Used 2012 Ford Fiesta Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$7,400 - $8,711

Used Fiesta for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great car for towing behind a motorhome.

Bill, 11/11/2015
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
26 of 28 people found this review helpful

We bought this car because it has an automatic transmission that allows it to be simply put into neutral to be towed. No special transmission cooler required. The car is light enough so that an auxiliary breaking system is not required in most states. We didn't want to get a stick sift because of our age, this was the best option for that reason. So it's a great car to be towed. The transmission is a bit odd, it was totally rebuilt before it had 10,000 miles on it. Ford has increased the warranty on it to 100,000 miles. I currently have about 47,000 on it. One thing I was told by a Ford service rep was to stomp on the gas when the transmission starts to act up. Odd statement, but it works. We've experienced the shifting issues as many on this forum have had, this has happened when driving in town in stop and go traffic. When I can safety excellerate at full trottle, I will do that and it seems to reset the transmission. Just had it into the dealer for a recall on the transmission control module, they reprogrammed it. The module is now warranted to 150,000 miles. They also replaced the door latches, which I didn't know was a recall. I like the car, it is fun to drive, but not the most reliable. I've had many Ford products in the past, but I'm now driving a Toyota for our primary car. It's odd, but Toyota Camry and Siena are listed as more American built then Ford products. The Global economy has blurred the meaning of American made. Update: We stil have this car and it is doing well. No major problems. Update: 11/14/2018 Still have this car, it's still doing well. No Major problems. Update: 11/14/2019 Still have this car, no major problems. Trany still acts up once in awhile when doing a lot of city driving. Hard acceration still corrects it. Update: 11/14/2020 Still have this car, no major problem. Update: 05/16/2021 Still have this car, 70,000 plus miles. Only problem is the A/C isn't working right. Will be taking it in soon, really need A/C living here in Florida. A/C now working. On two occasions, my battery died. In both cases the Transmission Control Units also failed. Not sure why but Ford replaced both at no charge. The last one replaced was only a couple months ago. Interestingly, this replacement works really good. Smooth shifting and no balking like in the past. Did Ford finally fix the issues with the transmission? I don't know but it's working really well now.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't listen to them - This car is great

Nellie Gordon, 10/20/2015
SES 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

First off - DO YOU RESEARCH!!!!! There are recalls for certain parts for this car. They are completely free to have fixed. I did have to have the clutch replaced in my car. (I have the hatchback SFE) This was a recall that Ford had on this model. I waited around 3 months for my service center to receive the part, took it in and had the car back the next day. Prior to the replacement part, there was an engine shudder coming out of first. I can see where this is a problem. This is not a transmission issue. So don't let that throw you off, Ford replaced the part with no questions asked and it didn't cost me a thing. I will continue to have to get the clutch replaced until my warranty is up. Then I'll probably sell it. The gas mileage is amazing on this car. I refuel once a week for 20 bucks. And I drive a ton. Oil changes are painless. I haven't had to replace or fix a single thing yet on it. The only thing I don't like about the car is the space in the back for passengers. It's fairly small in the leg room area. For a couple that's always on the go, it's absolutely perfect! The acceleration is amazing, turning is amazing, I feel like I'm driving my passat for less than half the price for maintenance. No leaks, it's not loud, the transmission runs perfectly fine, my door latches work perfectly fine, everything.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

One of the worst quality cars I’ve seen

Daniel, 01/15/2018
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
21 of 24 people found this review helpful

My girlfriend owns this vehicle and it is plagued with problems at just 35,000 miles. There is a eather stripping coming off the windshield, door jams, window seals, etc. Interior panels falling apart on drivers and passenger side, faulty window switches, faulty transmission that ford will not replace (class action law suit against them for this), rear hatch compartment cover broke off, etc. The list goes on and on and these are all common problems which is unacceptable. The car is driven by a careful young woman, yet it’s falling apart due to the terrible quality of Ford. We are both VERY disappointed at this vehicle and I warn you, as an educated consumer, do your research, and avoid this car like the plague. Originally the vehicle was gifted while in college, but we are now looking forward to selling it because it’s so terrible.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

gear whine in 5th gear

ironroad99, 12/02/2011
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
23 of 27 people found this review helpful

Like everything about this car except transmission gear whine in 5th gear (manual transmission), like traveling on the highway so not good. Dealer says they will rebuild the transmission but I'm thinking there is too big of downside to that. Waited a long time to get a new car and a Ford so really dissapointing, will probably drive a year and trade.

Report Abuse

Automatic transmission is a disaster

pintodw, 06/07/2014
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

I bought this car for good gas mileage as I have a lengthy commute. The vehicle performed well for the first 5K miles but since then I have been in and out of the dealership with automatic transmission problems. My Fiesta now has 23K miles and has been to the dealer five times for transmission work. The last two visits have resulted in major repairs in an attempt to fix the problem and still the problem persists. The transmission shudders, hesitates, and lurches in stop and go traffic or when slowing then starting up again such as at a stop light or stop sign. The dealership has acknowledged there is a problem with this transmission but thus far has refused to replace the transmission. Avoid

Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: