Used 2003 Volvo XC90 Consumer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
160 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,532 - $4,379

Used XC90 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...16

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3.5 out of 5 stars

What a nightmare!!!

dok, 09/11/2010
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have finally solved all of my 2003 XC90 problems, I GOT RID OF IT! Let me count the thousands of dollars I spent in 7 years on maintenance, 4 sets of tires, 2 were the crappy pirelli's, then 1 set of michellins and finally 1 set of goodyear assurance tires rated for 80,000 miles. A leaky power steering unit, both front lower ball joints and tie rod ends. And a new transmission after 57000 miles along with a leaky sun roof and the emissions evporative pump and charcoal canister. but what realy hurts IS not being able to find a volvo dealer that could fix the car reliably and honestly. steer clear of volvo of edison's service department.

Report Abuse

4.13 out of 5 stars

Very happy @ 200,000

in_a_hurry, 11/09/2011
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
28 of 31 people found this review helpful

I've read the recent reviews and it appears most folks are pretty miffed with their XC-90's. I couldn't be happier with mine. A couple car pool trips shy of 200,000 miles (I bought it new) and no major issues - never a tranny, motor, A/C or electrical problem. I get about 45,000 miles on tires - not great but a willing compromise knowing I'm driving a stout porker that's as safe as anything on the road. I have an honest, reliable mechanic who has taken care of a couple cars for me - a bonus. Other than scheduled maintenance items, there hasn't been much to repair on the car that would not be expected, given the mileage. Ball joints and motor mounts are the only things that come to mind

Report Abuse
2.13 out of 5 stars

15 + Years A Volvo Owner - No More !!

Stephen J. Lalor, 01/02/2007
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Was true Volvo believer here for over 15 years but no more! I have always loved this brand and believed in but the XC 90 is the most unreliable, high maintenance auto I have ever owned. 60 k miles now, and am in need of (4th set of 4 tires)and front-end ball joints; heating and air conditioning system has never worked correctly (and they can't figure it out), passenger side front window has broken at least 4 times; wind shield wiper blades fly off car.... shall I continue? I just purchased a different brand SUV even though I have 3 months to go on my Volvo-KLUNKER lease! 2007 Buyers - beware and consider alternative, less expensive SUVs unless you enjoy visiting dealer service facilities.

Report Abuse

2.63 out of 5 stars

What Volvo is not telling you about this car.

marigold1, 03/09/2012
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
40 of 48 people found this review helpful

I would stay far away from buying another Volvo after everything my family has been through with our 2003 XC90. The engines are not built to work with the transmissions. We have replaced the transmission every 30,000 miles. It has now become a safety issue. It has broken down on me too many times to count. I have dumped almost $12,000 into it. Go look at the service center at your local Volvo dealership. The lot is full of cars needing repairs. We have replaced the transmission 3 times, radiator, shocks, struts, axles, arm bushings...even down to the door handles. Do not make the same mistake we did. It is not a reliable car and I consider it a safety risk to drive.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

5th Volvo

SK Love, 05/15/2009
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

The XC90 was my 5th Volvo. I have loved every Volvo and have but good things to say. I rarely have had to go to service in between my maintenance service. The XC90 is so much fun to drive and get around in. It is quick & a VERY smooth ride. Love it!!

Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

First Year XC90...Gremlins

hpark, 02/25/2007
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Bought the T6 as a certified used car from a local dealership in 2004 with 24K on it...thank goodness for warranty as this vehicle was in the shop too often..during our first year of ownership approx 4 visits and about 1.5 months of non-use as they finally determined the engine block was cracked which caused a perpetual coolant bleed into the cylinders...plus since then sunroof drain blockage caused water to leak into the vehicle and soak all of the electrical in front. Tires burn through in about 20k miles and a window switch that sank into the door panel. Guess this is part of the First year gremlins that came out...long story short...I think the Japanese earned their quality reputation.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

03 volvo xc90 tranny becomes granny after all this

Flo hernandez, 07/04/2018
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Make sure that the transmission is taken care if when purchasing old n have all the records that has been done to the car before purchasing.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

My Favorite Car

Vicki, 04/04/2006
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Almost the perfect vehicle! I'm in sales so I live in my car...consequently the interior is very important. I would love to have an electronic lumbar support adjustment. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this vehicle. Drives and performs like a dream! I will definitely buy another one when the time comes! I did not like the factory tires however and replaced those with ones that give better ride, handle and wear!

Report Abuse
1.63 out of 5 stars

Bad reliabitlity had to get rid ,very disappointed

klosterfrau1, 05/29/2013
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
17 of 26 people found this review helpful

I was lucky to get this car to 125k almost every month I had it in the shop for all kinds of problems from shocks to spark plug and coils replaced. brakes squeaking and replaced that didn’t fix the problem and the rotors were replaced and still didn’t fix the problem. The transmission gave out and had to be replaced, a piston gave out it was replaced, dashboard lights out , brake lights were out and the mechanic could not find the short so the wiring was replaced but the dash warning came on every time you step on the brakes. It leaks! The gas tank was leaking, then coolant started leaking and then wiper washer fluid started to leak as well. Tsc gave out, electric system warning came on.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Safety with style

comp, 10/31/2003
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Outstanding daily driver. Easy to navigate in city traffic. Lot's of power when needed. Very comfortable on long trips. Excellent gas mileage.

Report Abuse
12345...16
Items per page:
51050