Used 2007 Volkswagen Touareg Consumer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
43 reviews
List Price Estimate
$4,354 - $7,127

Used Touareg for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3.88 out of 5 stars

Positive Experience

EdR, 10/07/2010
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

Unlike others here, my experience has been very positive over 60,000 miles. This is a late 2007 with the FSI engine. Mileage is 16 to 18 on highway at higher than posted speeds. Issues - generally minor -- have been quickly resolved at various service locations. Reliability has been excellent -- no issues noted. Handles superbly on the road (equipped with 19" wheels and premium tires/air suspension). Heavy solid vehicle which does lead to limited tire life on secondary roads -- generally 16,000 to 18,000 miles. Brakes are excellent but require more frequency replacement than typical. Quiet and luxury feel.

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

"Farfegnugen"

Pamela, 01/05/2007
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I love my new Touareg! I don't think that I've ever said that about any other car I've owned. My last two new cars were Volvos that I had both under a year (ouch)! The Touareg has every little gadget and more. It has all the features that my husbands 06' BMW 750Li, not to mention that the Touareg has a backup camera and his doesn't! The V8 Touareg is fun to drive especially going up our curvy mountain road in Sports Mode! This SUV is not only fun to drive but has great curb appeal! I have had quite a few people stop and ask me about my Touareg and love telling them about. I hope that when I turn it at the end of the lease that VW will continue to make the Touareg as good or better!

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Love this vehicle!!

gobubba, 12/30/2012
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

We have the 2007 V8 with every option available. Can't say enough about how much we love to own and drive it! Where else can you get a "car" (remember it is a unibody) that tows nearly anything a person could want to tow. It weighs about the same as a Suburban or Tahoe, so the ride and handling are superb. The factory roof rails run the entire length of the roof which makes mounting boxes or a bike rack a breeze. We bought a certified used Highlander prior to the Touareg and only owned it for two weeks before we forced the dealer to buy it back. The engine had what Toyota considers "normal" piston slap and the drivetrain whined like it was extremely worn out, also considered "normal".

Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Don't do it!!

BT, 06/27/2018
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

Got this car from a friend for cheap, I thought, because the dealer didn't want this car with 150,000 miles. At 160,000 miles I am selling the car for parts. Two weeks ago I replaced the drive shaft, very common problem, expect to replace one every 50 to 60K miles. Last week I replaced the heater blower motor, ok I can accept that it failed with 160K miles. However, this week the engine was running poorly on my way home, 3 miles. Pulled the codes and found that I had a cam position error, this car has a chain not a belt, which should last at least 200K miles. Started the car in the morning and it was running fine. I got on the highway and got a low oil pressure, stop car immediately, warning on the dash. Towed to mechanic. Found that this car has problems with stretching timing chains, very common problem, expect to have on replaced before 180K miles. Problem is that the timing chain is at the back of the motor. Motor must be pulled to replace the chain $3000. This engine also has a problem with oil pumps, $1200. Car is now a throw away. Over the past year I have also had window switch problems, typical. Headlight intermittent issue, mechanic told me that he sees this on almost all of them, just hit it to have the light make contact. Rear window would not open, and rear window defroster would not work. Wiring harness was cut by the tailgate hinge, another common problem. By the way, VW is notorious for vacuum leak issues which will light the check engine light. Other than all of these very serious very common problems, its a great car, but you will have to change the brakes and tires often. STAY AWAY!!!!! Worst reliability of any car I ever owned. Update: I kept the car and decided to try and fix it since I can't get a good car for the amount of repairs. Should have thrown it away. Found that I had a bad PVC diaphragm, which should have been a simple repair. Part cost $25, labor was over $800 (dealer labor was estimated over $1200). Repairs for the oil pressure did not work and it returned. I am now having the oil pan removed to have the pick up tube cleaned and clean any debris in the bottom of the engine. VW is notorious for engine debris clogging the pickup tube with a strainer that is too small. I have now spent more in repairs in this car than repairs for all my cars total over the past 20 years. Stay away from this car!!! Final update. Sold this piece of junk to the Toureg mechanic at the local VW dealer. He told me that the low oil pressure problem is due to the pin that holds the gear on to the oil pump shears off, a known problem. Oil pump is driven by the timing chain on the rear of the engine, approx. $4000 in labor. My flex pipes on the exhaust also needed replacing. Neither Midas or the local custom exhaust fabricator would work on the car. Job is estimated at 10 hours for one pipe. Car has two pipes which cost $750 each, without labor. Final straw was when I was taking the car to the mechanic for the last time to try again to fix the oil pressure issue, I was not aware of the gear issue then, and was told the the high pressure fuel pump was going. Another $1000 in labor. Sold the car for $1300 and was happy to get it. Outside of the mechanical issues the car was mint. STAY AWAY FROM VW!!!!!

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

2007 Touareg

spike, 01/16/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

We're thrilled with Touareg. It drives like a car and is solid - nothing is loose anywhere. The doors and sunroof shut tightly and very it is quiet inside. That seems to be the VW trademark, lately. This truck is really well made. Its power delivery is smooth, but it's a heavy car. So be patient. I've had three Japanese cars - a Nissan, Infiniti, and a Lexus and four German cars - a BMW, Mercedes-Benz and VW. Personally, I find German cars to be more sturdy, functional and practical. Some might say Japanese cars are more refined, sophisticated...etc. The Touareg exemplifies all these qualities without losing its German character.

Report Abuse
1.63 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY!

worstcarever, 06/14/2010
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

This car was horrible! It was in the shop almost every week. VW dealerships never have the parts. I think I drove a loaner car more than I drove this car. After only 1 year, I rolled a bunch of negative equity into a new car, because I just couldn't put up with it anymore. MAJOR electrical problems. Headlights would totally go out, fuel pump and fuel pump manifold out, the list goes on and on. VW service, they aren't helpful. Gas mileage is horrible. Navigation is way outdated, and requires a special DVD/CD that the manufacture rarely updates. I tried to get it updated, haven't updated Colorado roads since 2006! Do not buy! You will be sorry!

Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

A Huge Money Sink

Anon, 06/05/2016
V10 TDI 4dr SUV AWD (4.9L 10cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
16 of 20 people found this review helpful

This car has cost me so much. Full synthetic oil changes, premium fuel (I average 17 mpg), and incredibly high maintenance cost. It's a very comfortable car but it's not worth the headaches and repairs. $300 for an O2 sensor, $900 for crank case vent valve, $373 for mass air flow sensor, and now the Cats need replacing....$1600. Additionally, the value of Touaregs and Volkswagen in general have gone way down due to the emissions scandals--it makes no difference whether your vehicle is a TDI or not. I ended up selling the car, taking out an unsecured loan to cover the negativity equity ($6200), and then purchased a Jeep. I haven't looked back.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2.63 out of 5 stars

My Engine Just Blew

V6 2007 Treg, 07/14/2010
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Car is at the dealer and waiting for a new engine. 4 months left on the lease and I can't wait to give it back.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Love the Touareg

automatic, 01/21/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

I am amazed with the car like ride and Lexus like build quality. I love the design and confident stance.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Brake work

david grunebaum, 08/21/2008
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

With 42,000 miles the brake pad light came on. The dealers proposed cost for pads and rotors (rotors were required even though no evidence of need) $1690! That is correct nearly $1700 for initial brake work. Oil changes run $130. Any part is extremely expensive. On a BMW this brake job would be free. The care is needlessly expensive to operate.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride

herg, 01/13/2007
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is the best vehicle I have ever owned in my 20 years of driving. VW went above and beyond on this one and the dealership was great too.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

This is Awesome!

K.B.S., 01/19/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is great! The build quality and rigidity are excellent and it is more comfortable than my old Cadillac Escalade! The reliability has been excellent as well, though that is to be expected from a VW. I have had no problems whatsoever. I already have almost 7,000 miles on it and it runs very well. The gas mileage isn't perfect, but considering the fact that the vehicle is built better than a tank and tows 7,700 lbs, I don't mind. The V6 is not the most athletic of engines, but the V8 is too much for me and I couldn't justify paying almost $70,000 (with options) for the V10 TDI, but it has plenty of power and is very smooth, as is the tranny. Buy one! They don't fail to satisfy!

Report Abuse
1.5 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR

hatetoureg, 02/05/2012
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
16 of 34 people found this review helpful

Save your money and shop else where. We bought this car new in 2007 from Stolhman. I hate the people at Stolhman. They are rude and were soo unhelpful from the moment we had to bring it in for issues at 5,000 miles. In the end they blammed us. This car is beyond disappointing and I wouldn't drive it again if someone gave me one for free with a million dollars. The number of little items that went on the car from the beginning were endless...at 100,000 miles it needed over $8,000 in repairs. I never had an accident with this car. Interior fabulous. Issues included: Tire sensors were broken from day one, transmission, heater issues, window issues, break issues and the list goes on..

Report Abuse
3.13 out of 5 stars

Wouldn't buy it

miamicustoemr, 06/21/2010
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Car is too heavy, get ready for changing brakes and tires every 20K miles even with my wife driving it. Worse warranty in the industry. poor pick up performance due also to the weight. Horrible customer service, road side assistance sent my car to another dealer across town and it was sitting in the parking lot, no one knew about the car even after being assure by the customer service department that they had received the car. If you must buy this car I suggest at least never buy from south motors in Miami.

Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

I just lost $8000......

T, 09/02/2015
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
10 of 21 people found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, I love this car. It drives great and is beautiful. But due to having a family of 5, two young hockey players, I had to get something bigger. Here's where I start to hate this car. I purchased it used just a year and a half ago for $21,000. I checked kbb and nada at the time and that was the value. I now owe the bank $18000. And the car is worth $10,000.....oh my lands! Never in my life have I been upside down in a loan. The car is in excellent condition and has half the miles it's supposed to, so how the heck did this happen?!!! I will never buy another vw for this reason.

Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Great Car - Aweful Value

John, 12/21/2009
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought a 07 Touareg a little over a year ago. At first I was very happy. But after a year a lot started happening to it. Little things... But what topped it over, after 34k miles I now have to drop 1700 for 4 new breaks and rotters. Buyer beware... if you buy a touareg you will be dropping a ton of money in it to keep it up - do yourself a favor - go buy a Acura or a Toyota... Stay away from the Touareg and your wallet will appreciate it...

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great German SUV - Go Drive

Robert, 01/16/2007
V10 TDI 4dr SUV AWD (4.9L 10cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
9 of 21 people found this review helpful

What a wonderful German engineered SUV! It is the best in its class, by far. I have had no problems with mine.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Good Solid SUV

Bill M, 01/11/2009
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have 43,000 miles on the Touareg and still enjoy driving the car. We especially like the quiet solid ride. Handling is shape with good braking. Transmission shifts smoothly in drive drop down to the sport position and the performance gains are note worthy. The power is excellent with a average of 17.5 mpg in SoCal driving. We just replace the front brake at the VW dealer $600 the back brakes should be good for 60,000 miles. The tire were replace at 36,000 miles. The GPS lacks detail but the backup camera make the GPS a fair value. Much better car than the FX45 we traded in. The interior has shown no signs of wear, the heated seats can bake your backside in short order. GREAT SUV

Report Abuse
2.63 out of 5 stars

Beware

Bill, 12/24/2009
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car for the first 48,000 miles but since then the car has been in the shop every 2,000 miles with check engine lights. The cooling fans, EMC computer, parking brake peddle, several emission controls, radio, windows and sun roof controls have failed and it is in the shop now for new engine coils. My wife will not drive car out of town because we can not trust the car to get her home.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Awsome SUV for the Money

jforr, 01/12/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Touareg provides the best in on road performance combined with the best on off road performance as well. It is quiet and refined on the highway and has excellent turning radius for it's size. The Touareg is by far the best value for a premium SUV.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Nice Truck

Djsamy, 01/23/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The 2007 Touareg V6 has a nice ride. It's a smooth truck and a beast in the snow.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

This is an Awesome SUV!

KeithB, 02/16/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am very happy with my new Touareg. I waited for the 3.6L FSI engine and it does not disappoint. The fit and finish here is top notch. I have owned BMW's and Audi's and I like the Audi feel of the Touareg in terms of ride quality and German feel. Nice rig!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Has It Changed for the Better

bob, 03/15/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I only have had my Touareg for four weeks now. It has no brake noise at all. I can't feel the transmission shift at all. There is a major difference in the power of this engine vs. the the past one tested last year. It it totally stable on the turnpike at higher speeds and it puts my Acura MDX to shame in all respects, except for the rear cargo room which I didn't need it anyway. It has a real "Euro" ride. I hope it stays this way.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

Bob, 03/24/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Replaced my 2003 Acura MDX which I thought was a great vehicle. This car outshines the acura in every respect. They changed the engine this year and it's great, no complaints, but it's still new. I can't feel the transmission shift. If it stays like this in the future I think I've died and went to auto heaven.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Near Perfection

MCARZ, 05/28/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This SUV has got it all! The acceleration on it is marvelous. I have enjoyed driving it most going up-hill with four passengers, that's when it really shines! The interior layout makes everything easy to reach and operate, a rare find these days! Volkswagen showed off on this one, the X5, M-Class, MDX, and RX 330 have nothing on this one!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Diesel fan

Dick Bare, 11/08/2007
V10 TDI 4dr SUV AWD (4.9L 10cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my second Touareg, first was a gasoline, 2004, had a few problems as it was the first year out, this car is much improved and a rocket ship, faster than the sister Porsche by .6 second, (Cayenne S), no problems so far in 5000 miles.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Best Ever

bob shulman, 11/07/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My previous SUV was am Acura MDX, which I was totaly satisfied with. The Volkswagen drives so much better, feels better (its the euro feeling), same mileage, much more power, but everyday I enjoy the vehicle more and more, its not the Volkswagen our parents had years ago.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I love Virginia

Joyce Glick, 12/26/2018
V10 TDI 4dr SUV AWD (4.9L 10cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car, super fast off the line, cruises we’ll and ya get great gas mileage. Minor interior problem with headrest piping out because the plastic ring breaks, one seat latch broke again because it’s olaatic and not metal. Once in 5 degree weather it took a long time to turn over (I forgot battery warmer) 2007-2109 at 81000 miles mostly cross-country and when I drive below 2 rpms at the speed limit I’ve gotten Virginia to go 780 miles on one complete tank of diesel. Bumped my previous record of 750 - rolls that out to approximately 21-24 mpg. The only drawback Ive had recently is all the mechanic who know and worked on her for 10 years have been replaced at the dealership. I’ve only had to change the glow-plugs once and did them all at the same time, and on rear window that a friends aomehow got off the rail and broke and one right front part that works the neumatics of the car going up/down while in auto vs comfort or sport. Back seat lays flat for pets or emergency bed and Virginia still drives like a dream. I maintain it on its regular schedule. I’ve also changed both batteries out twice at the same time. Minor thinks that weren’t though our are; the emergency key release (no you can get that cover off with a ball point pen per the instructions. But, a paperclip works great. (Good luck finding that tiny cover when it goes flying as you pry it off.) also the center concole they could of put a place to run the wires from plug to iPod without having to close the console door. My 2007 doesn’t have Bluetooth so I can’t hook up my phone. But in my car it would work on Germany lol. With a phone. It’s a heavy, safe car that’s reliable, fast, fun and can pull my airstream like nothing even up/down hills. And I just noticed I need a new air hose for the compressor plus I think they should update the navigation system without it costing me 300.00 because I did pay 75,000 cash for it. Plus the next year VW have free oil changes for life, etc etc. which VW should give to their “luxury” cars anyway. Overall roomy, comfortable, easy to drive on any road condition and last of the VW powerhouses. Reliable & responsive. I love my 2007 V-10 tdi (diesel)

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Pos

Jessie, 09/09/2017
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Do not buy this broken brown more then driven lawn aorderment more then should be money pit lemon don't buy spend your money on something that's not a pit I put 10 miles on mine has not been on road for 3 mouths one part after another putting in ditch for free counting my losses

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

VW Touareg 2008 V6 TDI

E55, 12/15/2008
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 10 people found this review helpful

I got mine since may 2008. I have v6 tdi version. Fuel consumption around 26 mpg in city- 36-40 mpg at highway. Not bad for diesel. If compare to 16/21 for us v6 version, I have done test drive with VW staff. It's amazing what they do with touareg! We were at Nice off road and on airport take off lane. Definitely will take my to us next time.

Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

Buy Something Else

Feedback, 01/18/2010
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Unreliable, bad service, poor build quality, low resale value, gas hog and these are the best hings about the Touareg. I lease this SUV for my wife and for the first 40,000 miles we were mostly happy with the car but for the last 20,000 miles it has been a horror story. Everything from the sunroof and windows which seem to have mind of their own to the engine control unit have failed. There times when we were not even able to get the car off the dealers lot after service without another failure of a system or part. The VW Touareg and the VW services is sub par. Do not buy this car it will fail you at the worst possible time.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Dream Machine

Joshei, 01/19/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This SUV is really good. I can easily pull my boat with it. It's also very safe. It has lot of space in the interior.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Missing Two Important Features

AnshuNJ, 02/21/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is an amazing small SUV, but it does not come with built-in satellite radio (it's not even an option). I don't like to use standalone dashboard-mounted satellite radio player. Also, the navigation system does not have voice recognition.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Nice Boring SUV

OCNJ19, 07/23/2008
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I liked this car a lot. The ride was great, very comfortable and a ton of features. My first choice at the time was the x5 but it just came out and it was extremely expensive. I got it all decked out fully loaded nav, rear view camera, better leather, folding mirrors, power steering wheel. I really liked the information display in between the tachometer and speedometer. it gave me a ton of info about my vehicle. Although i liked the car i felt the steering was too loose meaning i had to turn hard to turn especially at low speeds. I also though the design was boring even the rims were boring. I didn't have any technical issues with the vehicle. I just purchased a x5 and its even better

Report Abuse
3.25 out of 5 stars

Good for 45,000 miles, THEN PURE HELL

Bill M., 03/16/2009
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoyed the car for the first 45,000 miles but since then the Touareg can't make it 500 miles without a check engine light, bad cooling fans, sunroof and windows that mysteriously open by them self,power seats that fail, X brake that won't release, etc. In fact after the last visit to the dealership we could not even get off the lot because the brakes were locked and would not release. It is VW policy that if a item doesn't fail like our power seats which made a horrible grinding noise and would freeze in the down position VW will not warranty the item. VW would just unfreeze the seat and say that it did not fail and we had to live with the grinding noise. BEWARE OF VW.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Touareg Love

rock, 01/13/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I fell in love with my Touareg the moment I took it for a test drive. It's fun and I feel in complete control. Its gas mileage is low, but its an SUV. I haven't had an issue yet, but it's still early. I enjoy it.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

ehd, 01/29/2007
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Touareg has excellent build-quality, power, handling, comfort; and it is fun to drive on and off-road. Despite some of the complaints, the FSI V8's fuel economy is on par with any comparable performance AWD vehicle with 350 hp.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Excellent SUV

Susan Curtis, 01/29/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned other mid-sized premium SUVs and this one is my favorite. It handles so well and I feel very safe in it. It has surpassed my expectations and continues to do so.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

The Touareg is Awesome!

KeithB, 02/12/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We really love our Touareg. The build quality is top notch from the first class interior to the 3.6L FSI V6 which really feels like a V8 and is more economical. This vehicle is a nice ride. I really like how comfortable the car is and that you do not hear any road noise at all. I have owned a lot of BMW's and one Audi and you just can't beat the German car feel here. I also like the idea that the Touareg is somewhat unique in that you don't really see many of them on the road. Everybody has a X5, MDX or whatever. The Touareg stands out from the rest. This vehicle is a keeper!

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

Constant Brake Squeal

carb1776, 02/11/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I looked a many SUVs like the Tribeca, Sante Fe, CR-V and choose the VW because of the leg room and comfortable ride. With 4,900 miles I regret not buying a Honda, Toyota or Nissan. I have had a brake squeal every time the brakes are applied and the VW dealer says it's normal and part of the brake design. I'm embarrassed to drive anyone in my vehicle. $35,000+ is a lot of money to let a vehicle sit in the driveway. You won't find a vehicle with better comfort or handling but the trade-off is the brake squeal. It's annoying and I am filing a Lemon Law complaint if it can't be fixed. I won't buy another VW again.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Get Ready to Spend More Money

VWFan, 02/09/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love to drive my Touareg and drive about 20,000 miles annually. I enjoy the style, handling, and overall quality of the vehicle. That said BEWARE! The brakes last only about 30,000 miles and cost about $1,600 to replace! The tires are pricey and burn out at under 40,000 miles as well. A small front rattle is common, but minor/easily fixed with felt. Don't get me wrong - I love the ride, but for the money I expect more in services and extras that VW just wont deliver. Check out the Audi SUVs for a better deal.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Much Better than the '07 Passat

JimS, 03/02/2007
V6 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased an '07 Passat 3.6 fully loaded with every bell and whistle and had problems from day one and couldn't wait to trade it. I was reluctant to buy another VW but have always loved the Touareg and got a great deal on mine! It is 10 times the vehicle and I love the comfort, safety and performance of my V6, I had wanted the V8 but they didn't have any in Atlanta and none with the 350 HP engine. I had heard terrible reliable ratings for this SUV but so far I am completely pleased, it has no squeaks or rattles and very solid feel. It has horrible gas mileage, but I knew that when I bought it. I have always owned BMW's and Mercedes, the standard features on my Touareg are options on these other two. All in all, I am very pleased!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Creme of the Crop

MM, 07/21/2007
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This mid-size SUV is a great SUV. It is extremely well built, the fit and finish, as well as quality of materials is excellent. On par with what you'd expect from any of the top German automakers. I was a bit skeptical at first. After all dropping 50k for a VW just didn't seem to make sense, ah but when you test drive it you'll love it. I did and drove a V8 fully loaded home. The ride quality is outstanding and the engine is excellent in regards to accelleration and fun to drive factor. If it continue to perform in this manner I'd definitely buy another VW. Let me just say it's not your Grandpa's VW anymore, it a modern art masterpiece.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050