Used 1994 Volvo 850 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$767 - $1,849

Used 850 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

volvo 850 turbo

jamesmcsweeney, 02/15/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have a volvo 850 turbo since 2005 and I have fond it a very comfortable car to drive it has a lot of power and with a proper tune up its very fast .its also nimble in traffic .Yes you have to put premiuim gas in it but that is a small sacrifice for the power you are getting . all in all I love this car .

Report Abuse

Great car

seashell, 10/20/2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought the car because of the safety features. Luckily they've never been tested. The drivers seat is the most comfortable seat as was my 240. It gets decent mileage 22 to 25 (includes some highway driving). I don't like the price of the 30K service work but it's never let me down. The finish has held up great with waxing twice a year. The antenna has gotten bent in car washes and had to be replaced. I wish the new ones had as much room. I do ocassionally have to tighten the nut on the windshield washer arm. Overall it has been good to me.

Report Abuse

FUN CAR! :D

brando, 04/07/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

FUN TO DRIVE! VERY PRACTICAL!.......WILL LAST A LONG TIME... MINE HAS 195K.

Report Abuse

Great Car

regnellie, 08/18/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car new in 94 and have loved it! Car just totaled in an accident and of course everyone in the car walked away without a scratch! We will purchase another Volvo to replace this one, a used one this time. They are such great cars we have no second thoughts about purchasing a used Volvo, our first used car. Had around 108K miles and we had not had any major repairs done to the car. The yearly service was pricey, which is my only complaint with Volvos. However, they are such reliable cars that it seems like a small matter overall. This was our second Volvo and we will probably always own as least one! Tons of trunk space.

Report Abuse

Depends on your climate

Jason, 09/01/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought with 78K miles in 2001. Amazingly harsh and brittle ride, lack of power at low speeds, tendency to wander at high speeds, narrow tires not very confidence-inspiring. Significant body roll, squeaky but effective brakes. Had a $500 problem with it once every year. Broken down only once, when the battery decided it had had enough and wanted to explode but didn't. AC evaporator tends to fail and costs a grand to fix. This car lets in an amazing about of heat in the summer, and I live in the northeast. This car is relatively cheap to buy now, but I would only recommend it to residents of Canada who don't like driving fast and have autobahn-quality roads where they live.

Report Abuse

Disappointed

jw, 03/11/2002
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I'm disappointed, this car has been the most unreliable vehicle that I've ever owned. It keeps on breaking, transmission, oil leaks,radio antenna, seat heater etc. etc. etc. . Each time I've thought well thats all, but it never is. This is all in addition to the fact that I've taken it in for every scheduled maintenance.

Report Abuse

save your money

qsource, 07/30/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

repairs are expensive for this vehicle, fuel pump died at 158000, turbo died at 164000, now it needs new valve seals at 166000 have not gone two months without something needing a repair.

Report Abuse

Volvo 850

lelan80, 04/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great Car - comforting to know family is in something so safe. Great Brakes

Report Abuse

good value for the money

atlmberry, 04/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The value of options is good for the price range, however... if you are looking for reliability first, you probably don't want to look here. I got a "well" maintained 850 with only 83k miles - had it checked out before my purchase only to find out later there were many repairs required (A/C leak, rear main oil, front oil leak, etc.). It's a very nice looking car with alot of options but it's no Acura when it comes to repairs.

Report Abuse

2nd owner can't complain

bfriend, 06/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my '94 turbo in '98 and have had very good performance out of it. Reliability better than expected and dealerships (in 3 different states) have been more helpful than my distrustful nature cares to admit. Paint still looks good and overall have been satisfied.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050