Used 2012 Ford Edge SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$10,000 - $14,495

Used Edge for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Business Driver after 150,000 miles

tn_driver, 01/03/2014
SEL 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
45 of 47 people found this review helpful

I drive a 2012 Edge SEL as my work vehicle approx. 5000-6000 miles per month--currently has 148,000 total. Proven an excellent car. Had GMC Acadia prior to this, and though unfortunately not as large cargo capacity, the Edge has been far superior to that SUV. MPG has averaged 24.5 for entire life. No mechanical issues at all except headlamp bulb and turn signal switch. Very comfortable driving position and seating at long distance--and I should know. Only real issue has been SYNC system as relates to Bluetooth to Iphone. This performance has improved with Ford updates, but still sometimes phone to system link is faulty. Overall an excellent car--replacing with another Edge this year

Report Abuse

Wrecked it 7 Months Later, SAFE

Ashley, 01/21/2016
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

I have been in 3 wrecks in the past 18 months, and just wrecked my Ford Edge, halloween weekend, October 2015. My father insisted I buy another Ford Edge after my month was up with my rental just because of how horrible of a driver I am and the safety and durability of the Ford Edge. He insisted I buy a new Edge though because of all the issues that could possibly go wrong, buy new with a warranty. First used car and Ford I have ever bought. I bought it back in April 2015 with very few miles on it (around 30k/40k), it had never been in a wreck before me. I wrecked it with 70k/80k miles on it (travel a lot). It had everything updated and checked before I purchased it through the dealership. Never had any issues with it except the pano sunroof, the weather strip came off and I wasn't aware of it until it rained one day. Did no damage, the dealership fixed it with no hassle. And I was aware of the many issues it had before I bought it and the issues it gave the owner before me and they fixed all the issues and even put new tires on it. Apparently the driver door signal would always say it was open when it wasn't. The signal for the engine stayed on. But it never gave me any issues within the 7 months I owned it. The only thing I didn't like about it was the slow acceleration. It was very comfortable, the backseat and cargo was spacious in my opinion, I don't have any kids though. The sound system and the pano sunroof was my favorite thing about it. Im a female in my early 20's and all my friends loved it too. However, in all the wrecks I have been in, in all the different Makes, my Ford Edge, was by far the nastiest wreck (and the safest, thanks to its durability)!! I wrecked a Chevy back in March 2014, 4 car pile up on the hwy and the airbags never deployed. NOT RELIABLE. I wrecked a Kia back in Jan 2015, I was hit driver side that literally crumbled the whole driver side. CHEAP. I wrecked the Ford back in Oct 2015, head on collision causing a 4 car pile up. SAFE.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Edge was the right choice

stokepotters, 11/25/2012
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
36 of 38 people found this review helpful

Now have appr. 6,000 miles on 2012 Edge Limited with 2.0 ecoboost and can say with confidence, this was a good buy. This vehicle offers all of the features I was looking for, with little compromise. It is a great commuter vehicle, getting 27-29 mpg, mostly highway. The 2.0 l turbo offers performance and power when needed. Technology - MyFordTouch latest version works very well and is very capable. Roominess - plenty of room for 5 adults. Camping with the family proved very doable - with use of hitch mounted carrier. Towing - pulls my medium sized boat with no problem. Smooth, quiet ride that gets high compliments from Lexus, Audi, Cadillac owners.

Report Abuse

Fantastic Edge

mtschida, 05/01/2012
SEL 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
41 of 44 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2012 Ford Edge around Thanksgiving of 2011 and wrote a review in January. Wanted to update. I drove 1200 miles through Wyoming and then the mountains of Colorado recently. While AWD Edge is rated at 25 mpg, I consistently get better mileage than that. My first long trip right after purchase was a little better than 22 mpg. Most recent trip averaged 29.4 on one tank. With wind, it dropped to 27+. Driving it daily around town and home in the country, average is 24.5. My husband, who has a heavier foot, gets the same. My mileage is so great that I wondered if they stuck the wrong engine in it.

Report Abuse

Very disappointed

joneskmaz, 05/08/2014
SEL 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have owned the vehicle for nearly 2 years and continue to be disappointed. The battery died after 1 year, brake booster went out, Vista roof rubber rails fell off driving down the freeway, then the motor wouldn't close it. Air conditioning went out May 2013 and now again this May 2014, has been recalled for the fuel line. I've had a mysterious grinding noise starting the car and it won't start then you can start it, they don't know what's wrong. The SYNC doesn't work correctly and does strange things, I spend hours at the dealer and most times they can't or won't give me a rental. I am at the point of never wanting to own another Ford and want to trade this in for something reliable.

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: