Used 1996 Chrysler Town and Country Minivan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$925 - $1,608

Used Town and Country for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Been there, done that.

KC Boy, 07/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I reluctantly gave up my Honda Accord for a bigger ride in the T&C. Overall, it's proven to be a feature rich vehicle with lots of room for kids and gear, but is a disappointment due to numerous (though minor) quality problems and performance issues. (It seems to take as long to go from 60-0 as it does to go from 0-60.) Since I now consider myself "over the minivan thing", I plan to bite the (enormous) depreciation bullet and trade for a Honda/Toytoa product asap.

Report Abuse

Repairs galore

JB96, 07/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Van was purchased used from used car dealer at 36,000 miles. We bought an extended warranty which paid for itself the first two years. The air conditionning system is a design disaster that has been repaired or replaced 4 times. The last time it took 2 days and over $850 to get it fixed. Tires wear our fast, brakes need to be done frequentlky, the electrical system acts up, water pump failed, the starter failed, went through 2 batteries. Never buy a Chrysler again.

Report Abuse

Sick and broke

G-Daddy, 09/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Was attracted to the design. What a shocker I was in for. Under warranty we had all the door locks worked on several times, but always a different problem. Ya. Water pump went out at 51000 shortly followed by trans at 52000. Talk to anyone, I must of been the only one that didn't know about there trans problems. Think that they are in cahoots with the service agencies. 2 batteries a starter and wacked out wipers. Never will buy another Chrysler/Dodge product again!!!

Report Abuse

Extended Warranty, Brute?

NotLeeIacoca, 10/19/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great van to look at and very fun to drive. It is loaded with features and is very comfortable with a family of 4. We load it up and go on 2 week vacations. Very, very good vehicle for long vacations. Everything is great when its working. We are on our third trans, it goes through brakes (pads AND rotors) like buttah. The radio has a mind of its own (it sounds great though) ($400 bux for a recon at the dealer). The A/C has been completely redone, both windows in the back have new motors, the power mirrors have new motors, the front end has new stablizer bars, etc.

Report Abuse

Chrysler Lemon

Scottie, 02/09/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Wish Chrysler had got the quality up to the comfort & special features they included in their 1996 Town & Country Mini-van. When it is running it is an absolute joy to drive, but all the high priced repairs subtract from all the positive things I could say about the Van. Tranny replaced, each of the front windows have fallen into the door, replaced both headlamps because you couldn't see at night, AC has slow leak, it "dings" for 4 minutes without any indication as too what is wrong, now the final straw - the Powertrain computer module is out. I'm going to do a better job researching the next vehicle I purchase and Chrysler will be the last one on my list.

Report Abuse

Last Chrysler

DPC T&C, 11/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Water pump went out at 36K and half way home from family vacation, sliding door locks broke, sliding door catches broke (if you are on an incline it will break your leg...you don't want to bend over and lean in..take your head off, front power windows broke, WIPER blades have a mind of their own..come on anytime. Chews up the tires..never get normal wear even with alignments. Power steering problems. Transmission hasn't gone yet but we're prety sure it will. Will not buy another Chrysler

Report Abuse

This is a great vehicle!

Hendy, 09/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is our second Chrysler van (the first was an 89) and they really did their homework. It is not only comfortable but fun to drive. Get one with the 16" wheels and 3.8 engine and get ready for a people hauler/sports car. You won't be disappointed. We just took ours (with 103,000 miles) on a 1000 mile trip and it performed well and all five of us stayed comfortable for all 16 hours!

Report Abuse

transmission tyrant

frustrated, 02/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

same ole problem the transmission brought in several times, now extended warranty about to end, and need to suck it up and trade and suffer the loss. Phantom wipers, just turn on when they feel.

Report Abuse

Style Galore

futrdr, 03/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Beautiful van, only wish A/C worked like it was supposed to -- had to have various parts of system replaced several times. Seats are comfy, and ride is wonderful. Classic styling with chrome grille and wheels. Dash styling is great -- easy to read gauges and easy-to-find controls

Report Abuse

96 Chrysler LXI Town & Country

Phoenixiv, 01/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Vehicle was excellent in performance, comfort, average economy. Transmission failure, front pump replaced under warranty but performance was never the same. Lacked snap and response. Torque convertor failed at 96,000 miles. Splined sheared damage to internals. Dealer repaired, noisy, never right. Wipers worked erratic, Air bag warning light erratic, clock spring bad.

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050