Skip to main content

Used 2019 Ford Fusion Hybrid Consumer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
32 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

I took the plunge after 2 years of research

Jay Graham, 12/12/2018
updated 06/13/2019
2019 Ford Fusion Hybrid Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
88 of 94 people found this review helpful

2019 FORD FUSION ENERGI REVIEW I have decided it was time for a review of my 2019 Ford Fusion Energi (plug-in hybrid) review after 6 months of ownership. On a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest rating) I give it a 9. Overall I like it a lot. There are a few negatives, but overall, it is a very good and efficient vehicle that seems to meet my needs very well. The overall mpg is between 42 and 43. This compares to 29 for my old Fusion. The EV battery only range is 20 to 30 miles depending on conditions. Extreme cold (-0) I am fortunate to get 15 miles, but in nice weather I can get more than 30 in an urban environment, primarily due to the regenerative braking that charges the battery while driving. The biggest negative is missing the 240 hp of my previous Fusion, but it will make it up the mountain from Phoenix to Flagstaff in a ok fashion. Watching the hybrid battery motor work in conjunction with the gasoline engine is a thing of beauty, It transitions seamlessly for the most efficient drive. The CVT tranny works very well with the Atkinson 4 cyl 2.0 engine. It takes approx. 6 hours to charge on a 120v household circuit, and on a 240v it takes 2.5 hours. It costs from $1.50 to $2 to charge. The body is very sturdy and this gives it a nice ride. The only negative in regard to the body is the much smaller trunk, due to the hybrid battery. Because the gas engine works around ½ the time it requires an Amsoil change every 20,000 or so. The big unanswered question will be, “How long will the hybrid and EV batteries last?” It is warrantied for 7 years or 150,000, but since I drive 50,000 miles a year that equals only 3 years. We shall see. I thank the Lord for this tool to aid me in my work.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

I love mine!

Dale from Michigan, 08/29/2019
2019 Ford Fusion Hybrid SEL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
41 of 43 people found this review helpful

I'm not paid to write this review and I don't have "a dog in the hunt." But I do believe in credit when credit is due. I love my new Fusion. I've had it for about 3 or 4 months now and I love it. No buyer's remorse here. I'm a little older, got back troubles, and I love the ride. It's comfy. It may not be speedy, but it's plenty fast enough. If I need a quick pick-up, I just turn off the Eco with a push of a button and SLAM.... I'm off! I also appreciate the MPG.... From the time I left the dealership to today, I'm getting an average of 44.5.... what's not to like? Oh.... I got the SEL. That's all.... Dale from Michigan

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Hybrid rather than plug-in for us

James, 12/31/2018
2019 Ford Fusion Hybrid Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
85 of 91 people found this review helpful

Would have loved to get the plug in version however the additional battery space eats up all of the trunk. You literally only have enough room for about two bags of groceries. With the hybrid it is somewhat smaller but you can still drop the back seat and have tons of cargo. Not available in plug in. It wasn't worth the extra 40m miles of elect range of the plug in. This so far seems to be the best compromise. Averaging 44 mpg.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional car!

Dan, 07/10/2020
updated 01/18/2022
2019 Ford Fusion Hybrid SEL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2019 Ford Fusion Hybrid SEL with 12,000 miles on it. It was a Ford Certified Preowned. I got a better than new warranty. I got the balance of the 3/36000 factory warranty and another 1/12000 certified warranty that kicks in after the factory warranty expires. The drive train/hybrid is good for 8/80000. I love the tech in this car. The advanced cruise control is a thing of beauty. The lane keep assist works, but not as well as other cars that I've read about. I'm 68 years old and this is the best car I've ever owned. It has an optional moonroof and the optional White Platinum Metallic tri coat. My Ford Focus owners manual had 182 pages, this car is over 500. I'm still learning but it's a fantastic car, too bad they are going to stop making them. Now for the real kicker...got it for $18,500 what the what? I feel like I stole it! Update to November 2021. I owned the car for 18 months and put 4000 miles on it. I'll still say it's the best car I've ever owned. However, due to the crazy Covid car market I sold it to Carmax for $23,200. I made a $4,700 profit and look forward to buying another one in a year or so when this insanity ends.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

This car is amazing coming from a 2016 Cruze

Madmax23, 04/03/2020
2019 Ford Fusion Hybrid Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

Let me first tell you, don't let anyone else especially the haters tell you this car is bad, cause it's not! This has not subpar gas milage, I got this all the way up 607 miles range!!! Yes for a 2019 Ford fusion titanium hybrid I just bought only 6880 miles on it I'm loving with all the safety tech an stuff it's a big step from my Cruze!!! The people that viewed this an gave a subpar fuel economy are just hating an don't know how to view cars at all, seats are comfortable, tech is amazing sync 3 works flawlessly!!! Sony sound system is excellent!!! Only knock about this car I think is maybe not as fast as some other hybrids but it is still gets up an goes!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5