Used 1991 Eagle Talon Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,550 - $3,607

Used Talon for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

catchy title

Kirstie, 01/07/2016
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

it's a fantastic car It's now 5 stars [non-permissible content removed] Now add test driving and purchase date. 2/21/2016 - attempt to re-set clock on update email. Added Fuel Econ = great

Technology
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Talon AWD: Diamond in the Roth

Silver Talon, 08/09/2003
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately for the Talon, it always gets bad reviews from people who don't know anything about the car. I bought mine needing repairs and had NO trouble fixing the car. The typical things to watch out for when driving the 4G63-based cars: Timing Belt and the Balance Shaft Belt (small belt behind the timing.) People complain about the transfer case leak, it's under recall from Mitsubishi, people. Treat this car right, and you will have no problem with it. You will not believe how many of these cars are treated bad, and end up with problems because of it.

Report Abuse

take care of it

DaddysGurl19, 03/05/2003
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got this car with 70k miles and I'm not at 100000k. It came fully stocked and the car has been good to me. As long as you check up on your car and TAKE CARE OF IT, it will run just fine. It's great on the highway and very sporty and fun to drive. If you dont let it cool down or warm up in the mornings of course youre going to screw it up, which frankly you deserve. Like any other car you cant just run it into the ground.

Report Abuse

My two cents

screamineagle, 05/09/2002
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What a great car. While it's not the most reliable car I've owned, it's not really terible. As long as you take care of it and don't abuse it too much this car will last. The engine is completely bulletproof. The only real problem is the transmission. In the performance arena, mine is still capable of ripping up new mustangs and camaros. I have put about $1000 into it fyi. If you do get one of these cars make sure that you take care of it. Don't push that oil change for 4000 miles. With that said it's a blast and good in the snow.

Report Abuse

When to say when

grimme, 05/14/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car brand new and hoped to get 200K out of it if I took good care of it. The first 120K went well with little problems. Timing belt change and tune up. The next 60K was not so good. 2 cluches, 1 tranny rebuild, 3 alternators, a broken timing belt which means a top engine rebuild, and lots of oil leaks both engine and tranny. The paint also faded really bad on the hood and roof.

Report Abuse

Talon TSI....DREAMY

jessmulder, 05/20/2002
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had only minimal problems related to having an older car. My car is loaded and being small I find it easy to drive because its sporty and compact. The previous owner had to replace the head gasket and the timing belt has been replaced twice. Other then that, everything has ran smoothly with this car.

Report Abuse

Nothin' but a LEMON

Curlykicker, 05/27/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Within 8k miles new, the windows wouldn't roll up on track. Took it into the dealer 7 times to get them fixed. They still don't work to this day and I have to "pull" them up. I did get it up to 135mph on my way to Colorado. The car ran very well for the first 60k miles. But the tranny had to be rebuilt soon thereafter. The timing belt went out around 120k and destroyed the engine which was then rebuilt. The tranny continues to shift roughly and grind. The A/C leaks and the cruise control no longer works. The black paint on the roof is faded white. The engine had to be replaced at 150k and it does not run well either and leaks oil.

Report Abuse

TSI

TALONTSI, 05/28/2002
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I Love my Talon so much i bought 3 now, you can beat them on snow or dry gound, after a few times you can figure out most of the problems on your own, but beware, its imposable to find a mechanic that can work on them.

Report Abuse

Now Very Rare for parts

Richard, 05/23/2009
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

As of 2009 replacement parts are becoming next to impossible, electronic part failure may mean weeks with out a running vehicle. I purchased mine new in 1991 and loved it. But like having an elderly dog it comes time to put it down. "was" a great car.... If your looking at picking one up cheap, there's a reason its a good deal, you will be forking over money to your mechanic hand over fist.

Report Abuse

2.0L turbocharged, 5spd awd FUN!

Lor, 12/02/2009
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very nice vehicle. I've owned plenty of these in the pass and they've all been quite reliable. Of course that's if you can keep it in stock form. The mod bug can come in if you start.

Report Abuse

The worst car i've ever owned.

todrick, 07/11/2002
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You've seen the movie, "The Money Pit", well, it could have been about the eagle talon. mine was the 1991 tsi AWD turbo. Problems and complaints, i will try and list briefly: many oil leaks, 2 clutches in 3 years, timing belt broke early causing head damage, numerous alternators, starter, unexplained engine revs that were not fixable by any mechanics, 2 oxygen sensors, failure of the factory alarm, etc. etc. besides that: bad gas mileage, poor visibility, car is too heavy, becomes a chore to drive for a smaller person, not very comfortable interior... please, do not buy an eagle/mistsubishi/plymouth product.

Report Abuse

take care of your car

prevent matenence, 07/30/2002
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i'm more than sick of people complainin about there mitsubishi engined cars breakin down cause of the timing belt or wining about the turbo. if u check your belt about once every 3 or 4 or months 20,000 miles at least odds are that u'll find the problem before u blow the head on your motor. checkin the belt isn't difficult its a total of four screws to remove. and if u turn your car off emediatly without lettin the intercooler on the turbo cool the turbo down of course your gonna wreck it u'll do that to any turbo. i bought my car with 107000 on it and it now has 190000.

Report Abuse

mchammond's talon

mchammond2, 08/15/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My experience so far with my 1991 Talon has been okay. Except recently it has had a slight hesitation in the morning when taking off and shifting into different gears. Also the check engine light has came on and the car starts to shake and shutter then it tries to stall. I took it to a mechanic to have it computer anylized only to find out that the 1991 Eagle Talon doesn't have a memory in its computer, therefore I paid $50 for them to tell me that they couldn't get the code to the computer and the only way they could is if the check engine light stayed on. They told me that most likely it's one of the many sensors in the car.

Report Abuse

money money money

boneybunion, 12/01/2002
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 91 bronco for this thinking that the gas mileage would be excellent. It wasnt. I paded 4995 for it which was a good price because it only had about 90k. Whith in the first week I had it I had to take it in to the mechanic to fix a tranny leak $1,500. The cruise control doesnt work neither does the liter. Now theres an engine oil leak. When the turbo goes on theirs a grinding noise in the front right. It barely starts when its cold out. Theres tons of turbo lag. Also now when pushed to the floor it stalls. Dont get me wrong it handles great even at 140 mph (I have a radar detector) but if there is a extended waranty available get it.

Report Abuse

Buyer Beware

See See, 01/11/2003
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my car used and it always had a crappy tranny. I had my tranny work done under an aftermarket warrenty. Now it is in the shop getting the engine rebuilt and the syncros replaced in the tranny. The belt under the "bottom" of the timing belt screwed me up, so inspecting the timing belt doesn't really matter (in my case). I found a shop that works on nothing but Talons so that says it all but at least they will build a decent setup. Just in time for me to sell it.

Report Abuse

way to much fun

Steeltwo, 08/04/2003
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

these cars are WAAY to much fun. As stated by another rater of the car. You need to look at the belts every few thousand miles. These aren't honda's where you can just let them run and run forever without any maintence. These are moderate maintence cars. But if taken care of, onyl the tranny will fail you. From AWD launches :) to the guy who paid 1500 for fixing the oil leak in his tranny. You could have bough one for that price from RRE that was built to handle the abuse.

Report Abuse

I love my Talon it rocks

zaddy, 09/01/2003
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle has been the best on sevice and repairs.Fast and fun and very reliable.

Report Abuse

Overall, its a great car.

Neo Mobeus, 02/25/2004
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Handles very well, although oversteer can be a problem when cornering at high RPMs. Powerfull and reliable. Defenitly an eye catcher.

Report Abuse

Great little car

robt, 03/04/2004
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I Really enjoy this car, its not my 280zx but I enjoy it. great handles great, seats comfortable on the highway, gas mileage is ok. if you buy one of these things and it has less than 100k on it change the timing belt unless you have documented proof it has been done! you will be sorry if you don't!

Report Abuse

Great car!

ccut431, 06/18/2004
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall this has been a great car! While it's not loaded with power, it's still fun to drive, handles very well.

Report Abuse

Great Talon

Fitz, 03/16/2006
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sporty, zippy car. It's been very reliable for me and still running strong at 184,000 mi. Standard timing belt issues -- I didn't change at 75k when my mechanic told me to change and spent $1800 for my stupidity. At this age, finding a good source of used parts is key, as you will need to replace them.

Report Abuse

Research

CrazyCarl, 03/06/2003
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is a very nice car it has a lot of horse power.

Report Abuse

cool car

deltanine, 06/01/2003
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is one of the greatest cars i've ever drived

Report Abuse

fast and fun But don't last

dvsray, 03/18/2002
TSi Turbo 2dr Hatchback AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

guys who has a lot money can buy this car,cus this car will take up all your pay check. every week there is one, no two new problems. i had put in about 8 thousand dollar to fix this car, is a TSI allwheel drive,"Do not buy a Turbo car that is made by Mitsubishi" they are fast but they don't last. and crazy oil leak. the drive view are very small. Do NOT BUY this car years from 90-99. Not just me all my Mitsubishi lover friends,they all hate this car now,i'll never buy a Mitsubish made car that's including eagle talon,plymouth laser and Mitsubishi Eclipse. the are the same car for those who don't know.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050