Used 1999 GMC Sonoma Extended Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,111 - $2,323

Used Sonoma for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great ride for a truck

rocket3, 11/04/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was surprised how this truck handles in corners, I didn't expect that GM has some great things in their products. Well built and very reliable

Report Abuse

99 Sonoma SLS 4.3, v6, 4x4, 3 door

herb25, 04/01/2011
6 of 12 people found this review helpful

After going through 3 cars that did not last as long as they should have, I got this truck last year. It had 200000kms on it, the motor sounded like new. The previous owner did not replace the faulty gas gauge which meant changing the fuel pump. I ran out of gas twice before I learned and had the fuel pump replaced (the faulty sending unit is part of the pump). Also the passenger seat would not recline, a mistake at the factory so I bought a parts truck ( 2000 Blazer ) and took the seat from it. I got the truck for $6000, safieted and etested, but so far I have had to replace the rear brake lines, and 3 calipers, gas tank, fuel pump, and rad, signal light switch.

Report Abuse

I shouldn't want to replace it so much

Butterbear, 05/29/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

At 46,000 miles I shouldn't have to replace it, but it has to go. Now that it's out of warranty it's shaping up to be a wallet drainer. The drivers door has come loose 2 times The 3rd door handle snapped off 3 times and it's out of warranty (100.00+ to fix.) The seat is broken. The GMC dealer would not fix, Funny the Chevy dealer says these are common problems and they would "extend" the warranty to fix if it were a Chevy s-10. I never thought there was a difference between the 2 I was wrong. It's probably the most comfortable vehicle I have ever owned but you can't even get fair wholesale for a trade.

Report Abuse

ZR2 Rocks

Tim, 06/09/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Got this truck with 90,000 miles on it. I have the 4.3 Vortec V6. Has 165,xxx now and still running great. Only replaced fuel pump and idler arms. I love the ZR2 (high rider) off road package and 4x4--never get stuck. It handles great and looks sharp. Great for outdoor activities (hunting, camping, fishing) and general all-around use. Love this truck. Reliable. Solidly built. Decent gas mileage. Fun to drive.

Report Abuse

My GMC

SonomaBuyer, 11/10/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just bought a 99 GMC Sonoma a little while ago and I love my truck so far no problems or major mechanical stuff so far. I have always loved trucks. How they handle, engine etc and having an american made truck is even better!!

Report Abuse

Faster Than it Looks

87horizon, 02/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have the 4.3 V-6; it pulls strong and has been trouble-free, although it's starting to develop a leak in the power steering pump at 50,000 miles. The ball-joints had to be replaced at 45,000 miles; a part that I feel should't be replaced at low mileage. Overall, though, this has been a great little pick-up. GM has always built a good pick-up and this one has been no exception.

Report Abuse

My Sonomoa Lexus

rich lloyd, 03/09/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What a great little truck. Only problem in 57000 mi were left power window, cd player, alt., compressor. Normal stuff. Beautiful interior. Can't believe GM built such an ugly interior on their follow up Colorado. I call it the Lexus of small trucks and will be keeping for many more years or until GM builds something as nice

Report Abuse

Good Truck

easyrider, 07/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nice truck overall. Best seats and interior of trucks I looked at. The 4 and automatic combination is very weak on power, but gets the job done. Gas mileage is respectable at 23 MPG. Only problem I've had is AC compressor which was replaced under extended warranty.

Report Abuse

Love this truck

Sparky79, 01/21/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the 2nd Sonoma I've owned and I love these trucks. They are great to drive and are perfect for light jobs around the house and yard.

Report Abuse

Useful but could be better

Brian, 02/05/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got my truck used with about 54,5xx miles on it. I like the look of the truck, especially looking out over the hood from the driver's seat. It's actually quite pleasant to drive for a truck. The suspension isn't too squishy (floaty). The engine (4.3L V6) has good torque. Has several nice features like power locks and windows. I was surprised to find it had heated mirrors (I wish my car had that). My only beefs so far are: 1) it turns like a boat for such a small vehicle 2) wheel travel is too short. I hit the bumpstops on a back road that I never had a problem with in my Subaru 3)build quality isn't so great. The dash squeaks and the seatback adjustment handles are broken off.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050