Used 1996 Chevrolet Impala Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$7,048 - $16,425

Used Impala for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

GM got it right, then quit!

soccercoach99, 06/06/2010
SS 4dr Sedan
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have seven cars, including a Porsche Boxster, Jaguar XJ8, Honda S2000 and some winter AWD/4WD vehicles. Driving the SS is somehow very very satisfying, it lopes along, big, black, bad, and then, when called on, just puts you into the comfy seats and gets to really outrageous speeds in a blink. I'm sure that more modern vehicles beat the numbers on acceleration, etc, but blasting around a freeway on ramp at 80 to 90 in a couple of heart beats with this beast is extremely fun!

Report Abuse

My Dream Come True...96 SS

96 SS Q-SHIP, 01/26/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I wanted one of these cars from the first time I saw one on the road. After doing some homework, I realized quickly that the 1996 model was the one to own. In 1998, after selling my Camaro, I was surprised to find one in a local trading paper that was about 60 miles away. I was fortunate enough to have a seller that offered to drive to my home and let me see the car. They told me that they were the original owners and had all paperwork...including the original window sticker. Low and behold...right at the scheduled time they said they'd show up...A menacing low, black car crept past my front window.

Report Abuse

Boss ride

Tony, 02/12/2017
SS 4dr Sedan
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

It's just strange how much attention this car gets even after 20 year's.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

oohh what a car!!!

landsshark96, 04/22/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This has to be one of the best cars GM ever built. American Automotive workers should rejoice, this car has performed better than my honda in regards to warranty work. This car does not give you a problem...EVER.

Report Abuse

Still purring

2KPurr, 12/03/2008
SS 4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Have enjoyed owning & driving it for nearly 13 years, transmission & engine have been flawless, water system/radiator/cooling required replacement, been thru 3 sets of tires, still turns heads. I am very proud to own such fine machinery that gets rarer yearly, get offers to sell all the time, have driven across country north-south & east-west, makes for great made-in-America advertising, insured as 4-door Caprice but is actually a Super Sport (no complaints), passes state emissions/safety tests without fail, plan on keeping all the way

Report Abuse

Superb

Rolling*Thunder, 09/18/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The finest car I have ever owned... or driven... or ridden in. USA badge, a V-8 (Corvette) Engine, Rear Wheel Drive, .... all the right USA muscle stuff. In a word: Superb.

Report Abuse

The best Chevy ever made!

Montana, 05/03/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The best Chevy ever made.

Report Abuse

Stealth 4-door Vette

Dcarzar, 07/18/2009
SS 4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am an enthusiast and love to drive. I did not really need to order a new SS, but I wanted a toy that would be a fun investment. My SS delivered, yeah it was politically correct with lighter & ashtrays; room and comfort for both my wife & grandmother in the same trip. My SS has been driven primarily as a highway cruiser, and has driven 300 miles in three hours, on regular gas an gets 25-28 mpg. I only need to pull it out of the garage to turn heads and there is always someone asking me to 1st bidder when I sell.

Report Abuse

the only imaculate car alive!!!!

james dorman, 04/11/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

i absolutly love this car since the first time i seen it. i have never geard any complaints about this car. the interiour is pefect, who could ask for a better look, and the performannce, every family man who once was astreet racers dream.

Report Abuse

Great ride

great ride, 09/24/2008
SS 4dr Sedan
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I get more pleasure driving this car then my 2008 STS Caddy. Still a head turner. Seats are realy comfortable and everything is heavy duty.

Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page:
51050