Used 2008 Lexus GS 350 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$8,977 - $11,990

Used GS 350 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Eight years of pleasure.

Jack Zacks, 04/04/2018
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

I owned my 2008 Lexus GS350 for eight wonderful years of driving. There were no repairs other than tires, brakes and normal maintenance. This was my second GS and by far the best car I have owned in 50 years of driving.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fast and Beautiful

Philip, 03/04/2009
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

I previously owned an 06 and the 08 takes care of the few things that the 06 lacked, such as the horse power! This car runs great, accelerates quickly and can stop on a dime. I have never had a better car. I love the nav and the music systems--they are the best. Definitely the best car for the money!!

Report Abuse

Great car - it will surprise you

FreddyK, 09/06/2010
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

Bought this car in October 2009. Mileage is better than expected. 5 road trips with my worst mileage 26.8 best 28.2. Just put new Michelin Pilots on last week to replace the Dunlop Sport tires. Night and day difference.

Report Abuse

Great Car!

Ken, 03/26/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

This is my second lexus moving up from the ES. I test drove the Audi and while it was definitely more sporty, I ultimately came back to the GS. The interior is roomy and packed with features. The GS does not have the tight suspension the A6 has, but it corners well, and has great pickup. As with my previous lexus, the build quality is excellent, and the car is just a blast to drive.

Report Abuse

The Right Choice

Family Guy, 05/06/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I debated between purchasing the GS350 and Infiniti M35, and I ended up choosing this vehicle. Without a doubt, I made the right choice. The M35 may be sportier and offer more options technologically, but the Lexus level of refinement is night and day. I enjoy the clean look of the hidden buttons on the center console-no looking down while driving to try to figure out which one of the fifty buttons to press. I noticed difference in sound quality between the ML and stock audio system. The range and sound quality is much more crisp and distinguished with the ML. A great car all around.

Report Abuse

Great Car - But...

LexusJoe, 06/12/2009
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 12 people found this review helpful

Had the car a little over a year, and I love this car! Great pick up, fun to drive. Nav system is awesome. Sound system ok. HOWEVER - they are trying to bleed me dry on service. Ridiculous items required for "scheduled maintenance" all under the 20K mark for mileage. And front brakes already worn out at only 20K miles! Come on! I had an ES and the thing worked great up to 80K miles. This keeps up, I might actually switch to a BMW next go around...

Report Abuse

Efficient and Fast

GregS96, 06/02/2008
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I leased this car in February, replacing an '04 Mercedes E3204matic with 90k+ miles. This vehicle is very well priced; about $10k less than similiarly equipped Mercedes or BMWs. Performs as advertised (0-60 at 5.8 seconds), with better than advertised highway mileage (approx 29 mpg at 69 mph on PA, MD and VA highways). Run flat tires are a mixed blessing: they have peace of mind with better than expected winter performance (experienced a major blizzard in PA with 18 wheelers jackknifing around me), but they are noisy and harder on bumps. Everybody who sees the car likes its appearance and color (Opaline Pearl), and the interior holds four people adequately (headroom could be improved).

Report Abuse

Outstanding Engineering!

Randy, 04/22/2008
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my second Lexus experience and it is awesome. I have owned a few European cars and Lexus is a much better over all package. The Lexus standard equipment is more comprehensive than its competitors which charge 10K more for the same car. The acceleration, ride, and handling are spot on. The leather is the best in the industry and the ergonomics are perfect. I read a lot of complaints about the hidden controls but I enjoy not having the dash cluttered up with controls that I do not use frequently.

Report Abuse

Nice commuter car

v, 09/23/2010
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

I replaced my BMW 7 for this car because it basically a Toyota with an L. I have had it for little over a year. Never had any issues with it. Right now with about 35,000 on it, it has never been in the shop. It does not compare to a BMW or BENZ, I have owned both. I got sick of the HIGH repair costs on the Beamer that drove me to this car. It is a very well made car with tons of cool tech stuff that I'm too busy to learn about. CONs: If you are used to BMW or BENZ this car has a lot more road noise. I ended up just living with it because it's super reliable and actually we traded my wife's M-roadster for a Lexus 400 and love that car too.

Report Abuse

Best sports sedan for the money

vl1505, 07/13/2011
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
46 of 83 people found this review helpful

Being a mechanic and car enthusiast, I've driven hundreds if not thousands of cars. The only vehicle on the road that's overall better than 350 is 450h. 350 has plenty of power, it's comfortable, roomy, interior materials are very high quality and are well-assembled. Navi, cam, BT are superb. Ride quality is smooth, no cabin noise.. I could talk about GS's styling and performance all day, but it won't convince most potential buyers to lean toward purchasing this beautiful piece of machinery. Even under warranty you have to change oil, filters and brakes. Call Lexus dealer and you'll be pleasantly surprised that GS parts cost about same as Corolla. And I don't recommend buying a warranty

Report Abuse

Best car I have ever driven

govikes80, 02/09/2009
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is the most fun car I have ever owned. I test drove BMW, Audi, Cadillac and found this to be my favorite. Windshield rattle fixed with one trip to dealer. CD text proprietary cd info from sony only a bit annoying as cd titles lacking on nearly all discs unless burn new mp3 or audio disc. Extremely nice ride and truly feels as if in a cockpit. Smokey granite, with black interior.

Report Abuse

Hot Sedan

Richard, 01/03/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I drive approx 2200 miles per month. I needed better mileage than the SUV I owned and compared this with the MB E350, Acura RL, Infiniti M35 and through in the E320 CDI. Having experience with Toyota products in the past gave me some heads up on this vehicle but I kept an open mind. You will not go wrong with the GS 350. My first trip was 225 miles at 26.5 MPG.

Report Abuse

Nice luxury sedan...

Carrito Fino, 11/02/2009
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is a great buy for those who want a nice luxury sedan with nice reliability and comforts. The car hasn't had any type of problems yet and has been great. Comfort and luxury are its main attributes. It rides softly and smoothly. Engine is strong and chassis is well behaved, but do not expect mind bending athleticism. It is a great option to the Germans, and probably the most civilized of the Japanese.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive!

LXS350, 10/17/2008
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

The GS 350 is a great car. You do get excess brake dust on the front wheels, however this is because they are performance brakes! There is limited trunk space. Rear leg room is good and the rear seats are big and comfortable. Fuel economy is good and if you want anything better... well you should not buy a Lexus. Cabin noise is very low. Only thing that is a pain is the voice activated system. By the time it has finished telling you "After the beep please say a command" you could have pushed the buttons. Overall it is a great car!

Report Abuse

LOVE this car/ride!

humblymeinhi, 08/10/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

LOVE IT! Previously a BMW believer, I'd been looking for something to replace my baby (BMW) for something comparable w/out the ongoing maintenance problems, and would last me 10yr+. Test drove the new BMW 5 series, Acura CL, and the Infiniti G35, all but BMW fell short of quality. So, it was between the Lexus & BMW... prices were comparable. Differences were very nice tight sports drive compared to a more luxury ride and long term reliability. Got the Lexus which I thought would take me awhile to get used to (b/c of the ride), but it didn't. I love the many technology options this car has to offer, comfort, and elegance! To my surprise found that there is a high resale demand.

Report Abuse

not made like the older ls400

lz4004, 04/18/2011
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

Overall, it`s a great car although engine noise and squeaky brakes in the winter months. I still drive my 1990 ls400 i bought new as well.

Report Abuse

Paying a lot of money for a lot of issue

kg3000, 08/12/2010
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 15 people found this review helpful

Dash squeak in the cold, there is a coolant smell every once in a while and in the summer if you have the windows down there is a sulfur smell coming from the exhaust. This is a nice car, but with the amount of issues and the price I would never recommend it. Also I have noticed that Lexus dealers are very quick to deny or just use the excuse that its not a big deal when they are approached with issues. Very disappointed in the car and in the way Lexus deals with issues.

Report Abuse

Great Car, Needs Some Upgrades

Gary U, 02/14/2009
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have only had my GS 350 a few days yet driving it is an absolute pleasure. Acceleration is excellent, handling is very good, the seats are comfortable and the sound system is superb. However, the navi, Bluetooth and lack of XM radio are a disappointment. I owned two Acura TLs, the last being the TL Type S, both fine cars. However, I wanted a smooth ride, but still with some power. The GS 350 certainly fills that order. However, the navi system is inferior in every way to the Acura TL as is the Bluetooth operation. The Acura came with XM for free and if you want to install XM on the GS 350, it is an $850 charge. Despite the negatives, the positives are so many that it makes this car a joy

Report Abuse

My GS 350 AWD

mikefirst, 12/17/2007
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Like the quality and total package. For the price and performance it is the best in class comparing with Acura, BMW or MB. Like 0-60 acceleration at 5.8 sec, reasonable mpg for AWD and all the toys.

Report Abuse

Fun to Drive Again

J. Jones, 07/02/2008
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had the GS for two weeks now and just got back from Williamsburg, Virginia and this car is fun to drive and rock solid on the road. The roofline is low and at 5'8'' I've bumped my head a few times but the car is comfortable to drive. I have Black Saffire with Beige interior and it gets lots of looks. I will definitely be buying another one when I trade again.

Report Abuse

Don't Buy Navigation System

JB, 08/05/2008
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You can't use the navigation system while the car is moving even if a person is in the front passenger seat. The darn airbags know someone is sitting in the seat, shouldn't the navigation system know it too? I'd accept this compromise in spite of my real feelings that the driver should be able to use it while moving. The safety argument is nonsense, since pulling over on the side of the highway is not exactly safe.

Report Abuse

Amazing Car

Tom D, 09/11/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Amazing combination of luxury and performance. I have the 40 series summer tires and the cornering is amazing. Looked at the G35/M35 (owned 2 other Infinitis) & 535. The G35/M35 turns WAY too many RPM on the highway - 3400 versus 2300 (GS) at 80. The 535 was TOO expensive, $15,000 more out the door with comparable equipment. The GS is faster than the M35 plus gets several more MPG.

Report Abuse

Some minor quality control issues

Tully44, 09/08/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Being my first Lexus, this 2007 GS350 has spoiled me. I'm not sure I can shop for another manufacturer once my lease is up. But I have experienced some minor quality control issues that are annoying. Within the first 13 months, both side view mirrors gave out and required replacement (occurred at different time), the memory positions for the passenger front seat stopped working (replaced a solenoid), The sunroof wouldn't flip open (replaced a solenoid) and the motorized trunk would not secure (replaced a mechanism within the motor). These have all been nuisance repairs but disappointing none the less. Mechanically, the car is trouble-free.

Report Abuse

Great Value, No Compromise in Quality

John, 03/24/2009
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Driving Experience: Acceleration good (sometimes rigid transition); I have the 18'' tires and you get a good feel for the road; Great turning radius; Interior is the best in class! I feel like I am in a luxurious cockpit. Wood is divine (I have tan interior leather. The tan leather is hard to maintain a clean look; Rims are very stylish; I get 26MPG when I go on road trips...300HP and 27MPG highway! Can't top that. City mileage in LA: 16MPG... mostly because my wife is idle on the roads.; An absolute joy to drive.

Report Abuse

2008 Lexus GS 350

NY guy, 01/13/2008
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car, great quality. And for price, blows E-Class and 5 series away.

Report Abuse

Best car I've ever owned

raiderdave, 03/18/2010
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the first new car that I have owned that I did not have to take back to the dealership for a repair before the first oil change. It is extremely comfortable, and good looking. The only problem i have experienced with it, is that the front rims get very dirty between car washes.

Report Abuse

wow

kenvaillancourt, 06/21/2010
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just purchased and love. I am over 6 feet and able to make the transition from a larger car. Mark Levinson FANTASTIC. Gas mileage after 2 refills over 19 mpg with aggressive driving. I actually hope to keep for a long time. Purchased with Michelin tires and they are great..

Report Abuse

First Time Lexus Driver

texasjust, 02/21/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am thoroughly impressed by this vehicle. I have always driven SUVs and wanted a sporty luxury sedan. I couldn't have asked for more. After intense research, the GS was my first choice. I didn't test drive another car because I was automatically convinced. I have associates who drive BMWs and MBs and they each have taken my GS for a test drive and each of them were impressed.

Report Abuse

Fantastic!

Glftips, 02/25/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my secong GS. I love the 2008. Powerful engine, great ride and very comfortable. Everything you could want in a luxury car!

Report Abuse

My favorite car!

RC, 03/02/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After test driving Acura RL, BMW 535i, and Lexus GS 350 on and off the freeways and curvy roads, I found Lexus GS 350 to be a clear winner. Its ride is smooth, quiet and full of pep!

Report Abuse

Good value for the money

PCM, 12/07/2007
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Gave up an MBZ for this. Love it so far. Nicely equipped. Many options are priced much lower than European counterpart. Excellent GPS with touch screen making the nav system in BMW looked like junk. Ride is soft with a good amount of leaning when cornering. Stiffer suspension should be standard on this car or offer a sport package.Flip out mirror control is obscured by the steering wheel. Excellent acceleration. Good road feel. Glad that run flat is not mandated.

Report Abuse

To many problems - not enough answers

J. Thompson jr. , 05/27/2009
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

Already been to the shop 4 times. Rear View mirror vibrates too much. Heated seats are terrible (I can leave them on in the summer and still not feel heat)... Brake Dust... Dealer can't fix problems or admit these are problems. Lots of road noise. Navigation is terrible. I get that it's a "sports" ride but should it feel like I am driving in a 1987 SUV? Callers complain of quality when I use Bluetooth.

Report Abuse

GSLexusLux

GBW, 12/28/2016
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Best car ever.

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Third Lexus

oku, 11/21/2007
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 29 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd Lexus. I have a 1995 SC 300 and a 1998 GS 300. This car has many more electronics. Lighting in cockpit could be better. Engine and tire noise are something I have never experienced in my other cars. This car has Yokohama tires and I will be replacing them before 300 miles. The glove box is and has been too small for the nice leather booklet case. Hard to find anything in engine compartment because of all the cowling. Quality and workmanship is outstanding. 1995 SC 300 and '98 GS 300 never have had a rattle or squeak, this car is no exception. XM should be standard. Love the car

Report Abuse

Magnificent Car with Few Flaws

Monica, 09/25/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my dream car in Feb/08. Took the car to the dealer 5 times to fix the excessive brake dust on the front wheels. Dealer tried to fix them, but after 5 times, they could not fix it. Finally they told me that the factory knew abut this dust problem, but can not fix it themselves. Factory said if customer complains they will replace with an upgraded pads. But the upgraded pads make so much noise when braking, no one can stand it, so the dealer put the original pad back, the dust problem stays. I wish the sales person told me so. Also trunk and back seat leg room too small. Driver seat side too narrow, can not clean properly. Brake dust is the main problem. Lexus solutions?

Report Abuse

Disappointed

john bauernfeind, 04/23/2009
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have had 2000 GS and RX 300 and liked them. Our new GS is a disappointment. Excessive brake dust, small trunk, lack of leg room in back seat, difficulty in getting out of back, feeling that the roof is too close to my head, ride is rough when not on a smooth road, road noise when not on a smooth road. Have only 7500 mi after 15 mo. Would dearly love to get a 2010 RX but will wait till 2012.

Report Abuse

Nice Car... No Space

dj1billion, 08/14/2009
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great looks, smooth ride, no rear seat space and no trunk space. You figure for 52k it would be bigger than the Avalon.

Report Abuse

GS 350

Sandy, 02/25/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sold our 2000 GS 300 for this 2008 GS 350, wish we had the GS 300 back. Ride is not any better, more road noise, tires will have to go as soon as they wear out. Stereo system not any better, had to have a rattle in dashboard taken care of. Navigation system is so not worth the money, total functionality is not there while vehicle is moving. It was a rip off to pay for nav system, will need to use our Garmin on long trip. Leather seats not the quality of our 2000 GS 300.

Report Abuse

Dr. J's Review

Dr. J, 08/05/2008
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Most amazing sedan in its class in every aspect including quietness, convenience, reliability, and most of all comfort

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050