Skip to main content

Used 2019 Volvo XC90 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$30,900 - $56,858

Used XC90 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

After a great disappointment with LR Velar

Amarilis Riveron, 08/05/2018
updated 08/14/2019
2019 Volvo XC90 T6 Inscription 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Twincharger 8A)
63 of 63 people found this review helpful

I owned 2013 MDX, overall I was very happy. Started looking for new car but I didn’t want to get the same MDX, they are planning to bring back a new one by 2020. So, started my research, I drove the Q7, Atlas, X5, RX, MKT. They are all good cars, all depends what are you looking for. I saw a Land Rover Velar and I fall in love, the futuristic layout interior and exterior was the breaking point, I WAS WRONG, after 3 weeks with the Velar, spent 2 with a Loner. Definitely something was wrong about the car. So I took a hard decision, need a new car now, I will loose money but is better than drive a car that you are not safe. I went back to my list and looked into the volvo xc90, there were mixed reviews but decided to get a test drive, the dealer was very nice and let me drive the car for a day, by the end of that day I had made my mind. I had now my volvo for 2 month, loved. There is not other brand that give you so many safety features for the money, and they actually work very well. The interior is one of the best in his class, sitting very confortable even for the third. Exterior is styling and unique, the ride is good, could be bumpy in some roads, but no far from his other competitor. I got the top trim. Love it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I have ever bought

John Sturdevant, 01/01/2019
2019 Volvo XC90 T8 Inscription Twin Engine Plug-In Hybrid 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Twincharger gas/electric hybrid 8A)
31 of 31 people found this review helpful

Was I crazy to pay over $80k for a Volvo? Not at all, it’s absolutely the most incredible vehicle I have ever owned. So powerful, quiet and perfectly put together. Every detail is elegant and functional.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

3 years and we are still as happy when purchased.

W. Griffin, 12/12/2018
updated 07/06/2022
2019 Volvo XC90 T6 Inscription 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Twincharger 8A)
46 of 48 people found this review helpful

After 3 years we are still happy with the car. Runs well on long trips and around town. Plans are to keep this vehicle for a long time. Good Buy.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Sadly disappointed...

Ryan, 12/16/2019
2019 Volvo XC90 T8 Inscription Twin Engine Plug-In Hybrid 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Twincharger gas/electric hybrid 8A)
54 of 57 people found this review helpful

I bought a fully loaded XC90 T8 after seeing it at the auto show, primarily because of the 7 seats (for taking everyone in one car), the safety features, and the luxurious interior. I leased the car for 3 years with the intention of buying it after, but sadly after 24 months, I'm paying $5000 to CarMax to get out of my lease and have them take if off my hands. It's a bitter divorce because I do love all the reasons why I bought it. The Auto Pilot is awesome and I love the touch screen and especially love the Bowers & Wilkins audio. But the problems started soon after delivery with multiple service and Volvo On-Call lights coming on that required multiple service apts. Also, in the first year the air suspension went out and needed to be replaced. The second year, the rear transmission broke. It keep jolting the rear of the car like I ran over a huge pothole, but then I would look and there wasn't one. I didn't know what it was until several times that I tried to pull out into traffic and it lost power on me. I had to step on the gas hard to get the car to move. Then it leaked transmission fluid all over the garage. Volvo repaired it, and then it had to go back in 2 more times because they couldn't get the gasket fit correctly to stop the leaking. Upon the last time at Bob Smith Volvo in Calabasas, CA, the service department returned my car with a huge dent in the rear passenger door. Of course they took responsibility, but it took over 2 weeks for them to repair it. Volvo is good about giving you a current model Volvo as a courtesy car, and I've been able to drive every one of their different models. After driving the XC40 for several weeks (of course while paying a lease on a $90K car), I realized how bad the brakes are in the XC90 T8, they do require quite a bit of brake petal force in comparison to all the other cars. In the past 2 months, my XC90 has been in the service dept for 28 days! I can't take it anymore. I didn't want to believe Consumer Reports when they rated Volvo as terrible in Reliability, but they are not so wrong. I have never had more problems with any other vehicle I have ever owned. And It's not like I bought a cheap Volvo, in fact, just the opposite, I bought their best one, fully loaded. And now I understand why more people are not buying these cars. It's really sad and disappointing. I spent over $41K to drive this car for 24 months and now I can say for sure it was the worst car I have ever bought.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Trying to <3 my Volvo XC90 but it is not reliable

Stacy, 08/05/2019
updated 02/06/2020
2019 Volvo XC90 T5 Momentum 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
34 of 36 people found this review helpful

I took one look at the XC90 and sent my husband a text with a heart emoji. By the end of the week, my husband picked out the perfect car with the bells and whistles. I got the T5 though because I'm not driving fast in carpool waiting for my kids to get out of school, so why spend the extra $10,000. Anyways, I bought it in February 2019 and it has had several issues. The small activity key failed and died after a month of use. We were left stranded in a parking lot until some friends were able to break into our house to find the regular keys and bring them to us. The sunroof would not close due to a computer sensor malfunction. They could not fix my until the following week, so I had to drive around with a hole in my car. The car completely turned off while moving through an intersection. After restarting, we were able to continue. The fuel injector broke, but at least they gave me a courtesy car. Most recently the auxiliary battery died and had to be released. Reliability is not this car's strength.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: