Used 2018 GMC Yukon XL SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$47,984 - $73,899

Used Yukon XL for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I Love my Yukon XL

Neil Brooks, 01/05/2018
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I had a 1996 GMC Suburban for 20 years and thought I would never like the Newer Yukon XL Well I was wrong it's a technology filled Beast that is easy to drive and it's like sitting in your living room easy chair driving down the highway. The ride is a bit rougher than my Old Suburban because of the 22" wheels but looks sharp and not too much of a sacrifice, I did not think I needed all of the technology but find myself using most of it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Dependable, easy to drive, never a problem.

LCH, 05/09/2018
SLE 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I've owned this car for 4 years and it's been, by far, the most reliable car I've ever had. Not one problem. I bought it specifically for the space. It replaced a Ford Excursion, which was large, but gave me nothing but problems. The Yukon is sightly more difficult for me to park, but aside from that, it's a terrific family car. I highly recommend bucket seats in the second row: you'll want to keep this car long after the kids get big and they eventually won't like climbing over the seat. Adults fit just fine in the third row (wouldn't be my first choice, but it will do in a pinch). The only down side is that you'll be stuck driving for every out-of-town trip.

Report Abuse

Big solid comfort

Stephen Webb, 08/30/2018
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2018 Yukon XL SLT with the Open Road and Premium Edition packages. It is a very large vehicle, solid, comfortable, luxurious, and can carry 7 people AND their luggage. The only time I feel I’m driving a big SUV is when it comes to parallel parking or entering parking garages. It is incredible on long road trips. The XL is rock solid, great seats, and a quiet comfortable ride.

Report Abuse

Best big suv out there

Aimel Azizi, 03/31/2018
Denali 4dr SUV (6.2L 8cyl 10A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Spent many hours doing research and test drives of big suvs. So for the most bang for your buck i picked this car Too Expensive: -navigator -escalade Not worth it -chevy suburban Two to consider: -Ford Expedition max -yukon xl denali Choice: -yukon !

Report Abuse

Best ride for an SUV

John Lentine, 11/04/2017
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (6.2L 8cyl 10A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I love love love the GMC Yukon Denali. Smooth quiet and fun to drive

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Switched from DENALI XL to YUKON XL

HG, 01/24/2020
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased a new Yukon XL DENALI in 2010 and drove it for 327,000+ miles (original engine) until 4Q2019, when reliability became an issue, but I am still keeping it for a back up. When I looked at the price of a new Yukon XL DENALI, I took a real close look at the Yukon XL and purchased a 2018 with 20,000 miles on it. For sure, this was the right decision; cost was $35,000+ less than a new DENALI XL. For me, the ONLY meaningful difference between the two is that instead of All-Wheel Drive, all the time, I manually switch from 2WD in good weather to 4WD in bad weather; DO NOT USE AUTO, because of wear on transmission. No question: 2 year old YUKON XL with 20,000 miles or less, with warranty still on to 36,000 miles is THE BEST VALUE!

Report Abuse

yukon xl slt prem edition

jay, 10/07/2020
SLT Standard Edition 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

So, I chose he NON denali model. Heres why....No magnetic ride control, no air shocks on rear, no power running boards. Why? long term having owned an esclade these items fail and when the fail outside of warranty they are very expensive to have fixed. This model is basically the poor mans version of the Denail. It offers all the bells and whitles I need. Front heated cooles seats rear heated seats, capt chairs, two over head tvs, same dash as the Denali on board wifi. Power rear seat and rear folding seats. Guys for the money you get the best of both worlds. This engine 5.3l gets respectable milage, 20's. Got the nice chrome 22 wheels. I removed the factory tires and put Michillens on to get rid of the nagging vibration, FIXED ! The only thing you want to watch for is your buying one used make sure the ac condenser has been replaced !!!! Its a KNOWN problem. Mine was done under warranty before I got it. Ive had no issues. The only other thing is do the maintenance !!! Ive not had any issues with it. I can go almost 600 miles on a tank of fuel outstanding !! I only run 93, it says you can run 87 but the motor and throttle responace is better on 93. LIsten this is a 70K truck so if you cant swing the $70-80 fill ups you out to not own one. Its fantastic for trips and every day drive, smooth quite super comfy and technoligy loaded. But again I only wanted the Yukon XL Slt Prem Edition which is a close to a Denali you can get less the BS suspension crap and pwr running boards. Folks regular old struts and shocks. The only regret is I wish it had the 3.42 rear end vs 3.08 gearing for towing. the 3.08 is ok, but 3.42 would be better suited for hills. It pulls fine, but having towed for 20+ years the 3.42 would be a heck of a lot better. Will it pull a 5500lb boat yep. Will it pull your cargo toy hauler yep. And all if you can keep your foot out of the motor a respectable 15-18mpg. Stay away from 15,16, models too many problems. The 6 speed transmission is a good transmission if serviced on a regular basis, which Ive had not issues. gm says every 45K id do 30K. Im on my second trans service and no problems. 60K basic of trouble free driving Oh and DONT drive the 4wd in auto mode it kills the transfer case and transmission it beats it death with on off. Just drive it in 2wd when you need 4wd put it in 4WH and call it a day.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Brand new and love it

Brian, 06/07/2018
Denali 4dr SUV (6.2L 8cyl 10A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought a brand new Yukon XL. It’s still new but we feel its a great upgrade from our 2010 mini van!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love !!!!

Michelle, 05/19/2019
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (6.2L 8cyl 10A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love my Yukon Denali xl ...first time buyer and will never buy anything else!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050