Used 2003 Volvo S80 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,424 - $3,196

Used S80 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

GM transmission take it to the junk yard

tlg, 03/02/2016
T6 4dr Sedan (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

update 9-5-2017 interesting this email! Gauge cluster just went out this CAR. Thought about letting it go but i still will not even come close to anything near the miles and money ive put in it. i personally have spent years trying to avoid the over engineered under quilty of the electronic and unreliability services of GM products. After owning my fist volvo 2001 S80 2.9 non turbo i was in an accident totaled the car loved the car had 178000 no problems other then rack and pinion. Purched my next very shortly after found 2003 s80 t6 2.9 turbo. car appeared nice after buying before making the first payment the transmission went into limp mode. taking to have looked at found the vehicle had the GM 4t65e transmission witch i would have never even considered the car if i would have known that it had a gm part in it. There is only 2 other vehicle they are in that ive found other then gm products. That is the volvo s80 and the XC90. IN the years around what i have. I am so disappointed in this car im going to have over 10000 in a car worth 6000.Volvo has really disappointed me now i have a car that wont run and haven't made the 1st payment.payment. Mechanic says you are lucky to get 100000 miles out of the transmission. All i can say is im disappointed in volvo now. Just after replacing the transmission the fuel pump went out. Now with 95000 approx. The front end needs work so basically i will have to drive this car for years. Wish i could post pics of the wonderful advertising sticker swartz auto in harrisonburg va put on the back of it. Was going to remove but instead put a sign above it that says do not buy from. They were horriable for there customer service. I will never recommend or buy from them again. 9-5-2018 Started leaking antifreeze found the T-6 has an automatic bleeder out the side of the timing cover piece of plastic completely brittle. 7-1-2019 Decided not to take the chance on the Trans again had over $1000 in it sold it for $2500 less then 30000 miles ugh. Win some loose some sure was a nice riding car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Volvo Yet!

S80 2003, 12/06/2003
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is my third Volvo and the 2003 S80 2.9 is outstanding. Fit and finsh are the best I've seen on any car. Solid performance, comfort, and avg 25 mpg!

Report Abuse

Good car!

Mark Lewis, 06/12/2007
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent car. It's fun to drive, and it gets good gas mileage. I consistently get 430 miles to the tank. The only problem I have is that the rear passenger speaker produces static. Other than that, the car accelerates well, takes turns well, hugs the road and has plenty of amenities. The trunk is very large. The hinges fold into the side and not into the well of the trunk. It gives you more space. That's especially important when you are grocery shopping for a family of 5! Overall, it's a great car.

Report Abuse

Major disappointment

puchpuppy, 02/14/2009
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Purchased car with 33000 miles and have been beset with any number of very expensive problems. The most expensive problem was replacing the fuel pump at 43000 miles at a cost of $1000 dollars and suffering an overwhelming smell of gasoline for a month afterward. Now there is a check engine warning that shows a code of failure of fuel system. The estimate on replacing the sensor is in the neighborhood of $800 dollars. The suspension system needs realignment every two thousand miles or so. Am on the third set of tires. Continually replacing headlight bulbs and other bulbs. I am 82 years old and have drive Volvos for years and I do not misuse a car. Am bitterly disappointed with this car!

Report Abuse

Good for the money!

Jack B, 12/22/2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have owned the S80T since Aug 2003 and have mixed feelings on the car. Decent acceleration & Braking. However, the turbo lag can be somewhat annoying. Love the Stepronic like shifter. The interior of the car is cheap. Tons of plastic. Volvo saved a ton going this route. If you have experienced a BMW, Lexus, or MB, you will be dissapointed. The main reason I bought the car was for the seats. These seats are incredable! The Stereo rocks when playing CD 's. However, the AM radio stinks. Several trips to the dealer to solve the ear popping crackling and interference have failed to solved the prob. Good Performance, Cheap interior, Great seats. 15K less than a BMW.

Report Abuse

66% Unhappy With This Cae

Two Out Of Three , 05/08/2003
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Leased three S80 T6's in Jan, 01. Two of us would never buy one again. Quality isn't there for a car in this price range. Electronics have been terrible: numerous bulbs replaced, shorts in one car, bad seals around the headlamps, the driver's seat on one rocks during acceleration or braking. The cars have high cost of ownership: never had a visit under $500, unless it was for a recall,which we've had three or four. Mileage makes us believe this is prevelant throughout, after three years we have one with 70K, another with 55K and the last one has 45K. BTY: Consumer Reports in April of 2002 ranks the S80 and the S60 as "do not buy"!

Report Abuse

Glad it wasn't my first Volvo!!!!!!!!!

Jim Morton, 10/26/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

In the first year with under 10,000 miles the steering has locked once, the transmission has been replaced, bulbs have blOWN out and the vehicle is EXTREMELY noisey

Report Abuse

OLD VOLVO OWNERS-Your Reward is Here

MR. BIG, 11/24/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a fabulous automobile and quite the sleeper. It is a big sedan in the Euopean sedan tradition that uses space rather than wastes it. Performance is on par with sedans costing $15-20K more. And what boy racer in a Honda would ever expect a Volvo to blow right by them? The car handles the twisty stuff with sure-footed comfort. This is my 5th Volvo and my favortie by far. So far we only have 3,000 mi on it with no negatives. I have paid my dues with old Volvos. I am a fan. This is my reward! A pleasure to drive.

Report Abuse

Great S80-T6

thom1, 12/22/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle - going to buy another too

Report Abuse

I love it even more than the 2.9

Jonathan Barth, 01/01/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I had a 2001 S80 for 1.5 years and as much as I LOVED the car, I always regretted not getting the T6 package, premium sound, and color-coded trim. When I got this Pearl White 2002 T6 (with color coded trim), I was in utterly speechless; the seats where even more comfortable and the handling and responsiveness of the T6 is fantastic. And the sound… the 3rd channel and DPL are great. With the exception of the mild dead spot when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear and the fact that the premium sound does not play MP3s, I really have enjoyed the high end responsiveness of the car and the sound system. At 130 mph, the car is just beginning to beg for more.

Report Abuse

Headlights crack

headlights, 09/01/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I do love my S80. I have two complaints. I need more lumber support, and the headlights keep cracking!!! I had one crack in April, and figured somebody hit it. The other one cracked two days ago. That time it was just parked in the sun. If you have had this problem, or any other, seriously, don't just post to this board. Go to WWW.NHTSA.COM and enter a complaint. If that transmission slips and the brakes fail, THEY need to know about it.

Report Abuse

S-80 T-6 Excellent Vehicle

Thom, 12/01/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle in late 2002 as a replacement for the exact same vehicle (including color) in a 2001 model. The 2001 was terrific and this one has been even better. I bought it in CA but live in TX now. The drive across country was very comfortable and I take this car whenever I have to go on long trips. This is my NINTH Volvo since 1974 - but I've had lots of other vehicles as well. The lease just expired on this one but I bought it and will keep it for a long time to come. Volvo of Orange County CA is the best dealer coast to coast. I've had Volvos from Boston to Houston to California but V.O.C. is the best!

Report Abuse

Silky & Smooth beauty

yelled, 05/09/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I think the person who complained about the "born with" nose, not enough power to accelerate into traffic, and heavy steering wheel must got a real lemon or not talking about the same car. Steering is actually on the lighter side for Eurpean cars. It's quiet and smooth even over NYC pot-holes. Avoiding them is just as fun. No problems what so ever so far and I am keeping my fingers crossed. I like this car over often troublesome and stiff BMW's. Especially when my neighbor's BMW gets stuck during snow. I love floating by with my cushy seats with fwd.

Report Abuse

Excellent cruiser

Carbuff, 12/27/2008
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Volvo has a fine automobile in the S80 T6. Mine has been trouble free; the key to which is regular maintenance. I also recommend a transmission service or flush every 40,000 - 50,000 miles at the dealer. If you plan to keep the car for several years, the servicing you do will pay dividends. This is a fantastic automobile for long trips and highway driving; especially good for moving people in comfort. Fuel economy is much better at cruising speed on the highway; you'll see dramatic drops in start and stop city driving. Highly recommended!

Report Abuse

Second Volvo S80

Matthew DiMangiano, 02/01/2003
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car for my wife in December of 1999 and just traded it in for her second. Awesome drive especially in snowy weather. I own many luxury and exotic cars, this being my second favorite sedan next to my 2000 Rolls Royce Park Ward. Volvo is amazing, they have it all safety, performance, technology, and in recent years since they removed themselves from the boxy look, elegant style. Volvo has always been popular at country clubs and with opulent drivers and I would take this over the Acura 3.5RL and Lexus GS300 anytime. An alternative to this car is the Jaguar S- Type although it's rear wheel drive does not handle well in inclement weather.

Report Abuse

Great ride

vikingpwr, 04/26/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best car ever had,worst dealership!nothing major yet,replaced the oxygen sensor,4 times the headlight bulbs ,trunk lock.Very fast break rotors replacement and they(the dealer) wouldn't turn the rotors.Radio's AM very poor reception,problem with the A/C but it got fixed during warranty and knock on wood warranty's expired and hope not to see a mechanic for a long time.

Report Abuse

Volvo Lemon

Bob Reynolds, 11/22/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Absolute worse new car I have ever purchased. Dealership service had car first 4months more than I did. Service dept. drove more miles than owner, over the first four months. Local service dept. can not fix problem without bringing in specialist who works with Volvo Sweeden. Problem worse than ever and dealership now saying nothing more they can do. We now have to change our driving habits to try to be safe in the $40k vehicle. Cannot pull out into traffic because we are not sure what car will do. (Either bog down or tramission will slip). 5 visits to service and they can't fix it. They said that Volvo might have a fix in the future.

Report Abuse

Best Volvo yet!

Nick in PA, 06/11/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Besides the class-leading safety in this model, Volvo has perfectly balanced performance and comfort in the T6. This car is roomier than the BMW 5- series cars...both cabin and trunk. This is my 4th Turbocharged Volvo, and is the best one yet! I was surprised at how reasonable the cost was after all incentives were applied

Report Abuse

First Impressions

Junesteve, 09/13/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have purchased our first Volvo and love the car. It is a "solid" ride with plenty of comfort.

Report Abuse

Volvo S80 Performance

Brandosdad, 09/03/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The VOlvo S80 is the finest car I have ever driven. Thle styling was new, starting with the 2002 model year. Car is roomy inside and holds 4 to 5 people. Steering, power, acceleration, placement of instruments etc. is great. Seating is extremely comfortable and is posture friendly. Well designed. Thlley thought of evereything.

Report Abuse

Volvo for Strife

netxpert, 10/02/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased a brand new 2003 Volvo S80 T6. The first time that I opened the hood I discovered that the car has significant rust and corrosion problems. The problems were brought to the dealers attention immediately after purchase, however after several months, the factory has done little to address the situation. Neither the dealer or the factory seem to care about customer satisfaction. There customer service rates an F.

Report Abuse

Acceleration Hesitation

Harder99, 01/18/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased the car for its safety performance and chose the T6 model for the performance and added features. The car is fantastic except for one problem: hesitation during acceleration. The car hesitiates between 1st and 2nd gear under moderate to heavy acceleration. After four trips to the dealer I discovered the hesitation problem is designed into the car to save the tranmission. Volvo is working on a software patch, however, I was told the acceleration hesitation will always be noticed. Why make twin turbo model if the throttle is cut during acceleration?

Report Abuse

this car is amazing

chris staff, 03/07/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

the car is fast and it has great exseleration and has beutiful handling and stearing is very smooth

Report Abuse

Volvo S80 T6

S80_T6, 03/21/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Volvo S80 T6 has been a joy to drive. The T6 provides power for that quick acceleration whenever needed, and a smooth and comfortable ride cruising along the highway. A sound system that is second to none, and innovative safety features make the S80 the smart alternative to more expensive BMW 5-series or the overrated Audi 6.

Report Abuse

Silky & Smooth beauty

yelled, 05/09/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I think the person who complained about the "born with" nose, not enough power to accelerate into traffic, and heavy steering wheel must got a real lemon or not talking about the same car. Steering is actually on the lighter side for Eurpean cars. It's quiet and smooth even over NYC pot-holes. Avoiding them is just as fun. No problems what so ever so far and I am keeping my fingers crossed. I like this car over often troublesome and stiff BMW's. Especially when my neighbor's BMW gets stuck during snow. I love floating by with my cushy seats with fwd.

Report Abuse

Mixed Results with the Volvo S80

Ronald Jay, 03/06/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Overall, a good car but with some notable problems. The car failed to start when almost brand new and the dealer asked if I had another set of Volvo keys on the same keychain! It appears that their keys contain a microchip that has caused starting problems if together(this was not the problem in my case and they couldn't diagnose the cause). The dealer never mentioned this problem when I bought the car. Windshield wipers are weak and the car is not nearly as good as my old 1997 Saab 9000 in the snow. I have had difficulty making it up some very low inclines with very little snow on the ground. Comfortable seating in front and back.

Report Abuse

Don't Cheat Yourself...

morgieboy, 04/05/2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Don't cheat yourself with the 2.9 Spend the extra 4500 for the T6 package.

Report Abuse

awsome

susan poe, 11/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i just got this S80 a couple of days ago and i love it! its very fast and almost as fast as an audi A8 but half the price

Report Abuse

I like my S80

S80Jim, 12/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After 7 months, I have been impressed by this car. Very comfortable to drive. The exterior looks set this car apart since it is not another "me-too" look. Interior is well laid out and seats are very comfortable - even on long drives.

Report Abuse

Not very happy with it

charlie cao, 12/31/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car mainly for its safety features, never wish to use them.But the car is a disappointment. Had the car for a year, many fixes, driver seat was replaced, sound system rattles when volumn is not too loud. Was told the some noises are "born with", noisy at low speed, not enough power to accelerate into traffic. Wife refuses to drive cuz the steering wheel is too heavy. When closing the rear doors, the metel sheet is bouncing. Thinking to switch to a different car. Wish the designers and engineers drive other competitive vehicles. Wish they read this board.

Report Abuse

good luxary car

ali kayani, 01/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is very comfortable and roomy has good features for its price. The base 194 horsepower engine could benefit from more power and torque. It has pretty decent gas mileage which is wondrfull. The car at this price should have standard leather and sunroof which should not be optional. Also the wheels and tire should standard be 17 inch not 16 inch. The suspension is good for comfort which is great but could use more sportiness accuracy of bmw 5 series. Also the car should have standard xenon lights and the interior could use more wood and instrument panel is too plain could use tips from lexus, bmw or audi

Report Abuse

Volvo S-80 Nice Looking but a Letdown

dannyroche, 01/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Problems (2) transmission services link bushing replacement and one front strut changed before 50K warrenty expired!!! second strut at 60K door lock ($220) at 70K heated mirror ($200) at 73K Care is nice to drive and nice looking. Car has great safety features. Good performance with the T-6, a tad too much torque due to FWD. Too Bad Volvo has not figured out that there is one thing ahead of safety. THE CAR MUST BE RELIABLE......

Report Abuse

Huge Amount For Your Money!

jeff kiesnoski, 02/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I looked and test drove many of the cars in the s80 class. There is no doubt that you get much more for you money on this car than the others. The lease specials in Feb '03 are great!

Report Abuse

Volvo S80 2.9 A Pleasure!

Volvo Again, 02/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car was an upgrade from my 2000 s40 (which I also loved). My husband and I based our decision to lease another Volvo based on it's excellent safety features, it's comfort and it's unique style. We were not let down. This car is a pleasure to drive even without the T6 engine. The design is so different from the other cars out there, that people often stop to look or ask us what it is. I am very satisfied with our choice.

Report Abuse

The Volvo That Caught Fire

Michelle V, 08/21/2015
T6 4dr Sedan (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fell in love with this car, spent about 3,000$ on repairs and rode like new. Beautiful car and fun ride. After owning used car for ~2 months, it caught on fire while i was driving and melted the hood shut and totaled the entire front compartment, and the car. Fire rescue couldn't determine cause. Be careful in this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Old that drives like new !

Wayne Sibert, 08/15/2018
2.9 4dr Sedan (2.9L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Maintenance is pricey but worth the cost. The car handles well in snowy conditions.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Comfortable, Little Else Going For It

G, 04/09/2019
2.9 4dr Sedan (2.9L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is by far the most comfortable I have ever driven, and performs its purpose as a safe comfortable cruiser adequately. Reliability seems variable. Many online seem to like this, but mine has never once worked properly. It constantly told me various electronics are not working, and stalls at random below half a tank. Also the stability control is worse than useless in the snow, cutting power at inopportune moments such as entering intersections in slush, or getting oneself unstuck from a snowy driveway. I have replaced the fuel pump for $700 at a Volvo specialist's garage, which was cheaper than a dealership would have done it for (regular mechanics would not work on this car in my area). As someone with sporty tastes, the 2.9 trim is lacking. The acceleration is at best marginally faster than my previous 30 year old Honda Accord that made just over 100 HP, and steering/handling is vague at best and occasional disconcerting in the apparent lack of connection to the wheels over bumpy roads. The car also torque steers noticeably under acceleration. Overall a decent car for someone who wants to be insulated from the road and float down the highway, if they can stomach new BMW maintenance with none of the performance typically associated with it. It makes sense why my grandmother bought it, but it doesn't work for a broke college student.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Money pit

Janice Thornton, 06/13/2019
T6 4dr Sedan (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had problem after problem with my car,I love driving it plus it handles and brakes great,my problems are my headlights and having to replace bulbs over and over,my starter is going out, my motor fan won't shut off and will run my battery down unless I unplug it ,my driver's window won't roll up and down the front passenger side seatbelt is locked and can't get it unlocked,my lining on the interior is coming off, and my engine light is on because of something about my gas tank cover..like I said the great money pit car..I love the look and the way it drives it's a very clean car and it's been well taken care of,I'm not hard on my cars and don't understand all these things that are going on with it, all these things have happened within the past 3 1/2 months ,,bummer once I get everything fixed I won't get the money I put in it back but of it so I'll end up keeping it but want to get a car with alot less problems and if they do have issues I can afford to fix them because everything on my car cost a fortune...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050