Skip to main content

Used 2018 Toyota Avalon Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$15,000 - $32,998

Used Avalon for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

2018 Avalon Limited - 54 Month Review

Tim, 03/19/2018
updated 03/21/2022
Limited 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
35 of 35 people found this review helpful

I've had my 2018 Avalon Limited for 54 months and 52,500 miles. I love the Avalon - how it handles, comfort and the amenities. I just had service completed on my Avalon, and after the detail, it still looks showroom new. It saddens me to hear that Toyota will be discontinuing the Avalon after 2022. It is way too soon to upgrade as there is quite a bit of life left in my 2018.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Lots to like but I expected more

Ben, 10/01/2018
XLE Plus 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

I usually buy Honda Accord but decided to try an Avalon. Reasons - No V6 available in the 2018 Accord and I did not want to buy a first year V4 Turbo. And was afraid of Turbo lag - which I would absolutely hate. Also, Toyota was running some pretty deep discounts off sticker and to my surprise offered me as much for my trade as I would have advertised it for sale. I also compared GV weight between the two and found the Avalon several hundred pounds heavier. And I like the idea of having more steel around me in a crash. I figured I would pay for it in mpg. Not so as I could not be more pleased with the Avalon fuel economy. First long trip the worst was 33.1 and best was 34.7 mpg. And I was running the AC all the time and going about 75 on the freeway. Who could ask for more? Strange but I have no idea which model Avalon I purchased. The State Farm agent could not tell from the VIN so he called the dealer. Turned out they didn’t know either. All I know is that there is no moon roof, there are floor lights that spell out Avalon and NO compass at all. I really hate that as I don’t mess with Smart phones and I like to know what direction I’m going at all times. Also, I think the dashboard controls are cumbersome and not at all intuitive. And I have NO interest in reading a new car manual that’s as big as the family Bible and much harder to understand. Bottom line, the car is comfortable, sips gas, has great acceleration, has a soft quiet ride and was surprisingly affordable. I hope it has long term dependability like a Honda because I like to keep my cars for at least 150,000 miles.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Almost Home

JRay, 03/19/2019
updated 03/29/2021
Limited 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

My wife and I were T-BONED in a intersection at highway speed by a suv that blew thru a stop sign. It hit her side on passenger door, car is totaled. We went to hospital and 3 hours later released without any major injuries. I personally give the Avalon a 5 star safety rating. We are already looking at buying a new 2019 Toyota Avalon.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota is Superior Quality

RP, 01/23/2018
XLE 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

with months of research..decided on the 2018 Avalon XLE. I do Love this car. It looks sporty, it handles nice and has ample power..very comfortable to drive.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Get the hybrid!

P Spiewak, 05/31/2018
updated 06/04/2019
Limited 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
24 of 26 people found this review helpful

We have a 2018 Avalon Hybrid and have already driven it in 10 states. Its a great car, averages about 40 mpg. Cream interior over the Parisian Blue is beautiful. Get the Limited package which includes heated and cooled front seats. Nav system is the best out there. I would own a Lexus (had 4 of them) but chose the Toyota because the Lexus Nav system has a dangerous and hard to use mouse pad or joystick to control the Nav. This takes way more driver attention that the Avalon touch screen. Mercedes, BMW and Audi have the same problem. I'm almost ready for a Tesla, just want the auto pilot to be a upgraded.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page: