2019 Honda Insight Sedan Consumer Reviews

12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Aesthetically Insightful

Michael A., 08/30/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
205 of 210 people found this review helpful

Purchased a 2019 Insight EX in July 2018 and have generally had a really productive, worthwhile time with it. Currently - September 2019 - I am doing fairly well in the mpg game compared with other Insight owners on fuelly.com. Am averaging around 55 mpg since July 2018 and that consists mostly of conservative driving with an approximate driving ratio of 70% highway, 30% city. Average highway speed anywhere between 55-65 mph. I would highly, highly recommend that all Insight test-drivers conduct his/ her test drive using a particular method. As you may have seen in reviews over the past year, one of the biggest negatives of this car is the noise it makes under high acceleration and/or steep hills - especially in SPORT mode. Make an effort to conduct your test drive using at least one of the following two methods: (1) using SPORT mode and higher than normal acceleration from a stop on a level road; and/ or (2) using normal or SPORT mode on a relatively steep hill. If the noise and acceleration is acceptable to you, then you presumably have gotten past one of the biggest downsides of this model. PROS: 1) Looks are well above and beyond Civic and Accord (to me). Fantastic tail end design, while front end is bold, kinda menacing in a way and yet similar to Accord. 2) Overall interior design/ ergonomics/ space. 3) Has a gas cap (please GOOGLE the big issues/ problems concerning 2016-2017 Honda Civic capless gas tanks). 4) New transmission control/ operation was easy to get used to after decades of the traditional automatic transmission stick. 5) Sport mode has allowed me to enjoy solid acceleration on highway entrance ramps and coming out of toll booth lanes. However, please note that 0-30 mph acceleration is much, much better than 30-60 mph. At 25-30 mph, car loses much of its punch. 6) On local/ suburban roads with low mph and little need for acceleration, car is very quiet. 7) Ride quality is solid. 8) OEM tires (Michelin Energy Saver - Insight EX) on the Insight are considerably better than stock tires for most compact vehicles even if they aren't great for sporty cornering. 9) LED headlights and taillights (for the most part). 10) Auto lock car by touching drivers door handle in that particular space. 11) Love the acoustic harmonic music that resonates when starting and initially accelerating in vehicle (used to warn pedestrians about an otherwise quiet vehicle). CONS: 1) As mentioned at the top of my review, the noise on steep inclines, hard acceleration and in SPORT mode is really high! I am willing to live with it, but this could definitely be a dealbreaker for many auto buyers out there. 2) Front seat comfort in my EX version was not good on test drive. Purchased two separate VERY high-end ergonomic wedge cushions from a high-end furniture company in Canada ($350-$400 total) to completely compensate for uncomfortable seating and lumbar. Seating is now good purely on that basis. Front passenger seat height is inexplicably low. 3) Rear visibility seems considerably inferior to Accord and Subaru Impreza (the latter of which I drove for past six years). I know it is similar to Civic but still looks a bit cramped/ tight. 4) Scratches have mysteriously developed on car body and headlights -- also, original paint job doesn't seem like it will hold up well for over a decade or more. Now could this be applicable to many Honda vehicles and not necessarily the Insight? Nonetheless, I did not see this problem so early when I had purchased/ leased three previous vehicles: (1) 1997 Honda Civic; (2) 2012 Subaru Impreza; and (3) 2015 Impreza. 5) Why can't the Insight have cupholders - like the Accord - that have the flexible ends (which are more stable and allow for many more cup size differences)? On the other hand, I do particularly like the one huge cupholder inside armrest. 6) Why can't I have the Prius option of regen paddles that PERMANENTLY allow me to set brake regen levels - rather than temporary (for a few seconds)? Given a choice, I would definitely use maximum regen most often. I don't like the idea that I have to hit the paddles many times during each/ multiple drives in order to save cumulative bits of energy at a time. 7) Car did not come with spare tire and it is a bit of an ordeal along with needless expense to have to custom order spare tire with related accessories.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Really enjoying the car

Albert Wiersch, 08/05/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
71 of 74 people found this review helpful

Overall I think Honda hit it out of the park on this one. Truly a Prius killer if you ask me. I have the EX (middle) trim. However, that's not to say that nothing could be improved as there is always room for improvement... like lumbar support (although I am finding the seats comfortable enough without it), rear cross traffic detection (although one of the modes of the rear view camera is very wide angle and you can see vehicles coming from relatively far away), and proper blind spot monitoring (although I'm getting use to the LaneWatch camera system and I've purchased circular blind spot mirrors for both side-view mirrors). The one thing I do miss most about my previous car, a Honda Fit, was the hatchback and how practical it was. The practicality of the Honda Fit and its hatch made going to Costco and loading my car up pretty easy. The Insight is more work and hassle when it comes to loading and unloading large "cargo" but driving the Insight to and from Costco is definitely more pleasant and "upscale". Now with my quibbles out of the way, I think the fuel economy is excellent. In hotter weather I've noticed that using the AC will probably take 5 to 10 MPG off your gas mileage though. And pretty much everything else (other than what I mentioned above) is very good to great. Ride quality is very good and, for the most part is relatively quiet, especially when the gas engine is not running. When pushing it though, the gas engine can get loud. Acceleration is good. It's not bad and not great, but good... and the reviews say much better than a Prius. I really love how fast, responsive, and smooth the Insight is from a stop. Speaking of stops, I also really like the brake hold feature that will hold the brake for you when you come to a stop. To go again just press the accelerator. I also like that there is no transmission in the car. It has an "E-CVT" which I think is like a simulated transmission. At speeds of around 45 MPH and higher the gas engine can directly power the wheels and a little gear will appear in the power flow screen... otherwise the gas engine is mainly there to generate electricity for the electric motor and to charge the small lithium ion battery pack that's under the rear seat (so it doesn't take up trunk space). So I totally agree with the notion that the Insight is a great compact sedan that just happens to be a hybrid. I would not recommend the LX (lowest) trim because for a little more money you can upgrade to the middle trim (EX) and get some serious upgrades (much better Infotainment system with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, remote start, walk-away door locks, and more). The highest trim (Touring) is significantly more money and you lose some fuel economy so consider if those added "luxury" features like leather are really worth it to you. Finally, it looks so much better than the Prius.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Wonderful driving experience, and it looks good to

Dave, 09/28/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
86 of 90 people found this review helpful

The interior is very quiet, allowing the wonderful stereo to sound awesome. The handling and ride quality are a pleasure. I'm averaging more than 51 mpg over more than 1,400 miles of mixed highway, twisty mountain roads and city driving. When I's stuck in stop and go traffic the MPG get's improves! I have a favorite breakfast place about 20 miles from my home and the Insight is averaging about 65mpg and the trip there. The engine noise when going up a hill was disturbing at first, but I'm either getting used to it or it's getting better with more miles on the car. I have been pleasantly surprised with the acceleration when entering the freeway, the Insight moves briskly when it needs to. One complaint is the Lane Assist technology - on several occasion when trying to change lanes, the car will suddenly brake, and there are no cars or other obstacles in front of me - scary, I have been canceling Lane Assist and ACC when I know that I might need to exit the freeway or change lanes in order to avoid the unexpected, and unwarranted braking.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Ad
Build Your Insight

Like a hybrid Civic, only better

Bill Burke, 07/23/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
90 of 95 people found this review helpful

Every 2 or 3 years I upgrade my Civic. Anyway, just traded in my 2017 Civic EX for the 2019 Insight EX. I got a good price $23,300 and the car is worth the extra 3K that I paid for the civic ex. It feels like a larger car, rides smoother and a little less sporty, but I'm getting older, so I like to feel the road less. It is my first hybrid and I like driving it. If I put into sport mode, well it is not insane like the Tesla, but the response is immediate. I did a 0-=60 and got around 8 seconds. That's respectable enough for me. The only downside is the various engine sounds that they designed into it. I think that is unnecessary and it loses half a star for that. While the pros don't like the lanewatch, I prefer it to beeps of the BSM system. I'm a big boy, I can determine with my eyes whether it is safe to change lanes. I would like it on the left side, but it is not as "blind" on that side admittedly.I am always getting over 50 MPG which saves me $30+/month. Edited...in winter getting 48mpg. I think the heater drains the battery. Also warming up on cold days in NY hits the mpg. I like the sedan because when I was growing up, that's all there was, Plus they still are more efficient. The few times I carry stuff in the trunk, I feel it is safer than in the hatchback.anyway, I am very happy with this car. We will see how it holds up and I'll update if anything changes.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Confuse Friends and Family, "That's a Hybrid"??

dmccartt88, 08/08/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
86 of 91 people found this review helpful

I spent quite a bit of time researching this vehicle before going on a test drive. So many reviewers kept saying the car does not look like a hybrid and that is what Honda is going for. Well, I agree that the car does not look like a hybrid and really... it does not drive like one either. Once I got to the dealership and test drove the Insight I was in love. The exterior of the car is gorgeous. I personally think it looks like a smaller version of the 2018 Honda Accord but a bit more subtle (a good thing, IMO). Once I hopped in the car (EX Model) I was impressed once again. The build quality and attention to detail through the cabin is great. I felt as if I was in a vehicle that cost $10,000 more. The infotainment system on the EX model (and touring) versus the smaller and less useful 5 inch screen on the LX is definitely worth it. Just skip the LX and get the EX. I do not think the extra benefits of the Touring model are justified with the higher price and the lower fuel economy (just my opinion). With that being said, all models come with Honda Sensing tech. which is also amazing. I have never felt safer driving a car on the highway (once you get used to the lane keep assist almost taking control). The adaptive cruise control is also a thing of beauty. Acceleration can be a bit sluggish when in ECON mode but in Normal or Sport Mode I have no problems. Was pleasantly surprised when merging on the highway or passing. Overall, I am very happy with my purcahse and do not regret it one bit. My first tank avg. was just below 45mpg. This will definitely improve now that I am more familiar with ECON mode and using adaptive braking to the fullest extent. Good job Honda!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Looks like an awesome car, overall

Jay, 08/25/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
38 of 40 people found this review helpful

Bought this 2019 hybrid, EX Trim. On the very next day, drove 600 miles on the highway. Being a hot day, AC was on a blast and the fuel economy was at 45 mpg with cruising speeds of 70 mph. Technology, lane assist warning (it wakes you up by jolting the steering wheel which is good), warning the driver to apply brakes when you are very close to the vehicle ahead - very useful and true companion for the driver. The only discomfort I felt was at high speeds - say 70 +, there is some kind of a big sound - not booming but clearly audible. Maybe because this is a no transmission type as Honda claims but if that high speed is smooth, it would be better. Having used a Honda Civic EX for 10 + yrs and also having used Honda CRV and Toyota Camry, I felt Insight is compact like a Civic but rich in features like an Accord. City drive is silent as battery is so smooth. Highway also was comfy. With no spare tire, better to take the Honda road side assistance and the tire package.

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Saving Gas

Lauren K., 09/17/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
36 of 38 people found this review helpful

The car is advertised as having mpg of 51 city / 45 highway. For the first few days when I was really conscious of driving fuel efficiently, I surprisingly got up to 60.1 mpg. However, I got too impatient of accelerating too slowly, so I ended up driving "more recklessly" and getting an average of 52.8 mpg. This is my average after driving 402 miles in the 1st week I've driven this car, which is really good knowing that more than 90% of the miles came from highway driving. My tip in getting the best gas mileage is to avoid accelerating too fast, that was what lowered my mpg the fastest. One thing that I want to tell people is that with this car, going uphill really drains that battery. I live in Happy Valley, OR which obviously (in its name) consists of a lot of uphill inclines to get to my house. And I've noticed that once the battery meter goes down to 3 tick marks or less, the motor starts making a lot of noise (I'm assuming that it throws away its noise-canceling aspect in return for the battery to last a bit longer). However, this doesn't seem like much of a problem because once you go down that hill, the battery is charged again. So I don't see it as much of a problem, just a friendly advice for people who live in really hilly neighborhoods my neighborhood is mostly averages like 40-degree inclines and 45-degrees at most, so its a bit on the extreme side). Overall, the engine is extremely quiet. I love this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Soooo happy I chose this car!

BlueDevilGirl07, 07/13/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
35 of 37 people found this review helpful

Great car!!! Drives like a dream, very smooth!! Acceleration takes some getting used to, but it really only sounds/feels a little different until you get used to it. There’s more than enough pickup for wheeling and dealing as needed. Gas mileage is everything they say it is. If you’re going to spend the money at least get the EX for the 1600 more, it’s worth it for the interactive screen alone. My only very very small grievance, they should have power seats in the EX. Also, I’m a pretty average size woman—5 foot 5 and 140 lbs, I feel comfortable enough but I wouldn’t call the front roomy. My husband is 6 foot 2 200 lbs and he wishes the seat would go back further. All in all, I’m struggling to find anything truly negative about this car. I’d buy it all over again—3 weeks and I’m in love!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

12 MONTHS OF THE 2019 HONDA INSIGHT TOURING

Bob Bee, 07/25/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
30 of 32 people found this review helpful

UPDATE: With 12 months and 9,000 miles, I still like the car. GAS MILEAGE is not even close to what I was expecting. At 70 mph I may get 40-42 mpg. At 45 mph I get 50 mpg. I think the issue is one that Honda can fix with a computer update. It appears the EV mode doesn't kick in fast enough to get those extra MPG like the Prius does but that comes from experience with the engine. Gas mileage is "fickle" because first the engine has to warm up before the EV mode available then the computer decides between charging "UP" the battery or putting the energy into better gas mileage. I owned a Toyota Prius Touring Edition and loved it. It has been a few years since I have purchased a Hybrid and looked at the 2018 Prius and new 2019 Honda Insight. Both cars I looked at did not come with a spare tire but I insisted and got one. I selected the Insight first because it was a 2019 model and price was good. Prius had a few better "features" but the Insight seemed like the car of choice. It drives very nice, very comfortable, mostly quiet and it is a "state of the art" updated Hybrid. It takes time to learn all the buttons and how to "personalize" everything but all in all, I think it will be a great car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Honda Insight EX

Dr. Norbert Rosario, 09/01/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
28 of 30 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is a great buy, but it needs an additional 12v adapter as it only has one, and it only includes 2 USB ports. The cloth seats do soil easily, but the marks come off easily. You would have to be careful when driving as the nose of the car does scrape if you do not take caution with bumps/ramps (entries into parking lots/businesses) on the road. Also be weary of the cement parking blocks. Other than that, the vehicle does get great gas mileage, takes bumps well, and steers/handles easily. Would recommend to those who do a lot of city driving.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My first Hybrid! UPDATE*

Boricuizzi, 02/20/2019
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 2013 Ford Focus that was plagued with transmission issues. I had been wanting to get behind a new car, but nothing checked all my boxes. I wanted my next car to have some form of electrification, LED headlights, smartphone integration technologies and active safety assistive tools. When Honda announced the Inisght was making a return, and I read about all the standard equipment it would have I thought it was going to be an expensive option. I was so disillusioned with the Prius' design, but considering it at the same time because there was no other "normal-looking option out there. Thank you Honda, for exceeding what I was expecting on my next car. I feel like I have a car that will last for years, and become a reliable option in my household. Also, when I learned that, technically, this new hybrid setup does not formally includes a transmission... I was sold! I live in a mostly flat town, with lots of city driving, so my MPG is great, and also I don't have a lead foot, so instead of road-raging with strangers on the road on who gets in front of each other every morning, I push myself to be polite on the road and skimp on the gas pedal, which is paying off greatly. Now, my Insight is about to turn 1 and I am already at over 15K miles. I have not had any issues so far. It’s been such a flawless ride everyday. I’ve driven Florida from Tallahassee to Boca Raton (not on the same day though), I’ve driven to New Orleans, and Jacksonville. It’s just so smooth and pleasant to drive. This car feels (and looks) so upscale, it’s not uncommon that people think it’s an Acura. My husband drives a Jetta and he just told me how he wishes his gas tanks were $16-20 everytime, like mine; and it lasts around 12 days (mostly city driving). I’m averaging 48MPG. I have been able to drive from Orlando to Tallahassee (4-hour drive) with just one tank, going at 70 mph. Anything over that and it chugs more fuel and I’d have to stop for gas. It’s just such a wonderful piece of engineering for the price. It’s my first Honda and it certainly won’t be the last!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Balanced Hybrid

Mervyns Fontillas, 09/25/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
33 of 36 people found this review helpful

This car looks and drives great. It isnt necessarily a fast car but it isn't boring to drive either. The Sport mode makes it more responsive and charges the battery better but it also makes the cabin a bit noisy. Most reviews will say that the cabin tend to be noisy when the engine kicks in at about 45mph but I personally dont dind it to be loud. See, when in EV mode it is very very quiet, thus the engine noise is noticed when it kicks in and that noticeable change is what makes it seem exaggerated. The battery pack is not too big so it is as not as big of an environmental burden in terms of production. I love this car but i have yet to test it on the snow. I live in New England and ive only put some 2031miles on it. The performance in snow will be a deciding factor for me on whether or not to keep the car at the end of my lease or not. The biggest win for this car is the MPG. I get an average of 50.3mpg now but I used yo just get 47.7mpg. This went up as i have been trying to drive less aggressively. True enough, even on an hour of commute, i can get as much as 73mpg. It all varies by driving condition and driving style. The biggest downfall for this car is that most of its competitors are hatchbacks and carry more cargo. Another thing is the lack of lumbar support and manual seats. For the price point of the EX trim, at least heated seats wouldve been a nice touch. The interior has a lot of soft touch plastic but doesn't look cheap, with the leather stitching on the dash that adds a classy look. The infotainment is phenomenally easy to use and straightforward, the half digital guage cluster is informative and the volume knob is a great touch. The lack of a shifter knob is polarizing but I personally think they are okay, they arnt the greatest thing but they arnt all that bad either. I am not a fan of lane watch though, rear cross traffic alert and blind spot monitoring wouldve been a better and more helpful solution. Overall, it falls in-between of the Accord and Civic in terms of features and feel but tops the two in terms of fuel efficiency... And in my opinion, value.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

pleasant surprise

DLF, 04/30/2019
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

This car feels more luxurious than one expects. It is very quiet with little wind and road noise, and the suspension absorbs bumps and road imperfections with aplomb. When the gas engine kicks in it is noticeable but only because the rest of the car is so quiet. I dont find it nearly as bothersome as some claim it to be, and i am noise sensitive. It handles very well, leans very little in corners and the steering feel is quite good also. So far i am averaging 53 mpg overall in mixed driving mostly in Eco mode. Note that the mileage indicator is very conservative: In a very recent test in Motortrend in which they independently measured mileage, it was quite a bit better than what the car indicated. This is different from systems in other cars that can be too optimistic. The electronics and electronic safety features are comprehensive especially for this segment, and are easy to use. I find them more intuitive in their layout than in a BMW 3 series. If i had to pick one nit, it would be that blind spot monitoring is not available on the left side. Overall i am extremely pleased with the car so far. 3200 mile update: Nothing has changed and i think the car is perfect for commuting. I am still averaging 53 mpg over the life of the car although as it is getting colder mileage is declining a little as expected for all cars. I still think that the blind spot monitoring on the driver's side would be important, and i would prefer the radar based system instead of the camera that is currently used for the passenger side. Lastly, the automated wipers i could do without. They do not work properly and often wipe too much when the wind screen is dry and (in the same setting) arbitrarily fail to wipe enough when wet. The conventional manual variable intermittent controls are much better. Otherwise the car and its equipment are great. 7000 mile update: no changes, the car performs very well, no issues at all except for the annoying rain sensing wipers. The 2021 Insight will have a radar based blind spot monitoring system on both sides which is a good idea. I end up not using the camera based system on the passenger side the often. Overall, the car is great and i recommend it wholeheartedly still.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So far a great experience

Tom, 03/14/2019
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

The car is a red Touring version with no extra options. I have not had it long but so far really loving it. I'm getting 50-60 MPG around town, but no real road trip tests yet. I think the Touring option was worth the extra cost. The car handles well for it's size and weight. The low profile Continental tires on the Touring edition really stick to the road. There is likely a mileage trade-off for that. There is very little lean in the corners. It's so much quieter than the 2015 Civic I traded that I can hear the audio system well on volume 3-5. The Civic had to be up to 11-13. Speaking of audio, the premium 450 Watt system is incredible. One reviewer complained about having to reset the paddle-activated regenerative braking after every use. In fact this feature is redundant. The brake pedal also activates power regeneration in addition to the brakes. Light braking seems to be all regenerative. I think that is also safer as it lights up the brake lights to warn following traffic that you are slowing. Coming off a stop light the initial acceleration is very good even in Eco mode. I've owned 8 prior Honda/Acura cars and the fit and finish of this one is excellent compared to any of them. It took a while and some owner manual reading to explore all the instrumentation options. Wow, I have never owned anything like this. Pretty amazing stuff. Can't wait to take it on a trip! Now it's a few months later and there have been a few issues. About a month ago Apple Car Play quit working, but the wife's Android phone still connected to the car system. I went to the local Apple store and Car Play did not work with their phones either. Next stop was the Honda dealer, lucky for me just 2 miles away. The dealer disconnected the 12v battery to reboot the entire entertainment system. That fixed it. It's happened again since, but an iPhone reboot fixed it. The offending iPhone is a 6s running the latest iOS. Just 2 weeks ago the engine started running rough, a dead miss on one cylinder. I popped the hood open and #4 was cooler than the other 3. The car would not do over 45 mph because the engine monitor would not let it rev high enough to produce more power. I limped into a local dealer a few miles away on a Friday afternoon. By the time I got there the entire Honda Sensing system was showing errors for every sensor plus the check engine and emissions system issue lights were lit up. The dealer was covered up and could not get to it until Monday. The service manager took one look at all the error messages lit up and let me have a brand new Accord EX as a loaner. He called on Monday morning with the news that the #4 spark coil was bad and it would take 24 hours to get one. Tuesday he called again and I went to pick up the car. It's running as good as ever, but I'm sure glad it happened so close to a dealer. This experience made me very happy about buying the 60,000 mile extended warranty.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I like the car, watch out for dealer installed opt

Jesse Koehn, 07/28/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
55 of 63 people found this review helpful

Ordered a touring model with parking sensors. Dealer had to install parking sensors, they do not work, system error, to install they had to remove both front and back bumpers, remove drivers seat, carpet, this should be standard equipment from the factory. The holes they drilled for the parking sensors have chipped rough cut holes around the sensors, and they scratched and dented the drivers side bottom door panel. It took the dealer over 8 hours to install and the car shows a service error on the dashboard, and do not work. I would show pictures, but Edmund's does not have any options to upload.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Almost Perfect Package

Don Elman, 07/17/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
25 of 28 people found this review helpful

If you want Prius-like gas mileage, a compact sedan with good-sized trunk, Apple CarPlay, and modern safety features, the 2019 Honda Insight EX seems like an excellent package at a reasonable price. We purchased this model as soon as it arrived in dealers and have driven it for three weeks on city streets, freeways, and country roads. It’s quiet, comfortable, peppy, and drives like a dream with standard assistive features like adaptive cruise and lane keeping. Though it lacks radar-based blind spot/rear cross traffic detection, the right-side LaneWatch camera has been helpful when changing lanes. The controls and entertainment interface—while perhaps suffering from too many choices—seem intelligently designed and fairly easy to learn. Overall we have not been disappointed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Trusting Honda but I'm OK with that

Harley Burton, 05/31/2019
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I've only owned the car for 2 weeks at this point, but it has been better than I anticipated as a whole. Obviously, acceleration isn't going to be on par with the average sedan. It IS a hybrid. However, it will surprise most people; especially if you have driven a Prius and expect that. It feels like a hybrid if you are expecting it to be sporty, but it doesn't feel like a hybrid if you are expecting it to feel "like a hybrid." Hope that made sense. I live in NW Georgia, so it's pretty hilly around here. I drive about 26 miles each way to and from work each day on hilly backroads, and I'm averaging around 48mpg. I can do better if I try, but this is "just driving." The car handles like a civic, and I personally think that is a good thing. It's snappy and tight around corners, with next to no body roll, while still riding acceptably smooth on rough roads. I'm a geek, and the infotainment system is great IMO. Google Auto with YouTube music subscription, Audible, and Waze/GoogleMaps is a great setup. The display is a good size for comfortably hitting controls without having to search for them while driving. Least of all, in my opinion, but probably important to most people, I get a lot of complements on the looks of the car. It really is pretty slick for what it is.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nine Years Have Made a Difference on the Insight!

Eva Beasley, 03/14/2019
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
18 of 20 people found this review helpful

I have approximately 1,500 miles on my 2019 Honda Insight Touring. I can honestly say "Wow, Honda!" The look and feel of this car is so much better than the 2010 Honda Insight EX (which I owned in the past). I got rid of my older Insight because let's face it, it was ugly! If a Hybrid is going to look like a Prius then I don't want it.I don't think the Insight is perfect, but I do think it comes fairly close. Exterior, it really is a beautiful car. I get compliments on it so much so you would think I owned a luxury vehicle. It's sporty, but not too sporty. I feel like since I'm in my late-30's "gulp" it fits my personality well. Especially the Blue color! Interior, the seats aren't bad and the trunk space is roomy. As for the instrument panel, I did find a bug. There's no way to have the digital speedo read in MPH, only KMH. I've checked / asked / etc. What's funny is this is an issue in the USA, in Canada it's the other way around. I called Honda and reported it but they thought I was crazy. I went to the dealership and had to show them the issue as they didn't believe me. Sigh. Still nothing, I hope there's an OTA update that can fix this in the future. As for other "not crazy abouts" I miss not having the "blind spot" sensors but the right mirror camera isn't too bad, obviously not great at night but it's better than nothing. The MPG seems okay, I sometimes have a lead foot, but usually always get at least 42-43 MPG, which to me isn't bad at all. Lastly the pickup isn't good on the Interstate but it’s a Hybrid. I've tried Sport mode as well and see a bit better performance, however, I noticed that the Braking doesn't seem as sensitive when I have the Sport mode on. Does anyone else experience this? I may try to find a Honda Discussion Board. I found one but there was no category for Insight and I just wanted to share my thoughts with other owners. Lastly I’ve had the display cut out a few times when my cell was connected. It’s a little frustrating when using GPS but it hasn’t happened enough times to be a major issue. Thanks for taking the time to read my review!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best combination of everything!

Kwon, 07/26/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
32 of 37 people found this review helpful

I'm a car nut. I've looked at the prius, ioniq, Camry hybrid, Accord hybrid and the Niro. Every one of them have unique advantages over the insight. But, they also had disadvantages (brakes, styling, infotainment, price, etc.). The Insight has the best mix of every advantage and minimum disadvantages of them all. Honda did a great job of balancing every aspect of this vehicle and it shows. As far as MPG ratings go, I drove this beauty like I stole it in Sport mode (my break-in process) and still averaged 35 MPG for my first tank. Not too shabby....

Report Abuse

Insight introspection

Mr. Pete, 12/31/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

We live in a suburban/rural area that now has lots of traffic, but is more open than city driving. We have about 3,000 miles on our car now and in the summer we got up to 57 mpg with most tanks averaging over 50. Mileage has dropped to about 47 during the winter. We generally don't use the Eco mode as it is too gutless. We bought the EX model and miss the heated seats and leather wrapped wheel of the Touring, but still feel the EX model was right for our needs. The gas motor is noisy and drones when needed on the freeway. Seats are comfortable and the tech is adequate or better. The only negative being Honda's crummy blind side lane alert system which only alerts you via a camera on the passenger side mirror and, then, not until you signal a turn or turn on the system permanently which takes over the whole NAV screen. Our other car has a blind spot alert system that simply turns on a light on the mirror of either the driver's or passenger's side mirror and stays lit until the threat has passed. Simple and effective, c'mon Honda. Overall, this has been a great car for a daily driver which was why we got it. It's cheap to drive, looks great, performs well and is safe. It's a perfect car for local driving, but wouldn't be a first choice for a long road trip.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

6 months and 25k miles later

Kelley Brown, 03/07/2019
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

As you can see from my title I put a lot of miles on my car, and after 25,000 miles I'm still in love with my car. I will never buy another gas only car again. The responsiveness and torque of electric drivetrain is awesome. It's like flipping a light switch. No engine building up momentum, no shifting, just instantaneous power. Not to mention this car is loaded with features which makes it feel as futuristic as it looks. I've had trucks and cars of all different kinds try and race from a red light, only to get beaten by me using a fraction of the gas. The car gets from 0 to 30 in the blink of an eye, and as the speed gets higher it doesn't accelerate quite as fast which is typical for high torque instead of Horsepower. But it still has a pretty decent amount of power at +80mph. The fuel economy is dramatically affected at speeds high speeds but still averages into the mid thirties cruising at 85 miles an hour. At one point in time over a span of 25 miles I averaged 80 miles to the gallon. This was with climate control off the entire time and being pretty much as conservative as possible, but amazing that it's even possible. My only complaints are the automatic high beams which oftentimes randomly turn on when there is oncoming traffic so people in other vehicles are wondering why I'm flashing my brights at them and there is no way to turn it off permanently. And the Forward Collision Intervention system can be annoying, for example if the car in front of you is making a right turn and it's clear to you that they will be out of the way by the time you get to where they are and you're not going to rear end them, the car will sometimes start breaking unexpectedly even if you're pressing the gas pedal. I do not believe my car should ever override my input and should only apply brakes if I let off the gas but haven't hit the brake pedal yet. When you're accelerating and your car randomly starts braking, it's dangerous and compromises your control over the vehicle. A very good example of when this feature is dangerous is when you're trying to pass somebody and that's when they decide they want to speed up of course because that's what humans do. So you give it some gas so that you can hurry up and get ahead of them and get over before you get stuck behind the car in front of you in your lane and as you get close and start to change lanes, your car starts braking unexpectedly which both can cause you to no longer be going fast enough to get in front of the pain in the ass car that's now speeding up because you're trying to get around them, potentially causing a wreck, or the sudden jerk of the brakes being applied compromises the driver's control over the vehicle and potentially may cause you to completely lose control and wreck. This should be the same in all Honda vehicles with Honda sensing, and in my opinion is something the Honda needs to address immediately. There is no way to permanently turn off the forward Collision system, but you can do it every single time you get in your car manually which is an inconvenience. But other than the automatic high beams and the forward Collision system, I love my car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best hybrid

Jerry Parchejo, 08/25/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Beautiful and we'll made car. Touring trim feels and looks like a high end luxury car. The one and only downside is the engine tends to be noisy at times. Cabin is relatively quiet.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excellent value

TC2019, 10/10/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

We love this car. You get allot for your money with the EX model. Performance, storage, technology hit all the high marks. The Bonus is 5 Star Safety Plus Insurance safety rating. The LED headlights are amazing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The New 4-door Honda Sedan

R. Christopher, 10/01/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Even though the Insight has been around for years, Honda has a winner in the new insight 4-door on a Civic frame. I have shown it off to those fellow auto enthusiast and everyone is very impressed with the look and feel of the 3rd generation Insight. Exceeds my expectations with just two weeks of use. I look forward to many years of enjoyable driving. Mileage breakdown: Commuting 50+ mpg, Highway 45 mpg. Lowest mpg per one tank of gas was 37.67 mpg which I believe was due to poor gas quality since I never had this performance again before or since. UPDATE: After 1.5 years maintaining a spreadsheet I have averaged 50+ miles per gallon. I have however noticed during the winter months the mileage sometimes drops below 50mpg as a FYI. I am very happy with my purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excellent car!

Dave, 08/16/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

Have around 3k on my Touring at the time of writing this, mostly highway miles - averaging around 47mpg. My only real gripe - and it’s not much of one - is that I wish the electric motor would take some more of the initial acceleration load. I feel like the car wants to switch over to gas engine too soon most of the time. Alas, the mpg speaks for itself.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

First hybrid

Former 2016 civic owner, 09/14/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Hybrid that looks normal. First hybrid car. Never thought I’d own one. Hybrids lack car performance obviously because of it’s focus on fuel economy, but if you can get past that this car is amazing. Has everything you need and very practical. Love the tech and Apple car play. Very luxurious interior and exterior took the best of civic and accord and put it in one car. Beautiful in and out. If you’re willing to accept and car that goes 0-60 in 8 seconds :(, then get this car. I did ;).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Low set Passenger Seat

Alan August, 08/20/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
24 of 29 people found this review helpful

We test drove the Insight EX and probably would have bought it as the size, comfort, power, mpg, and safety features (we like LaneWatch) were well suited to what we were looking for. However, my wife really did not like the passenger seat being so low, with no way to raise it. She is 5'2" and said it felt like being in a bucket. The salesmen said that the powered seat in the Touring model also could not be raised (they did not have one in stock to check this). Too bad.

Report Abuse

Awesome car

Brian G, 08/14/2018
LX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

The Insight has great new styling while getting better mpg than Prius! Handles great, quiet, and have got over 80mpg in town. Recent road 250 mile trip, going 65-75 miles per hour was able to achieve 58.4mpg. This car pays for itself in savings, and it’s fun to drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best decision ever!!

Reyes, 08/15/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

Love the look of the car, love the set up inside. Has the best gas millage so far. Easy to drive, and once I switch to Sports mode, it takes off like a race car. Love, love my new car

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Easily the best vehicle for value

Bob P, 08/29/2018
LX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Beautiful looking, riding, driving car. Great interior. Cost of ownership appears low so far. My biggest and only complaints are: 1- if there was another 6-8 inches of legroom in the back it might just be perfect. 2-there are some software issues that need updating in the console technology. Update- some other things that have cropped up since I’ve owned this vehicle for a year now: Bluetooth is still an issue here and there. Seemingly some weeks, it’s perfect and great. I gave full connectivity with my phone and car and zero issues. Some weeks, I have to force to phone and car to forget each other and re-pair. Maintenance minder, the car can only use 0-20 synthetic oil, rated for 12,000 miles. The car uses a percent scale system with increments of 500 miles. So a fresh oil change, gives you 100% and every 500 miles, 5% is deducted from the 100%. The maintenance minder starts at 15%. So for 1,500 miles you have to clear the maintenance reminder EVERY time you start the car. Some interior panels have a little gaping in them here and their, specifically the center console. Also I’ve been getting some vehicle alerts from the brake system, saying they need serviced. By the time you go to check them on the car, the code is already gone or inactive. Maybe a bad sensor, maybe bad software- I’m going to have it checked, and doubtlessly it will be covered by the warranty. Overall, still hugely happy with my car. Gorgeous, rides great, amazing mpg. I would buy this car again without even considering anything else. If you’re considering buying it, my recommendation is to absolutely pull the trigger. 4-22-20, I’ve figured out the regular hybrid mode is the most fuel efficient, averaging 55 mpg year round still. I get closer to 65 on the city streets under 55mph environment.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

After four months of daily driving.

Lucius Greene, 10/31/2019
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

After four months and 4,700 miles of mostly city driving, I'm still happy I made this purchase. Previous car was an Audi Q5, which I enjoyed, but mid-20s MPG hurt the wallet, and the Insight has been giving me a consistent 48-50 MPG. This will likely improve now that we're out of the summer months with heavy AC use. Air conditioning works exceptionally, even on the hottest days; though I've noticed more pep in highway merging and passing when I turn it off. I've also learned to use sport mode when needing the extra torque/horsepower when slipping onto a crowded 2-lane hwy from a dead stop. Like other reviewers have noted, the car grinds ambitiously when power is wanted-- like a manual stuck in first gear-- and it is disappointing to hear all that noise with little response in feel. I opted for the Touring model, knowing I'd be lugging kids, saddles, helmets, etc., and the leather seats have been easy to clean (dark gray/black interior). The remote start feature on the key fob is a handy feature for those of us who don't have a garage. It would be nice to have an indicator on the key fob or perhaps a light on the vehicle to indicate the car is still running while in remote start mode due to the car being so quiet. I used the remote start app on my iPhone frequently during the trial period, and I'm ashamed to say I've used it successfully to find the car when I've gotten turned around about where I parked in the city. Being able to lock the car from the app is a nice feature, too. The feature the app provides which uploads my calendar appointments to the navigation system is nice but doesn't always transmit successfully. Also, it is frustrating that my passenger cannot enter navigation addresses when the car is moving due to a safety feature. Seems counter-intuitive given the other features that take eyes off the road longer, including reading the safety warning itself. Apple CarPlay is temperamental for me. I'm still learning the nuances. There's potential there, and I feel like I haven't learned enough to be evaluative. I can say that Amazon Music is limited when pulled up through the CarPlay interface and seems to work better when the phone is disconnected from the USB and rather played via bluetooth. Passengers can then select songs from the phone without the car thinking I'm trying to make a call and consequently shutting down all speakers except the center-dash speaker. Overall sound of the multi-speaker system is very good though initially didn't sound as good to me as my Audi. It has since grown on me. The quality of music played through the phone is superior to satellite radio. And HD radio reception drops out a lot in my area. The text reading feature is nice. The interior is built well and has withstood heavy backseat use by kids being hauled to/from sporting events with no signs of wear/tear. I wish the driver seat had more cushion; it is hard, and I may buy a pad for long trips. I have gotten a lot of compliments about the exterior appeal of the car, and people will walk up to me and ask me about the make/model. Being able to touch the front door handle to unlock the car is beneficial. I find that sometimes I have to completely grip the handle for it to register. I wish the rear door had the same feature, as I frequently have things in my hand that I need to put on the back seat before entering the driver seating area. Touching the front door handle and then opening the back door needs to be done quickly before the car relocks. The trunk does allow easy open with a key in my pocket while the car is locked. Bottom line is that this car takes some getting used to. Some of my observations above may even have simple solutions that I'm not yet aware of. I absolutely in no way regret this purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good looking hybrid.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Get some INSIGHT 2019

Paul, 08/18/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Great hybrid that does not look like a hybrid, superb mileage.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Owned for 1.5 years. Love driving this car.

Ed, 11/04/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

I did lots of research before I bought this vehicle. It all paid off. I’m regularly getting over 52 mpg. I bought the touring version, which is heavier than the EX or the LX. It is seriously fun to drive. This is my first hybrid, and I am deeply satisfied with this fine machine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

insight on my Insight

Rick, 09/22/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

Great car. Only complaint is engine is way to noisy when transitioning from electric to gas

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A Baby Accord And A Hybrid As Well

Stephen L. Bond, 08/19/2018
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

Don't be expecting a spare tire as you will only find a pressurized blow up kit. This "Baby Accord" handles extremely well and the suspension hugs the road. If you push the accelerator, it will groan a bit. Could use a seat adjustment for the passenger front seat.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

I love every single thing about this car

Amy Hudson, 05/12/2019
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have had the Honda insight for a very short time and I absolutely love it. smooth ride, fantastic stereo system, wonderful handling, and I'm having a lot of fun watching the gauges and learning how to get the best mileage out of it. Elegant and sporty looking. The price was absolutely fantastic. I can't say enough good about this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Insight Touring...just do it...

Sergio Galindo, 08/26/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 15 people found this review helpful

I have the Touring model. Traded in my other car as I needed the better mileage. It does take a bit of getting used to when using the Eco mode. The Sport mode is great - much better than expected. Overall my mileage was 43 mpg - through the first tank. It's a small tank - 10 gallons but you get great mileage. The interior has a lot of features. I did experience come quirks when connecting thru Apple Play but I'm sure the kinks will be worked out. Overall the car is solid, fun to drive, phenomenal on gas and great interior. You will be happy you made the purchase.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Peace of mind - RELIABILITY

Yonathan, 11/23/2018
LX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
9 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have been having Honda's for years know. I traded me 2016 Honda Civic EX for the Insight LX model. I was told that the frame of the insight is of the Civic line. The car feels more well built. really smooth compared to the civic. I only have less than 800 miles and im currently getting 42-43 mpg and going up. Being a Honda I know that I have the piece of mind that I will have a good reliable car. Good resale value and most importantly very good gas mileage. As expected, I already hear a rattle on the glove box which does get annoying. But I'm aware that Honda vehicles always use cheap plastics. Though annoying... I know that the bigger picture is that this car I wont have to worry that it will leave stuck or worry about sudden repairs.

Performance
Report Abuse

57 mpg overall

R, 08/29/2019
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I’ve got 4000 miles on the ex, and am averaging only 57 mpg because I’m driving through hills in Cal. Great low center o gravity/handling, great std safety features, nice upgraded interior/tablet/upgraded sound system. Very, very happy!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Insight is a new modified Accord

Dhruv Parikh, 08/28/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 11 people found this review helpful

We actually went to get a Accord LX, a basic model for my son. After seeing Honda Insight Touring Model pretty much at the same price (couple of grands more), with a whole lot of new technology . Test drive was almost comparable. Honda Sensing feature with Android Play is icing on the cake.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bet I'm Not the Only One

Clinton Brown, 02/04/2019
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
30 of 47 people found this review helpful

I was upset with Toyota for changing the design of the Prius and couldn't see spending another $30K+ for a car that appeared to be made with cheap materials on the interior so I checked out what I thought would be the next best thing--a Honda Insight. I test drove both the 2019 Insight and the 2018 Prius on the same day, and decided that the comfort, ride, interior styling and comparable gas mileage of the Insight was a better value. Boy was I wrong! Before I hit 1200 miles a warning light telling me that I had "Reduced Power" came on making my Insight non-operational. The dealership informed me that this was due to the cold weather in the midwest and that this is the way hybrid cars work and that I would just have to deal with it. I'm sorry, but I live in Michigan. You sold me a car in Michigan and then tell me I can't drive it when it is really cold in Michigan? I just went out and started my Prius and it works just fine. For the first 600 miles or so I was getting approximately 48 mpg. I drive on flat, country roads where the speed limit ranges from 35 - 50 mph. Around the 1000 mile mark I struggled to get 30 mpg. The dealership says "mileage may vary". A 15 mpg difference in a few hundred miles seems pretty extreme, but the dealership doesn't see an issue. I am now stuck with a vehicle that won't work in the cold and gets 30 mpg. I specifically purchased another hybrid because I drive over 100 miles a day. Wish I would have read more reviews because it seems I'm not the only one. Next time I will take the "cheap materials" over reliability and gas mileage.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just a few negative things

Rj, 04/06/2019
LX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
9 of 13 people found this review helpful

I really like the driveability,handling, technology, comfort, styling, quality and reliability of this car. The only things that I have noticed about the car is 1) It does have a low stance. That's nice but it's hard for me to judge where the back wheels are going to go. I have the LX model and it needs blind spot monitoring system too. 3) The one speed gas engine is good because it has no transmission, but I think the car would drive with less drone(or high revs) if it had at least 2 gears in it or had a turbo. When the battery is low, the gas engine has to power the car more, at higher revs. 4) In Winter driving the car has good traction due to its low center of gravity, but it does need a lower gear to brake the car going down a steep hill. The shift paddles on the steering wheel don't brake the car enough, & the car accelerates down the snow covered hill. 5) Lastly, the mpg for city driving is much lower in the Winter months. It has gotten as low as 32 miles per gallon in city driving. This Spring, the car's city mpg has upped to over 50 again, just like last October.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

More than I asked for from my other car

Hoang N, 01/08/2019
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 26 people found this review helpful

I wish I can comment on the other reviews. I will try to answer and give my opinion on the other negative reviews. For those who getting pour gas mileage, you are either in constant sport mode, going up a steep uphill, or stepping on the gas pedal too much. That will cause poor gas numbers no matter what car you drive. It's not honda's fault for the negative reviews on the mileage you get if you did the above too often. I stay in normal and eco mode the most. When my battery are having a decent charge, I switch to battery mode whenever I can...even on the freeway. To switch to battery on the freeway, you look at the left dash board (in front of the steering wheel), you will see a blue bar range on top of the green bar range. The green bar indicates charging. When i'm in the blue bar range, that is when I can use the battery. Once you leave the blue bar range, you lose battery to power your engine. Instead, it uses gas to charge the battery which takes the battery to run your engine. I get on average 49 mpg. On my active drive, this can be seen by going to the power flow icon located in the center screen (above center console), this will show you your active average drive. I get between 50 mpg - 63 mpg. I do use sport mode for entering freeways and changing lanes in a hurry, going up step hills (San Franciso hills) when I need to, my terrain is mostly flat. I average out between 10-12 days before refueling with between 40 - 60 miles left. For the seat comfort, it's not bad, it can be better with extra thickness for the seats and lumbar support would be nice. I do wish for the car to have lane assist when a car is nearby in addition to vents and USB ports for the passengers. There's no vents and USB ports in the back. I would like to have a place to hold my glasses near the sunroof area. I do wish for heated steering wheels and passenger seats. I wish for a bigger battery as 1 mile range is not enough. The paddle shifters (located in front of the steering wheel) are not for changing gears, they are use for how hard to charge your battery and will reset each time. The resetting is by design, if you constantly force it to charge the batter quicker each time you brake, then your brake pads are going to wear out sooner. I came from a sport car (270 HP) and paying $200 a month for gas. I now pay $64 a month. The horse power is getting use to at 151, but it has 30 more horse power than the Prius/Prius Prime. The insight drives a lot better than the Prius/Prius Prime. I love Android Auto Play. For the next flavor of Honda's Insight, I wish for more Horse Power, a Digital Odometer, Lane Assist for nearby cars, Wireless Charging, Heated Steering Wheel, Heated Passenger Seats, Passenger Side Mirror Auto Pointing down for reverse, A better Reverse Video, A front Video display so I know how far I can park in front of me, A place to hold my glasses near the Sunroof area, More Battery life or a Plug-in, Lumbar Support for Driver and Passenger (My wife has a bad back), an Outlet for my appliances which doesn't use USB for charging or usage (laptops usage, hair dryer usage, small fridge or warmer appliance), entertainment for the back passengers, driver memory settings, and most importantly a switch for turning off and on for the Nagging Wife/Girlfriends/Kids ( I know it's too much to ask for, but I'm sure people are willing to pay for the Nags Switch). You guys already have the switch to lock the doors and windows, so what is stopping you?

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

inside the insight with a little foresight

Bob B, 01/15/2019
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
14 of 23 people found this review helpful

Very nice car. Looks great and technologically up to date. A little noisy at highway speeds but that is to be expected. The biggest disappointment IS POOR GAS MILEAGE. The EV mode needs to be adjusted to balance the real needs of the engine and running on the battery. In the last 30 days, I have only got 35 highway and 46 city. Mileage was much better before December 1st. Have no idea what changed but I'm not a happy camper.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

20 month 35k mile review

Bill in NY, 03/13/2020
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought the 2019 insight ex in July 2018. I loved how it rode in the test drive and even though I had only brought my 2017 civic ex in for an oil change I drove home in the insight. Been a civic (owned 7) and Accord (owned 2) lover over past 20 years but this is the perfect medium between the two. It's a smooth and peppy ride. I have seen other reviews saying its sluggish but I must have gotten the Friday car. 0 -60 7.5 seconds in sport mode and when cruising at 60, I can pass easily . Of course there are the confusing idiosyncrasies with the hybrid, like if the battery is low, yes it is sluggish and makes way more noise than necessary, but that's solved by generous use of sport mode which keeps the battery charged. I love that there is no transmission to speak of. It just goes. No lag between gears. Even so I always get 50 + mpg. In colder climates you will get less because cold battery and heater eats up the juice. I also like the look with the Maserati like tail lights instead of the civic or accord alligator mouth. The front grill also mixed elements of both. Interior is great with 60/40 split fold down in back. Head unit lower so it doesn't stick up like you plopped an ipad on the dash like the accord. Also I like the push button shifter. I mean why have a frickin handle when a button is so much easier and neater. And the lane watch is much better than a beep if someone is in your blind spot. I cant understand how reviewers have not liked that feature. So yes I like the car. Pros: great gas, comfy and responsive ride, nice look, great interior and electronics. Cons: annoying engine sounds st range times. Only 2 stage paddle shift regen breaking. They claim 3, but its 2. I will probably keep this model for awhile because I read that they are discontinuing the lane watch camera. I'm hooked on this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Prius Killer

Doc Hollywood, 01/11/2019
LX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

This car was made for CA bumper to bumper traffic. I’m averaging over 60 mpg when in traffic and around 50 mpg in normal highway speeds. After two weeks of ownership I’m averaging a combined 61.8 mpg. I drive mostly on the 101 in horrible traffic so I’m in EV mode a lot. It is the perfect car for this LA traffic. After 25,000 miles I’m still averaging over 62 MPG. Only maintenance has been two oil changes.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

HHH (Happy Honda Hybrid) owner

Indy Russ, 01/15/2019
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Wonderful discovery after focusing on the Kia Niro, Toyota RAV4 Hybrid, and Toyota Prius. Used Consumer Reports car buying aids and came to Edmund’s after much frustration in my search. Used the Comparator tool at edmunds.com. There I discovered the new 2019 Honda Insight, test drove it, and loved it immediately. Only owned about a month.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

12000 mils in 12 weeks

paul roberts, 01/16/2019
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

avg fuel 54mpg have had up to 60 mpg on a tank of gas great handling car nice sport mode when you need it have not found a problem yet veary happy with car and features,

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A-

Mike b, 04/30/2019
EX 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Only complaints are that I drive very passively and try my best to save fuel and I get about 47 combined mpg. I drive primarily in the city where it says it gets slightly over 50.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Can't believe it is a hybrid.

Tim, 10/19/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

So far I have been getting super fuel economy. I haven't taken any long trips yet but for local travel I have been getting fuel economy in the high forties. The cabin is a little cramped in the back but I don't use the back seat for adults. The technical safety features are great. The interior quality is great and the car performs like a conventional sedan. when in the sport mode ( I have the touring model) using the paddle shifters it really takes off. In when you accelerate it's a little noisy but that doesn't bother me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050