Used 2012 Subaru Outback SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,786 - $19,998

Used Outback for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...15

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

My 2012 Subaru Outback Review!

box4legacy, 12/10/2011
2.5i 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
58 of 61 people found this review helpful

I have owned my 2012 Subaru Outback for approximately three months, and I am very impressed and satisfied with my Subie! I drive many miles each day from and to work, and I needed a comfortable car! I researched into many different automotive manufactures, and a lot of people recommended the Subaru Outback. To make a long story short, the Subaru Outback AWD, and CVT Transmission does wonders on long distance drives on the highway and city with rain, ice, snow, and heat all thrown at my Outback, with excellent results. Currently, I am averaging 31 mpg on the highway, using Shell 87 octane gas, and Mobil-1 5W30 Synthetic Motor Oil.

Report Abuse

Engine Blew at 107,000

Jody Miller, 12/24/2015
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
41 of 43 people found this review helpful

3/12/2018: Update 2012 Subaru Outback Ordeal with Subaru of America 2012 Outback Subaru loaded, 1st new car brought ever. Took exceptional care of my car, kept up on all maintenance and care schedules. (Kept my last 2 cars, 2001 Toyota Highlander to 250,000 miles, and 240 Volvo 350,000 miles +. 2012 Outback head gaskets blew while driving at 50mph, owned 3 years (mainly highway driving, 140 miles to work and Back 4 days a week), Subaru of America paid for half cost of repairs, as said in good faith, $2,250. 2018, 141,000 car staling out , shaking, transmission (staled out in rush hour traffic, highway as car slowed, very dangerous), there turn out to be problem with the transmission that was not fixed as recall, only if your car has a problem, very dangerous, should be a recall, if you do not drive your car a lot, this chance of having the transmission fixed for free, as it should be ends 7/31/2018. 4 weeks later, driving beautifully, engine seized while driving , VERY DANGEROUS! My oil level was fine, my coolant level was fine, the dealership stated they could not know the reason unless they take the engine apart, probably something in the block. Need a new engine. Subaru will not help, they stated they already help me out in good faith. Granted my car has 141,000 miles on it, but how many cars that are taken care, regular maintenance, follows Subaru maintenance plan should go through 2 engines and transmission! Here I spent $30,000 on my 1st new car ever, in my 60s, loved the car when it ran properly, handle great, gas mile great, all the bells and whistles. But to have your car die after 5 years when it was well maintained and having no $0.00 value for trade in is not right. Obviously, I have a problem car, a lemon that these kinds of repairs should not have happen once, never mine twice! Never mind how costly an engine is. Being able to have no reasonable recourse. Although I am trying, at least should get bluebook value for the worth my car if it did not have engine issues which is between $6,998-$7,667. Never mind the dangerous situations I was put in, that thank goodness the car did not caused any serious accident, Shame on Subaru customer service for putting hardship on their customers that are only looking for a fair outcome!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What's not to like?

swtracker, 01/14/2012
2.5i Premium PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
30 of 32 people found this review helpful

We researched for a long time, driving nearly 20 vehicles over 9 months before deciding on this model. On the road it is extremely quiet. I like the leg and headroom and the fit and finish is remarkable. I have been averaging 28 MPG overall with the CVT and am really surprised by that. While the Outback is not considered a SUV, it has almost the same cargo space as our Mid-sized SUV. We live in the mountains and have found the AWD to be very adequate for rough forest service roads and it was able to get through 8 inches of snow with the standard factory highyway tires.

Report Abuse

Love my new Outback

jkk1943, 12/25/2011
2.5i PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

I love the versatility of my new outback. It is comfortable, quiet and great for long road trips. I am impressed with the fuel economy I consistently get 27-28 mpg in the city and 29-31 on the road. The seats are comfortable, visability is great and the layout of instrumentation is driver friendly. Have had a minor warranty problem with fault in emission control system. Dashboard lights went on and cruise control was on longer operational. Took it to a dealer and they found and fixed a cramped emission hose. Be sure to lock down gas cap after filling or you will get the same effect.

Report Abuse

Head Gasket Blew at 69,000 miles

Working Mom, 02/04/2017
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6M)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new off the lot in December 2011. I was thrilled with the fact that I could get such a nice car with a 6 speed manual transmission. It was perfect for me and my family - easy to park, utilitarian and good to drive. However, that changed last month when every light on my dash started flashing just before getting home, and the coolant overflowing in my driveway. Thank God I have AAA to tow it to the dealer. Three weeks later, my dealer tells me that it was the head gasket and that they replaced all the seals as well as the timing belt. Since I have the extended warrantee, it didn't cost me any more than my deductible ($100). Now I'm wondering how long it's going to be before the head gasket fails again. I love this car but now I question its reliability. Update: After waiting over 5 weeks to get my car back I picked up my car and found it had a strange grinding noise coming from the left front wheel - the mechanic told me it was the brake rotor and turned it. Okay- I left the dealership only to have the car break down in rush hour traffic on a very busy stretch of road. It was a harrowing experience that I wouldn’t wish on anyone. Once the car was returned to the dealer it was clear to see that the mechanic wasn’t exactly sure what the problem was- though he was trying to figure it out. I ended up getting rid of the car. I asked the manager why they only replaced the lower half (short block) and didn’t replace the heads - he said Subaru corporate won’t allow that under the extended warranty. My brand new Subaru Outback’s felt cheaper than my old one (the doors sound tinny when they shut) and the tech is glitchy / even the outside temp thermometer wouldn’t register the correct outside temperature) - so I didn’t want to trade mine in on a new Subaru. I really liked my Subaru when it ran but I couldn’t get past the fact that 3 times it totally quit without warning despite diligent servicing. I can’t recommend Subaru to anyone. I went with another manufacturer- hopefully will have better luck with this vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...15
Items per page: