Skip to main content

2020 Hyundai Elantra GT Hatchback Consumer Reviews

MSRP Starting at
$20,650

Save as much as $500
Select your trim:
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

BEST AUTOMOBILE I'VE EVER OWNED... HANDS DOWN!!!!!

Joseph H., 01/16/2020
2020 Hyundai Elantra GT N Line 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I prefer hatchbacks when everyone else is going to small, crossover SUV's. I like the feel of a sedan but enjoy having the storage capacity of a small SUV. I looked at other hatchbacks (Chevy Cruze, Honda Civic, Volkswagen Golf, Subaru Impreza, and the Mazda 3). The Hyundai Elantra GT N-Line with the tech package was the clear choice for me based on roominess/storage, power, and features (I REALLY wanted heated AND ventilated seats). The 1.6 liter turbo beats most of the other vehicles in horsepower and torque (the Volkswagen wins that) but NOTHING else compares in terms of safety features and options for comfort and convenience. It has a panoramic roof... in this class!!! They are also virtual unicorns as you will rarely see an N-Line model. The leather seats are well bolstered and very comfortable on long drives (I had to drive 900 miles round trip to get mine and I got a great deal). I would buy this vehicle again and again. My only complaint (and it's a minor, small one that doesn't warrant a star deduction) is that the glove box doesn't have a light or lock....poor me. I HIGHLY recommended this vehicle!!!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Happy So Far . . .

Fred, 12/10/2019
2020 Hyundai Elantra GT N Line 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I've only had it a week, but it's a great car so far. Got the 6 speed manual. Averaging 28 MPGs in the first 500 miles. Car is much more fun to drive than my old SUV. Missing power seats and lumbar support, but is that really an issue once you find the right seat position? Sound system could be a little louder, but it might also be my old ears, too. Carplay is wonderful - I had no idea what I was missing. Auto Hold is another gem that comes in handy, especially when stopped on a hill in a manual. I wanted something practical to commute to work, while still smiling on occasion. The N-Line fits that bill quite nicely for me. Had a great experience at the dealer, too - zero pressure. Sad to hear some folks struggle at their Hyundai dealers; I had a very positive experience. I've already referred a few folks to that dealership.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Still loving my purchase

Eric, 11/11/2020
updated 05/31/2022
2020 Hyundai Elantra GT N Line 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

18 months in, what I originally wrote in November 2020 applies: this car is a hidden gem. There aren’t many out there, especially in the N-Line trim. This isn’t a bad thing. I like that I don’t have a vehicle everyone owns, such as a Honda Civic or Toyota Corolla. Those who know this car, knows its capabilities and its shortcomings. The car is quick enough for my tastes. The performance of the engine is nice. I do wish it had more exhaust noise, like the Veloster N. It’s handles well even without a limited slip differential, although it would have been nice to have. I’m pleased with this car’s overall performance. Inside, I like the interior. The seats are very comfortable. I have the Tech Package, and the panoramic sunroof is wonderful. There is room for what I need. My only nitpick is the Infinity sound system. It’s ok, but not as much punch as I’d like. The panoramic sunroof is awesome. In regards to cargo space, it’s larger than that in a Kona, which I was cross-shooting. I don’t need to carry passengers often and when I go to the warehouse club, everything fits fine. I prefer the exterior design over the new one. Too many angles for my taste and I don’t believe it will age well over time. Hyundai no longer offers the hatchback, which I prefer. And while the new models come with blind spot detection, I like having full leather seating (heated and ventilated) whereas the new N-Line has a leather-cloth combination. For 2021 it’s a sedan, not a hatchback. So, to conclude, this is a fine car for those who value something kinda retro cool yet modern. It’s no GTI, without question. But what it can be is a fun, practical vehicle with a canvas for modifications, should one be interested. Hyundai has their N Performance cars and those mods are becoming available, which means they can be fitted to this car as well. So far, my dealership experience has been minimal, mainly for oil changes and tire rotation (part of the 3 year complimentary maintenance Hyundai offers). No issues with reliability at this time.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Love it still

A Gen X guy from the West Coast, 01/07/2021
updated 07/25/2022
2020 Hyundai Elantra GT N Line 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

UPDATE #3: I’ve got to give it to Hyundai. This car has been a solid choice w since I bought it in November of 2020. No mechanical or electrical issues as of yet. My fuel economy is OK. it’s been driven more since my last update so I have been able to test its capabilities. For me, the ability to have enough room to move across town with the space of an SUV has been great. I live near the mountains now and the power of the engine is more than enough. I did replace the rims and tires with an aftermarket set-up: it’s only improved the handling. Anyone who feels Hyundais are junk needs to get behind the wheel and drive one. The cars made today are vastly superior to what Hyundai has produced in the past. UPDATE #2: It’s been a little over a year since my purchase. Overall it’s still a great car, but I have a small concern. With about 14K on the odometer, I am noticing little creaks and rattles when I drive with the infotainment off. Nothing major, just something to keep in mind. Also, the windshield has been replaced twice in six months due to rocks when I traveled. I’m not sure of the glass is not very thick or the rocks which shattered the windshield were big enough to do this damage but both times I was going around 65 mph and was in Arizona when the incidents occurred. Other than that, I’m pleased with the car. It’s a shame they don’t make this model anymore in a hatchback. UPDATE: After nearly eight months of ownership, I’m still pleased. It has enough get up and go. Fuel economy is ok, especially if I drive it gingerly. But this car asks to be pushed. When I step on it, it seems to come alive. The handling is its best trait. The interior suits me fine. Comfortable for trips and in stop and go traffic. The sound system is the only weak spot inside. It’s not what I consider premium, even with the Technology package. No issues with its reliability. Aside from oil changes, nothing to report. Still love it. Original post: It is NOT a VW GTI. It’s not Honda Civic SI. It is a Hyundai Elantra GT N-Line. Meaning, this vehicle can do most of the performance at a lower price point. If you want more, go get it. To me, this car suits my needs. It’s fast enough, handles great, has a really good interior space and packaging and doesn’t scream immaturity like some of the other choices out there. Some people, like myself, don’t want to flaunt our cars like kids. I wanted a car that does what it’s supposed to do and do it well. I wanted it at a price point where we can actually afford to keep it; something other than a CUV or SUV. It should be reliable and comfortable. This is a fun car. Perfect? No. But I do enjoy knowing there aren’t hundreds of these cars lurking the streets, roads and boulevards, such as Honda Civic SI’s, VW GTI’s. It’s different. I liked and bought this car because it’s a bit old school, with modern technology and safety. I suggest you drive it and form your own opinions. You may actually like it..if you can find one. There aren’t many left. They (Hyundai) decided to discontinue this current design for 2020.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Fun car

Bob, 03/06/2020
2020 Hyundai Elantra GT N Line 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have had my car for 3 months now and about 1300 miles and I LOVE this car. I went looking for a fun car with a 6sp manual and the Elantra gt n line was on my short list after driving it. Vary VW in its styling that is understated unlike Honda. I had no problems finding the perfect driving position. MPG had been good I’m averaging 30+. This is my weekend car my dally is a full-size Chevy truck. So for me it’s better then double what I’m getting everyday. My dealership experience was also one of the best I have ever had. My sails guy knew exactly what I was looking for and why. He let me drive several manual cars even pulled one out of the show room for me. Even let me have a go in a Voloster N. He told me to take as long as I needed to drive them. My only complaint about the car is I feel like it’s a missed opportunity for Hyundai to attract people that enjoy driving to the brand. No one knows what this car is because Hyundai doesn’t really market it vary hard. And I really wish they would split the tech package up and offer half of it with the manual. I get you probably can’t do the adaptive cruse and the lane keeping with a manual. But I should be able to get the pano roof, heated wheel, cooled seats and the better sound system. I don’t like that Hyundai makes you feel like your getting penalized for buying the car with the correct transmission.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12
Items per page: