Used 2004 Kia Sedona Minivan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,652 - $2,591

Used Sedona for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

We put A LOT of miles on this van!

rockscryout, 01/07/2014
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Over 180,000 miles on this van and still going. I keep changing the oil and it keeps going! I've had to replace the water pump twice and the coil packs went out so we replaced those. Air conditioner worked well up 'til last summer. The suspension doesn't seem to be that great and I haven't sprung to replace the struts although the van needs it-- but really, how many more miles am I going to be able to put on it? I'm really happy with it over all.

Report Abuse

It wouldn't die!

therangerman, 08/19/2014
28 of 30 people found this review helpful

Living in Canada, our winters are hard on cars. This van would not die! I bought this van with 250,000km on it and I ran it until 450,000km it was still running strong but I hit a moose going 110km an hour and it destroyed the van. Every year we would haul a 4500pound trailer all the way around Ontario and it never really hurt the van. Even though every year the rear heater lines would rot out there was nothing really done other than regular maintenance. The a/c stopped working after hitting my second deer. But other than those things you could run this van through hell and it wouldn't even get a scratch I even took it muding once. good job Kia you built a bullet proof tank

Report Abuse

Still going strong at 120,000 miles.

frugal_driver, 08/28/2012
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I have previously posted here as FRUGAL DRIVER (see below). This van, bought in 07 with 64K, is still going strong as a half ton hauler and work van. Today its going 750 miles (and back in three days) in my wife's hands to take KID MARK I to university for the first time. Had a/c fixed--damage inflicted on a hose by an idiot. Now that the OBAMA CAFE rules have effectively removed small pickups (Chev 10, Ford Ranger) & the old vans (ASTRO etc) from the US market, what are you doing to drive? This van will haul a half ton well. It takes abuse if you maintain it well. Drive it gently. This vehicle was originally built as a light truck for the S. Korean Army (02-06 model). Its tuff.

Report Abuse

Where do I start?

shamgar, 09/22/2011
19 of 21 people found this review helpful

I am always amazed to see newer Sedonas on the road. I can't understand why anyone would buy one of them anymore. My car had so many problems during the warranty that I was one of 10 people across the U. S. to participate in a J.D. Powers interview at my local Kia dealership. Several engineers from Korea were there also to examine my car along with J.D. Powers staff. The whole thing was taped for whatever reason. Front brakes including the rotors have to be replaced every 20K. Front tires and struts, and engine mounts, ditto. Horn was replaced at least six times. A/C proportioning valve had to be replaced. Rear deck lid struts went out quickly.

Report Abuse

Update to review of 07/11/2009

Frugal Driver, 10/11/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Still very happy with vehicle. TIRES: OEM spec. 215/70/15 with a passenger grade is rubbish. Upgrade to 225/70/15 in a light truck/SUV tire. Currently using Michelin LTS MS. Ride quality and rubber longevity greatly improved! Transmission: buy dealer fluid for this van, have independent change it. This vehicle has a tranny cooler, so if you are hauling in hot weather, you are fine. Gas mileage: 14/16 city, 20-24 highway. That including towing 3500 lbs (as rated) and carrying weight.

Report Abuse

Family in action

George Byrum, 09/08/2016
LX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Faithful to its duty. Its a KIA. If you wanted a sports car, you wouldn't be reading this.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't buy a used one

Moore, 03/08/2010
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

The warranty is not honored if you are NOT the original owner. They have have problems with steering due to winter salt but no recall. Also a problem with the cooling hoses to the rear and again no recall. They have been aware of these but will NOT cover the expense since we were not the first owner even though we bought it with 48,000 miles. We now have a car with 78,000 miles and NO warranty.

Report Abuse

Best low cost to maintain & value mini-van I ever had!

sushiray, 07/26/2011
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Had a 2004 EX till recently it was totaled in a rear end collision. Gr8 ride, gr8 comfort, gr8 entertainment system, gr8 value! Front wheel drive makes all the difference, plenty of room for carting kids or Home Depot supplies. Gr8 acceleration & driving stability. Only knock is the gas mileage was not very good but I changed my driving technique & went from 16mpg to almost 20 (19.8)mpg!

Report Abuse

Not bad but ages prematurely

soccerdad, 10/15/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought new from dealer end of '03. This minivan has plenty of power and ample passenger room. However, cargo space is very limited. Ran flawlessly the first 1.5 years, then brakes began to squeal. We replaced the brakes on warranty twice in the first 50K miles, a bit undersized for weight of the vehicle, maybe? Also replaced wheel bearings, again on warranty. The Kia dealership where we bought and service the car is tops, but I wish we didn't have to spend so much time visiting with them on warranty issues. Now the engine sounds like it's getting tired. We're Trading it in this weekend (probably not another Kia) before it gives up the ghost for good.

Report Abuse

So far replaced 75% of the van

hyundai5, 09/02/2008
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

It all started not 7 months after I purchased it with the battery, then plugs @ 15,000 miles they blamed the condition of the plugs on champion? Each 3 months it was something else, this year the entire transmission. And the 5th set of rotors 3rd set of belts 2nd ac sys. Control panel have so many claims on this van, it's almost getting to be routine, like changing your oil, I like the engine but if that so much as misfires I'm done with it! It has always had a problem firing upon starting, gonna have the plugs looked at again wrote them a letter, they sent me a 500.00 check, all I wanted was an extended warranty I feel I deserve that after 26 unscheduled repairs in 4 yrs!

Report Abuse

Kia driven for 133,000

russ75, 06/27/2013
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought my Kia new in 2004 and have riven it for over 133,000 miles. Overall the car has performed well without unreasonable mechanical problems; except, the lines for the rear heater have rusted out twice. The first time I paid over $600 to replace them and Kia just said, "Gee, I am sorry to hear you had that problem." Reviews that criticize Kia for not doing something better for their customers are correct. Also the rear window defrost has failed. I have not experienced any problem with rust on my Kia and I live in Michigan. As my car has aged, in the recent months it has experienced a series of problems; for which I am considering replacing it. Everything gets old eventually.

Report Abuse

rust

Zidek, 12/29/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We discovered that the steel lines that run to the heater rusted out just after the vehicle ran out of warrenty. The customer service team at Kia Corporation was terrible to deal with. We had documentation that the part started to rust while within warranty and the service department at the dealership even confirmed this, but they still would not consider a compromise on repairs.

Report Abuse

What a mess

sburdick163, 09/02/2010
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I was told by the sales person that my van had the highest safety rating; don't believe it. I had to replace the wheel bearings and brakes. all the steel cooling lines rusted. it overheats for no reason. The steel lines coming from the radiator rusted. The blue book is low; I can't get financing for another vehicle because of low trade-in value.

Report Abuse

I will buy another!

SchlingBlade, 03/23/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased our 2004 KIA Sedona LX new near the end of 2004. Lots of extended highway driving when we go on trips, and the van performs well. 20-22mpg on the highway if we keep it under 70mph. I have replaced the original tires (56K miles), and windshield (rock cracked it). No other work outside of normal scheduled maintenance (fluid changes, tire rotation). Will need to have the front brakes serviced for the first time when 60K miles rolls around. Interior has worn well, except for the driver's side floor where the carpet is dirty. Van is driven every day, regardless of weather, so it gets quite dirty in the winter. Once this van is paid off, I'll be purchasing another KIA!

Report Abuse

Not worth the money

Beach_Baby, 08/19/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Of course a new van is gonna be nice and not have problems, but after a year the transmission was making noise and not performing well. Than 4 years later, the power steering pumb and something else is out, tranny is bad and motor acts up. Only has 32,xxx miles and should be running great! It doesn't. It was the main transportation for my handicap grandmother, who now has to relay on finding other people to take her places like her doctors apt! The van sits in the street broke down, and we still owe $3,000 on it. Can't trade it in, cause we owe more than its worth. Quilfys for a Clunker, but we ow money. So we are stuck with this piece of junk KIA. Never get another one!

Report Abuse

awful

fict, 12/29/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

we bought this car with 28k miles in the hopes of a low mileage car which would provide a solid, low maintenance vehicle for a number of years. mea culpa - you get what you pay for. from the brakes (calipers, rotors, pads) to the wiring system (complete shorts in the auto locks and windows) to the suspension, i believe its mostly assembled out of hobby wire and aluminum foil.

Report Abuse

What di you expect it is a mini van!

Kwiebe, 09/15/2008
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Not much to say. If you are looking for a speed demon that turns like it is on rails this is not the vehicle for you. If you are like me and have a family that likes to travel a lot and need the extra space this is a nice choice. IMHO way better than any north American minivan but not as good as a Honda or a Toyota on par with the Nissan. I bought it used to save $$$ as the sedona has a terrible resale value and is an excellent used buy. It handles great for a van, a bit noisier than most mini vans but feels solid and well built. Acceleration was more than adequate and I'm overall happy with this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Thanks went back to American companies

David, 12/03/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Driving this van felt like I was driving a bus. Fit and finish was fine no complaints there. Seating was made for smaller people. I am 6'1" and 300 lbs Wife like the seating and she only 5'2". Gas mileage was in line with a heavy vehicle s powered by underpower unit. What made the final draw for me was Kia dealership not backing the product. Had bad front rotors after 25,000 miles and it was not covered under warranty. Was told rotors and pads are my cost. Pads I could see, rotor no way. Brakes where not made for the weight of this van. Drove it across to Ford and trade it in. Good new the trade in value was 12,000. See my review on Sport Trac on what warranty is all about.

Report Abuse

Great Van for the Money

Mdunk, 01/09/2004
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Only have driven a couple hundred miles in it, but I love it. The ride is awesome, features are great, and the family loves it. We traded our Ford expedition due to gas mileage and for the ease of getting kids in and out. We love it so far!!!

Report Abuse

Worth the money

Frugal Driver, 07/12/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Solid, dependable transportation. Used for carpool and as a construction material transporter (built on a truck chassis, takes the weight, more flexible than a small pick-up). Search parts suppliers on the web to avoid buying dealer parts, have yr. local mechanic install them, example, brake pads, rotors, struts. Change all fluids often to ensure vehicle longevity. Be prepared for front end issues as with all front wheel drive vehicles (see above comment re: parts). Now 90,000 miles, runs well, maintenance about $500/yr. all in. (Fluids and repairs). Seats are uncomfortable to install or remove. Belt tensioner requires tightening flywheel occasionally-cost=0

Report Abuse

I Love My Kia

Joyce, 05/24/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this van used with 49,000 mi. All we have done is oil changes, tires, and brake pads. and also a front wheel bearing. It has about 74,000 mi now and I can't complain one bit about the maintenance . It all comes under wear and tear. I love it but it is to big for us now so I would go to something smaller. At least when you step on the brakes you stop.

Report Abuse

safety

armleg, 11/02/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

only have driven a few hundred miles but it performs very well.milage is somewhat less than my previous 2 montanas but still acceptable.

Report Abuse

Candy Carrier

Jim Hoeller, 11/12/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have a candy/beverage vending company. I do a lot of starting and stopping and also spending time in this vehicle. It is my home away from home and believe me the seat in this van is just as comfortable as my lounge chair at home. In short...I love it!

Report Abuse

Great Van

mmguard, 11/29/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is truly a pleasure to drive. We compared a lot of mini-vans before we bought and this one has the most interior room and a great warranty. The EX feels very luxurious and very solid. I recommend this mini-van 100% for quality and price.

Report Abuse

total ten

e.c.magruder, 11/21/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

it has every thing that a family would want.a good paint job nicely deorated intirior,great radio system plenty of seats,lots of cup holders it looks as any other mini van on the road.we like it...

Report Abuse

My Look at KIA

Robert Kerr, 12/06/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I like my KIA it drives well in heavy rain, feel safe and in control. The cruse control on the steering wheel is handy.

Report Abuse

dissatified

armleg, 04/23/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

mileage is poor,gas tank is too small.interior storage is great.I don't like the locking system.

Report Abuse

Junk

Junk, 06/11/2010
3 of 10 people found this review helpful

Bought the vehicle because I was told they are a great buy for the price. Nothing but problems with the piece of junk since. Had to change the power steering pump, always needs an alignment, unknown overheating problem. This overheats when it wants to with no explanation for it. Changed thermostat, radiator lines, water pump and fluid. Still over heats when it wants. Now it needs new struts and what they call a transmission but really is a trans axle. Was told it was like putting a snow blower tranny into a van. Lots of rust around the rear hatch handle. Motor is very loud. Overall, just a huge piece of junk. Do not buy in my opinion. Will never recommend a Kia to anyone.

Report Abuse

Good for the price

Cjreyeshsd, 11/08/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Has a very powerful engine. The 5 Speed Transmission is Great. In General is Very Responsive. Sound System is decent. Nice Interior distribution. The Fuel economy is the only thing is disappointing, this the heviest minivan of all, but after this vehicle is one of the top ranks in this category. The finishings have great quality

Report Abuse

Anti theft System

Jeff, 07/13/2018
LX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

What does Car 5 months ago Haven't had any issues with it all of a sudden it doesn't wanna star it won't crank over all the lights come on and it's the anti theft system Call the dealership and all they do is give you the run around I'm sure they know what the problem is now but all they wanna do is get me in there because according to them it could be 5 to 7 different things Losing my faith in kia I have a 04 kia Sedona

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

MPG

KIA Sedona, 06/12/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I can't believe the mileage I get 14 mpg city. I live in Florida and the ac is on all the time . But I should get better than that . May-be not on second thought . The tack reads 2,500 at 70 miles a hour . My sons car reads 1,800 at 70 mph . When they rev that tight ( 2,500 ) I can't see any increase in mileage . A friend of mine bought a 06 with the same problem. (he got rid of the Kia ). I installed a ne kn filter . Maybe I can get an increase . Going on the highways this week . Stand by .

Report Abuse

Great price not so great car

nick, 06/16/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Our family bought the van used in 12/07 and already has had internal engine issues and timing chain/cover replacements and found out it has had major engine work previously and it only has 21,000 miles. Almost everything was covered by warranty although it did take them 5 weeks because a certain part had to be shipped from Korea. I think this is not a good running car because of the problems I've had. When the car runs it is all in all a cheap but pretty good van

Report Abuse

Very disappointed

kendallc_4, 11/17/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle with 45000 miles. Just 3 weeks after I got it, it went back in the shop for new rotors and struts. Had it 6 months and the catalytic converters went totally out. Had to get those replaced. The air conditioner had to be replaced within 2 mo. The gas mileage is very poor. Might as well be driving a big SUV. Total lemon! I am very dissatisfied with this vehicle and would never step foot into another KIA again.

Report Abuse

Rust / Corrosion Problem on my Sedona EX

powerontario, 12/12/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Rust appeared on the hood of our 2004 Sedona EX about 2 years ago. It started as small pimples/spots below the grill both on the inside and the outside. The cost for repair is $1102.64 and their offer is that we each pay 1/3! Dealership 1/3, KIA Canada 1/3, customer 1/3. I also only have a limited time to accept this offer? They insist that this is an isolated problem, even after I sent them pictures of 5 other 2004 Sedona vehicles with identical rust marks and a promise to send more. Also please be aware that if you do have a Sedona around this age make sure you insist that they check the REAR COOLANT LINES. These are also starting to rust out.

Report Abuse

Run Away Fast!!

RUN AWAY!!!, 12/29/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When will the nightmare that is my car experience with a Kia end? We bought this car used. It only had 23,000 miles on it and had heard it was a very safe car and a good deal. My advice, if it is cheap, its cheap for a reason! Since owning this car three years ago, we have had to repair the brakes every year without fail. Replaced the rotors twice, the front bearings, failed wire in seatbelt and airbag, serpentine belt (along with every other belt in creation), power steering (ouch$) and the alternator. Of course all after the warranty was up and guess what, if you buy it used, you don't get the powertrain warranty! We were not told this info. So any faulty parts we must pay for. Run away!!

Report Abuse

Sedona Big on Comfort

Sedona in AZ, 01/07/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Performance when not in the shop this van drove and handled great but only gets 13/mpg. Serious problems with the quality of all interior materials: plastic (crumbles), carpet and cloth headliner (tear easily). I question quality of materials used on motor and other parts, within 4 years I've replaced all the motor mounts, timing chain, transmission, CV boots and both power window motors and both sliding doors quit working. Van is really roomy inside. Front seats very comfortable, back are seats okay somewhat stiff. Seats are really heavy but easy to get in/out. Lots of headroom in this van. You do feel quite a bit of vibration through the floor from the road and it is a bit noisy inside

Report Abuse

kia sedona 2004

chirs, 12/27/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my minivan at 45,000 miles and starting 3 months later started having problems. It literally took 5 trips in for service to figure out why it was stalling out and I had a rental that they paid for at one instance for 2 months!!!!! Now I'm having trouble again and it looks like a transmission issue as well as rusted out cooling lines. I would NEVER by a kia again. It is a poorly made car.

Report Abuse

Dependable Transportation

csg, 02/07/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this van in sep. 2005. It has been pretty dependable. I have 57000 miles and other than routine maintenance and brakes I haven't had to do a thing. Gas mileage is O.K. for a van (low 20 mpg). Roomy if you have kids.

Report Abuse

great minivan

j.k., 05/16/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

very comfortable, less cash, same features as other minivans, reliable, great service at kia, kids enjoy the ride

Report Abuse

I love my sedona

fapdaddy, 11/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I couldn't find a vehicle with as much value.

Report Abuse

we love it

twinglemom, 12/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We spent alot of time pricing & researching all the different minivans. What it comes down to is you can get just as nice of a van for about $10,000 less than anywhere else! We have now had our van for almost a year & have had no problems with it what so ever...We LOVE it!

Report Abuse

TALK ABOUT MORE FOR LE$$

MR. HOTROD DIESEL, 12/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

HEY! IF KIA MAKES HEAVY DUTY TRUCKS & MILLITARY VEHICLES WHAT MAKES YOU THINK THAT THEY CAN'T BUILD A COOL LOOKING MINI VAN?....THIS BULLET PROOF TRUCK HITS HOMERUN!!

Report Abuse

Disappointed

Brian, 08/16/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am disappointed with the 2004 Kia Sedona. Very poor gas mileage, about 12 mpg in town. Quality is poor. Rear hatch has a 'clunk' sound when opening and the windows have the same when when closing. The bench seat in the middle is a big hassle. Dealer said the middle and rear seats are interchangeable which they are not. I will not buy another Kia.

Report Abuse

sedona mini van

boschalona, 12/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

we have only had this van 8 days. but what little time we have . it seems like a very good choice.

Report Abuse

Great Value & 10yr. 100,000 warantee

swin728, 01/02/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Better ride then I thought possible in Minivan after driving others. Plenty of power. Price that can't be beat.

Report Abuse

xx

yogi87108, 01/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Lots of towing power

Report Abuse

give it a little time

new car buyer 2003, 01/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

we found the kia to be very nice compared to some we test drove. also the dealer has jumped to our every request with no hassle. the only design flaw is a small noise comming from engine area. i even test drove twoo others and the same noise was there. other than that the van is great. i would buy an

Report Abuse

Kianator

Mike Rodriguez, 01/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After my first two minivans both of which were Dodge Caravans, I was impressed with the KIA. Our first van, a 1995 Caravan Sport was needed when our twins were born. 2004 brings new requirements for family and fun. Looked at all of them and I focused on the Dodge again. I looked at the KIA for the first time and was impressed. I kept returning to the Dodge dealer to compare the two. The KIA kept drawing me back due to it's quality of build, drive, and safety. In the end, when fairly compared the KIA is the best comparison for features and when the price is factored it, there is no better buy on the market.

Report Abuse

We like our Kia

CT. rockman, 01/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought ours 8/2002. Has 43,000 miles on it. In snow and bad weather the additional weight makes for better traction than our lighter Chrysler Van. Down side is the 15 -18 mpg around town. However, it does get 20/21 on road. Up side is that it is one tough van and the safety ratings more than make up for mpg for us.

Report Abuse

Kia Sedona needs help

flmarijack@aol.com, 01/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Kia Sedona is excellant in design, engineering and convienance. Quality of components, fuel ecomony, exterior finish, and service are terrible. The interior panels rate are poor on impact resistance. The paint finish is full of orange . City is 14 mpg, Buckboard riding tires and an ear piercing noise from the rear air that Kia cannot fix. Complaints to corporate Kia landing on closed ears. I have entered this van for the "lemon law" program. I made a mistake buying this van. If you are thinking of buying this van, I suggest buyer beware

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050