Used 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder Convertible Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$5,723 - $11,373

Used MR2 Spyder for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Fun and Practical

Mike W, 08/15/2009
172539 of 172543 people found this review helpful

I bought my Spyder with 8,666 miles on it in December 2007. I had first looked at a Spyder several years earlier. I almost couldn't believe my ears when the Carmax salesman told me it had no trunk; I had never heard of a car without a trunk. I passed on it at that time because I thought having a trunk was important. But I'm still single, so I figured what the heck, I have no one I need to please -- I'll buy what I want and put the groceries in the passenger seat. Obviously, the car is fun. It's also more economical than a Miata because it uses regular unleaded gas, and I average about 28.5 mpg in the summer, about 27 in the winter. This car is fine in the snow with snow tires.

Report Abuse

I'll die in this car

Rodney, 08/09/2005
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Purchased a new MR2 a few weeks ago when I heard they were going out of production. Have wanted one for several years and finally bit. I drove HW20 across northern WA last week and it was heaven. 6 hours of twisted mountain roads with the top down. Car has adequate power for what I want, and does it turn. It's just perfect: predictable when pushed in corners, rock solid cruising at 100mph, settled over uneven pavement, fun to drive to work, looks great with the adorable blonde beside me. This is a special type of sports car to me: mid-engine, rear drive, lightweight, modestly priced. I love X1-9s, 914s, 1st generation MR2s. It's sad no one's making one now.

Report Abuse

Best car ever!!!

angela45, 11/18/2014
2dr Convertible (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

I had a 2004 MR2 with the SMT that I totaled in 2013 and went shopping for another car. With everything else out there, I finally settled on a 2005 MR2 with the five-speed transmission, and had it shipped it from New Jersey to California. I bought the 2005 because I had never loved driving before I drove the MR2 Spyder! Every Saturday and Sunday, I get in the car and do 60-mile loops just do drive it. It's really that much fun. My husband and kids don't even question it anymore. And I've owned these for 10 years now! Driving it never gets old!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hard to Beat

Spyder Man, 01/01/2009
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Purchased my green/tan Spyder in Texas when I worked at Texas Tech. Would of course have purchased the Phantom if available (black and red). Learned early on from a friend I could flip the top back without getting out and have it lock in most instances - no apparent damage. This made me want to put the top down whenever possible. Handle - goes where you point it. Great acceleration leaving cars behind at lights without many RPM. Criticized for storage but drove it to Maine with enough clothes packed in to work indefinitely. Really enjoyed running 80 much of the time. OE Bridgestones being replaced at 18k under a warranty that came with the car. Pondering adding sports muffler.

Report Abuse

Most fun ever, even wife agrees

Dick, 07/13/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car because of style and price. The Miata is severly under powered and too bland. The MR-2 looks like it's bad-assed brother, and runs circles around it. I bought the green model because it was different and the compliments are amazing. Talk about fun, 0 to 60 in a heart beat without wheel chirp, handles like a dream, like it's on a rail. Even my wife admits that it's way too much fun NOT to take anywhere. The only problem is storage space, there isn't any, so you make do.

Report Abuse

6 speed SMT

thatwasme, 08/31/2012
11 of 20 people found this review helpful

DO NOT buy an MR2 spyder with the SMT -- it will fail, and Toyota will not be able to fix it. Something about the electronics, which Toyota is now famous for over-engineering and then having it all go haywire, and Toyota's well-deserved reputation for never admitting to screw ups. If you buy ANY Toyota, be sure and get as long a warranty as possible -- these electronics are VERY expensive, and rarely stay fixed for long.

Report Abuse

I love my MR2 Spyder

Wanda Brown, 07/27/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My MR2 is so much fun to drive though I agree that there isn't much storage I can put a lot in the lockers and I put a luggage rake on the back for travel. I love the gas mil it gets and the SMT transmission in mine. I'ts not a family car for sure but it works for me and my son.

Report Abuse

MR2 Spyder

Beth, 05/07/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It's a car made strictly for fun, with no heavy-duty responsibilities. It's a joy to drive and I enjoy the comments I get about it.

Report Abuse

CA Spyder

Cwgrisier, 10/09/2004
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

I had a Spyder last year and was in a head-on collision going 60 MPH on freeway into concrete barricade. The car was totaled. The passenger and I walked away with no injuries. Actually the passenger had a bruise on his nose caused by the airbags. I felt so safe, I bought another one.

Report Abuse

I LOVE MY CAR!!!

MsMerl, 04/16/2005
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Everyone told me I would regret buying this car but I just love it! For the first time in my life I go for a drive just for the chance to be in it! It fits me perfectly and it makes me feel good. I enjoy driving it on country road and in town.

Report Abuse

MR2 Spyder

kylee, 06/02/2005
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

When I bought this car I did not realize how fun it was going to be to drive. The only thing that upsets me is that it is a little underpowered but that can easily be fixed thanks to TRD and Apex.

Report Abuse

MR2 Spyder is great!

me, 06/05/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car for handling in town and around winding roads. The soft top is easy for one person to put up and down while in the car despite what other reviews might say. I had it down in about 6 seconds when I thought it would rain. I like the up and down shift buttons on the steering wheel. The body style sets it apart from any other in it's class. Beuatiful body design resembles the Porsche Boxster. I love the bright yellow color on our car. I dislike the fact that it has hardly any storage. No trunk space.

Report Abuse

My new Spyder

Jan K. Ryder, 02/02/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just bought this car and love it. I chose the shift over automatic because I wanted the "truer" feel of a sports car, and I have not been disappointed. The Spyder is affordable, great looking and very responsive. As for luggage space... it is very adequate for my needs. This will be my fun, weekend car!

Report Abuse

This is a FUN TOY

R Lafitte, 05/16/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is so much fun to drive. People are always telling me what a cute car I have. The top is very easy to get up and down. It is a great car.

Report Abuse

Dan's Spyder

Dan Fullen, 06/10/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is a fun car and, being a 65 year old 'geezer,' it's great to have people livid with jealousy over it (especially the guys). The only drawback (but it IS a sports car after all), is the lack of storage space. In the end, who cares!

Report Abuse

MR2

Rick, 06/11/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I live in NH and this is my commuting car. With four Pirelli snow tires it is acceptable except when there are more than 4 inches on the road. But in the summer, what a blast, screams around corners, turns heads and gets 31 mpg. Who could ask for more - well maybe a bit more storage space.

Report Abuse

What fun!

mbjb, 06/10/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

With all the features of a race car, this car handles like a dream. The shift buttons on the steering wheel make this blue 6-speed sequential easy to drive when you need to have a sip of your coffee or grab your hat! I also own a red 2004 5-speed manual and the only thing I find different is the red one gets more questions about what kind of car I'm driving when stopped at a red light!

Report Abuse

Retirement gift

JimPrice, 09/24/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2003 new and now have over 32,000 miles. It's been a great car. Eye catching and fun to drive. My wife and I drove it from St. Louis to Seattle and back this summer. It got attention wherever we went. It did great on the mountain curves. We are off to Virginia in it next week and look forward to the trip. You just have to mail your stuff to the hotel ahead of time.

Report Abuse

Second Childhood

Scrambler, 10/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had many new cars since my first in 1961 but none have excited me as much as this 2005 MR2 Spider.What a joy to drive. With the responsive 4cyl engine and a 5 speed gear box,turns you would normally slow down for in another car, you find yourself downshifting and accelerating. The MR2 seems to be glued to the road.I am amazed also in the comfortable ride almost like flying with only an occasional bump in the clouds.The 32/26 mileage is also impressive.I love the interior design with the excellent fit of all panels and the comfortable leather seats.The exterior design is beautiful and makes people stop and look.This is my 10th new toyota there is none built better or more reliable.

Report Abuse

great toy

Mia Andrews, 11/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's a great car. so much fun. the only thing i would change on it is the suspension. needs to be tighter. i guess it would be a lot more fun too if it had a little more ponies in the "trunk" if you will.

Report Abuse

My Toyota

Terry, 02/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ive had two Mr2s. I had my 1989 Toyota for 13 years! I stil miss it a littel bit. ;) I sold it for 3 grand then bought the Spyder. I LOVE my Spyder. If yuor a single guy and want an affordable sports car THIS IS IT! No matter where I park people stop and stare at my car. Depending on WHERE you park sometimes that's not a good thing! Overall this car ROCKS!

Report Abuse

spyder owner

ann, 03/07/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this little car turns heads every time, from young to old. it is a great conversation piece anywhere and a blast to drive. i don't know of any other car that packs this much fun in this price range

Report Abuse

What a gas!

bill, 04/24/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Driving this car is as much fun as you can have with your clothes on. I've owned two Miatas and while they're nice little cars, compared to the Spyder they're roadkill. Handling is phenomenal, the SMT is responsive and ideal in traffic, and the styling makes people pull up next to me on the highway and say, "Great car!" Sure, there's little storage space, but cruising around the Florida Keys where I live with the top down and the sun shining and the Bay and ocean around you... well, who needs storage?

Report Abuse

2000 Toyota MR2 Spyder

John, 05/06/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This little roadster defines the word "Value". It is very well built, very comfortable and a lot of fun to drive. On top of that our experience has been that fuel economy beats estimates at 38-40 mpg avaerage!

Report Abuse

Good stuff

rymr2, 05/06/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

For the money can't be beat. Great handling, very stylish. Excellent build quality and economical. Fun, fun, fun.

Report Abuse

Fun in the sun little car

2fast4u, 05/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Once a week I have someone coming up to me asking if it's a Porsche, or what car is that? I have people taking pictures of my car with their camera when I stop at a light. My point? I get a lot of attention driving my little car. Granted, I have a few after market parts: TRD body kit and TTE dual muffler (which makes a nice growling sound like a V-8). This car is awesome around turns and curves. It is almost impossible to slide the car; it simply sticks to the round. It does so-so on a straight away--I estimate about 7.1 seconds from 0-60 mph on a 6 speed SMT, but who actually drives that fast anyway? When I do step on it though, the cars behind me disappears pretty fast.

Report Abuse

I like mine

MR2, 06/18/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Car looks great and is very fun to drive. The top is quick and easy for me to put up or down from the drivers seat in about 10 seconds. Toyota quality and reliability. Very short on storage, but hey,, it's a sportscar!

Report Abuse

LOVE MR2

tom boyd, 08/01/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Never less than 30 MPG. Sorry they quit making them. Fun weekend drives for wife and I. Not much for storage.

Report Abuse

Love my spyder

ilse72, 09/01/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a fun, sporty little car with lots of energy and easy maneuverability. It has proven to be extremely reliable and, best of all, it is easy on gas.

Report Abuse

Now a classic?!

Tom Boyd, 10/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is wonderful to drive. It is a weekend car due to small storage space but go baby go.

Report Abuse

More fun than a barrel of monkeys

Joseph C., 11/24/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's only weakness is lack of a trunk. In my opinion though, this car is made for nothing but enjoyable driving. It meets that purpose to a tea. It would take spending three time as much (not to mention gas and insurance costs) at the dealer to have a car this good.

Report Abuse

Add a luggage rack to allow longer trips

Art's Luggage Rack, 08/12/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

As a long time owner of a TR-6, I became familiar with luggage racks. Therefore, when I purchased my 2005 MR- 2 I had the dealer install a luggage rack I obtained from my local British car parts dealer. This rack leaves plenty of room for engine ventillation and holds two (2) twenty eight (28) inch suitcases which can be secured with bungee cords. My wife and I can take 2 week trips in our MR-2 and enjoy Calilfornia and Oregon coast roads as well as mountain roads for which the MR-2 was built.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050