Used 1998 Oldsmobile Achieva Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$937 - $2,405

Used Achieva for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I love my Achieva

cls, 04/21/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have put 55,000 miles on my car in addition to the 40,000 that it had when I acquired it. I have replaced the brakes (normal wear) and the battery. That's all! This car gets 30 (yes, 30) miles per gallon and has as much power and pickup as anyone will need. The transmission is smooth and nothing has given me any trouble. It doesn't have the cool factor of other cars, but its cost of ownership is really affordable and so far it is safe and reliable. PS I live / drive in Massachusetts so if a car survives here it can survive anywhere!

Report Abuse

Great Car

lightning95, 04/13/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My achieva is the greatest gas mileage car I have owned yet, I did a minor tune up on it and I get great gas mileage

Report Abuse

My baby

donnamc55, 07/18/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Acheiva.....I was in an accident in 2000,I was stopped at a red light and someone hit me from behind and then I hit the car in front of me...so the car was like an accordian..had close to 9,000 damage. But I got it back good as new. The only problems since then was the replacement of the passenger right side window power moter, alternator, and battery.

Report Abuse

This Is a Great Car

papaB, 12/11/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Except for my '64 Mustang this is the best fun car I have owned. Space, reliability and comfort . Too Bad they dont make them anymore . Never had any problems.

Report Abuse

Great Car

SRB, 12/04/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car has been a fun car to drive, but I have had some problems with it. One being that the struts went out, that cost a pretty penny but the car was owned before and driven hard. I have had some electrical problems one being no hazard lights and the other with the automatic windows - only the front goes down and the driver's side lock dosn't lock with the automatic lock. Other than these issues, this car has been very good to me and is reliable, even though there were problems that I needed to adjust to.

Report Abuse

Pretty good buy

bap, 05/07/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is pretty fun to drive with decent fuel economy. The seats aren't the most comfortable, but they are quite durable. The interior is roomy and laid out well. I especially like the height of the armrest. A few problems: The drivers' side door molding is loose and the motor for the power window has pretty much failed. I also had to replace the alternator and the battery. The cassette tape player died, but the radio still works. Other than those issues, the car has been very reliable.

Report Abuse

Great overall -- minus the transmission

Joe Teijido, 10/25/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Be prepared with buying an Achieva to have the transmission rebuilt or replaced. It is the weak spot of the achieva and grand am. Mine went out at 90,000 miles. Other than that it has been an absolutely great vehicle. The 3.1 V6 gives you the power and fuel economy necessary - I absolutely love the 3.1 actually more than the famous GM 3.8 V6 on most grand prixs. This is the most comfortable vehicle I have ever driven. I had to replace the water pump once and that is it for the maintenance. If your original transmission hasn't gone out by 80,000 miles I would highly recommend that you get it services or checked up at least - spend the money in order to avoid spending 1,400 for a rebuilt

Report Abuse

Beware of the power windows!

Lakesha , 08/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car! But the power windows seem to have went out on my car. My brother fix cars and he notice the power window on almost ever Oldsmobile Acheiva is broken.

Report Abuse

The worst car we ever bought!

stupid, 09/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have had to replace the A-frame bushings three times, the alt., and the head gasket, the motor for the window. This car has been nothing but trouble since we bought it.

Report Abuse

worst car I've ever owned

Dan23, 11/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Replaced suspension 3 times, gone through 4 alternators, 3 batteries, electrical problems, etc. This car doesn't handle as well as most trucks and suvs, and gets about the same gas mileage. The traction control is a joke, and the abs is constantly making noises when I'm not even braking. Save yourself alot of time and money and stay away from one of these, unless you want to buy mine!

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050