Used 2001 Chevrolet Blazer SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,221 - $2,362

Used Blazer for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...10

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best vehicle ever owned - still love it!

Linda, 08/26/2015
TrailBlazer 4WD 4dr SUV w/OnStar (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

We purchased this 2001 Blazer with the special Trailblazer trim package in 2003 (as the 2nd owner) with 40,000 miles on it and have had it ever since. For our other vehicle, we've gone through many other vehicles but can't part with this one because of how dependable and reliable it has been. With only routine maintenance expenses, it has 218,000 miles and is still going strong. I hear so many horror stories about the newer vehicles and am thankful I've stayed with my trustworthy Blazer. The leather still looks great for it's age and I've never had a crack in the dash or anywhere else for that matter. Can't say enough good things about what a dependable vehicle it has been over these past 13 years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

best vehicle ive ever own

tmmmsguy, 10/19/2014
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2001 Chevrolet blazer Lt fully loaded last year with income taxes and have yet to regret buying the truck only problem i have had out of it was the alternator went out last winter. the blazer is a good safe dependable truck that is fun comfortable easy to get in and out can fit friends that are 6'3" and my father that was 5"11" 250+ with plenty of comfort room for them. the specs say i should average roughly 19 mpg's but I've never seen less than averaging roughly 20 mpg with it except for moving 300+ miles with a loaded down u haul trailer that made the back end drop 2" in pouring down rain handled the ice that we had last year without a problem on the highway and in town.

Report Abuse

BLAZER XTREME

Lazaro, 10/07/2015
Xtreme 2dr 2WD SUV (4.3L 6cyl 5M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2001 blazer xtreme in 2005 with 55,000 miles which I still own (185,000 miles now). I loved my blazer since day 1 and I have to say it, I took my brother's 2013 honda civic to Santa Cruz and is this thing as fun to drive as my xtreme? NOT even close. For a chassis used for decades by GM on their blazer it is a outstanding small sporty SUV. Ones again, super fun to drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Car Ever

Benni Copelin, 04/11/2016
LT 4WD 4dr SUV w/OnStar (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

This has been one of the most reliable cars I have driven. It has gotten me where I want to go and it's a fun ride. In the last several years I have replaced a few parts, like a starter and a fuel pump and spark plugs. But it drives smoothly and is very comfortable. I feel safe. The amazing thing is this car has never burned oil and I have lots of miles on it. This 2001 Blazer has a well built engine. I have hauled stuff with it and taken it out in the field to drag brush. It cleans up real nice and is a pretty car. I'm gonna be sad when I have to finally replace my Blazer. One of the best cars I have owned.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Got a Really Bad One!

Guido, 12/05/2009
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This was a dealer car that we purchased with 10,000 miles on it and it has been a money pit. We have replaced: right front hub sensor, brake module, passenger side window motor (we rarely raise or lower that window), metal transmission lines (rubbing together caused leaks (they are not supposed to rub together), idler pulley, tensioner pulley, gas tank sensor, high pressure oil lines, radiator, alternator, electronics for 4WD and, the engine (as a result of the tensioner pulley seizing). There is more, but not enough space to continue. Perhaps we just got a 'lemon'; however, to be safe I no longer purchase GM vehicles.

Report Abuse

2001 Trail Blazer

BG, 08/28/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I first rented one at Jackson Hole Airport. Liked it so much I returned to Nashville and purchased one. It has been trouble free except for the smog pump failure at 90000 miles. I love driving it. Consumer Reports rates it bad and I rate it Excellent. I've driven on long trips and it's a joy. Easy to park and non-tiring on long trips. Two thumbs up!

Report Abuse

I've been left stranded more than once..

Lynette, 09/28/2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This truck has left me stranded on more than one occassion. Have had problems with the alternator, ingnition coil springs and fuel pump. Rides very rough. Is not roomy...back seat is almost impossible to get into unless you're 5'2 and weigh 100 pounds. Squeaks and rattles and idles rough. Can't wait to trade this one in.

Report Abuse

Biggest piece of scrap metal I own

jano, 03/23/2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

In the 8 yrs that I have owned my Nissan, I have less problems with it than I have had with this hunk of scrap metal. A totally rebuilt engine at 38,000 miles? Left and right wheel hub assembly replaced b4 33000? I look at it and despise the day I bought it. Should have paid attention to the poor reviews for reliability and mechanical soundness.

Report Abuse

Awesome

Lawrence, 04/30/2016
LT 4WD 4dr SUV w/OnStar (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I love my blazer. i haven't had to put a lot of money into repairing it. just a few things here and their. I've customized it to fit my style and it looks amazing. It is deferentially the best vehicle i have ever owned.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Had for a year - Still runs ok :)

wheeets, 01/23/2012
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Got my Blazer a year ago with 84k on it. Put 21k within a year. It runs and drives good. Gas mileage is on avg 15mpg. I'm big (6'5) and fit comfortably. Ongoing problems w/ heater. In colder weather, it only sometimes turns on (even tho I always have the dial set to its highest). Also sometimes makes a grinding noise and the break gets very stiff when breaking on ice. My mechanic cant figure it out, says my breaks are good. 4x4 went last year. Although it has these issues, I still really love driving my Blazer. Gonna get it fixed, once my $ is right. Wanna take it on some trails (when the 4x4 worked, it was great). Gonna hook it up with a tow box, rear tire swing bar (for extra inside room)

Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page:
51050