Skip to main content

2021 Kia K5 Sedan Consumer Reviews

MSRP Starting at
$23,590

Compare dealer price quotes
Select your trim:
12345...11

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Overall nice ride

Aldinero, 08/25/2020
updated 08/31/2022
2021 Kia K5 EX 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
65 of 67 people found this review helpful

The 2021 Kia k5 is indeed a very good looking car.I took the ex k5 for a very good test drive.I own a 2017 optima sxl and it has been a great car.The new k5 looks better is lighter in weight and much quieter interior.Great visibility and fairly comfortable front seats.The ex rode a bit hard but being the first test of this car the tires had 46 lbs of air, so with about 12 lbs less air the ride should be less bouncy.The steering was great and making turns was quick and sporty like.After an enjoyable test ride, there are missing options. no 360 camera on any trim, no heads up display on any trim, although fairly comfortable no real leather on any trim.The 2020 Hyundai Sonata gives better choices in various trims.One note there is a gear shifter in the k5 which I think is a plus.So if one does not care about the extra equipment the Sonata offers the k5 could be a slightly better choice.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

I really like this car

Big dawg, 11/17/2020
2021 Kia K5 LXS 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

Had the pleasure to rent this car and put nearly 1000 miles on it. Seats and seating positions great. Visibility great. Crisp steering. The performance of the engine is incredible. Passing was fun. Car went straight as an arrow in nasty winds. Stereo sounded good. Really a well built car.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Nice Optima upgrade

Luckyguy3122, 03/25/2021
2021 Kia K5 EX 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
22 of 24 people found this review helpful

The car makes rattling noises and squeaking noises all the time, it can get annoying if you let it. upon acceleration the car takes off loud like a mustang GT, maybe its the turbo engine, but it's definitely not refined, smooth or quite like the Optima was. The doors now have this piece of plastic thats raised so that you can pull the door shut, however it digs into the side of your knee while driving unless you stretch you leg all the way out. The pros of this car is the engine is more powerful than the optima and doesn't struggle to move the vehicle. The stereo is great with very nice speakers even in lower trim. the seats are very comfortable, the leather steering wheel gives the car a premium luxury feel...The technology is this car is amazing, I literally had the car drive me home from work using the steering and lane assist. there is the operating system called uvo that has a app for your phone, it allows you to remote start the vehicle, check gas level, check and lock doors, set temperature. the door handles light up as you approach the vehicle, the smart trunk opens automatically when you stand in front of the trunk, the front collision detector sounds if you're getting to close to the vehicle in front of you. there is also a notification sound when the car in front of you pulls off. You have rear traffic sound that alerts you to cross traffic or how close you are backing up to an object. The wireless car charger is not that fast but it does work. it only increases your phone battery 10-15% higher after 30 min of charging under 50% but it charges faster if your phone is above 60% The doors open wider so it's easier to get in and out of. the heated and cooled seats work great and pretty fast. One great surprise is how quickly the engine warms up to heat the car, much appreciated in chicago. After a month of owning my k5 EX the only reason i didnt give it 5 stars is the terrible wind and road noise that comes into the cabin. When I bought the vehicle and got on the highway going home, i thought the salesman left a window open a little, the noise was so loud, i kept pressing the window buttons to make sure none were left ajar. The k5 is much noisier than the prior optima, and i have heard other reviewers mention that also. Other than that I'm pleased with it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

BRAND NEW and already has issues with 2600 miles!

Mike Gerace, 07/30/2021
2021 Kia K5 GT-Line 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

NEW 2021 Kia K5 I leased is already having engine/electrical related issues! 2400 miles in and it already needs to go in for an engine diagnostic on 8/6/21; stopped at a red light and the car had NO pickup/power and RPM’s were pegged at 4500-5000 when I took off from the red light; lights started flashing on the dashboard, etc. Had to glide into the shoulder with my wife and kids in the car to shut the car down and try to see if a restart would help. Restart helped but the fact that the car is BRAND NEW (had 3 miles on it when I leased it) and having these problems already, is NOT a good sign!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

I will never buy another Kia

Liz, 08/17/2021
2021 Kia K5 EX 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

We bought this 2021 K5 in April. Two days later, less than 100 miles on it, the transmission went out and had to be towed back to the dealer. They had the car for 2 weeks, said everything was fine. Today, the car was towed back to the same dealer because the transmission put in 4 months ago has gone out again. Either they used an old transmission in April while telling us it was new, or the transmission for this car is total garbage.

Report Abuse
12345...11
Items per page: