Used 1998 Chevrolet Astro Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,764 - $3,067

Used Astro for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I like it

yakimagal, 06/21/2008
LS 3dr Minivan AWD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I am getting ready to purchase another car as I have had this one for 10 years. I find I am comparing everything I look at to my Astro. The interior and exterior still look almost new. I have replaced the tires 4 times in 10 years, whatever that means. I love how it handles on wet pavement and snow. With the AWD, I can travel the mountain pass without putting on chains. Compared to my last car, 89 Astro, the handling is so much better. There has been some repair work, but standard stuff as a car ages. Check engine light 3 times in 10 years. The lighting on stereo has burned out but stereo still works well.

Report Abuse

Family Hauler

Chevy Fan, 12/22/2008
LS 3dr Minivan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought from a frequent traveler with 98K on it. We now have 271K on it. Nothing unexpected - usual replacements of water pump fuel pump, trans rebuild, and so forth. Still no oil consumption. We use on trips for family of 4, plus it served as the "Mom wagon" for several years, racking up 300 miles a week. We are ready to let it go after a long service life. Everything still works. Needs a radiator, uses too much gas at today's prices. We got our money's worth.

Report Abuse

Pros and Cons of my Astrovan

Chev AWD Astro LT, 12/04/2007
LT 3dr Minivan AWD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I like to drive my Astrovan but it's ride is too rough. It gets 14 miles per gallon which makes it too expensive to drive at today's inflated gas prices. Also it is almost impossible for me alone to remove the 5 rear passenger seats

Report Abuse

1997 Astro Conversion

macboy9999, 04/08/2002
LT 3dr Minivan
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I would not recomend this van to anyone. We have 60,000 miles as of 3/02. So far the air went out twice, the motor was replaced 6 months after purchase, the front tierods and bushings need to be replaced the gas guage does not work the brakes were replaced last year. The serpentine belt has been replaced a year ago and it still makes a loud noise. They say we need another new one. This van has been garaged since we bought it. My wife drives it 40 miles a day to the train station, so most of othe miles are highway. I purchased it new in 1997 for $28,900 It was the top of the line TV VCR ect. If you are looking to purchase an Astro I would say Don't!!!.

Report Abuse

Astros are iffy

Clay Bum, 12/28/2002
LS 3dr Minivan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Everything went to hell at 60,000 miles... with me in it! It's been in the shop 6 times in the last two months. Every time I make any money it goes to my mechanic. As soon as I get back from SCI's New Years run I get to get the tranny fixed. Anyone want buy an Astro?

Report Abuse

What a Farse

Astrotrash, 08/13/2003
LS 3dr Minivan AWD
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This van has been lousy since the get go. At 16,000 miles, it died on the freeway. The catalytic converter, oxygen sensor and fuel pump needed replacing. It has broken down numerous times. The fuel pump has been replaced twice, rear AC twice and on and on and on. The cabin had an unlocated water leak which caused the carpet and padding to saturate and produce mold. GM Customer relations had to be brought in to mediate. After paying for new padding and having it happen again, we finally just removed it and put it back in place when we traded the ridiculous thing in. It rides like a mattress suspended on beach balls. First and LAST GM experience.

Report Abuse

maryland

glen brown, 08/11/2004
3dr Minivan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

braking system is no good

Report Abuse

Poor Quality Build - Nightmare Experience

bosnol, 08/29/2011
LT 3dr Minivan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Awful build quality - it is too bad since the Astro fits a perfect niche for families with diverse outdoor interests. They made this vehicle out of trash - and it did not help with the dealer contesting every warranty claim. The extended warranty saved us $10k in unexpected, chronic breakdowns. Security Chevrolet in Vista, California, now out of business was the nightmare dealer.

Report Abuse

Astro-nomical costs

Astroslug, 05/15/2002
LS 3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I guess I would say that the Astro is fairly solid IF you get one with a generous extended factory warranty. Reliability "issues": --> replaced front pads at 20K --> had TWO experiences (one inside and one outside of standard factory warranty period) with "bad ignition" wires (>$450 each) --> transmission went to mush around 35K miles (fortunately just barely within warranty period).

Report Abuse

1998 AWD Astro van

Morgan5, 05/18/2002
3dr Minivan AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the second Astro Van we have owned one right after the other, since 1990, These vans are great in all kinds of weather, and road conditions, the AWD is the only way to go.........I have had only one problem that I consider a engineering problem and it is that the rear air conditioning has a line running from front to back, that has a tendency to wear at the brackets, costing close to 300.00 to fix! Other then that if you take care of this vehicle, it is extremely dependable. Sold the 1990 to a couple, with 125,000 miles on it and it is still in near perfect shape. Even my auto repair shop was impressed with that van!

Report Abuse

Deluxe Chevy Astrovan

ls, 06/05/2002
LS 3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

No problems in 4 years. Towed a 19' boat 2400 miles each yr with no problems. Only problem is the small leg area in front seat. That is why we are trading. It rides great. Back seat is comfortable. Grandkids like the tv and vcr.

Report Abuse

3 DOOR 1998 ASTRO AWD

123113131313131, 07/07/2002
LS 3dr Minivan AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very happy with vehicle performance. Good acceleration, mileage, and sits up as high as any passenger truck on the road. I only wish I had ordered the rear heating and a/c. AWD is awesome, never go back.

Report Abuse

Never again

trimom, 02/20/2003
LS 3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Maybe the dealership sold us a lemon, but we have had problems from day one. We had to replace our tires the first time at under 10,000 miles because we could not keep the alignment in check. This van is on its fourth set of tires and I have lost count of the alignments we have had done. We take good care of our cars as far as preventive maint., but this van has been nothing but trouble. By the way, it only has 49,000 miles on it. Other problems included air conditioning problems. I have rthe safety reviews of this van and it is listed as "poor". My suggestion is if you want a minivan, get a minivan.

Report Abuse

A lot of brakes

moms car, 04/08/2005
LS 3dr Minivan AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Not a great track record 4 sets of brakes, idle arm replacements, 4 sets of tires, the water pump and now the catalytic converter plus there is no A/C in the back and the kids roast in the summer. Bad gas mileage and an expensive car to maintain. Door handles have broken and the passenger side no longer locks. No more Astros for this mom.

Report Abuse

1998 Chevy Astro Mark III van.

eandrew, 02/07/2004
LT 3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

45000 miles only problem has been battery and wiper blades replaced once, steering alignment once. Still with original Uniroyal tires. 20 mpg highway, good, but would like it better. Two factory recalls for very minor prolems. Have not had typical chevvy things breaking, e.g. window cranks, door knobs, etc, that I have had with chevvies in past years, everything works like it is supposed to.

Report Abuse

Great for travel

asproule, 02/02/2006
LS 3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned this same vehicle for the past 6.5 years. I have taken it on many long distance trips and found it quite exceptional. It is very comfortable and roomy for kids moving about, and for extra storing.

Report Abuse

Could be better

Bertha, 06/30/2006
LS 3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our '98 Astro seems to always need something fixed. Many of the up-keep has been expensive due to the area of parts on the van. At 115,000 miles, we were told its transmision is on its way out. Great. Would I buy this vehicle again? No way.

Report Abuse

astro left behind

r2, 04/06/2004
LS 3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A very reliable people/thing hauler. Great power from the 4.3. The old solid rear leaf spring made the older van a better ride than the current set-up. This van has a lot more rattles than my previous astro. My major concern is that the value loss is so high. You can buy one cheap but, plan to keep it.

Report Abuse

Comfort and Size

dave8697, 02/26/2008
LS 3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Original owner for 9.9 years. Have spent a few hundred to fix rear a/c and a few hundred to fix transmission. A rear bearing seal is leaking, the water pump was replaced, and the original battery spit out a terminal. It is easy on tires and brakes and the replacement battery so far. Took on 900 mile trip this month and got over 21 mpg and had room for everything without it being in your way. Interior has held up excellent, except recliner levers. Still solid, quiet, roomy and economical. You don't want to know the resale value unless you are buying a used one.

Report Abuse

Costly Van

james, 01/30/2007
LS 3dr Minivan AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have owned an Astro since 1999, bought at 2K miles. We have paid for repair after repair since then. Some of the repairs have been for the same thing over and over. If I were to put together all of the repair reciepts, I think the total might even shock us. Watch out for idler arm problems! Again and again- it's just poorly designed. Also, we've had multiple problems with the electrical system, little motors and switches, etc. In contrast, we also own Toyota products, which haven't needed nearly the amount of expensive and redundant repair. Beware!

Report Abuse

Long Term Test Drive of 9 yrs, 102k mi

dave8697, 04/09/2007
3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got lucky compared to some on here. I haven't yet spent $600 on repairs in 9 yrs. Bought new and has been less reliable than my previous Astro in some ways. Transmission needed a $170 repair and rear A/C line is not properly supported, wore a leak and needed $350 repair. Water pump going at 80k not impressive. Battery was defective and died from terminal rot out disease that was designed into it to save a few cents. The trans trouble was from an alum part in place of cast iron that was tried and failed. Interior and paint have held up great. No rattles, fade, or things getting loose. Engine like new. Van was well built and gets 23 mpg on trips. Road handling is a weak spot.

Report Abuse

Power, Roomines, 23 mpg on trips

dave8697, 04/21/2007
3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Owned it 9 years and 102k mi. I didn't expect it to be perfect and it wasn't. It was $18,400 out the door and stickered for $24,800 so I could easily afford the $250 trans repair in year 6 and the $350 rear a/c line repair in year 7. One water pump, one battery, one serp belt. Very reliable. Takes $9 brake pads and $35 tires. Roof rack adds only interior noise.

Report Abuse

Happy With It

yoyack, 07/29/2007
LS 3dr Minivan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought new and its been very good. Count on the fuel pump going out. Mine did and so did every one in my employers fleet. It's big, comfortable and great on long drives. Power window, water pump and alternator replaced. Never overheated in 115 degree desert heat. Great A/C kept things cool inside. Wife likes this more than the Q45. Would buy again if reliability is as good as imports. Domestics just aren't there yet. Extend the warranty and significantly lower parts prices and I will buy another one. Parts for imports used to be expensive, now domestics are no different.

Report Abuse

Love my Astro

helloed, 03/05/2003
LS 3dr Minivan
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My Astro is probably one of the best vehicles I've ever owned. Besides a set of tires and a battery, I've never had a problem. It holds lots of stuff, people, or both. And then I can add a trailer. I have a smaller car I can use for road trips, but why? The front seats in the Astro are some of the best captains chairs I've ever sat in! The gas milage is great considering it weighs 2 tons. The best I've gotten is 26(!) MPG. It isn't a sports car by any means, but for a big metal brick, it handles quit well.

Report Abuse

GREAT VAN

scott , 11/16/2002
LS 3dr Minivan
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

GREAT VAN! The only thing this van needs is more horsepower and torque!

Report Abuse

Hurrah for Astro and Safari!

mattagrella, 02/17/2003
3dr Minivan
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love these vans.

Report Abuse

Mom's Car

Zip, 08/17/2006
LS 3dr Minivan AWD
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Reliable. AWD better than 4WD. Never a problem on ice, snow, or in rain. Regularly maintained by dealer. On second set of tires. Only major work was windshield wiper motor at 95k. Sorry to see them go.

Report Abuse

Ride High

Suni, 05/26/2002
LS 3dr Minivan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have a 1998 Astro and its in great condition. For any car you buy you must maintain it! Example: NEVER miss a oil change, check tires, brakes, fluid levels regularly, also keep it clean. I have about 70 000km on it, and the engine runs great..90L gas tank...use nothing but high grade! It is true that the air filters get dirty fast....but i put a fine net around the opening and it stays clean long! The body design is great, the paint it good quality. The seats inside could be more comfortable but overall its nice. The 8 speaker 500 watt stock sound system is really nice!! If Chevy had to do one improvement i would say make the performance better.

Report Abuse

Continutal Front End issues but Very Reliable

JimL, 01/15/2020
LT 3dr Minivan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You will put in tie rod ends every 40K or less and many sets of tires on these vans. I purchased the 50K tires and they always fail about 50% of the expected life. They always prorate so you get nothing. (not a complaint about vehicle here but tires and their false ratings) Ball joints need replacement around 100K. Also, you need to replace the cap and rotor every 12 -15K miles or it will not start. Doghouse is not fun to remove to work on engine but not too difficult. Changing plugs are a chore. (especially drivers’ side one is very difficult to get to). I purchased my 1991 with 100K miles. I now have 270K and still runs fine no issues. I replaced alternator twice as a preventative measure (was making some noise) and fuel pump, water pump, and brakes (typical wear items). Heater Core started leaking and replaced it myself many years back. Very tiny bit of oil consumption and leakage under vehicle between oil changes (less than many new vehicles). Rims are rusting out now and develop slow leaks and so is under body. I replaced one already. Original Exhaust!! Can you believe That!! Not a great turning (handling) vehicle when compared to full sized Avalanche or equivalent and not a lot of leg room but good enough for me (I am 6' 2”). Only recently check engine because the anti-lock is not working. who needs it? I don't need this fancy anti-lock junk and I find simplicity is best. A.C died many years ago and minimal heat due to gunk in the radiator (many flushings) but now they say there is a leak in radiator, and they cannot flush or pressurize it. Funny It must be near the top of the water line because I only add like one cup per year? It does not leak. This is more of a truck and not a minivan for the wife. it does great in winter and it super handy for homeowners who need to haul replacement water heaters or washer/dryers. overall this is a GREAT RELIABLE vehicle. I love it and will miss it dearly if and when I decide to part with it. I am thinking of a Chevy Avalanche to replace it someday

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050