Skip to main content
MSRP Starting at
$35,320

Save as much as $3,912
Select your trim:
12345...7

2 out of 5 stars

2023 Pathfinder Thumbs Down

Rasmaxwell, 02/25/2023
updated 07/07/2023
2023 Nissan Pathfinder Platinum 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
49 of 52 people found this review helpful

After running up 2,700 miles on my 2023 Pathfinder Platinum, I think I am in a position to offer some user feedback. Gas mileage - overall 21-22mpg. Recorded a very good, manually calculated 27 mpg on a 400 mile trip. Noise suppression - better than average. Ergonomics - the electronic shifter is not intuitive. Thanks to Nissan for buttons instead of touch screen controls. Bose sound system - mediocre at best. Handling - good, but feels truck heavy. Engine - very smooth, Miles beyond the Turbo 4's in the Explorer, Highlander and Ascent. Transmission - very smooth and a big plus over the outgoing CVT in the model years prior to 2022. Reliability - no issues to date, but way too soon to pass judgment. Update 3/27/23 - vehicle started making noise on low speed left turns. Dealer diagnosed as left front strut plate failure. Good news - no cost to me to repair. Bad news - this is a part that simply should never fail at 3,700 miles. I now doubt the reliability and build quality of the redesigned Pathfinder. Strongly suspect that the strut assembly was designed for the standard Pathfinder with 18" wheels. My vehicle came equipped with 20" wheels. No doubt a heavier wheel for the strut suspension. Update 4/30/23 - in the last 3 weeks, the following electrical issues occurred: 1. Started car in the morning and drove off. Quickly found out that the AC would not work and the fan would not work either. Pulled off the road, restarted the vehicle and fortunately the AC and fan worked; 2. infotainment system rebooted all by itself while driving; and 3. the rear backup camera came on while I was sitting at a traffic light. It tuned off after about 1 minute. If I take it to the dealer, I can predict exactly what will happen - nothing because they will not be able to reproduce the issues. Leaves me wondering what is going to happen next. However, I can predict what will happen in the future - 1 more electrical issue and the car will be sold, and I will never own another Nissan product for life. Owned a 2004 Pathfinder. It was a great car. Update 6/5/23 - Pro Pilot failure. Activated Pro Pilot and here's what happened - 1. Collision waning indicator came on while driving in light traffic on highway, 2. Lane departure and lane correction failed to work, 3. received warning message : vehicle cabin temperature too high, and 4. could not turn off Pro Pilot. Exited highway, stopped in a safe location and restarted vehicle. Pro Pilot was then turned off. Vehicle is almost exactly 6 months old to the day. A new vehicle should operate correctly for at least 6 months without electrical issues. 07/06/23 - sold vehicle after 7 months. More electrical issues. Strongly dislike electronic slap shifter; don't risk taking it through a car wash. Rough, truck-like ride. A waste of money.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and full of options...but...

DMBCT1998, 02/22/2023
2023 Nissan Pathfinder SV 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

We went with the SV and the Tech package, or whatever the upgrade was. We could have gone without the moon roof, but wanted tech, upgraded stereo and rims. The tech interface takes a little to get used to. the seats are pretty comfortable ... contrary to some reviews. the power is what it is. its the best priced and easiest brand SUV to negotiate the price lower, so that was the decision point. its not fuel efficient whatsover. i will say that the absolute worst premium feature is the Bose stereo. the prior 2016 bose system was 10x's more powerful and more clear sound. they either didnt put good speakers in, missed an amplifier, or just pulled a fast one for the upcharge. That alone is extremely disappointing. The vehicle feels extremely heavy. either too small and engine or just all around sluggish.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Want to love it

Jared, 01/10/2023
2023 Nissan Pathfinder Rock Creek 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
33 of 36 people found this review helpful

The Good: I love the driving dynamics, and the 9 speed transmission has been smooth and the final overdrive gear returns excellent fuel economy at +80mph. I like the looks, especially from the Rock Creek Trim. Front seats are very roomy for taller drivers- I am 6’9” and wide. The Bad: I have had re occurring HVAC issues which appeared the day after I purchased my 2023 Rock Creek Pathfinder. It will only blow HOT air until the temperature is set to low temperature- then it only blows COLD air. Some sort of blender door issue they are thinking. Either way this is not confidence inspiring for a brand new vehicle since this is the second dealer visit for the same issue in the third week of ownership. The Verdict: Undecided if I will sell now, or keep it (assuming HVAC issue eventually gets fixed) knowing I have 17 months left to peruse lemon law claim. I just don’t like the fact my car dashboard has been taken apart twice (so far) and it’s not even a month old. Leaning towards just selling and trying with a different brand.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Power Surge Issues

Mike Pearson , 01/05/2023
2023 Nissan Pathfinder SL 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
22 of 24 people found this review helpful

Overall I am happy with the vehicle. The ride is very quiet and smooth, good acceleration, very roomy and comfortable. The only issue is that there is a noticeable power surge when the alternator kicks in (per the service technician). When the interior lights are turned on they brighten and dim randomly as the alternator works and the fan motor increases and decreases speed randomly as well. Nissan service said it is a power surge when the alternator engages and they do not have a fix for it.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

HVAC Problem

Amour, 02/26/2023
2023 Nissan Pathfinder Rock Creek 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
34 of 38 people found this review helpful

The hvac system on Nissan pathfinder rock creek 2023 has issues. Heater will start blowing cold air after driving it for at least 30 minutes or more. Nissan dealership cannot fix it. I was told that everything is normal when dealership looked and tested it. Come on NISSAN get your lazy engineer to look at this issues. My first issues was fuel sensor, the day i bought it check engine light pop out. It took them 2 weeks to fix it. Second issues was strut upper mount grinding noise. Very unreliable. Now 3rd is the hvac. Beware buyers if you are looking at this pathfinder. Lesson learned.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page: