicks out over 220 hp. It is being set up for towing and I plan to pull an 18' pontoon boat during the summer months.

Report Abuse

Charming Canyon

Edwin Feliu, 01/03/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck drives like any of the best Japanese SUVs, roars smoothly like a classic muscle car, the off road package gives you commanding visibility and a smooth ride that lures you for more driving, and the fuel economy is about 19-20 MPH if you stay in the highway. On wet pavement it is a steady stead. GMC successfully created the ideal SUV-truck hybrid: tough like a truck, yet spacious and comfortable like the best SUV. I am very impressed and pleased with the package and final invoice.This vehicle definitely and permanently changed my previous skeptical opinion and dislike for trucks in general.Thank you, GMC engineers, for this remarkable and extraordinary vehicular achievement.

Report Abuse

Great truck

ed, 01/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck looks good and has plenty of room. Bought it for my 16 year old son. Very easy to drive with lots of safety features.

Report Abuse

Solid and Smooth

indiana, 03/24/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

GMC did a lot right with the Canyon. Good fit and finish. Great aggressive lines. The interior room is impressive, particularly the front leg room. The two-tone cloth interior is very sharp as well. My only complaint is that the doors do not lock shut on their own..ie..they need to be pushed with some force. I had to think long and hard to come up with that though...it is a great truck!

Report Abuse

GMC Canyon Underrated!

RT, 06/21/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My 2005 GMC Canyon Crew Cab (with all the goodies) has been a superb performer: reliable, comfortable, and substantial. Fit and trim are good on the upgraded version with leather seats, etc. (not excellent, but good). The Canyon offers a sun /moonroof which is a must for me, an on-going convertible owner in California. I've owned Fords for the last twenty+ years (including F-150 & Rangers) and I remain a Ford fan. However, this GMC Canyon is encroaching on that favored status. The low-speed torque is lacking somewhat in this 3.5l truck. But, to me it's not big deal. The auto transmission is smooth, as is the 5-cyl. engine. The DRLs are a great safety feature.

Report Abuse

2005 Canyon crew

David, 07/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Seat comfort is substandard. Love the overall design. Gas mileage is to be expected from a 4 wheel drive. Stereo sounds good, but I really hate the auto volume.

Report Abuse

Good commuter!

Tim, 07/28/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

First the details: 2dr regular cab Z85 SLE with the 5cyl 3.5L automatic. I purchased this vehicle as a commuter and have been enjoying it a lot. I wanted the additional power of the 5cyl, but didn't need the extended cab. Combine the extra power, all the electric options/conveniences, and an automatic and you have a great commute vehicle. I looked at the Chevy Colorado, Toyota Tacoma, and a full size Silverado to compare. The combination I wanted was style, power, no extra cab, automatic trans, a way to transport the bike, and an occasional trip to Home Depot. This provided a great compliment to the weekend sportier car with a manual trans for more aggressive driving.

Report Abuse

Downsize with a Reason

Joe, 08/02/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded a Dodge 2500 4x4 in for my new 2005 GMC Canyon. I traded because of the high gas prices. What I got was a truck that suits all my needs in every way. First off, this truck is stylish and tough looking. The Z71 package with the offroad suspension has me ready for any adventure I want to tackle. This truck is a great fit.

Report Abuse

Great

schrn, 08/06/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great mileage for a truck. It has good pickup speed in traffic and manuevers well. Has a good turning radius. I haven't tried it off road yet.

Report Abuse

Excellent truck

neil lockhart, 08/10/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have driven GMC trucks for 20 years after driving Fords for 16. They have never been in shop for repairs, so I bought another one. It's a great truck with plenty of power. I get 20mpg and a lot of compliments. It cost me $6000 less than the Japanese models and has more power than all other trucks in its class. Don't let the so-called experts fool you, if you can still get the good pricing, go for it.

Report Abuse

Great vehicle

Bob, 08/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Has been totally reliable in 15k miles, great ride, surprising pickup and fuel mileage. I expected a lot and got more than I expected! And, it is made in the USA.

Report Abuse

Good comfortable transportation

roadrunner1722, 09/06/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very pleased after about 1 month. Much more comfortable than the 2000 Sonoma x cab that it replaced. Back seats comfortable, 2.8 engine has more pep than the 2.2 and gets about the same gas mileage. I would like a bed a little larger though.

Report Abuse

Very nice....

Doug, 11/26/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Canyon is all that I could expect from a smaller truck. GREAT mileage with the 5 cylinder. Plenty of power. In fact, on a wet day the wheels actually break loose! Interior could be a bit more "classy".

Report Abuse

Nice Little Truck

Phil, 01/26/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall, a good light-duty truck and I am happy with it. Fuel ecomony is about what the EPA said it would be (23MPG Hwy / 19MPG City). Fun to drive and the I-5 engine with the 3.42 rear end is peppy enough for everyday driving, but the cruise downshifts if you are climbing any significant grade at all - and rather abruptly! Cruise set on 65MPH will indicate 1750 RPM. No mechanical problems so far (6300 mi). I ordered it with leather seats & most of the available toys. No squeaks or rattles and the body is very tight. A good little truck for today's high gas prices!

Report Abuse

It’s a so-so

Little Smokey, 04/09/2018
4dr Crew Cab Z71 SLE Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The interior desks kinda tight. Making me wish that I should have gotten the Chevrolet Colorado extended cabor Chevrolet Silverado extended cab.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050