Used 2002 Mazda MPV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,338 - $2,211

Used MPV for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Not your Mama's Mini-Van

TrueBeliever, 03/10/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the mini-van for you if you're looking for space but don't want to sacrifice sportiness. It's fun to drive and extremely comfortable. Handling is more car-like than you can imagine. It's loaded with convenient features. Mazda scored a BIG hit with this MPV. I highly recommend a test drive.

Report Abuse

good van, lousy factory tires

zzz, 01/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's a great van. Fuel efficiency could be better. After 20k miles, it's still very solid. Factory Dunlop tires are crap. Coolant reservoir seems to overflow a bit since new. Easy to maintain (mainly fluid changes).

Report Abuse

Great & Sporty

ms_pink, 07/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my van, what can I say others havn't. Just got back from a trip cross country, great gas mileage, 391.7 was the farthest I ever took it. Very satisifed Customer, want to upgrade to sunroof and fog lights. I will be a repeat buyer.

Report Abuse

New to the minivan

prlamz, 03/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We now have 600 miles on our new MPV and feel very good about our choice so far. We had planned on buying an Odyssey but, luckily, did not find one in time. We were a little anxious to drive a behemoth. The MPV feels like a car. It takes less place in our garage than the Volvo station wagon it replaces. The power of the engines makes us long for a manual transmission.

Report Abuse

Disappointing Mazda

Donna Roque, 03/27/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My husband and I purchased this minivan used with 40,000 miles on it. It was our first mini van. It is fully loaded with all the features we wanted. The first year was fine with no problems. Since the summer of 2007 we have been to the dealership (not where we purchased it) at least 6 times or more for repairs. We have 2 kids and having to go back and forth for repairs is a real inconvenience. Our main problems have been faulty ignition coils, idle control valve and an oil pan seal gasket. Lucky for us we purchased an extended warranty which has covered about two thirds of our costs thus far. This is the first vehicle that we have ever owned that has given us this much trouble.

Report Abuse

Zoom, Zoom

psc, 03/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Test drove, plan to buy in summer. New engine is wonderful addition to already well concieved design. The right size for parking, carrying stuff and exploring. With or without the kids.

Report Abuse

consider MPV it's a 9.9 for us!

matluoma, 03/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

excellent van & worth it! don't just take my word for it - you should consider this van. no concerns about power & torque. (hp to weight ratio is awesome - so don't just compare hp to hp...0

Report Abuse

For a niche buyer

sugoiya, 03/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car out of pure necessity. I couldn't wedge anything bigger into the underground parking stall for our condo. The new 300hp V6 gives it a surprising zip when passing or driving on hills, and the smaller wheel base provides excellent maneuverability on our narrow city roads. The folding 3rd row seat was also an important feature to me since I don't have a garage. The trade off for the MPV's small size comes at the expense of passenger comfort, especially for the poor souls sitting in the third row. Definitely unsuitable for long commutes.

Report Abuse

Our favorite van

Bobaran, 04/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We looked for over a year researching and driving vans, basically waiting for the right deal to come around. If price was not a consideration we would have gone with the Mazda. It just so happened that we got 0% and dealer invoice so we got our dream van, no settling for a Caravan.

Report Abuse

My Silver Bullet is a great vehicle.

R. F. Peterson, 09/16/2018
LX 4dr Minivan (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It needs 0-2 censors replaced and a tune up. The rear air conditioner needs to be re-connected. It has new shocks, new brakes a new radiator and a new water pump. The radiator and water heater were replaced after someone hit the back bumper of the van and pushed it into a pole in a parking space . It is still very dependable and has only failed me twice in all the years I've owned it. I need a smaller vehicle as I no longer care for 5 grandkids....otherwise I would NEVER sell it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050