Skip to main content

Used 2018 Chevrolet Tahoe SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$26,000 - $51,790

Used Tahoe for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

2018 Tahoe reviews after 2 mos, 1yr, 3yrs, & 4yrs

Ken, 01/07/2019
updated 07/20/2022
2018 Chevrolet Tahoe LT 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

I have owned a 99 Yukon, 99 Suburban, 2005 Suburban, and 2013 Tahoe, and all served me well. This has so much great new technology for driving, like blind spot, cross alert traffic when backing up, backup camera (which I have had and enjoyed since I put the first one in my '05 Subby) front collision alert, lane keeping, power tilt and telescoping steering wheel, & heated steering wheel, which all came with the luxury option as I recall. It is worth it! I wish they would not make the front seats and backs with the edge bolsters on the new vehicles. It is not as comfortable for sitting as my '05 or '13, and feels narrower. Headlights got low grade because I am shopping to replace the low beam bulbs with ones that give more light and more distance. It is not an easy job since I will have to remove the air filter box on passenger side to get to bulb, but once I find ones that will last a while, (based on reviews) I am doing that upgrade. Now the good news. The wipers cannot be heard while running which is a great update. Maybe better soundproofing in the glass, but appreciated! Quiet ride, handles very well, and great tech options for phone, etc, in 8" display. Multiple displays of your choice in small screen under the speedo are also great. The one problem I am having is loud vibration in back end at low speeds. I actually took it to local Dlrship to see if they had not filled tranny at factory. New tranny oil is clear and hard to read. They said it was OK. I got an appointment to have car looked at, and on the day I went in, after 90 minutes of waiting they told me they knew my problem without bringing it in the shop. Pressure problem in fuel line going from tank is causing loud vibration of the line. Sounds like noisy rear air ride compressor running intermittently, and a lot at low speeds. They had another one just like it with same problem last week. They found TSB #17-NA-304 that explained that fuels lines need replacing. I went yesterday and had the fuel line & fuel hose replaced to fix it, and it now sounds great!. Car has just 2,100 miles. This is my 14 month, @ 13,000 mile update- Jan 2020: There have been no problems with the Tahoe, and it has performed well. I am pleased with my latest large Chevy SUV. I do want to add that the only real safety concern I have is the inability to see to the left and right in the evening, and at an intersection that is not well lit, like my residential neighborhood. The headlights do nothing to cover those areas, especially the right side, where I worry that as I turn right in the dark, I could come upon a pedestrian that I could not see walking. This big rig needs cornering lamps that illuminate when the directional is on to be safe in those situations. Turning on the fog lights helps a bit, but it should not have to be needed to make a turn in darkness. My 2001 Lincoln Town Car had them, and that was 19 years ago! January 2021- 3 yr 3 month update @ 34,000 miles: The Tahoe does great in all facets. I did upgrade the OEM Michelin Energy Saver tires (treadwear rating of 480) at 30K miles for Michelin Defender LTX, which have great tread. OEMs were worn down more than I liked in terms of heading towards hydroplaning issues in water and I am happy I made the upgrade. My main complaint remains that I cannot see forward at night when taking turns, or even on dark road trying to see if anyone is walking on the shoulder. Headlights project straight forward only and not near the car. It is worst when cornering, and I worry that someone could be run over if walking in the dark because there is no visibility. I try to turn on my fog lights at night for that reason because it does help a bit with widening the lighted profile just in front of the vehicle to each side. Cornering lights would be a necessity for me to consider getting a new Tahoe. Mechanically, the Tahoe has been perfect. I average 20-21 mpg highway, and have overall 17.8 mpg since purchase (I have not reset trip 1 indicator since I did it on the test drive with 19 miles, and I use trip 2 for fill up resets. The overall MPG would be much better, but in the summer, I sit in car with A/C on while I am parked at the ocean, and do same thing with heat on in winter. This car has been everything I had hoped for (except cornering lighting issue) and the luxury package gave me all the tech I needed. I am seeing used 2018 Tahoe LT's like mine at car dealerships with similar or higher mileage that are selling for as much of more than I paid when new 3 yrs and 3 months ago, with the $10k year end discount I got. JULY 2022- 4 yr 8 months review: Mileage just turned 39,000. Only maintenance since last review was two more synthetic oil changes at local Chevy dealer, and an alignment after getting new Michelin Defender LTX tires at 30K miles when OEM Michelins were too worn for my liking. I did replace the original battery in July 2021 (@33 months) without checking on any remaining warrantee. Otherwise, this car has performed very well. I am impressed with the ongoing quality and the comfort in the Chevy large SUVS, and after recently driving our daughter's 2019 Mercedes GLS450 while in Colorado, I prefer my 2018 Tahoe by a long shot.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
8 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the Chevrolet Tahoe
View Offers
Chevrolet.com
*The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. Click here to see all Chevrolet vehicles' destination freight charges.

2 out of 5 stars

First Chevy in 35 Years!

Rasmaxwell, 06/19/2018
updated 01/07/2022
2018 Chevrolet Tahoe LT 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
30 of 36 people found this review helpful

It has been a long time since I last owned a GM product. After driving the Tahoe, there were a number of things that appealed to me: 1. excellent front seats, 2. very good instrumentation, 3. good quality interior materials, 4. a great highway cruiser and quiet too, and 5. the front/rear/rear cross traffic sensors. I have to be honest though, the standard headlights are awful. During my multiple test drives in the Spring, it was never dark enough for me to evaluate the headlights. There is absolutely no excuse for such poor low beam headlights on such an expensive vehicle. If I don't keep the car for more than a year or two, it will be because of the headlights. Dinged my overall review because of the headlights. Update 12/19/18 - reiterating that the headlights are awful for a vehicle in its price class. Update 6/19/19 - sold the car. Night driving with poor headlights is dangerous. Headlights were abominable. Unbelievably poor headlights for such an expensive vehicle.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

The Tahoe should be called a financial mistake

sam, 09/06/2019
2018 Chevrolet Tahoe Premier 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

We bought our Tahoe brand new the cream of the crop with a $70,000 price tag! 6.2 engine 10 speed transmission we thought we could go fast and love it, at first we did! We bought it in May I could roll the window down and feel the breeze, than June hits its hot in that sucker. I crank up the a/c it seemingly gets hotter in that sucker! I called the dealer they look into it oops they forgot to put refrigerant in it. Simple fix things are going good and cooling down. One day I open the back door and the seal falls off, just falls the eff off! Kill me who "forgot" the clips on the door seal?! Chevrolet did, that's who. Next thing I know 2 body bolts have wore holes in the carpet. Help me Jesus I'm getting frustrated but the local dealer gets it fixed for me. We go a solid 5 months no problems we fall back in love with a $70,000 mistake. Than it happens I back out of the drive I'm on the road put it in drive and NOTHING happens I calmly shift to neutral and try again and BOOM it slams into drive with a big thud and i eat the steering wheel. I start to panic that maybe that did not just happen and I'm crazy. I gather some witness to confirm I'm not crazy, no indeed I am not. Chevrolet thinks I'm crazy it "never" happened to them but it happens to me 5 plus times a week. This sadly will be my last Chevy product, I can buy the same [non-permissible content removed] quality for half the money going with another manufacture. If you have $70,000 to blow the new Tahoe is a great choice!

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Great performance Excellent value

Mark, 04/15/2018
2018 Chevrolet Tahoe LT 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
16 of 20 people found this review helpful

The 2017 Tahoe is significantly improved over the 2009 Yukon that I previously owned. The engine is powerful, responsive, and very quiet at idle. The handling is excellent, and the most noticeable improvement. Gas mileage is also improved, but like most SUVs greatly dependent on how you drive, and how fast you are driving especially on the highway.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Worst new car experience

Dave, 03/14/2019
2018 Chevrolet Tahoe Premier 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

I've never had a new vehicle at the dealership for warranty work as much as this junk. Within the first month I had water flowing out of the overhead console due to the antenna leaking. Also the trim piece under the wipers was warped. Both were replaced by the dealership and I was reassured that it wouldn't leak again. Four months later and both issues were back and repaired. Eight months in and the 10 speed transmission is acting up as well as the parking sensors, blind spot monitoring and theft deterrent systems going haywire. This is definitely my last new GM purchase and I look forward to the lease ending.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: