Used 2004 Toyota MR2 Spyder Convertible Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$5,405 - $11,302

Used MR2 Spyder for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Real Pleasure to own

GWS, 12/17/2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

After having my MR2 now for over a year, I still have that desire to just find a reason to drive it. It is so tight and easy to handle. The sequential transmission is just plain fun. I have physical problems with my legs and had given up on clutches some time ago. Now with the touch of a finger, I have the same wonderful sensational feeling of driver control. I have owned several Toyotas and have always been impressed with the quality of craftsmanship that is put into each vehicle that I've owned. When considering a sports car in this price range I was certain that nothing else could touch the dependability provided in this vehicle. If you don't test drive it you'll be sorry.

Report Abuse

If only it had suitcase capacity...

spicetrader, 11/28/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

A very fine car in many ways. Handles perfectly. Quite agile on corners. Driving it is a pleasure. Almost every time I enter or leave a parking lot, somebody tells me what a cool car it is. I have actually managed to carry driver and passenger with two bags of golf clubs behind the seats.

Report Abuse

Fabulous Car

Glenn Norris, 08/28/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had a blast driving this car! It drives and handles like a bullet. I once had a 1965 GTO and this car is faster! It's best to have a daily driver in addition to this one because it doesn't have much storage space, but hay, who cares? I normally keep it in the garage and only drive it in warm weather with no rain. If you want to get a lot of attention, this is the one! The front end looks like a Porsche, but you have the quality of a Toyota. I told my son, he'll be inheriting this car. The car is extremely tight with no squeaks or rattles of any kind.

Report Abuse

Love This Car

slaurence, 10/08/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Its a fun car to tool around in, not real good for long trips but if you can handle the lack of storage and just enjoy the ride with the top down and wind blowin in your hair music pumpin...its worth every penny i spend on it.

Report Abuse

2003 Spyder rocks!

tullymountain, 02/29/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have a green spyder with tan leather, just got it and it is a blast! I cannot get the smile off my face whenever I drive it. The car turns like on rails, acclerates like a little rocket and gets great mileage to boot. Only complaint is getting in and out with top up...pretty tight squeeze but once inside incredibly comfortable. Some may find this strange but my wife and I both agree that the car drives considerable better than the 2001 SLK convertable we used to have! Highly recommended.

Report Abuse

MR2 spyder

schutcher, 03/13/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a fun car to drive. It handles curve like no other car i have ever driven. Unlike most other small sport cars it is a smooth ride. It does lack in power, I wish toyota would come out with the zz2 motor in it like what is in the Celica GTS. That would boost the horse power up 40.

Report Abuse

sports car

Mojobabee7, 09/10/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I think this is a great car especially for students becuase it does not take much gas and you get alot of mph..great for traveling

Report Abuse

Dream Car

Anela, 07/16/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The best car purchase I've ever made! Fun, fun, fun! Drive it everywhere, and always take the long way to get somewhere. Can't keep a tank of gas in it because I miss it if I don't put 50 miles a day on it (and I don't have a commute). I take it for all my grocery shopping (including Costco) and am not the least embarrassed about groceries riding shotgun. I typically get 30 mpg in mixed (mostly city) driving, and would probably get better if I could prevent myself from having so much fun while driving. Got 34 mpg driving from Mountain View to Fresno once (a steady 80 mph--don't tell the CHP).

Report Abuse

mr2 fun

sharon koelsch, 08/02/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is a blast to drive, fun, fun great gas mileage, not very many on the road and get a lot o looks from other drivers. Most think it is a Porsche. I love driving it every day. It is just a fun car all around.

Report Abuse

Lots of fun but only for fun

erysipelothrix, 08/17/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought the MR2 from the original owner with 25,000 miles. My wife really wanted one. It is a great car overall but absolutely not practical. Hardly any more room than a motorcycle. I take my daughter to school on the way to work. With my laptop bag, her and me, not much room for anything else. Strictly a car for cruising.

Report Abuse

I love my car!!!

Mare94, 09/29/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my MR2 used. I love it. It is blue and beautiful!! I especially love the carbon fibre dash work. I entered my car in a few shows and walked away with trophies. It rides great and handles those curves with ease. Great fun to drive!

Report Abuse

Snow machine - YES

atoyotguy, 08/08/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My summer-only Potenzas had to go, so I put a set of Michelin X-Ice tires on my '04 MR2 and voila! An unlikely snow machine! Before X-Ice I got stuck in a quarter-inch of snow. With the X-Ice tires installed I went to a level parking lot right after a 6-inch snow, before any plowing had been done. Much to my surprise, and delight, my 2200 pound, less than 6 inch ground clearance car thought it was a snow plow! I could start, stop, back up, and park - all without any problem. Sure, the tires slipped some, after all, it was slick snow. But I doubt that the engine revved over 2000 rpm at any time. Ice performance was just as good. Summer fun, winter fun; you can't beat it!

Report Abuse

Hot car

idahoe, 03/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is great to drive, and fun to show off in. It take off fast and i love it fast. It is a cheap price for all the attention!!!

Report Abuse

Pure fun with a practical side

Spyderflash, 03/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have driven this car for over a year and still love it. It is so light and responsive. Many would-be sports cars feel like trucks in comparison. The brakes are world class and I average 30 mpg on regular. It is my daily driver, and I have taken it on road trips with minimal driver fatigue. This is a car that knows what it is and doesn't compromise its basic purpose. The top raises or lowers easily from inside the car in about 7 seconds.

Report Abuse

An Absolute Blast to Drive

WHWilson, 06/29/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my daily commute car and is pure fun to drive. Top is easily raised and lowered in a single motion from the driver's seat. Handling is so precise and agile, I sometimes think this car reads my mind. I really wish Houston had more twisty roads. Gets approximately 28 mpg even though my normal freeway speeds are 85 mph+. Car is absolutely rock solid all the way up to top speed of 130 mph.

Report Abuse

Rita's Fun Car

Rita Garshak, 04/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a fun car and I got it. It drives like a dream and parks easily. I get alot of attention from other sports car owners and everyone seems to love it's appearance, as do I. Even though there isn't much storage, who cares. I didn't buy it for storage. I bought it for the sports aspect and that I got and more. I would recommend it to anyone. My husband is 6'4" tall and fits in it easily. Even though it is small, it seems spacious and has plenty of leg room.

Report Abuse

MR2

hill, 04/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am 6'1" tall. The MR2 has plenty of room with the exception the seat is about 6" to close. My right leg gets tired while driving. No cruse contral is offered. This would allow you to strech you leg. The car is fun to drive. Not the fastest car I have owned, but it is the most fun. There is a lot of road noise compaired to the higher priced sports cars, but for the price you cannot beat it.

Report Abuse

elle's mr2 review

elle mr2, 04/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It may not be the fastest car, however it is the most fun car to drive. It handles supper well and is great for zipping in and out of lanes and around tight corners.

Report Abuse

Rate this vehicle

Tina Anderson, 04/15/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I wanted a fun car and I got it. I owned a 2003 Nissan 350Z and I honestly have more fun with my Toyota Spyder MR2! I really like the Toyota name and the reputation it holds. I am very happy with my MR2 and now my Mom wants one.

Report Abuse

Great Pkg & Value. It's a Toyota .. DUH!

casper90651, 04/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

At first I was skeptical at its look, not yet a Porsche, yet not a cheap looking American Convertible at the same price. The exterior look could definitely be improved. Though I can say, everyone that didn't know Toyota had a convertible thought it was a Porsche! ;) ... As soon as I drove it, that changed everything. The ride is go-kart like along with the cornering. A great zip-in .. zip-out kind of car. The luggage space is very limited at best, at best two small carry-on bags & a few smaller bags in the front will work! Best of all it's Toyota value in a tight package. Everything is standard, what more can you ask for?

Report Abuse

Toyotas are the best

Jim Gilbert, 04/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great little convertible...very fun to drive.

Report Abuse

fun fun

dreasy420, 05/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this car is great fun to drive turns alot of heads look good for summer buy this ride

Report Abuse

Fulfilling middle age crazy's

Middle Age Crazy, 05/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

MR2 puts the ear to ear GRIN on your face. It's about mid-engine, two seat roadsters. Going into a 35MPH corner at 60MPH, down shifting and peddle to the metal out of the corner with the car is still sticking to the road. Yes, rapping out the little 4 cylinder motor and hitting 60MPH in 7-8 seconds does have its thrill to. Here's the important stuff. I just turned 55 Years YOUNG! I am 6'1" and weigh in at 270#'s. I have no problems getting in & out of the car. The car only cost pocket change as compared to the super cars. Insurance is cheap and GAS Mileage is a whole lot better than the super cars. ENJOY IT NOW!

Report Abuse

MR2 SPYDER

horsemom45, 06/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car! It's my second one. Handles great and economical.

Report Abuse

love my mr2

frogkrazy, 06/12/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

it's fun...i get lots of questions about what kind of car it is...it's not that common like all the miatas and bmws out there. nothing better than driving down the beach with the sun on your shoulders and the radio blasting u2's "it's a beautiful day"! It handles curves better than any other car that I've been in and with gas at $2 a gallon, 34 miles to one is great

Report Abuse

Fantastic car

Franklyn, 07/05/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

fantastic car. I have a green MR2 turbo. i am fine with the performance of it - it's perfect for me. Sure, storage is almost nonexistent, but it's ok for me, since I am the only 1 driving it most of the time. This car is very easy to care for. Less washing time! It's perfect! Funnnn to drive!

Report Abuse

Topless fun

steve68, 08/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive, easy to own, and good on gas. Try it through corners!

Report Abuse

Fun Times

SpyderMom, 08/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a car to just have fun in, no more carrying around kids. Wonderful to drive, great with the gas prices being so high, fill it up about every 2 weeks. Good on the freeways, great around town.

Report Abuse

Fun Car

Casey Green, 10/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a small convertible, this is the car to get. I test dove S2000 and Miata and overall, this is the best..

Report Abuse

Toys! Gotta have'm

MR2oyota, 10/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

To date, a really inexpensive toy. Nice car for the money but look out when the Pontiac Solstice arrives!

Report Abuse

Best kept secret on the road today

Mark G, 11/11/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you want a dumb muscle car that is fast off the line then keep looking. If you want a true roadster with phenomenal handling that won't stay in the shop like classic roadsters then stop looking. The Spyder is a very light car matched to a 138 HP engine. It sits low, has rear wheel drive and mid-engine balance. With a convertible top the overall feeling is unmatched exhilaration at any speed. Add beautiful styling, Toyota quality and 27-33 mpg and you can't beat it. I get an honest 28.6 mpg in city driving. The car's responsiveness can't be described. It is a go-kart feel, but with airbags and modern car features. Do NOT buy as an only car. Not enough storage. Treacherous on ice or snow.

Report Abuse

15 Years Later

10SPro, 04/01/2017
2dr Convertible (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's now 2017 and I bought the car brand new in July of 2004. Combine all the previous posts here and you get the best picture. Nothing but fun, fun, fun until daddy takes , well you get the idea. UPDATE 4/2/2018 No changes except I'm updating mileage. UPDATE 10/2/2018 Same as above Update 4/2/2019 Ditto Update 4/2/20 Mileage now 37,500. No mechanical problems.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050