Skip to main content
MSRP Starting at
$24,395

Save as much as $794
Select your trim:
12345...10

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 Legacy, so we've included reviews for other years of the Legacy since its last redesign.
3 out of 5 stars

Reduced to 3 stars - this car is just too annoying

oldsnwbrdr, 04/14/2020
updated 04/19/2021
2020 Subaru Legacy Touring XT 4dr Sedan AWD (2.4L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
80 of 82 people found this review helpful

14,000 mile update. I still like the way the car drives. The interior is beautiful and the car is well put-together. It is reasonably quiet and a solid highway cruiser. AWD is great, MPG is excellent considering AWD and 260hp. I appreciate the updates to the infotainment system that fixed some bugs, brought the start/stop button to the first screen, and allowed portrait utilization of Apple CarPlay. BUT, the car's secondary purpose (besides providing transportation) is to annoy me. - I HATE the cruise control switches. Why did Subaru find it necessary to change speed by 5mph increments each time you tap the button? No one asked for this! - Start/Stop is so annoying it must be switched off every time. When I want the car to turn off and stay off at a long light it doesn't. When I stop for one second it turns off. It's just not worth it. - Why does the car continue to recognize me (facial recognition) when I get into the car, but when I get out ask me if I want to create a new profile? - Still too many bugs, system is laggy. Like any other electronic product nowadays, you must learn how to reboot the system when it behaves strangely. - Active lane centering works best when hands are off wheel. When hands are on, it tends to tug to the right. ORIGINAL REVIEW LIKES: - Interior styling, especially the Touring XT and its brown nappa leather. The quality is better than the Lincoln MKZ I traded in, as well as some of the new luxury cars I test drove like the Cadillac CT5 and Genesis G70. It's stunning, really. - Eyesight features, especially adaptive cruise and lane centering. I give the system a B. You can set the aggressiveness to which the cruise control returns you to your programmed speed, which is a great feature. - Good stereo, the Limited and Touring versions have an upgraded Harmon Kardon system. Much better than my Lincoln's base stereo. - Turbo engine has very strong power. You want this engine for drivability and passing power. - Decent range and mileage. MPG will fall as your speed exceeds 70mph. Below that you'll easily get 30MPG; at 77mph I'm getting 27MPG and 450 miles on a tank. - Remote start (using the My Subaru app) lets me set the climate and seat heater settings when I start the car. - Great value proposition! - I think the CVT is fine. It does not call attention to itself at all. Unlike most car reviewers, I drive like a normal person, not a maniac, and I think the transmission and engine work together very smoothly. - Build quality. The doors have a very heavy, solid feeling, like a German car. The trunk lid does feel somewhat cheap though. DISLIKES: - The seats look comfortable. For me, the lumbar support is very lacking, even when fully extended. Long trips give me a sore lower back. I appreciate the extendable thigh support, but wish that the front of the seat tipped up a little more so I could feel the thigh support more strongly. - By default, the car lights up and makes noises like a video game. It's pointless and distracting. I have completely turned off all the indicator lights on the heads up display, which alert you to the fact that the system has locked on to a car in front of you [the system also beeps], or that the system has disengaged for some reason. There are other indicators on the dash that tell you the same thing, so the heads up indicators and beeps are redundant (and are switched off on my car). - Start/Stop. This is the first car I've had which had it, and I'm really trying to get used to it. Unfortunately, it is unrefined and results in an overly noticeable shudder when activating. Sometimes when I WANT the car to shut off because I know I'll be at a light awhile, it doesn't. And when I want it to shut off a long time, it restarts again after only about 20 seconds. I don't like pulling into my garage; the car shuts off when I stop, and when I shift to park, the car restarts again, only to have me shut it off immediately after. - Auto vehicle hold is nice, but like start/stop this must be activated every time you restart the car. I'd like to see the auto vehicle hold AND start/stop switches customizable so that they can be placed on the main screen. - Cruise control speed settings are silly. A tap up or down will increase or decrease your speed to the next 5mph increment. So if I'm driving 77 and want to slow down to 70, I tap down once to bring it to 75, and again to bring it down to 70. You must HOLD the switch down to increase or decrease in one mph increments. - I've changed so many settings I wish I knew that they were being backed up somewhere. If I have to restore to factory defaults, it will take me forever to figure out what I've already changed. This car and its center stack are for people comfortable with tinkering with their computers, ipads, etc. If you aren't willing to dive into the menus, you will have to learn to live with the cars little frustrations. - No automatic wipers, a surprising feature omission.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car.. luxurious drive

SamK, 05/13/2021
2021 Subaru Legacy Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

The car is outstanding in luxurious feel and smooth quiet drive, better than most luxury cars. Very spacious with plenty of cargo space in trunk. I find this car severely underrated. Minor issues with the car start-stop feature that you cannot permanently turn off.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

GREAT RIDE

Joe, from Pittsburgh , 02/04/2020
2020 Subaru Legacy Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
37 of 39 people found this review helpful

Researched and test drove accord and legacy for 3 months. Got the legacy, couldn't be happier. It has a great ride, plenty of power, unlike some of the reviews that tell you otherwise. Seats are great! When you get out of the accord you are so low to the ground, legacy is so much better.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
2023 Subaru Legacy
At a Glance:
  • 5 Colors
  • 4 Trims
  • 4 Packages
  • $24,395starting MSRP
BUILD & PRICESubaru.com
MSRP excludes destination and delivery charges, tax, title, and registration fees. Retailer sets actual price. Certain equipment may be required in specific states, which can modify your MSRP. See your retailer for details. 2023 Subaru Legacy Sport Shown has an MSRP of $33,895

3 out of 5 stars

Worthless MFD

Margaret, 09/18/2020
updated 03/22/2021
2020 Subaru Legacy Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

For what i paid for this car, i really wanted to love it, after all, it handles great and is super comfortable, even on long drives. It handles great in the snow and has great safety features. However, the MFD and navigation system have ruined this car for me, that after 8 months i am ready to take the hit and trade it in. There are so many problems (even after 2 updates and the dealer saying its fine) that make the car too frustrating. After about a minute, the MFD turns off by itself and can take up to 2 minutes to come back on every time I start the car. About half the time it won't recognize my phone. The voice commands are useless and don't work well at all. It won't let me make a hands-free call for instance, which means i need to look away from the road to make a call. There are so many things that you need to touch the screen for, including changing the seat temp or air flow, that i think i need to look at the screen more than i should. The user recognition doesn't work most of the time. The navigation system is the worst I have ever used. Worse even than the first GPS device that I ever bought. I have compared it to the ones on my phone and my husband's car, and the built-in gps system always gives poor directions and will always pick the longest route (I have it set for fastest). Since the nav system is useless, i use one on my phone, which means i can't listen to the USB on which all my music is stored. The built-in Nav system can't find POI's unless they are for brand name store (like it will find Starbucks, but not a local coffee place) and trying to get it to find an address by voice command is undertaking in frustration. So all in all, while the car may be safe and reliable, its functionality is horrid. I regret my purchase of this car. 3/21/21 - after several updates by Subaru’s techs, the MFD is still a horrible piece of electronics. The mapping system by Tom Tom is woefully worthless and there are still so many problems with freezing and long lag times. It is a safety issues that the driver needs to spend so much time fiddling with a screen while driving. So I’ve had this car for 16 months now - didn’t trade it in obviously - and still can’t stand the MFD and still regret my purchase. Look very carefully at the functionality of this display unit before buying!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

2021 xt

Bill, 06/01/2021
2021 Subaru Legacy Limited XT 4dr Sedan AWD (2.4L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Car has plenty of power. Plush ride, large trunk, plenty of room for 4 adults. You can squeeze 5 in but it will be tight in the rear seat. Heated seats dont get as hot or heat up as fast as the ones on the 2019 crosstrek i had. Some features you habe to scroll through a couple screens to find on the infotainment. Only fot about 25-27mpg on highway till i hit 5000-6000 miles, then started getting 30-32. My crosstrek did the same thing on mpg also so im not worried about that. My biggest complaints are the windshield, eyesight covers and hood. I will start with the windshield. Had less then 1000 miles on it and it already has small rock chips. Nothing major, juat looked like dead bugs. But sure enough, they are rock chips. Now for the hood. When driving at highway speeds, the rear portion of the hood flexes and looks like its really flimsy. Reminds me of a flag rippling in the wind. The hood is shut tight, and all bolts are tight etc. Just something i noticed. The plastic covers on the eyesight are not secured very well. They rattle on all bit the smoothest roads. I can push up on the cover and it will stop rattleing.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page: