Skip to main content

2023 Toyota Highlander Hybrid Consumer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
36 reviews

Pricing

Edmunds suggests you pay
$39,952
1...

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 Highlander Hybrid, so we've included reviews for other years of the Highlander Hybrid since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Simply Amazing!!!

Sully Lang, 04/18/2022
updated 04/21/2023
2022 Toyota Highlander Hybrid XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
95 of 97 people found this review helpful

Purchased this 2022 Highlander after my Avalanche was totaled from an incident on icy roads. I really wanted better gas mileage, and used vehicles prices were stupid high because of the current economic circus. We've taken the truck on two extended road trips (300 miles, and 1000 miles round trip). During both road trips the truck averaged 34 MPG or better. On the 300 mile trip I was driving through ice and snow from Michigan to Indiana in February. Any other vehicle and mileage would have suffered greatly, but not the Highlander Hybrid. It performed flawlessly. It has been very comfortable on both short and long trips, and all the accessories seem work perfectly. The Softex (vegan leather) seats are really nice as well. This truck was the perfect replacement for the Avalanche except for only having a 3500lb tow rating. Since I don't have anything heavy to tow, it's fine for now. I am always able to achieve about 34 or 35 mpg when I drive, but my lead foot wife can't seem to manage better then 32 or 33 (LOL). I see a lot of posts about noise in the highlander, and that just isn't the case with mine. Smooth and quiet most of the time. The exception is when accelerating strongly. It roars a bit loudly, like a sports car should, but not and SUV. Once up to speed in cruise control, it's quiet. I'm not a big fan of the Lane centering program. Mostly because it veers a bit when the painted lines disappear at off ramps and such. Sometimes it seems to swing left and right before finding itself. 95% of the time it works just fine. Overall this is the finest vehicle I've ever owned, and I feel lucky to have been able to buy it on short notice after my other vehicle was totaled. Most dealerships had almost no inventory. Vehicles on their web pages were mostly in transit. Update 21 Oct 2022: Vehicle is just over 10k miles and still runs like the day we brought it home. This is a great vehicle that gets amazing fuel economy for a 4500lb 8 passenger SUV. Update 4/21/23 - over 21k miles, zero issues. The Highlander Hybrid is fantastic!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

I love this SUV!

Billy V, 04/22/2022
updated 10/31/2022
2022 Toyota Highlander Hybrid XLE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
47 of 48 people found this review helpful

This SUV has met all of my expectations. It is very comfortable, and spacious. I truly don’t miss the V-6 at all. My overall gas mileage is averaging 33.5 mpg, not quite the 35, but, I do live in a hilly area and this will effect the overall mpg if you don’t do a lot of highway driving. I highly recommend that buyers utilize the adaptive cruise control whenever possible, even for short trips. This helps maximize fuel efficiency. The interior is very comfortable. And, for those who think “a powerful 4 cylinder can’t possibly be enough power”, well, I am pleased to tell you that it is and that except for a little noise going up a hill, you will never miss the 6 cylinder engine. I highly, highly recommend this SU for all. Happy travels!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A great vehicle when oil prices are high.

gopala, 03/15/2022
updated 07/18/2023
2022 Toyota Highlander Hybrid XLE 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
50 of 52 people found this review helpful

We got the highlander hybrid on March 7. That is the time when gas prices are above 4.00. Took it for a 400-mile drive to NYC. The car is quite nice, the first two rows are definitely quite spacious. The touch screen is very good and the controls are also very good. It can go quite fast up to 90 MPH. After that, it is not that comfortable. Acceleration is good but you have to plan when you overtake a vehicle. The top attraction for this vehicle is the gas mileage. It gave me 33 mpg on the round trip to NYC and I am quite sure that it will give 35 MPG soon. In these times that is exceptional. UPDATE: We bought the highlander hybrid in March 2022 after trading in a 2019 Mercedes 450 GLS. The highlander is no Mercedes but it offers tremendous value for money. The nicest things about the highlander are the outstanding 35+ MPG, the roominess and the updated technology such as the large monitor, nice backup camera etc. It takes some learning to effectively use the electric and ICE motors together but once you get the hang of it, the acceleration of the vehicle can surprise you. If you don't use it well the drone of the engine is not very pleasant. Pros: Outstanding MPG, nice interface and free two years maintenance. CONS: It is a little louder , and fit and finish has gone down when compared to earlier Toyotas, One Year Later: It has been 15+ months since we bought the Highlander. It has run 27000 miles and completed all the free services from Toyota! I love to drive the car on the highways when we go to NY and NJ. It can cruise comfortably at 80+mph and still gives 30 MPG. Hence we prefer this to our Toyota Sequoia which gives 13 MPG. Does not accelerate as quickly but very quite and silent. I have no complaints about the car and would certainly recommend it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Pleasantly surprising gas consumption

Ed von Kopp, 04/12/2022
2022 Toyota Highlander Hybrid Platinum 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
48 of 50 people found this review helpful

Own my new 2022 Toyota Highlander Hybrid for over a month now. Really impressed with how little gas it takes for such big SUV. Everything is good except cargo space/trunk, which is too small and too high. Got it brand new Highlander Platinum 2022 over a month ago. There are several pros and cons: PROS: - great gas mileage. On colder days the average was 7.2 L/100 km, (yes, I am from BC, Canada); on warmer days sometimes I got 6.0 L/100 km - very quiet when in electric or semi-electric mode - nice sound - heads-up display (the most loved feature by me!) - lots more! CONS: - cheap plastic for the rear doors. Really cheap for such expensive vehicle - raving engine when accelerating on highways + gas consumption goes very high - poor location/design of rear camera. Due to water buildup on rainy days I could barely see what is behind my SUV. Poor visibility/low resolution at night. - stupid design/location of wireless phone charger

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent MPG, performance w/limited 3rd row

Dave (CT), 06/02/2022
2022 Toyota Highlander Hybrid XLE 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
34 of 36 people found this review helpful

The third row seats are indeed small so do check this out if it will be a row you will use frequently. And consider it for your car seats - check out how they fit and are attached. Was expecting a loud roar on full acceleration but it's fairly quiet. MPG is about 36 with mix of highway and city, minimal AC use. Comfort is excellent for driver and passenger. XLE is nicely outfitted and approaches status of a Lexus. So far, no unexpected surprises or disappointments as I knew what I was getting in terms of cargo space and that third row. One other item: contacted 5 dealers and two basically hid the out the door price until pushed, one was upfront they charge $900 for dealer extras, one said they were 3K over MSRP and the 5th was at MSRP with the usual dealer fees (plates, conveyance). And the 5th was easy to work with.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5