Used 1993 Toyota Corolla Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,000 - $2,362

Used Corolla for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

If you find one GRAB IT!

acb, 06/15/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle on the road and I ever owned. 115,000 miles and only normal maintenance. NO PROBLEMS EVER!! Pain chipped easily, too easily, but it was a $14,000 car new! Consumer Reports and everyone wasnt wrong.. this toyota is one reliable vehicle!! It was mine, then my wifes, then my oldest sons first car and will become my daughters as soon as she gets her license.. O

Report Abuse

You can't find a better car

Sunshine, 01/31/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought a 1993 red Toyota Corolla about Oct. 14, 1992. It is still on the road. The only repairs are what one might expect as a car owner - tires, regular oil changes, brakes, one new starter. I still maintain ownership. The corolla has about 80,000 miles on it. It is 17 years old, still gets good gas mileage, and my mechanic tells me that it is a great car and can continue to be driven well over 100,000-150,000 miles. It is my opinion that the 1993 Corolla was one of the best cars Toyota ever produced.

Report Abuse

317745

imperial88, 09/07/2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

owned my corolla for five yrs. other than my own idiocies the car has never given me any problems. i've done 3 hour one way trips to and from i went every weekend for about a whole year mostly going over 80 ive gone over a 100 half way though the trips twice i love my car to death 317745 and going strong

Report Abuse

reliable reliable

rajeshp, 04/22/2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a great car from Toyota. I am owning one since 2 years. When I bought it at 120k its AC compressor was not working. But it did not bother me much, I am used to summer heat. I did not spent a dollar on it other than oil change every 3 months. It had run total of 146k as of today. I am 6 feet tall and i still have lot of room at driver's seat. gives me 24 mpg in city and 28 on highway. Pickup is too good. Better than later Camrys. I have driven this 800 mile trip twice in consecutive week ends. upto 80 miles/hr the car runs good. I did not try beyond that.

Report Abuse

Best Car Ever

rockinboy, 01/19/2014
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new in fall of 1993, the only thing I have done other than oil changes, is new brakes at 185000km new struts at 280000 The car is like new as i dont drive in the winter anymore need 4x4 on my driveway. O and i changed the thermostat years ago along with starter.

Report Abuse

Lovin Yota's

yotalover1, 06/05/2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 93 Toyota Corolla for 500 bucks with 180,xxx miles on it. The exhaust manifold had a crack in it so it was pretty loud when it first started but after 10-15 minutes the manifold would heat up enough to close the crack. Once that was fixed this car never stopped. I have literally never had another problem with the car and it currently has 250,xxx miles on it!!!! turns out Ive paid around 0.0625 cents a mile to drive it (just dividing the original cost by the 80000 miles Ive drove so far). I tried for years to stick with American made cars but they just dont last. they have more power and might be more comfortable(in general) but none of that matters when your broke down. Lovetoys

Report Abuse

Excellent Value for Money, Easy to Drive

Toyota Fan, 03/04/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I totally agree with Marcarian. The corolla I have is the best car I have ever owned. No wonder Japanese cars are more expensive. Yeah, they are much more reliable and runs much smoother. It acceleates very fast, gear transmission is so smooth that you can't feel the gear has been changed. Plus it is extremely fuel efficient (another advantage of Japanese cars). Excellent value for money.

Report Abuse

The best I have ever owned.

wg, 10/27/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This corolla is almost eleven years old and has 185k miles and runs like a top. Only routine maintenance and an alternator for repairs over the time I've own the car. Purchased new, one owner, driven by my wife and myself and still gets 35+ mpg on a weekly basis with and automatic transmission. Glad I bought it but will purchase a larger car next time . . . a camry.

Report Abuse

Japanese Quality

Mr. Crisp, 08/06/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I too am the lucky owner of a Corolla DX sedan and I can safely say that it has definitly been one of the best automotive investments that I've ever made. The 1.8L engine is pretty snappy for its size, and the manual transmission is very smooth. No major repairs save an alternator and a starter but that was after I had driven it for over 90K miles! I've owned this car for 11 years and it never ceases to make me proud to own it.

Report Abuse

Almost 300k and still going

Matthew, 01/29/2016
DX 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just hit 290k miles. I change the oil every 2700 miles. It runs like its brand new. I have never had it in the shop. Original everything. I love this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050