Skip to main content

Used 2014 Ford Shelby GT500 Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price
$61,590

Used Shelby GT500 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Sally is incredible

sallysbuddy, 08/04/2014
updated 09/02/2022
2014 Ford Shelby GT500 2dr Coupe (5.8L 8cyl S/C 6M)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

Only two weeks old and 500 miles on the clock, but this animal is incredible. Getting on the freeway from the dealership after I picked it up,I wanted play with it's roadholding, so got on it.....just a little...on a very tight 360 degree entrance ramp. Hugged the inside edge and looked at the speedo at the merge point of the freeway: 113 MPH and it was hardly breathing! The G-forces are unbelievable. People stare at it, give me thumbs up and smile. I've had performance cars my whole life (including a Jack Roush built Lincoln MK VII with a 5 speed manual tranny and GT40 motor), but none of 'em hold a candle tot his. I need to re-read the complete owner's at least 3 more times. Now into her third year, Sally continues to be an incredible performer. I widened the rear wheels to 11" so that I now have Nitto 555 G2 tires, size 315R35/20. A 1/4" spacer is needed to move them outward so the rims don't hit the inner wheel well/suspension parts. Also added were BMR lower rear control arms and Panhard rod to keep the axle in place with those tires. The wheels are the largest that can be put on the GT500. I've noted that the spacer allows only 4.5 turns of the lug nut tighten. Racing really should have 6 turns. I think I've found a place that will make me 1/4" longer studs so that I can still use the closed end nuts while getting a full 6 turns to tighten the wheel. Jay Leno says the shifter was very good. He's wrong. On hard acceleration the shift linkage flexes enough to cause gear clash in the first to second shift because of the "remote" shifter design. I'm ordering a MGW billet replacement shifter ($ 405) as others have said greatly improved the problem with the change. Drove from MI to MGW in Augusta, GA. Had the new shifter installed. What a dream. Took "The Tail of the Dragon (US-129) back home. What fun! Asked if I was going to trade Sally in on the new 2020 version, I said "Never! But I just might get her a new brother." Had some trans work done at the six year mark with the Ford -spec'd 2nd gear synchro replaced with the right Tremec one plus a new clutch and flywheel. All warranty! 58K on it. Still perfect. One of the best ladies I've ever been associated with! This car still makes me smile. 59K on the clock. Replaced 2nd gear, 2nd and 3rd gear sychros. In hibernation 'til Spring. UPDATE: After 8 years I still love her. I did have to recently replace 2nd gear and the 1-2 and 2-3 synchros, at 58K on the clock. Love her so much that I'm looking for a '22 GT500 CFTP to be her brother.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

2014 GT500 after 3 years

guidave59, 04/02/2014
updated 04/03/2016
2014 Ford Shelby GT500 2dr Coupe (5.8L 8cyl S/C 6M)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

No problems with the car. Still a joy to drive, EVERYBODY wants to race........car gets good gas mileage , VERY fast and powerful.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2014 shelby gt500

jim737, 05/24/2014
updated 11/28/2016
2014 Ford Shelby GT500 2dr Coupe (5.8L 8cyl S/C 6M)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

I've owned and driven many high po cars. This one is special in many ways. Critics complain of break fade. I've not experienced any even though pushing the car hard. Turn in is excellent mid corner and exit excellent,yes bumps can upset solid axel but it's predictable and controllable. Even irs cars can be upset with bumps. Ford chose gearing it high for a good reason. People always look at 0-60, 1/4 mile, and top end. Ford made first gear tall so they did not have to shift going to 2nd. Saves time get excellent time. Same with 1/4 mile. And 200mph top end with 3:31 gear. Then there is better gas milage no gas gusler tax all good marketing for ford.a lower gear would be a plus.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

It's nice to get more then you paid for!

roushguy, 02/27/2014
2014 Ford Shelby GT500 2dr Coupe (5.8L 8cyl S/C 6M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

My last Mustang was a 2010 Roush 427r modified with 500HP and although overall an easier car to drive it certainly can not compare to my 2014 Shelby GT500. Simply put it's an animal under full throttle and very drivable for daily driving BUT and its a very big BUT one can not expect a supercar to be smooth as a Honda Accord. Logic dictates that high power requires heavy duty components and heavy duty requires a little more effort to handle. I ordered mine with the performance and electronic package and just love driving this car. The exhaust note is unbelievable and I just can't understand how Ford was able to build this quality car at these low prices. It's a nice testament to Carol Shelby!

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

High Performance Vehicle Rating

Chan Davis, 05/12/2017
2014 Ford Shelby GT500 2dr Coupe (5.8L 8cyl S/C 6M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

My ratings are based on the intent of the car; a very high performance coupe. Those wanting cushy rides and, though it does have a great sound system, Nav, plug ins for all your electronics, that is not what this vehicle is made for. So, if you don't understand what a very if not ultra high performance coupe is, don't buy a GT500. You might kill yourself. That said, this car is extremely easy to drive, yet when asked changes modes from docile to 'screamer'. It rides like a performance car even with the suspension set to 'normal'. Obviously more harsh in 'track mode'. Summary: Ford did a great job with this car. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who understands and enjoys very high performance cars.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12
Items per page: