Skip to main content
12345...6

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2021 Outlander Sport, so we've included reviews for other years of the Outlander Sport since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Very Happy Customer!

Glenn Whitney, 01/31/2021
2021 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.0 SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
39 of 39 people found this review helpful

This is a great little SUV that's very stylish and the ride is as smooth as any other SUV I've driven! I have the 2021 Outlander SE and everyone who has seen this brilliant red beauty loves the looks of it! I'm not sure why the so-called experts don't approve, but if you ask those who own one what they think the overwhelming majority will tell you that they are very pleased with the Outlander!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

It even has a spare tire!

Zac Minneapolis, 11/24/2020
updated 11/30/2023
2020 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.0 BE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
35 of 35 people found this review helpful

After an exhaustive search, I selected a 2020 Outlander Sport Black Edition 2.0 as the best vehicle to meet my needs. My search was guided by these non-negotiables: A spare tire A premium stereo with a subwoofer Minimal or no center console Comfortable driver seat No sharp edges on driver’s door or center console One might think these features are easy to find but they are most definitely not! I am replacing a 2015 Honda FIt EX which I discovered has the most god-awful uncomfortable driver seat on the planet. The seat is numbingly cruel on long drives. Additionally, the hard plastic edges on the console and driver’s interior door panel conspire to create discomfort. It’s basically an iron maiden on wheels. Swearing off Hondas, my research for all my non-negotiables was frustrated. The Toyota RAV4 came closest, but the premium JBL stereo was repeatedly slagged by users as cheap and underpowered. I was inspired to check out Mitsubishi because my spouse’s 2008 Mitsubishi Eclipse is reliable and has an impressive Rockford Fosgate stereo. I discovered the full size Outlander had a very modest center console and enough space for my legs. Unfortunately, the newer models forgo a spare tire; a deal breaker. Moving down to the Outlander Sport, I found everything on my list in the Black Edition 2.0. I decided to purchase a 2020 since it appears the 2021 model year will no longer offer the Rockford Fosgate stereo in any trim level. Count me among the other consumer reviewers who are baffled at the hate grenades lobbed into Mitsubishi’s foxhole. The Edmunds reviewer throws about bludgeoning descriptors such as underpowered, unrefined, aggravating, rough, cheap, jumpy, skittish, harsh, floaty, noisy, lacking, and subpar. The reviewer intimates that if you somehow still decide to purchase the Outlander Sport after this over-the-top beatdown you cannot possibly have fun driving it unless you have an overactive imagination and your discernment for driving is overruled by your pricing requirements. The reviewer’s assessment is loaded with unwarranted hyperbole. Speaking as one who finds many cars over-engineered, I find the Outlander Sport to be refreshingly intuitive and reliable. I do concur with the Edumunds reviewer on the following: The Outlander Sport offers the basics as a compact SUV: Well-equipped for the price Excellent warranty coverage Appealing ergonomics Easy to operate, with clearly marked controls and an easy-to-read instrument panel Large door openings to the front seats Easy to learn connectivity that is simple to set up Acceptable cargo utility, the load floor is flat and expansive, and the tall roofline makes loading easy Dated but sturdy No-nonsense Dependable If you discern these latter descriptors sound like what you would imagine a great SUV to be, do yourself a favor and check out the Outlander Sport. You can use the money you’ll save purchasing the Outlander Sport doing something fun other than driving. 1st year update: 21,000 miles. Best miles per gallon: 29. All good with the glaring exception of the failure of the multi-functional display. I lost about 50% of the pixels at 18,000 miles. Dealership removed and replaced it and I've had no other issues. 2nd year update: 36,000 miles. I've noticed the multi-functional display can be hard to read during the day. The catalytic converter was sawed off while parked overnight at a Holiday Inn Express in Chicago. $4,000 dollars to fix and much time wasted. I found out a Mitsubishi dealer can weld a shield over the converter to prevent theft. I recommend you have one installed before you drive off the lot. I still recommend the car

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Awesome quality and value. Still going strong.

Dave in South Carolina, 06/29/2019
updated 07/06/2020
2019 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.0 LE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
65 of 68 people found this review helpful

Our fifth Mitsubishi in six years. Over 200k miles of perfect, worry free driving. Fantastic quality rivals any other brand. Can't beat the value either. Performance and handling are good. Fit and finish excellent. Yes, there are other brands that feature higher performance, but be ready to pony up another $6-$8k above a Mitsubishi.....I recommend Mitsubishi to anyone who will lend an ear. And the warranty is awesome too. We found the LE to be a special value. Convinced yet? You should be. Best value anywhere. Updated 01/01/20. Still perfect. Still awesome. Highly recommend.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for your buck

Isaiah, 09/21/2019
2019 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.0 LE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
43 of 45 people found this review helpful

If you're looking for the fastest SUV, this isnt it. If you're looking for the most comfortable SUV this isnt it. But if you want the best quality for your money this is absolutely it. Once you get used to driving a cvt equipped car the Outlander sport will be a dream. It handles well, gets great gas mileage (I average 35 with a good mix of highway and city) and has enough passing power to deal with traffic ( wont be setting any land speed records but it has enough). I love my Outlander sport.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Affordable SUV

inuvik, 12/13/2019
updated 12/14/2023
2019 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.0 ES 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

I own the rarest of the Outlander Sports- a 2019 5 speed manual transmission. 2019 was the last year for the manual transmission and if I was ever going to get one it was now or never. Hands down the best decision I ever made. The Outlander Sport with a manual transmission is an absolute joy to drive. Plenty of power and loves to rev. I can understand why with the CVT it’s far less satisfying. The 2.0 Mitsubishi 4B11 is a “square” engine. The bore and stroke are identical. This means not much low rpm torque (which CVT’s always try to keep the lowest rpm’s possible). But with the 5 speed it’s a absolute hoot to drive. This engine transmission combination is simply the Lancer’s engine and transmission dropped into the Outlander Sport. Driving it like a sport sedan will bring a smile to your face. Once you hit 3500 rpm MIVEC kicks in and it just jumps from 3500-5000 rpm in a heart beat. Since it s FWD only torque steer is a issue which makes it even more fun because it feels raw and at times a handful. With the traction control off you cannot be reckless with the throttle because it will get out of hand quickly. I’ve owned it about 6 months now and am approaching 10000 miles of trouble free driving. My mileage has been excellent averaging over 30mpg with my best tank of almost 36mpg. Is a manual transmission for everyone? Of course not, it seems these days that in the race to automate everything all the joy has been removed from driving. This my friends restored the fun in driving for me. It is the base model (only version available with the 5 speed). What do you get with that? Comfortable cloth seats with good support. Manual seat height adjustment (driver’s side only) which I prefer to powered seats because less to fail further down the road. Cruise control, backup camera, AC, tilt & telescoping steering wheel. The base stereo is a decent unit with Bluetooth which I use to stream from apps on my phone. Of course being the base model it doesn’t have all the über fancy options but that’s just fine by me. If you like soulless driving get a CVT anything. If you actually enjoy driving and want to row your own gears and need/want a compact SUV then the 5 speed Outlander Sport should be on your very short list. Oh and a final note, what was the cost of admission to fun driving for a brand new 2019 5 speed Outlander Sport? $15,749.00 out the door. That’s not a typo. Update #2: 6/13/22 It's been 3 years and 47k+ miles of problem free ownership. I'm still on the OEM tires but they are due for replacement. Absolutely zero mechanical or any issues at all. MPG's have been stellar over 30 mpg average for the entire life of the vehicle. I still love driving this vehicle and recently took it on a 2000 mile road trip driving straight through 30+ hours without a hiccup. Best vehicle I've ever owned. Update #3: I'm now over 50k miles with no issues. I'm just about ready to replace my OEM Nexen tires that came with it. I could have easily gotten another 10k out of them if I would have rotated them but meh. No mechanical issues whatsoever, it runs brilliantly and delivers excellent mpg's. Hands down continues to be the best vehicle I've ever owned. Update #4: 12/14/23. Just turned over 60k miles with zero mechanical issues so far. It's a joy to drive with the 5 speed manual and I just love driving it. My lifetime mpg's are right at 30 mpg. I absolutely love this SUV and have no plans to ever part with it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: