Used 2018 Honda Pilot SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$25,000 - $41,998

Used Pilot for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

No frills, quiet ride, power window issue<350mi

DANNE Baker, 07/16/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

I purchased the Pilot Ex-L new. Less than thrilled for the price paid. Day 1, I Noticed the windows rolled down and up more slowly than my previously driven 10 yr old Camry. Also, the windows make a hideous, squalling noise on rolling up. I have Less than 300 miles and already requires a service visit to lubricate window motor and bearings of some type. When researchibg online I found this is an ongoing problem on older Honda vehicles, also. One would expect quality control to have corrected this issue in a $40k plus vehicle. The Dealer seemed Irritated to have to schedule service when realizing vehicle was not purchased from their location. I do love the amount of space, cubbies, cup holders, etc the vehicle offers. However, fit and finish is lacking. I detest the infotainment ctr...not user friendly, nor does it link well with Android phone systems. Very likely, I Will trade this one sooner than later for a different SUV....a Highlander, Lexus, Acura, Infinity, GMC, Chevy, etc.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Going into "park"

Richard Baker, 06/25/2018
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
72 of 75 people found this review helpful

Bought this Honda Pilot Touring in May of 2017 and this morning when my wife left the garage, she told me she couldn't get it to come out of "Park!" I tried it and had the same problem. After starting, and with foot on the brake, I put the transmission in "drive" and when I let up on the brake the transmission immediately went to ""Park.' I tried "reverse" with the same results. After shutting down the engine and starting again the transmission continued to revert to "Park" every time it was put in either "drive' or "reverse." This went on for several cycles and we were ready to call a tow truck, since the car had been backed into the street. Finally, after shutting down the engine for about the fourth time, the transmission went into "drive' and "reverse" normally. Now I am worried that this might happen again under dire circumstances such as trying to move the car in an emergency. I will be taking it to the dealer to see what can be done but I don't want my wife or I driving a car that we can't trust. We've had several Hondas over the years and have found them very reliable but this is not what I would call reliable and needs to to be corrected.

Report Abuse

The thumper

Thomas Blatt, 04/29/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
44 of 47 people found this review helpful

There’s a very noticeable “thump” in the right rear every time I hit the slightest bump in the road. I can not imagine Honda putting a nice vehicle out with this annoying thump, thump, thump. And even worse, the service department will not even drive it to check it out. This my last Honda!!! I traded this piece of junk on Sept 8th 2018.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Honda #5

mcmillonbe, 02/23/2018
EX-L w/Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
41 of 44 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 17 Mazda 3 GT hatchback manual a few days ago for an 18 Honda Pilot EX-L with RES. This is our 5th Honda(03 Pilot EX, 13 Honda Fit Sport, 13 Honda CRV EX-L, 17 CRV Touring). I chose the EX-L trim because it was the closest match to my daily needs. I felt the ZF 9speed would drive me crazy with the auto shut off and all the nannies trying to assist me. The 6 speed shifts smoothly and always is ready to drop a gear. Acceleration is plentiful, especially when merging onto the freeway. The visibility is superb with low window sight lines and lots of glass. The seating is awesome with plenty of room in the 3rd row. The RES will get it use by my son and his friends on road trips. The driving dynamics are pretty good but the steering is vague and the brakes don't give much feedback, but again this is a passenger hauler not a sports car. I have had good experiences in the past with Honda's and this one should be the same. I perform all the maintenance on my vehicles and have never had any issues in the past 30 years. Oil changes, filter changes, and tire rotations are about all I need to do with Honda vehicles. The maintenance packages offered by our local Honda dealer are very expensive($3000+) and are essentially glorified oil changes. If we decide to keep this more than 3 years, then I may buy a Honda Car extended warranty. Great job Honda! 2 year/17k mile update I recently traded in my Pilot for a 2020 Toyota Tundra Platinum. The Pilot was an excellent mid size suv, it proved to be a great highway cruiser. Gas mileage was excellent considering AWD, and 4000lbs+. I had no maintenance issues, just oil and filters. A few negatives came up over the last two years. The drivers seat bottom cushion is too short for tall drivers, and the center armrest is too small. Also the steering feel is non existent but that is the norm these days with most cars using electric power steering. The brakes while working just fine always felt mushy, changing out brake pads and fluid helped a little but still never felt firm. Overall, I was very pleased with my two years with the Honda. I would recommend this vehicle for its overall flexibility with passengers and utility.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best family chariot (for cold climates)

BGL, 03/17/2018
EX 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

We considered the cheaper and more tricked out Kia Sedona, but AWD and a more solid build won us over. This is a car worth holding for a long time (which helps with depreciation costs). Also considered the VW Atlas, but we just didn’t have confidence that it would last as long as the Honda. It’s also bigger than a Ford Explorer or a Toyota Highlander, but still feels very maneuverable. We love that it’s really not a fancy car, it’s solid and reliable and safe.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Think twice before purchasing this new model Pilot

Helen, 11/19/2018
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
23 of 26 people found this review helpful

I had my previous Honda Pilot for 7 years and absolutely loved it! So didn't think twice about buying another pilot. Big mistake! I got it memorial weekend and within a month it was back at the dealership as the air conditioning was blowing hot air and the car's fan wouldn't turn off for sometimes 30 mins after I turned the car off! After the car going back to the dealership 3 times and having it for a total of 23 days they finally realized the fan was assembled incorrectly and taking in air from the engine! When the car would start blowing hot air "Collision Mitigation System Problem" warning would come up. The dealership was working with Honda Corporate and they could never explain why that happened, why is was connected to the air or why it stopped once they repaired the fan!! Not very acceptable when I'm not sure if I'm driving a safe car!! The safety features are way too sensitive and the brake sign is always coming on when it shouldn't. Recently while driving in the first snow storm of the season, the "Warning Approaching Object" sensor constantly came on with an ear piercing sound the majority of my hour long journey home, I'm presuming the snow was covering the sensor, way too sensitive! The moveable arm rests become irritating. I find the heat/air controls are not very user friendly and when touching the screen at first I kept hitting the hazard light button. My husband recently purchased a Hyundai Tucson Sport and although smaller, I much prefer driving the Tucson over the Pilot any day. I purchased the Touring model because I wanted the navigation system. Didn't need the tv in it and thought it would have come with blind spot monitoring, but that's only on the Elite. All in all very disappointed with this car and will not be keeping it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2018 Honda Pilot Tech lackluster

Sulu7, 11/13/2018
Elite w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

the 2018 Honda Pilot is very difficult to connect via USB to important devices. You are forced to use bluetooth which Is easier but means you will lack connectivity. Using the USB, I have to restart the car 2 or 3 times before it senses it. There is no connect, drive, go. The dealership doesn’t care. Honda itself wants the dealer to fix it but the dealer does not know how and they don't cae. They wont say it does not work right until you that til you already own it. It also ramdomly decides it is no longer connected. The continental tires are garbage, lose air and do not last (see other complaints). Make sure to rotate them per recommendation or you will void the tire warranty. The "safety" systems are scary esp the lane keeping which jiggles the steering wheel on you. On a two lane road it will think you are about to crash head on and displays BRAKE!!. The captains seats have spaghetti sized arm rests which are too high up for a petite person ie unusable and therefore the driver right arm gets tired since it cannot rest. They are also uncomfortable. (middle console is low and not an armrest option. After all these years Honda still puts center console cup holders on top of each other instead of side by side across. Driver and front passenger hands collide when reaching for drinks. The econo system cycles to electronic to save gas but has an uncomfortable, jumpy and loud restart. If going from complete stop and need to go fast it cant do it. Lastly, the hatch has no auto stop if it encounters resistance like a roof or overhead beam. Integrated satellite antenna means it often drops signal from satellite radio. The engine chirps. The battery died at 21000 miles withusing only one charging port. Regularly while driving. Now at 23000 the brakes squeal. The GPS does not seem to understand that a passenger can operate it and locks until the vehicle is stopped. Volume has no knob just touch. Very distracting. Sound system is so so. My old 2010 was much better.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Pilot is a pickup with a full cabine

RandyR, 03/12/2018
EX w/Honda Sensing 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Great drivers aids except blind spot monitoring should be on all models, not just the Elite. Apple CarPlay is great, no costly upgrades for onboard GPS. Also captains chairs should be an option for all models, not just elite. I didn’t want to pay $8000 more for most items I don’t want or need like 2nd row entertainment, on board GPS etc. It has the space of an Odessey, but not the soccer mom look.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Last Pilot I will own - looking at other vehicles

Amy A, 03/23/2019
EX-L w/Honda Sensing 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

For background, this is my 3rd pilot since 2006. I'm not an expert on engines or mechanically inclined, but do know what I like. I leased one Pilot ('06), then purchased one in '09. That was my favorite one - based on it's styling, handle, and size. I wasn't going to get another, as my 2009 transmission was going out after 118K miles. However, after searching various makes and models, I came back to the Pilot because of its reviews and ability to fit the needs of my family. MISTAKE! I even paid the additional $1000 for the Honda Sensing, as knew it helped on safety and insurance. That is my biggest regret! It goes off all the time for no reason, telling me to brake when no one is even in front of me. (I'm told guard rails, light poles, and other various things can cause it to go off.) It braked for me for lane keep assist, when I went onto exit ramp, as the lane went that way (believe if I had my signal on, it wouldn't have, however, I wasn't switching lanes, so didn't see the need), almost causing a fender bender from car behind me. I've reported to dealership and even taken there. But, because they can't get it to replicate, as it is only periodically, no solution in sight. Even the Honda Tech who took it out with me, reported issues with other Pilots (scaring me with stories into never using the adaptive cruise control). In addition, this feels like a mini van or station wagon, neither of which I enjoy driving. I miss the truck feel and higher, sportier look of the older model. Even the center console and front seat armrests resemble a mini van style. Along with my issues with the Sensing, I don't like how it shifts. As I live off a hill, my car either feels like it is screaming trying to climb it or jolts when it does finally switch gears. Apple CarPlay was a selling point for me. However, not surprisingly, it doesn't consistently work properly in my car. I even purchased a new cord and had daughter try with her phone, to ensure it wasn't our equipment versus the car. It works probably about 75-80% of the time, but then, has its days and times when just won't connect or even begins to and freezes (as evidenced on my home screen in vehicle). Annoyance when want for convenience, but truly a pain when need for navigation apps. And, whoever “forgot” to put USB ports in the middle row should be fired. Why have an 8 person vehicle and only have ports in the front row?!? Stupid! Should have trusted my initial instincts and looked elsewhere. Buyer be warned! I'm glad Honda's tend to hold their value as I do not foresee keeping this one for long. Only good features, in my opinion, size - which fits our families needs right now I have two teens and legroom is a must (as one over 6 feet tall). We often haul other kids too, especially when we travel and need the extra seating and space. Gas mileage is decent. I typically get right around 20 mpg with driving both city and highway. Overall though, not worth it. I was pressed to make a decision in a short amount of time and honestly regret this purchase. It is the only car I've ever owned and not liked driving. UPDATE (6/20/19) - "Christine" (as she was nicknamed) is gone! No more possessed vehicle for me! Traded her in (not upside down and even re couped some of my last trade in, but so worth it for my sanity and peace of mind). BUYER BEWARE!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New 2018 Pilot EX-L AWD Owner

James Deitrick, 09/21/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have only had the car for three weeks and have 1000 miles on it. Overall, I like the car. It looks great inside and out. The seats are very roomy and comfortable. We like the fact that it has Apple Carplay so you can display your GPS from your Iphone on the information screen w/o spending an additional $1000 for a NAV system. The engine seems "peppy" enough. There seems to be more road noise than with some other mid-sized SUVs we test drove and we do have a small "rattle" in the back somewhere that we cannot identify. The mileage readout shows much higher mileage than you are actually getting (as much as 2.7 mpg higher than actual). The three row seating is nice. The third row is very comfortable once you are in there; however, getting in and especially out is for kids or young adults!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Luv it!!!

Nily, 03/10/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

An awesome SUV! It's comfortable and drives very smoothly. There is no reason to choose an European SUV over this amazing machine. I like everything about this car. If I were to change something on this SUV, the headlights should be more brighter and not that yellowish color. The lighting of these bulbs are on the low side and at night I would prefer to have better visibility. Other than that, it's superb!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

1 month and 400 miles in

Bill, 03/25/2018
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
15 of 18 people found this review helpful

We’ve been in the car a month and took a trip to San Antonio and back for Spring Break. We’ve never owned any car model that was equipped over base models i.e. power windows and locks. We are somewhat savvy with new electronics. That said the dealership (Vandergriff Honda) assumed we got enough of a briefing at the delivery because they forgot us after that. The rear entertainment took over all systems and we had heck figuring that out for ourselves. There are 4 screens for apps and widgets but the system doesn’t allow any or there are none available. I checked forums. Apple CarPlay is the only option that works. Changing from radio channels to navigation on CarPlay needs to be done by a passenger for sure. Lane Keep is taking some getting used to and the new cruise control isn’t built with Texas traffic in mind. You have to set options like door locks and auto lock for each remote. The mirrors are included in seat memory despite what the salesman says. We still really like driving the car though.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Unusual noise

Pasquale, 10/12/2018
EX-L w/Honda Sensing 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

This my 4th Honda and by far my least liked. There is an unusual noise coming from under the rear area, (location unknown) when going over uneven pavement and small bumps. Sounds like metal to metal contact. I took to the dealer and they couldn't replicate the noise. Very frustrated after spending all that money for this vehicle. Quality has gone down dramatically. I am considering getting rid of it asap.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Escape

Art, 02/20/2018
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
17 of 21 people found this review helpful

The Car is "great". We are still learning all the technology in the car. The only downside is the auto engine shut off. The auto shutoff is really weird. We don't like the roughness in the - on/ off - function. The system can be shut off but will come on with each engine start. Have had the car for a year but the AUTO SHUT OFF just sucks. Hope Honda programs the AUTO SHUT OFF system to stay off.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Vehicle

David, 04/12/2018
Elite w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Purchased the 2018 Elite after much research. Very happy with our decision. We were between the Pilot, Highlander, and Atlas. The Highlander was smaller and didn’t have Apple CarPlay. The Atlas, although nice, doesn’t have the track record the Highlander and Pilot have. Although many reviews complain about the 9-speed transmission, we have been happy. It does behave differently than a traditional transmission but it just takes time to get used to. Very happy with how quiet the interior is at highway speed and the ride is great. Very happy with the mileage we are getting so far. We only have a few dislikes…the infotainment system is a little slow and not quite as intuitive as it could be. I wish the auto start/stop feature could be disabled permanently instead of having to do it at each start-up. Although it has the premium sound system, the bass is lacking but is sufficient for a family hauler. I wish the Honda Link app would allow you to remotely start the car. Rear entertainment system is great for trips with the kids. I can use the HDMI input and use my phone to stream movies. Overall very satisfied with our purchase.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New Pilot

Dennis, 07/17/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

It is a bit difficult getting used to the Pilot. It does not ride as well as my Highlander and the acceleration seems a bit sluggish. Overall, this is a spacious vehicle that seems to be well made. Gas mileage is very good with economy mode. Disappointed in the high cost of roof rack and trailer hitch - neither are standard features. I have had some trouble with the push button start. Phone system has been giving me trouble. Voice command does not work unless phone is plugged in. My favorite aspect is the great visibility this vehicle offers. Wish my pilot had assisted cruise control.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bumper scapes

Major Nurse, 07/08/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

I traded in my Honda Odessey for the 2018 Pilot the only thing I don't like about the Silver color is that the paint has started chipping off the bumper. Out of all the cars I have had this has never happen especially since the car was brought brand new and is only a few months old. I paid the extra money for the paint warranty and when I took it to Honda to get the bumper painted they made it seem like it was my issue but after pleading my case they decided to repaint the bumper. All the bumpers on the Silver pilot should have the bumper guard added as part of the car. Because I am sure I am not the only customer with the Silver Pilot having that issue. Honda please consider putting a better quality paint coat on the bumper of the Silver pilot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Honda Pilot 2018 EX-L w/ Sensing Obsidian Blue

DannyT, 08/27/2018
EX-L w/Honda Sensing 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

About 1 month into ownership. Purchased over Highlander because it was slightly larger and had new tech with Apple Car Play and the large touch screen. This vehicle is 11 model years newer than the Ridgeline that traded. The technology upgrades are very significant; however there is a persistent problem with the entertainment and access ports. Honda dealer is unable to accurately diagnose and correct. Big learning curve but I am enjoying this SUV. The fuel mileage is better than expected for this substantial vehicle. The economy setting helps. I am looking forward to a longer highway journey in late September to determine how it will do on a long trip. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase. I visited three dealerships and drove four vehicles in my search. I researched this size SUV using many internet resources. Recommend getting internet prices to enter the fray. Expect significant negotiations to get the lowest price. I purchased during the model year change over and at the end of the month.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

will get you killed

Breon, 03/11/2019
Elite w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

i have a 2018 Honda pilot elite, bought in late 2018, liked the car pretty good, (took awhile to get a handle on the very busy steering wheel and dash) but my biggest complaint is the safety features. myself, my wife and another couple were going into another town for dinner and we were on the interstate traveling 70 mph, traffic was pretty heavy, there was a car in front of us about 7/8 car lengths ahead. another car passed on left and when he got in front of me (3 car lengths) he came over into my lane, causing my car to slam on the brakes, sliding to a stop. the cars behind me had to slam on their brakes almost causing a very bad accident. needless to say i got the you are #1 sign from everyone behind me. it happened so fast i couldn't do anything. So... i suggest that you be aware of this: i'm turning the safety features off in mine, if i can.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Anything but honda

Em hida, 09/11/2019
LX 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Brand new Honda first owner woman drive ,my car started making noises in the front axle after 32000 miles I took it to dealership and they told me that I need new axles and the warranty will cover the repair but only one at the time Honda only replace one axle so I went home with one new axle and another making noises I waited two weeks and went back for the second repair and they fixed now after 15 months from the second repair went back to the dealer for the same problem bad axle but now is not covered and I need to pay $680 I call North American Honda to complain because if they replace my axles with new oem parts isn’t right to have the same issue after waiting two weeks for an answer they called me and told they will pay for the axle and I needed to pay for labor $380 plus shop fees .useless warranty and low quality cars from Honda , in my family we have like 11 Honda’s so far 4 members change to Toyota and the rest of the family are looking for Chevy and Mazda me personally will go to GM And because I meet new people every day I told my story every opportunity I have

Report Abuse

My last Honda purchase ever.

ABH, 12/01/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
14 of 21 people found this review helpful

Used to love Honda. Driven Honda and Acura for many years. This Pilot is garbage. I don't think it's any better than a GMC or Chrysler. The technology isn't great unless you pay 50K for the touring package. Suspension has a clunky sound- they claim it's due to their super high technology shock absorbers. Whatever- they sound like crap. The transmission is complete and utter junk if you live in the mountains. You can't down shift effectively to save brakes. Also transmission won't cold start. Mind you, I live in California so it's not really that cold here. But if it gets down to 40 at night, then Pilot takes a second or two to engage transmission after I shift. Driver seat is cheap and uncomfortable. I drive a 22 year old Toyota with 185k miles on it that is more comfortable to sit in. Lumbar support is pretty much non existent. I mean it's there and all, but it really doesn't do anything. Stereo is literally a joke. Honda killed the audio quality with their stupid noise canceling. You can find about a million hits and threads about how bad it is. You can even find videos teaching you how to disable the noise cancelling. The Honda Pilot is garbage. I'll be surprised if lasts 20k miles without serious work. If you're thinking about buying one, then save yourself some headaches and pay the extra money for the Acura MDX. They share the same AWD system, but the Acura uses completely different parts otherwise.

Safety
Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Hi-tech Pilot

Chuck, 03/10/2018
Elite w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
9 of 13 people found this review helpful

Just traded in my 2005 Pilot for the new 2018 Pilot Elite. There is definitely a learning curve to get used to the new technology. The lane keeping assist and interactive cruise control take some getting used to, but after a week or so you get used to the alarm for steering required and automatic breaking. Now I am used to the new tech and miss it when I drive my other car. I am definitely much safer in the new Pilot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love My Honda's

LOVEmyHonda, 01/27/2018
EX-L w/Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
20 of 31 people found this review helpful

We bought a Civic Hatch and a Pilot and love them both. We gave our 2013 Honda Civic to our daughter and traded in our leased 2015 Toyota Highlander. Hands down the Pilot blows the Highlander away. It's so smooth and a dream to drive. We have always purchased our Honda's from Lindsay Honda. Their customer service is hands down the best. They make sure you are totally satisfied throughout the life of the car. Mike was great to work with. We took many hours trying to make our decision regarding which vehiclies were right for us. He is very knowledgable and answered all our questions. He also took time with us after the vehicles were purchased to go over all the features and connect our phones. We are 100% satisfied with our experience and would highly recommend buying a Honda from Mike at Lindsay Honda.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Car Crush

DTaggart, 08/03/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

Just purchased our 2018 Honda Pilot EX-L. After only 519 miles, I have fallen head over heels for our new car. Fuel economy is at least equal or better than our 2013 aFord Escape Titanium. In terms of cargo, comfort and performance, the Pilot is a dream. Can't wait to take it on a long road trip.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My new pilot

Herman, 05/19/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

My wife and I love the new pilot researched many other cars but the pilot stood out in front for the price and all the extras and the quality of a Honda we feel we got a great SUV PS be careful with your choice of dealer

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

EX-L. 2018: AWD

Fern, 10/22/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

The car can be a little noise on some pavements. I replaced my 2001 ACURA MDX with the ex-l in May of this year. Due to the back to back hurricanes, I took two 1500. Miles round trip from South Carolina to Florida. Mileage on highway averaged 29 MPH. Roomy, can carry up to 8 people. I don’t have the sensors that’s optional. And I added the rails and luggage rack. With serious radio, after 3 months you have the option to continue with cost.. I LOVE DRIVING MY SUV. I acquired my SUV in May of 2018

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Will Never Purchase Another Honda

AJ, 10/08/2019
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Let's start with Mechanical. Transmission is garbage. 3 second delay every day when I shift from park to drive or reverse. I have to sit there and hope it decides it's going to actually work. Also transmission will not brake car on declines. I live in the mountains. The transmission should brake the car when downshifted, but it won't it will just gain speed until I'm forced to brake. Unacceptable. The road noise is unbearable. I'm an audiophile. I checked the dB level in the car for road noise and it was 80- louder than a vacuum cleaner. It's so loud that the stereo is not heard at highway speed unless it's cranked way up. Suspension sounds like someone is beating a bass drum at the slightest of bumps. The stereo is so bad that there's a class action law suit against Honda. It's literally worthless and worse than 1986 Chevy Celebrity I learned to drive on. I can't believe anyone likes this car. Clearly the 5 star reviews are from people who have never driven a well designed and manufactured vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not what I expected

Dan, 12/10/2018
Elite w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
8 of 12 people found this review helpful

This pilot cost way too much for some of the things I’ve found after purchasing. (1) don’t even think about going through an automated car wash (2) apple phones do not sink up with navigation system, no voice directions with google navigation, I don’t think Honda and apple get along with each other (3) arm rests cost about $1.99, they are the most uncomfortable, hard to adjust, pieces of worthless junk. You would think a car that cost close to fifty thousand would have a different design for arm rests (4) transmission, I don’t know where to begin with that piece of crap. I wish Toyota made a midsize suv but alas, they do not.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Honda that turns me off to all Hondas???

Noodles&Soup, 10/29/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 11 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying, I have loved every Honda I have ever owned. I actually am disappointed in this vehicle. I don't feel like it handles as well as my other cars (Accord EX-L, Pilot, Acura integra). Mileage is not the best. Difficult for kids to get in and out of the car (3 kids 8 & under) - get the running boards with littles. Kids constantly complaining it's too hot or too cold back there - cannot seem to get temperature right. Windows are all malfunctioning - they are all closed but when i return to my car they are slightly open already OR when i go to open the car door, the windows slip as if the suction from the doors being closed has caused some massive force and it slips open. This car may be what turns me off to Hondas now forever.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don’t buy this car

Cats don’t like water. , 02/12/2020
EX-L w/Honda Sensing 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I loved this car, past tense. The entertainment screen goes blank when it wants to and I had to start video taping it before the dealer would admit it even happened. The car refuses to start on really cold mornings so I have to use remote start first then I can start the car to drive it The dealership said they could figure out why. I suggested they check the Honda forums. It’s there. But today was it. The car started accelerating out of control while on adaptive cruise and then de accelerated out of control — that’s dangerous. DANGEROUS Honda said they couldn’t replicate my problem. I apologized for not being able to video it like I had when my entertainment screen goes blank. Told them I was busy trying to stop my out of control car. They asked when I would like to come get my car. I told them I wasn’t. Asked them to drive It up and down the hwy to try to replicate it instead of “hooking it up” in the shop. Then we could talk.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2018 Pilot - Excessive Wind Noise

Al, 08/27/2018
EX-L w/Navigation 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

The EX-L version of the Pilot only has an acoustic windshield while the Touring and Elite trim levels also have acoustic glass in the front driver's and passenger windows. My EX-L has extremely annoying wind noise by the front driver's window starting at about 55-60 mph and which gets louder the faster I go. Seals and door seating is proper according to dealer. Bad design resulted in this wind noise. The Touring and Elite also have this noise but it is subdued somewhat by the acoustic glass. Dealer says it's due to the shape of the mirrors. I've never had a car (and I've had many in my 40+ years of driving a car), where the wind noise was that bad. Besides that, I love the car. Roomy, smooth shifting, comfortable right, very quiet until you reach higher speeds, interior configurations are very versatile, plenty of cup holders and storage, love the ability to tell the exact tire pressure in each tire, love the auto locking doors when I walk away from the vehicle. Gas mileage could be a little better. I'm getting about 22 mpg based on stop and go traffic.

Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Great ride, very pleased.

Steve Reckamp, 09/08/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have nothing negative to say about the Honda Pilot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2018 Honda LX 2WD - Disappointing

Ange M., 08/21/2018
LX 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have always liked Honda cars and truck. In my online review and research of the 2018 Pilot, I really liked the exterior design, the interior space and design, and apple car play. When I test drove the vehicle it performed very well. During the test drive of the Pilot I made a terrible mistake by NOT checking out the apple car play because I was so excited about the vehicle itself. However, now that I am leasing the Pilot, to my surprise and disappointment the 2018 Honda Pilot LX 2WD DOES NOT come with an apple car play. Instead it has a low grade, second rate, hard to Bluetooth pair/sync, very basic car system. As soon as I discovered my mistake, I contacted the dealership but to NO AVAIL I’m stuck with this vehicle for THREE YEARS!! ☹ The moral of the story is if you demo a vehicle online make sure you know the exact model being demoed. What I discovered is the online reviews and information of the Pilot ARE only the EX or ELITE models. I will never make this mistake again.

Performance
Report Abuse

Great but safety features only on higher trim

Pilot, 03/04/2018
EX 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
10 of 23 people found this review helpful

Advertised that Honda Sensing is available on ExX, but, per the dealership, it is not. Since safety is the main deciding factor in choosing an automobile, I am very disappointed that I was not able to add this feature to the EX, as advertised. I don't need nor want most of the extra features that the next trim up offers, so did not purchase the EX-L- too many add ons, more things that can go wrong with the vehicle. I did want leather seats however, but the option to add leather seats to the EX was not given to me either. I was given the choice of 2 colors that would be available - blue (did no want) & white. The white exterior is very nice but the black cloth interior is a magnetic - every piece of lint, dust, hair, & dog fur is attracted to the fabric! It is a daily routine , every time I get in & out of the car, to use a lint remover- very, annoying! I have had to spend a lot of time, money, & innovation to enable my dog to go for a ride in the vehicle, opposed to my last SUV with a more user friendly cloth interior. I use to bring him for a ride a few times a week, now, because of the interior fabric, my dog has only been in my car 1x over the month & ½ that I've owned the car. I was told for 5 months, that the Pilots would be available & per dealer websites told that they were in stock, only to keep being told (by my flooring up) nope, they are not here, they would say their website did not update or nope, they are not here, but will be in a couple of weeks. It actually took months before I could even test drive the car! I would be told the 2018 were there (as the website said), but only 2017 were actually for there. In addition, although the Edmunds dealers offered a price online, when I would respond to dealers's Edmunds reply email &/or visit them they would state that the Edmunds quote email they gave me would not necessarily be the price they would actually sell the car for; or they would state the price , after I put in my exact option requests, & then when I contacted them to confirm, the options they said in their email the would be included were not going to be part of the price given.When making the purchase, I was told the out the door price would be X amount but was then charged document/registration/plate charges.I was told the car would be ready by a certain date, but that they wold be putting a later date on the contract. I had to follow up each time to see if the car was ready (which wasn't until the later date then what they told me opposed to what they put on the contract. I asked if i could have a loaner car if it took till their later than i was told/wanted date. They said no.) I really do wish the side mirrors & rearview mirror had built in blind spot mirrors,- the vehicle is long, so blind spot's are difficult to view unless the turn signal is put on. Otherwise, I do really like the Pilot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Tough to beat

Ray, 05/16/2018
EX-L w/Honda Sensing 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

Honda value retention mixed with good feature set at reasonable price. Rides more like a car than Nissan SUVs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Honda Pilot: reliable, comfortable & safe

Anthony C. Ginetto, 05/19/2018
EX-L w/Honda Sensing 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

The Pilot may not be the fanciest SUV out there but it is reliable and comfortable. As a driver you will be riding above other vehicles and have a good view of all around you. The Pilot feels safe and as we transpot our grandchildren around safety was a priority. The driver's seat supports your back for long distance trips. The Pilot is comfortable, reliable and safe. We love it

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2018 Honda Pilot: Thrilled.

Helen, 06/01/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

Absolutely love this car for our family of 6. Before you buy the car, know that the trunk/storage space is not huge (as compared to a minivan). Everything about this car is a good fit for our active family.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

2018 Pilot Fun For Family

GNOLGNOL, 04/17/2018
Elite w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
4 of 9 people found this review helpful

Cargo storage little small

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Skypilot

Sky pilot, 05/27/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have only had the car for a month, but so far I really like the vehicle. The ride is nice and quiet. Update: love the ride, very smooth and quiet. The model I purchased does not have the latest safety features that I miss on the 2018 year. The 2019 model year has all the features.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

poor sccelation

kal, 10/17/2018
LX 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

gas pedal hard to step /push on homestly to the point thst my foot is hurting .accelation when needed is lacking. front seats are tight and ridged .

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mad about pricey 7 passenger SUV

Pankaj Patel, 04/30/2018
EX 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 19 people found this review helpful

I did research other vehicle before I bought Honda Pilot. Overall for 7 passage SUV, pilot was the best available in markets so I bought it. But still I am not happy with this futures I did not received with the trim line (EX V-6) I bought such as CD player, body color bumper, roof rake, and other convenient future after paying more than $35,000.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not for the sandwich generation

Aryeh Moshen, 11/26/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 8 people found this review helpful

As a retired 70-year old driver who often has his mother-in-law and/or grandchildren in the car, I thought that the Honda Pilot would have been a great choice. Boy, was I wrong. The "trunk" space is too small to handle my mother-in-law's folded-up walker without partially collapsing a rear seat and the seats are too narrow to fit two car seats and one regular passenger in a single row. It's not even that great if you try to put three adults in the middle. I guess I should have opted for a 10-seater so that I could have room for a walker and a stroller as well as the kids' paraphernalia.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A mini van in disguise

Hector, 04/14/2019
EX 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We got the 6 speed auto EX model and the transmission has behave well. My wife and I have noticed it makes some loud knocking/thumping noises. I just heard it the other day while backing up to our driveway. Cannot reproduce it all the time though. Acceleration is good. Space is great! 3rd road seat can actually be used by adults. With all the seats folded down we transported a treadmill home, so it has a cavernous cargo space when the 2nd and 3rd row are folded down. Don't really like the touchscreen in the infotainment system and the lack of volume/power on/off button for the infotainment system. Honda fix that the year after we bought our SUV. Yes it took the 4th model to fix that! 3rd row seat does not come with a mat, so I recommend purchasing all weather/costom fix rubber mats for all three rows. Body roll is noticeable, so slow down coming off the highway. This is not a Mazda CX9 is a Oddysey with a higher profile. The blind spot camera on the right mirror works great and it truly help you to pass lanes on the highway. Another thing, metallic paint in Honda's seem to be on the thin side these day. I have noticed this paint scratches very easily. My 12 year old Accord has better paint than this 18 Pilot. Shame on you Honda! Overall we are satisfied with the vehicle, but I have found 100s of report and complaints on the Elites and Touring trims. Watch out for for those 9 speed transmission skipping and slipping. I cannot believe Honda has not recalled this crappy transmission yet. Honda's transmissions have always been on the weak side (Honda develops theirs own). If you don't want to have any transmission issues, go for Toyota if you want a Japanese vehicle. Asin makes transmissions for Toyota, and they are on the best in the market. Last but not least, Iif you are an Android user, your phone after I while will not sync well with your infotainment system. My wife's Apple Car play works flawless, but my Android Auto struggles to connect. I can only use it via Bluetooth. 2020 update: SUV has been behaving well, but that's expected. Not 9000 yet and she's almost 2 years. No Android Auto issues now. I guess the bugs workout themselves. Most likely it was a low quality/worn USB cable. Is working well now. Still scratches easily. Careful with that paint! Everything else has held up well, especially since the Pilot is garage kept. Still recommend this vehicle for people with families of 5 or more. Good shoulder room for the 3 passengers in the 2nd row.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Worth the cost

Gatoray, 05/24/2019
EX-L w/Honda Sensing 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I used to own Nissans: Maximas, Muranos and Pathfinders, but the last couple of Nissan products I had (Maxima and Pathfinder) had more problems than I wanted. The Pilot is roomier for storing my golf equipment and bulky items. The extra couple of inches makes a difference! I like the interior features and the Android interface with Google maps which makes Factory Navigation unnecessary and won't require updates. The only issue I have found and it is slight, is that acceleration on entering highways is not overwhelming, but it is sufficient. The gas mileage is excellent. I get between 21-25 mpg combined city/highway.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Want to buy lots of windshields?

DRL, 06/28/2019
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my 5 Honda vehicle. First pilot. I've owned it 16 mo. The windshield breaks if you breathe on it. I just broke it for the 3rd time. Honda dealer says oh no this isn't happening. I've started a claim with Honda. Goggle it. Theres a fb forum. It's a big issue! All I'm asking is for them to acknowledge & fix this issue. I'm going to get rid of it. Update.. traded it. 4 windshields

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Worst mistake!

James T. Morris, 11/18/2019
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Loved Honda’s til we bought a 2018 Pilot touring AWD. Worst transmission ever. 3 second delay.Not even safe! Sensing that will get you into an accident. Lane sensing and braking doesn’t work. Wheel shakes and brakes by it self. Dealer won’t fix. Said it is all normal! We hated this 45,000 dollar piece of junk! Shame on Honda! We traded it off the first year and got a Jeep Grand Cherokee! The Jeep drives 100 times better! Beware of the New Pilot!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Miss my Chrystler badly

Toni, 04/07/2019
EX 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

The pilot is not impressive at all. The safety features are terrible. Unfortunately I leased it for 3 years now am stuck with a car I am not happy with. Gas tank is so small I am at the gas station every few days A year and a half later just dislike my Honda pilot. I even hate the fact I have a year and a half left with this car that I don't feel safe. So I only have less good to say about the car. I think it stinks that you don't have any recourse when after 1 week I knew this was not a car that I wanted. But I was screwed at that point all I have left is the fact I only have 11/2 years left with this vehicle. I can't wait to be able to get out of the lease. I hate this vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Honda for life

Victor Gonsalez, 07/15/2018
Elite w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Amazing suv to drive especially on rainy days makes me feel safe knowing I will be safe

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Once you go SUV you never go back

Sy T, 07/30/2018
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I used to have the MDX and GLE 350 for many years. I had a lapse in judgement and got a plug in Prius for the last 5 years. I could not wait to get back into a SUV. I like to try new cars and although I loved the MDX I wanted to change it up. I was pleasantly surprised with the Pilot. It has all the creature comforts I want with out the price tag. Being that it is a Honda also gives me the peace of mind to know it’s dependable. The car is very roomy and I love the side camera. I wish the moonroof was a bit larger and the armrests on the front and passages side seem cheap but everything else looks great. The pickup on the touring 9 spear transmission is a bit jumpy but I’m fine with it. Overall I love my new car and can’t wait to have many years of fun road trips!

Report Abuse

great pick

fisherman, 08/31/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The front power seat could use a little more adjustment for smaller drivers.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050