Used 2008 Ford Escape Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$4,490 - $7,995

Used Escape for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Transmission cooler

jackdk, 01/12/2012
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

After doing tons of research on line about the trans cooler defect, I see this has happened to 100's if not 1000's of people that owned 2008 Escapes. I was told Ford did do some repairs on these cars that where built early 2008, and that the CSP (Customer Satisfaction Program) expired in August 2010. My Escape was built in Sept. 2007, which should have covered it. Ford sent a CSP #09B10 to owners for a replacement because of the know defect to the cooler. Since I didn't not own the vehicle until November 2010, I had no idea of the problem, and since the original owner never took it in, I have to pay the price. Called Ford Customer Care, and both them, and the Ford dealer acknowledge the defect, but would not cover it. Since there is no recall, and the CSP is over, I had to pay $644.41 out of my pocket. This is ridicules I am paying for a defect that Ford knows about. They both told me to hold on to my receipt in case there is a recall I can get reimbursed I think this is the last Ford I will own.... Ford's GREAT idea of making the transmission cooler, and the A/C condenser all one piece. This adds a big price for the part. When your cooler needs changed the A/C Freon needs to be emptied, then fill again, which adds to the labor cost. Good thinking Ford! Even though this is connected to the drive train, and keeps your transmission from failing, its not a drive train part, and not cover cause its not internal. ...

Report Abuse

Transmission issues

msgomez1, 06/04/2014
38 of 41 people found this review helpful

Back in 2011 my 2008 Ford Escape was found to have a cracked transmission, leaking fluid, etc. This fix was covered under the extended warranty I bought when I purchased the car. Yesterday I took the car to the dealership for transmission issues and was told my transmission was shot and its a $4000 fix. Shame on Ford for doing such a subpar 'fix' job in 2011. I did try contacting Customer Service for some financial help...what a joke...in 5 minutes they decided they could not help me unless there was a recall. BTW if you call and get a 'Dylan', just hang up, he is no help.

Report Abuse

Good and bad with the 2008 Escape….

Carla, 03/14/2016
XLT 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
66 of 74 people found this review helpful

I bought my Escape 8 years ago. Only 85,000 miles on it at this point. Here are the facts: What I have had to have fixed: since new, Liftgate rattled: numerous trips/replacement by dealership. Ford engineer stumped. Put duct tape around the too-small latch pin and it rattles no more. Automatic part of dome light quit. Replaced once, then quit again. Left it that way. Waterpump needed replaced at 75,000 miles. Control arm starting to come loose at 75,000 miles. Replaced battery and tires once. Now I have a small oil leak starting at 85,000 miles. Was told that this year of Escape is notorious for leaking oil and eventually needing a $5,000 repair to head gasket to fix. Advised me to continue to drive it the way it is, as the repair worth more than the car. Leak is very minimal, no low oil between changes. Seat coverings are horrible. Water even stains them, and you can't get the stains out. Dealer told me he has no idea how to get them out either. Interior and exterior rusting, even though 100% garaged and regularly cleaned/waxed. You be the judge.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Ford XLT

csylv, 03/18/2012
26 of 29 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2008 Escape used a year ago. Yes it had the faulty transmission pump already replaced. It is definitely not the most comfortable ride on the highway. My butt usually goes numb, but in-city driving is easy. The seat is powered on the driver's side helping me gain some more height (I'm only 5'6 making seeing over the steering wheel difficult in large vehicles). The controls are easy to figure out and are large enough that my monkey fingers can get control. This version does lack the Ford Sync of the newer vehicles but still has an audio jack. In town handling is easy but at higher speeds it is a bit of a challenge but has the stability control to help you out.

Report Abuse

Excellent vehicle

Chase, 02/15/2016
XLS 4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
25 of 28 people found this review helpful

Ok let me say this many post reviews based on the experiences in repair shops. And a bad experience with minor things. Overall the escape is a terrific vehicle as with anything it requires maintenence and fluid changes frequently as well as filters. I only have one negative from driving on freeways. Its the moonroof noise. I pirchased a wind deflector hopefully it helps. Over all no problems as of yet recently inspected. Repairs not so bad. But it adds up if your not quick to take care of problems as soon as it rises. Play it smart

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Great small family SUV

mrjustin24, 06/24/2014
40 of 47 people found this review helpful

It still had the truck styling. Too bad the new ones look like space ships. We bought it as a small, safe, family car. It completely served the purpose. It had plenty of cargo space. The seats were cloth and a rough material. Water would leave rings in the material too. However, it was reliable.

Report Abuse

Great Little SUV - BUT slippery when wet

descape1, 01/01/2014
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I've only owned my Escape for 11 months, and I love almost everything about it. It has plenty or room, all seats are comfortable and it's fun to drive and easy to park. I have not had a single issue with it, except I think it might need a battery soon, but that's to be expected with any car that has 72,000 miles and temps around zero here in the Midwest. My only complaint is I didn't get the 4wd. Even with new tires, the front wheels spin at every start when it's raining or snowing. I'm getting used to the traction control light blinking at me (indicating the wheels have lost traction), but still very annoying. Maybe I have a lead foot for the amount of torque in the V6.

Report Abuse

Transmission Cooler Leak

ashnm, 03/10/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Ford will fix this problem at no cost to you. I have a 2008 Ford Escape and my transmission cooler is leaking, causing my transmission to slip. I took my car into Park Cities Ford this morning and they printed out a TSP (Customer Satisfaction Program 09B10) dated March 2010. The form states that the "Transmission Fluid cooler in your vehicle may develop a crack and leak transmission fluid. If not repaired, this leak may result in rough/harsh shifting and potential damage to the transmission." "FMC has authorized your dealer to perform the repairs under this program on your vehicle free of charge (parts and labor). The Program will be in effect until August 31, 2010 regardless of mileage.

Report Abuse

08 Escape 4 cyl Auto Great MPGs for SUV! Very reliable

dalebass3, 04/03/2013
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

We bought our escape with 46k on it and have put 40k on it since. It is a great vehicle for a small family. We are about to have a second child so we are thinking about upsizing a little. These old style boxy SUVs have more room than the newer crossovers I think. Only problem we had was when there was a carbon build up on the throttle body that was making it hard to press the gas. That was easily fixed with some carb cleaner.

Report Abuse

97K miles, 2nd Escape & it's a great car

christofferson, 12/02/2012
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

2008 is my 2nd Escape, previous 2003 that transmission went out at 119K. This one I have 97K miles on it today, and have had no major failures or problems. I like it and it was an excellent buy and value. Mileage is good for a 4X4 and it has handled very well in water, mud and sand (Rocky Point, MX--not 4-wheeling, just the circumstances--rare). I am buying a 2012 right now. I don't like 2013 body style 3.0-V6 This Escape & all small SUVs, have lot of road noise. Seats get tiring when you driving long. That's the nature of what you get and what you pay. Buy good Michelin tires. People complain about seats staining--very easy--use carpet cleaner or expecially Oxyclean---works!

Report Abuse

Terrible product, terrible customer service

kwolff1, 02/19/2014
21 of 25 people found this review helpful

We bought a 2008 Escape, we were so excited to finally have what we thought was a great new car. Well that quickly turned into a nightmare. It needed a new transmission in 2013, and now the transmission is gone again. $7000 to fix!!!! Why does the transmission last only a year?? What garbage. Then on top of the product being terrible, we were treated poorly when we took it to Ford AND by the representatives we spoke to at customer service o the 1-800 number. We are taking it to Honda to trade it in like the scrap it is, and getting a car we can actually rely on!!

Report Abuse

Awesome small SUV!

mmckimmey, 02/11/2015
XLT 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
26 of 32 people found this review helpful

Our 2008 Escape V6 AWD is awesome! It does very well in all weather conditions. The V6 is powerful, sounds good, and gets decent MPG. If you want a 4 cylinder, get a 2009. The 2.3L 4 and 4-spd in the 2008 is woeful! Overall, build quality is excellent. A few rattles here and there, but none are pervasive or persistent. Seats are great, and the ride is super smooth! Wonderful for a long trip. The electric power steering provides good feel at high speeds, and lots of assist at parking lot speeds for easy parking. Ride height is great! Just make sure to service the transmission OFTEN and keep an eye on the levels. These have a tendency to blow cooler lines.

Report Abuse

Failed Transmission

cjutte, 08/01/2011
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

I used to love my Ford Escape. It was a great value and the perfect size for my family of 3 1/2. BUT after my transmission failed at 62,000 miles (just 2,000 miles out of warranty) I will never again purchase another Ford. I was originally looking at Honda and Toyota and wish I had spent the extra money on one of those brands. Not happy with my experience.

Report Abuse

TRANSMISSION FLUID LEAK FROM CONDENSER

ashleyohio, 05/03/2013
25 of 31 people found this review helpful

My 2008 had been diagnosed with a transmission fluid leak from the condenser on May 2 2013. I am 8 months out of my warranty and 10,000 miles under my warranty. This is a $300-$800 repair. The only way to get reimbursed for this issue is after a recall has been published. Only way to get a recall is for about 150,000 complaints to be filed. They must be filed through Ford (1-888-392-3673) and through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (888-327-4236). It take 5-10 minutes for each of those calls and we are steps closer to a recall being issued.

Report Abuse

Better than her Mercedes V8 SUV..by far!

fordz4evr, 01/30/2012
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

My wife had a 2000 Mercedes SUV...430 something or other. Nothing but problems. Accelerator module,seat problems, sunroof stuck open on vacation, check engine light etc, etc... One day I said "this is it...we're going to the Ford dealer and trading this piece of junk" We walked into the showroom and I told her to pick any model she wanted...she wanted the Escape for it's size and maneuverability in traffic. Now, please understand that my wife was no Ford fan...she had a 58' which was junk and swore she'd never own another. She is now in love with her Escape. It's reliable, fun to drive and has incredible acceleration with the V6. When we get a new car, I'm taking hers.

Report Abuse

Poor Gas Mileage

Mark, 08/22/2009
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Bought our 2008 Escape used with only 8000km on it. No real problems except bad gas mileage. The gas tank is too small and no matter how easy I drive this car I can't even get 500km on a tank. I should be at least getting 600km on a tank. Only had it in to the dealer for regular oil changes and one warranty problem. Has a whining sound now that I have to get checked.

Report Abuse

56k miles on Escape XLT and blown head gasket!!

mariposa7684, 12/08/2012
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

Between last oil change/inspection @dealership (everything looked good), and the one this week, car developed an oil leak. No oil on driveway to tip me off. Leakage seen when car on lift-oil was being sprayed on underside. Since source of leak not readily obvious, had dye test done. When car seen yesterday, quite a bit of oil had leaked out. Test points to blown head gasket. Aside from leak, had absolutely no indication there was a problem: no heavy exhaust, no idiot lights on. The bright side is that it was caught before I broke down, killed the engine, etc. I'm posting this mainly to vent. One thing is for absolute sure: I will never, ever buy another Ford.

Report Abuse

Stop Safely now

josephcallendr, 05/22/2013
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have been driving my parents 2008 ford escape hybrid for the past 6 months twice i have had the problem where a lights comes on and on the dashboard it says to stop safely now and the engine huts off and i have to coast to the side of the road and turn the car on and off again it is really scary and not safe when that happens

Report Abuse

2008 Ford Escape XLT

Rb_osu, 11/03/2015
XLT 4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl 4A)
15 of 19 people found this review helpful

Bought the 2008 Escape new in 2007. Loved it until about last year when we started to get nickeled and dimed on repairs. To be expected of an older car I suppose. Electrical in drivers seat went out. Front end rods needed replaced. Starter was going bad. Some of the interior was also wearing. Given the years we lived out west and now in the south, I suppose the oppresive heat likely accelerated these issues as I know people who have 2004 escapes and have had none of these issues. In the end we ultimately traded it in for a bigger vehicle as we added to our family & needed the space.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Leaking Transmission Cooler

jmh, 02/04/2010
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

At 39000 miles the transmission cooler is leaking transmission fluid. As you may have noticed this is a common issue that Ford is well aware of and is doing nothing about. It was close to $900 to repair (not covered under my warranty). I was upset and filed a complaint. I got a response and they were sorry to hear about my issues with my 2008 Edge (which I don't own). They then told me I should take it to a Ford Dealer to have the problem diagnosed. In my complaint I explained to them the fact it was already diagnosed and being fixed. They have poor quality products and poor quality service. I am from Detroit and was trying to do the right thing buying a Ford. That will not happen again.

Report Abuse

Dangerous

roslynr, 06/03/2013
17 of 22 people found this review helpful

On May 24, 2013 while driving in the middle of a memorial day weekend rush hour traffic the lights came on in the dashboard and the suv, was not accelerating and just shut down , while trying to coast to the side of expressway this was impossible, I had to restart the truck. Once the suv restarted a short distance later it shut down again forcing me off the expressway. Once I made it home I called the dealership who told me to contact ford and file a complaint. My truck is a 2008 ford escape. After this email I will contact the BBB , this is dangerous to myself and others in traffic. This is a law suite waiting to happen.

Report Abuse

Accelerator cable broke while driving!

disappointed58, 02/21/2012
32 of 43 people found this review helpful

I had a very disturbing incident happen with my 2008 Escape today that still has me shaken up! My accelerator completely broke while merging into traffic on the highway! The gas pedal fell to the floor and the car wouldn't accelerate. I had 10 seconds to figure out what was going on, quickly applied my brakes and landed in the median, with 2 lanes of hwy traffic going 70 MPH next to me. When my car was towed to the dealership, they informed me that the accelerator cable broke and I would owe $240. I was so upset and called the Cust. Serv. Dept and they did nothing! I could have been hit by a tractor trailer with my kids in the car and FORD DID NOTHING! I'm so furious and scared to drive it!

Report Abuse

Disappointment

unhappy!, 03/20/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Just like everyone else bad condenser unit, around 20,000. Also had the throttle cable snap twice at 26,000 and at 58,000. Also had engine mount go bad at 60,000. This thing is a lemon but the throttle needs to snap once more before I have a suit. I love America and that's why I put my family in a Ford but this thing has been a bucket. I've called Ford but they don't do anything there district manger didn't care that my wife is pregnant and we have 3 children. I will never let myself or my family be in a situation like this again.

Report Abuse

LOVE MY FORD ESCAPE!!!!

pumpkin2008, 09/22/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased an 08 ford escape limited used. I love this SUV, it drives so smooth for a 4WD and handles very well. It is very roomy. I can't wait to try it out in the snow this winter. Gas milage isn't bad for a 4WD, very happy with my purchase.

Report Abuse

Found On Road Dead

Found On Road Dead., 03/16/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I also purchased this car to stay with American made products. Along with others our transmission cooler went out and had to fix on my own. I called and reported it and nothing is being done. It's no wonder people are buying things made outside America. Ford you need to fix this problem or you will lose a lot of customers!

Report Abuse

What a great vehicle!

JENMAC, 03/06/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I turned in my 5 sp manual 98 Explorer Sport for the new 5 sp manual 08 Escape and I love it. The ride is comfy, the gas mileage is great (22-28 mpg) and best of all I can plug in my iPod. It is a fun and safe car to drive with plenty of room for my friends. It is a great car for road trips and vacations.

Report Abuse

Go mobile and pet limo

Celeste Burke, 01/27/2018
XLT 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Great car and very stable in all weather. The only downside is that there are large blind spots so apply the extra blind spot mirrors.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

dont replace tranny w/out testng brake caliper 1st

Gene, 01/11/2020
XLT 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Due to water from air conditioner dripping onto passenger wheel a sticky caliper causes symptoms that mimic transmission failure. Bleeding that wheel if fluid is florescent orange/rusty then that is symptoms of rusting brake caliper piston which causes intermittent symptoms throwing off speed sensor and holds truck back etc.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2008 Ford Escape Overall good

stephani555, 05/05/2010
8 of 11 people found this review helpful

How come this is the only web site that shows the recall information for the 2008 ford Transmission Fluid cooler in your vehicle may develop a crack and leak transmission fluid. If not repaired, this leak may result in rough/harsh shifting and potential damage to the transmission." "FMC has authorized your dealer to perform the repairs under this program on your vehicle free of charge (parts and labor). The Program will be in effect until August 31, 2010 regardless of mileage.

Report Abuse

So done with Ford!

Veronica, 09/10/2016
XLT 4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl 4A)
9 of 13 people found this review helpful

I have always owed Ford vehicles for the last 22 years; well no more. I am moving on and will never own one again! I currently own a 2008 Ford Escape in which I bought brand new in 2007. I fell in love with it from the first moment I saw it with its Kiwi green color, moonroof, and spacious interior. As soon as I test drove it, I knew I wanted it. First off it's supposed to get 28 miles to the gallon on the highway but only gets 21. It is rusted out only on the driver side front tire well (common problem I've read online) and the paint is peeling on the drivers side of the hood. The paint on the interior finishes has rubbed off on some places, and the seats have always been a nightmare to keep clean (also common complaint). I am literally scrubbing them on a weekly basis. Water even stains them. If my kids are damp from the pool, their body shape is left on the seat until I clean them. It's so frustrating! The seat belts even stain. I don't know what from because the kids do not eat or drink inside. The bolts inside are even rusted. I have always taken care of the things I own. My Escape has always been garage kept and has been washed on a weekly basis and always washed to get the snow and salt off in the winter. It only has 67,000 miles on it and the transmission is going out. It also has a chirping noise when I first start it (also common). The drivers side window goes up slow in the cold weather and sometimes will even get stuck and I will have to wait 20 minutes to roll it up inch by inch until it's completely rolled up. Customer service from Ford completely sucks. They do not care about the customer or their complaints. There have been two recalls on it and two more common problems that should be on recall. One being the rusted out paint above the drivers side tire, which is a common complaint, and there should also be a recall for the tone ring. I've had it in the shop twice for a broken tone ring which was not cheap. I was proud to buy a Ford because it was made in the USA and didn't receive a buyout like GM. Well I no longer care about that. I will be getting a Cadillac SRX soon and can't wait! This thing has knickel and dimed me and I am done. Washing my hands of Ford! F--O--R--D--Found On The Road Dead.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

DANGEROUS TO DRIVE!

Taylor, 02/11/2016
XLS 4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
19 of 30 people found this review helpful

My mother had purchased a brand new Ford Escape in 2008 and then gave it to me this year as my first car. I thought it would be safe to drive an SUV until the malfunctioning torque censor almost sent my boyfriend and I off the road at 75mph during our road trip across the U.S. I received a recall notice a few months before and had brought it in to fix the problem, It only took about 15 minutes and I was told everything was fine. Obviously this was NOT true and the auto repair shop we took it to in Nashville, TN emphasized it was VERY unsafe to drive and told me that they had done NOTHING when I brought it in the for the recall. We then took the car over to a Ford dealership close by and were told that it was going to cost us over $600 for something that should've been resolved under the recall. We spoke to customer service at Ford corporate and they said "their hands were tied" and they "couldn't do anything for us" because we already had it taken in for the recall. I'm extremely disappointed with how Ford handled this matter and I worry about other customers and their families if this were to happen to them too.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

waste of $$$$

chaz20, 02/15/2012
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

We bought this '08 Escape Limited a year ago. Big mistake! Car had really bad ride & was terrible on gas (V6). Tranny shifted hard especially going up/down hills. There must have been a crickets nest in the dash because all it did was chirp constantly, especially when cold outside. One side of dash vents blow hot/the other side cold. Ford dealer doesn't care. Basically tell you that how it is & how they are built. Unbelieveable! Traded for a CRV & was the best move we ever made!

Report Abuse

It Stinks!

Kohkum, 02/25/2010
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

We are new customers to ford vehicles and will never again purchase another! Ever!!! Every time we get this vehicle on the road we have to wear masks over our faces. The catalytic converter (we are told by the dealership) has a problem that we/they are unable to alter. Everytime this vehicle accelerates the smell insde the vehicle almost makes you dizzy. It smells like cooked S_it! The season does not diminish the degree of smell except that winter seems to augment it when we are driving on snow covered roads. Apparently no one lese has this trouble!If you have encountered this problem, please drop us a line and let us know how it was rectified if it was even rectified. Sad and Sorry Owners

Report Abuse

An overall Great car

j3rry, 01/31/2013
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I had this 2008 vehicle as a company car. I was fortune enough to have no financial association with this vehicle. I rode it hard, and put it away wet all the time. I found that this vehicle stood up to my abuse extremely well. I did have some problems with it. warranty fixed most of them. they replaced something that leaked (Can't remember what, sorry) and my acceleration pedal failed on me once around 15,000km. This was repaired.

Report Abuse

My dream suv turned nightmare

marlanea, 11/18/2010
13 of 21 people found this review helpful

This vehicle ran great until just over 60 k miles, only work needed done was bad transmission cooler (recall) but the transmission in this vehicle number cd4e which is in several ford makes and models is absolute garbage, cheap, poor engineering design and totally unreliable according to many transmission specialists. The shops are full of ford escapes with bad transmissions! they barely make it through warrenty. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY on FORD! I have bought this almost brand new, have had it one year and ten months and the transmision is garbage. You are worthless to them after 60k, sorry charlie, too bad, cant help you, Sucker! I even took it in while in warrenty 58k and complained. tough.

Report Abuse

Economical, fuel efficient, roomy lil SUV

astromike, 06/29/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Editors get paid to find weak points in all vehicles. Overall I think the Escape is a "sleeper" in today's gas guzzling SUV, 4.00/gallon gas world we live in. I mean this lil SUV is known for been fairly good on fuel (19-26 mpg) and is fairly inexpesive. Yea its not perfect but the fuel efficiency alone is the prime reason I got it! As that's hard to find in an SUV. Decent factory sound sytstem, and plenty of room. I love my 08 Escape, it's fun to drive!

Report Abuse

Gas Saving SUV

Nette, 07/30/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Trouble free so far in its first 2K miles and 12 hour trip to California. Perfect fit and function for an active family. Nice size cargo space and if needed roof rack is ready for extra cargo. The SUV is not a speed demon, but I have been averaging 28 MPG. I love the fact that I climb in and out the SUV vs. crawl in and out. Loading the baby into the car seat is comfortable since I can stay standing while I buckle him into his car seat. I would highly recommend my SUV to anyone.

Report Abuse

Love my Escape, but has issues!

JLF, 04/13/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had my 08 Escape since June 07. On average it gets 20 MPG, which is suitable for me. Now, for the issues... first problem was at 24,000 miles, the tires needed to be replaced due to cupping noise despite the fact that I rotated them 3 times. Next, the water pump went at 27,000 miles. At 30,000 miles it was in the shop again for a transmission coolant leak. Also had to replace the black trim by the door windows, coating peels off. Other issues: seat fabric spots--like they've been spilled on a lot, but haven't!-looks nasty and old. Also, annoying rattle somewhere in back. I think that covers it!! Still, overall I love it! Lease is up in a year and I don't want to give it back!

Report Abuse

Good For the money

astromike, 04/20/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am a tall guy that likes alot of head/leg room, as well as cargo room. During these recession times where fuel econemy is VERY important, I figured this is the closest SUV to a car as I will find, at an afforadable price. You will average about 22/24 mpg. (4 cylinder). Which I am OK with. The exterior body design has been given a more masculine truck like appearance which I like! For a tall guy (6'1) I have ample head room. Seats could be just a bit more comfy.

Report Abuse

Recall Bad Tranny Coolers in '08 Escapes!

Sharon, 09/12/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

A local auto repair shop just told me my 2008 Escape's transmission cooler is leaking and has been for a long time. Since purchased, I've taken it to the Ford dealership where I bought it for servicing and they never mentioned this problem. This same dealership said the extended warranty expired 600 miles ago and they can't cover the repair. The dealership is asking almost $600 to repair it. I see other '08 Escape tranny cooler problems on this site. Ford needs to fix this problem. Though a loyal Ford customer for years, I will no longer be buying a Ford if the company can't replace a repeatedly defective part.

Report Abuse

Transmission Leak

unhappyfordowner , 09/30/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Took my 08 escape in today and was told the ac condenser was broke and that was why my transmission fluid was leaking. Have an 8 year warrenty on this car and ofcourse this problem is not cover because it is not part of the drive train. So now its costing me 500 dollars to fix it plus 40 to be told what the problem is. I am not happy at all with ford, if they know this is going on and not doing anything about it they are pretty much screwing us on purpose. I will keep my car but not sure I will buy another.

Report Abuse

Good Vehicle w/ some issues

Linda, 10/10/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased my Escape new and loved it, I have had small problems with it. The tires are cupping on the inside. We rotate them when we take it in for service and Ford always tells us that we need new tires but never tells us what the cause is. Another company told us it was the suspension. I also know that the shocks or struts are having issues. When you go across a dip it has a bottom out feel. The vehicle has several rattles and the seats spot w/o any reason. The black moulding around the outside windows raises up when you raise the window up and down and it won't stay down once up.

Report Abuse

"satisfied customer"

Troy Jordan, 12/24/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I received this car cas my first vehicle. I was so excited to be receiving soothing this nice for my first car. My parents said they wanted me to have something safe and reliable. So far this suv has been great true to my parents word. I bought it with 99,000 mile and i was nervous because all of the reviews said it went down hill after 70 or so. It was a rental car before me which means must have been under proper care ( regular oil changes and inspections ect..) so that easied my nerves a little. I have had it for about two years now. It is now at 140000 miles. I still have not had one single issue. I do take care of it though with oil changes and inspections. So over all im very happy.

Report Abuse

Value, man. Value.

Jimmy Balmer, 03/04/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've been very pleased with my Escape. My wife and I put 1,500 miles on an Escape that we rented in Alaska in the middle of the winter. When we got home, we bought one. It's been great.

Report Abuse

Not Bad

geop, 03/28/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Overall it's not a bad small SUV. The ride is rough as it's on a truck frame and has a small wheel base. The 4 cylinder does OK for a 4cyl. It does need to shift out of over drive climbing up inclines on the highway. The seats are a bit stiff. There is enough room for me as I'm 6 ft. I like the fact that you can open the back window without having to open the hatchback to load small items.

Report Abuse

Nice and affordable

lou, 04/09/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I leased this vehicle for 3 years. I drive a good distance to work so I budgeted in the lease 18000 miles a year. This vehicle was the V6 XLT with tow package. I tow 2 snowmobiles and this fit perfectly. This also only had FWD. Window sticker stated 18-24 mpg. I can say I average 22-23 on combined city and hwy between work. I average 26-27 on the hwy on long trips. Over all I did like the vehicle. It was reliable and did exactly what I wanted. It has been to Canada twice and the only thing I had to do to the vehicle is replace one of the antilock break sensors at around 40K ($200). Ford backs their products. Recently my oil cooler had a leak. Discovered at 48K miles. Ford replaced it 4 free.

Report Abuse

disgusted with 2008 escape

fedupwithit, 07/20/2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2008 Escape in June 2007, really loved the vehicle with no complaints until this year. At 84,000 miles the headliner is falling down in front and on side in cargo area, the bearings went out, the tire pressure sensor kept coming on for 2 months, the seats stain easily after turning over a vase of roses in just water and the stain wont come out. I have owned 8 new Fords with no complaints but I have become completely disgusted with this 2008 Escape and I wouldnt recommend it to anyone...it has made me consider buying a foreign vehicle for the first time in my life as my co-workers love their Hyundai Suvs

Report Abuse

Okay, Rather have something else

chewetson825, 02/27/2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought the car new in 2008 and has been a love-hate experience. The car is absolutely AWFUL on the highway, but fantastic in the snow. If we had to buy another small SUV again, i would probably go for the Honda CRV instead.

Report Abuse

Not what I expected

HelpMeEscapeIt, 05/23/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

'08 Escape XLS AWD is part of company car plan, best option of the 3 choices offered. Have had vehicle for 6 weeks, and just hit 5000 miles. Overall rate vehicle as fair. Unimpressed with engine power, cabin noise and vibration. Driver's seat is horrible, will fatigue you on short trips. Mileage is good (24 mpg on average mainly hwy). Little features missing like auto headlight shutoff, daylight running lights and seatback pockets. Had issue with vehicle starting after sitting for 2 days during first 1500 miles (imagine what might be in store after it gets 50k or more on it). I keep hoping for the best... but this isn't even close.

Report Abuse

Ahhh

it is, 04/14/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Switched from awd to 2wd -- and I'm doing alright (not needed in tx). Needed room for dogs, with better mileage than I got with my wagon. This is it! Worst case, my first mileage estimate is 27 mpg with 70 hwy/30cty. Better than expected! I had to find something under 20k, and used wasn't practical--I rack up the miles. It has my bare necessities, but I miss the seamless cargo space of my wagon (the Escape has gaps, with dangerous pins in them)--until my custom mats are made, I'll have to keep travel crates in the car. Other than that, why are they still doing drum brakes?

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050