Used 2006 Chevrolet Aveo Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,676 - $3,283

Used Aveo for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

All and all pretty good....

soccerguy, 10/08/2014
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

My car is an auto not stick shift. I bought my Aveo used with 63,000 miles on it. I have had it 4 years and now have 97,000. I am pleased with this car. I have kept up with the normal stuff including timing belt, transmission & radiator service. I need to get front struts replaced which I know some have complained about but I think almost 100,000 miles is a decent lifespan. I am a little disappointed in the around town MPG but the highway is 35 MPG which is awesome. This is a no frills car but it does the job for me. Yes the inside is plastic everywhere and heck I have manual windows but it gets me where I need to go. Have the car properly serviced and you should do fine.

Report Abuse

Not bad.

synfulangel, 02/05/2012
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used with 92k miles on it. Ran great. We had an over heat issue and had to replace top end. After that we have not had a single issue with the motor or the anything else. These cars can not be handled rough don't stomp on the gas at stop light it can't handle that. If you want one to do that get the manual shift and upgrade the entire motor to do so. Love the Gas mileage The car gets 39 miles to the gallon better than any car i have had. It runs perfect now and has over 115k miles on the lower end of the motor.

Report Abuse

The car the drove ME crazy

Tracy, 12/13/2015
Special Value 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
19 of 21 people found this review helpful

I bought this car had it for a few years. But to much money into trying to figure out what was wrong. Come to find out this car along with others had a tiny hole in the transmission. (transmission made of plastic) . GM knew about the problem never told the customer nor the dealers. Also they would not stand by their customer told me not their problem while the manager at the GM cried to me about all the phone calls she gets. I never want to deal with this car nor GM again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Expected better gas mileage

D, 07/12/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Reviews on this vehicle seem very inconsistent. Based on my research, people seem to be experiencing problems with transmission fluid turning brown very early on (as mine has), but I haven't come across a lot of actual transmission failures. My biggest problem has been fuel economy. For such a tiny car, I expected better than the 25ish total and much less for city driving. Since there aren't any other real advantages over a slightly larger car (besides cost), I have been disappointed by that. For a car of its size, the trunk is great and there is reasonable room in the front seats. The back is tight but that is to be expected. The egg-shape continues to look dated to me.

Report Abuse

I like it!

happy camper, 11/02/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've owned the car exactly 4 years and like it. Aveo LT was sold out, so I had after-factory door locks, car alarm, & windows put onto car. The car runs great, is fairly low maintenance. I've not had my key stick, or any of the other issues that I see written about. I know when things go wrong, we tend to be more vocal about it, but I wanted you to know that others DO mostly like their Aveos.

Report Abuse

Unbearable Engine Noise on Highway

Anonymous, 12/06/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My biggest complaint on this car is: it desperatly needs another gear. I believe it was built for roads in it's home country of Korea because it is comfortable and quite until you hit 70MPH+ Then it is tough to control in all but ideal wind conditions and extremely noisey. It stands at about 3500 RPM when driving 72MPH. This generates unacceptable cabin engine noise. Another factor begging for another trans. gear is the only mediocre gas mileage on the highway. I usually get 35-36 on the highway. When I drive 60 on back roads I can get 40MPG, so I know the car is built for a lower operating speed. Look for an escort, fusion, or malibu; they are designed better for highway driving.

Report Abuse

Lil Blue Aveo

BM, 11/14/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Well I bought this new for my 16 yr old as a first car. I wanted her to have something new, reliable, and warrantied. So far, so good. She has been driving it about 50K miles and 3.5 years with no mechanical issues. She has had some brim and tire issues though. Chevy didn't want to hear anything about it though. After about 16K miles the tires were bald as a babies butt. She purchased some 40K Firestones and they are lasting. I was thinking it was a normal junky chevy front end or junky calipers etc ruining the tires but I guess it was the "no good" stock tires they put on it. Anyway, She has rode this sucker pretty hard in 3.5 years. She has been "ramming like a teenager".

Report Abuse

Underrated Good Transportation economic vehicle

Pete, 06/22/2018
LS 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Update.... My car broke a timing belt at 60,112 miles and destroyed the engine. The repair cost was more than the value of the car so I had to sell it for junk ($100). I have been driving my 2006 Chevy Aveo for 2 years now with no mechanical problems. It gets very good gas mileage at around 30+ MPG and handles well on long trips. The interior is not fancy and has only minimum creature comforts but is not bad. I purchase the car for only $900 with 46,000 miles on it with a dent in the fender and hood. The parts to repair it were available in the local junkyard at a very low price. I feel that the car will hold up for another 50,000 miles without any major problems and will have provided great service at a very very low cost. The car does not do much to project an image but it is a great car for students and poorer people.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Well Maintened but still had major problems

mindintomatter, 07/30/2012
5 of 12 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car for an amazing price. And I know most people probably purchase the Aveo because of that. At $80,000 miles my car has had a string of major problems. The mechanic remarked that he's been fixing Aveos lately with the same problems. The front struts give out, the Temp Sensor, and the Solenoid. My check engine light just came on again. From speaking to people who have Aveos they say this car is badly built and usually doesn't make it to 100,000 miles. The back seat has almost no leg room either.

Report Abuse

Wallet Saver

G8rB8t, 06/22/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great little car. I drive 116 miles a day and given that this car has nothing, and I mean nothing to it, it does the job well. I can live without the AC and the AM/FM radio is par but works and helps me survive the commute. The sole purpose of this car was as a commuter for work and nothing more and it does just that. Currently have filled the tank 20 times and am averaging 35.7 MPG. I am a spirited driver so I am sure others could do much better if they don't average 10 mph over the limit like I do.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050