Used 1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$784 - $1,819

Used Sebring for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

1998 Chrysler Sebring (Limited)

chrysler777, 09/29/2011
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

This Sebring is the first generation sebring and in my opinion the best! It is an affordable convertible that is not boring to look at or drive by any means. It has a refined transmission with plenty of power but pretty good mpg. If you are in the market for a convertible consider this one.

Report Abuse

My Sebring Experience by JW

JW, 02/28/2002
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Main issue was reliability. Two top motors. Then rear window defogger kept coming off (7 times). Then steering column locked. Had to have it towed. Final straw was the transmission started shifting erratically. Dealer replaced mounts. Few days later no transmission. New torque converter, no credit for mounts. Two weeks later transmission starts to slip (had 70K miles on it at this point). Am 56 years old, take care of my cars.

Report Abuse

After 80000 miles

Robert W. Porter, 11/07/2004
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

After 80000 miles and 7 years later, the body is still in excellent shape and the paint still shines. But the tie-rod ends go bad and then break, yes I said break, so you cannot steer when they break and could cause an accident. So have them replaced as soon as you buy one of these cars, or have the owner do it before you buy. The cross over tube in your cooling system deteriorates and needs to be replaced, kind of pricey. The rear defogger hasn't worked since I bought the car. The tranny is geared high so you don't get the full effect of the 168hp V6. And the computer puts the engine at idle once you hit 105mph. Doesn't go any faster unless you can get the rev limiter shut off.

Report Abuse

Just bought and LOVING it!!!

takes2tutango, 03/18/2011
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

So, I have only owned my Sebring for 3 days now and I really don't have a lot to base reliability on as of yet but, I can say I am thrilled with this car more every time I open the door, start the engine and head out on the open road. I looked at numerous BMW's prior but, none came close to the comfort and features for the money. I needed something that my two kids could fit in as well and they thought every BMW we test drove felt too cramped. Now, I am not in any way saying that BMW isn't a great car but, for the money I am LOVING this Sebring. I will keep you informed as to whether I still love it in six months and then a year too. Right now she's got 123,000 miles and looks brand new.

Report Abuse

20 years of highly reliable service

Dave, 11/17/2015
JXi 2dr Convertible
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We bought this car new in June of 1998, as an anniversary present to my wife. It has been a totally reliable, trouble free vehicle in 150,000miles. Aside from regular normal maintenance, the car has never been in the shop for repairs. Garage kept all it's life, the original top lasted 16 years - top material was stil good, but the threads in the seams began to fail. No rust. Leather seats, carpet, etc. still appear near new. No complaints-it was driven daily for the first 10 years. She's become a garage queen in the past several years. Probably never sell it at this point. Bought a twin to it for our grand daughter several years ago, which has also been a reliable car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great First Car for Teens!

Kaylee, 05/03/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My dad bought me this car as my first, and it's been great. I've learned a lot about cars by owning it, with the typical breaks here and there (Such as coolant plugs going out, probably due to un-adult driving before me. The window motor broke, and was fairly easy to replace with my dads help.) The car has really has taken a beating, and still remains reliable and loyal. Even when I got into a fender bender, the car still ran wonderfully, and didn't have any mechanical damage when hit on the drivers front fender at 20MPH. The parts were easy to find. It's a fun, fairly safe car, and great for a first car.

Report Abuse

JXI Limited Convt

SparkDog74, 05/11/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just bought the Limited model with the indiglo style dash, white faced gauges, and autostick. Love the car, gets attention you want and none that you don't. Two toned interior 2.5 is peppy not powerful. Chrome wheels are a nice touch, but expect the tires to be a little spendy. Just bought and putting it through its paces. Infinity sound systems is good, wish cd changer would read cd/rw formats. Looking for interior parts, I imagine they will be hard to find.

Report Abuse

My First Car

Hannah, 01/04/2016
JXi 2dr Convertible
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I had a 1998 Chrysler Sebring JXI Convertible as my first car and it was so beautiful. This car gave me some trouble when parts of the engine went bad and slowly each part went bad. This car handles poorly in the snow but that could have been due to my tires. The break sometimes wouldn't be able to be pressed, which is a problem among Chrysler, but was fixed. I bought this car for 3500 and put more than that into it with repairs. This car handled damage well. I had hail damage which was almost unnoticeable due to the metallic paint job. I was in one minor fender bender when I slid on ice and hit another car. My car only had scratches on the bumper where the other car was dented in. I had my second accident in it which totaled it when I slid on ice and collided with 2 other cars. This car is very sturdy and kept me safe inside the car while taking the impact of 2 cars, one of which was while I was stationary and was a head on collision. This car is built strong! This car has poor gas mileage and one of my speakers blew out when I don't listen to my music that loud.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car I've owned

Dennis, 01/02/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2000 with 30,000 miles on it. I have only done expected repairs (brakes, tires, battery, timing belt, oil changes) and one unexpected repair (starter motor at 60,000 mi.). I think the Mitsubishi V6 engine has a lot to do with the reliability. I get 24 mpg combined with I think is pretty good for a 10 year old car. This has been a trouble free car. It now has 144,000 mi and the engine makes a little bit of lifter noise. People complain of the squeaks, but I don't think it is any noisier than other convertibles I have owned.

Report Abuse

electrical mess

sheila grames, 06/04/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had electrical problems since 55K miles. Rear defrost broke several times. In the shop every two months for electrical problems. Seat handle broke. 3 batteries in the car. (engineers dont know where the drain of the battery is coming from. ( no help at all) I take great mechanical care of my car.. I cant help that it has electrical problems. I give this car a 1.0 on dependability. I have heard many chrysler owners complain of electrical problems with these cars.

Report Abuse

Piece of Crap

George R, 06/25/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new for my wife. She loves it - I hate it. It has 35000 miles on it and this is what we have had to have done: Numerous leaks in the convertible top, 3 sets of front rotors and pads, both door straps, head gasket (!), timing chain and emissions control computer. I have never had a car with so many problems. Still doesn't run right. I take very good care of my cars and this is what we got from Chrysler. I also had a 97 Intrepid ES - great car but then I got a 99 Intrepid ES - piece of crap also. Chrysler, you have a problem!!

Report Abuse

Fun and Comfortable

oldschooldevil, 05/26/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just bought this car about a year ago and it has been a great car. I bought it from a guy and he sold it for $800. NOTHING is wrong (surprise, surprise) It is a lot of fun to drive and it looks great even with the top up or down. This car is very dependable and it has even made me think about getting a new Sebring when this one finally gives out. And that I highly doubt! For a 12 year old car, it is highly modern inside and out. I love the stock sound system and the way it drives. I will continue to take good car of it and I'm sure it will take good care of me. Greatest investment yet.

Report Abuse

Not Bad, But Could be Better

mbistoocool, 06/30/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Overall a very fun vehicle to own. Mine is a 1998 and still gets admirers. Build quality is just ok. I too have had my rear defroster come loose several times and now I dont even bother getting it fixed anymore. Starter went bad, and im worred about the transmission, it hesitates a little from first to second. But other than that it is a very nice car.

Report Abuse

Junk!

L.A. Mark, 07/30/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought the car two years ago with 29K on it. Have had the car in the shop 6 times in 2 years. Repairs run from simple electrical to broken suspension pieces that left me stranded on vacation. Front left wheel makes a thunking sound over speed bumps or rough roads and the dealer says they hear and feel it but can't find it. They keep saying its the brakes ( funny you said the same thing 5,000 miles ago when YOU replaced them!) Basically a good looking, comfortable car, with poor handling and Horrid build quality. First American made car I've owned in 15 years and will be the last one I ever own

Report Abuse

Granny's new ragtop

Jennie Robbins, 08/05/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

For a seven yr old car it has plenty of get up and go. People notice it. I bought it on line, and drove it home (1,000 miles) with no problems. It is smooth shifting and has plenty of power for this 60 yr old grandmother. I prefer it to my vintage corvette.

Report Abuse

My favorite car

Angie, 05/26/2017
JXi 2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

At only 109,000 miles, mechanically great. I can't wait to fix cosmetic things now. I love the slap stick transmission, even though it took me years to learn it was there.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Worst Car that you could ever imagine

ashok.manthina, 07/28/2004
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is the worst Car that you could ever imagine to own. I have only 68k on this car now, and maybe spent more than $4k in repairs. And don't ever buy any car at LITHIA COLORADO JEEP 505 S HAVANA ST DENVER CO 80012 Chrysler dealer in Denver. He lied through his teeth about the warranty that he sold me.

Report Abuse

super soft-top

bjnet, 08/24/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

a full 5 seater. very comfortable and reasonable performance. so far very reliable. car lives up to the promise of being a well priced easy to use convertible with no real drawbacks

Report Abuse

Not Bad

GB, 06/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No problems so far. Runs and looks great. I still love the platinum color on my JXI Limited. My only complaint is the stupid cup holders. Come on! Can't fit my Big Gulp in there.

Report Abuse

Fun and Reliable

oldschooldevil, 06/08/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car as a second car and I ended up falling in love with this car. It looks, drives, and feels very modern for a 12 year old car. There are some things that are starting to fail (radio, door locks what do you expect with a 12 year old car?) Other than that the engine runs great and the car over all is very solid and reliable. When this car finally gives out I'm considering buying a new Sebring cause this one is so solid. But for now I will continue to take care of this car and I'm sure that it will continue to be the best car I have ever had!

Report Abuse

Best Car Ever

Joey, 07/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you are lookin' for a great used vehicle, your in buisness w/ a 1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible. My father got me one for my 17th birthday and i love it!

Report Abuse

Roomy, affordable and fun to drive!

kaz, 07/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great experience with Sebring jxi convertible...bought new and now has 50,000 miles. Convertible top easy to use and has never had a problem. Interior(two-tone leather) looks great after 3 1/2 years. Lots of room in trunk and back seats. Only problems: hard to start when gas is under a quarter tank, changed brake pads once, warranty covered cracked emergency brake handle, and just had to fix a broken oil gasket, re-alligned & rotated tires, and replaced one tire. Total spent on maintenance - no more than $800(with extended warranty). Not bad, considering majority of that was last month with 45,000 mile check up. Great car!

Report Abuse

"OH MY GOD, I THINK THE DOOR FELL OFF!"

skikid787, 03/02/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have never seen more cowl shake in a convertible in my life. This is the most losely assembled car I have ever seen. I like the clever exhaust note, two tone leather seats, and the green gages at night. That is no exception for pathetic performance in a convertible. I won't even get into the first time I went over train tracks with the car.

Report Abuse

1998 Seibring jx convertible

woodrow ban, 01/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Dealership great. Car underpowered. Needs the v-6. Milage unimpressive. Cornering sluggish. Mechanically poor. Head gasket at ~60,000. After a fight, Chrysler did do a good-will adjustment. Outer tie rod ends at 65,000. Way too soon. No grease fittings on originals or replacements. Electrical window switches have required replacement twice. Internal headlight aimer failed. Ended up illuminating the telephone wires. Not repairable, needed a ~$250 headlamp module. Interior panels crack and break.

Report Abuse

Excellent

Seth , 01/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car performs exceptionally well all around. I was in an accident where I was hit in the side by a large truck, and I was plesantly (HA HA) surprised by how well it with stood the impact.

Report Abuse

goodtimes with the top down

sean, 11/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i bought this car used with 58,000 miles. i have the limited edition with the 2 tone leather. it's been a blast to drive and it looks great ! had to put in a new ac unit last month for $1000.00 , but hey, it's seven years old and sill looks brand new. i would buy another.

Report Abuse

Still looks (& drives) good after 5 yrs.

divinemsm, 03/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Sebring convertible has held up rather well, aside from a couple of minor body dings. When it's cleaned and waxed, it still looks great. And it runs and handles very well. So far I've had to replace only two things: (1) a tire that took a nail in the sidewall at 9,000 miles; (2) I just had to replace the original battery after a spell of very cold weather. I've owned 3 Chrysler convertibles in the past 17 years (1 bought as a repo, 2 bought new), and this one is the best- built yet. I'm not planning to buy a new car for a couple of years, but I'll have to look at Sebrings again if I decide to buy another ragtop.

Report Abuse

great used ride

TX22, 07/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I liked it right off...nice car.problems are nile, 99K as of now and have not had to do one thing except tires and brakes. Key was weird once, nothing happened, there is a fuse that burns out that triggers everyhting. I would another one for sure

Report Abuse

Sebring Conv. - fun car/fun drive

nitneelyin, 09/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Car has been a pleasant surprise. Expected road noise with a convertible and I got it, but the ride is superb, even after 134,000 miles. Gas mileage runs 24-27. The OEM Michelin tires got 60,000 miles, so did the second set and I'm on #3. Back seat is useless for anyone except small kids. Trunk is okay, but not roomy. Battery placement (I changed it once) is horrendous, in the wheelwell on the front driver side, what an engineering screw-up. Stereo was clear and loud even with the top down. Bottom line, it's been a fun car with the top down or up!

Report Abuse

Problem free fun car

Poptop, 03/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I drive it year-round. Bought it as a 1 yr. old Hertz rental car. Have 96K miles on it and not one mechanical problem. Looking to purchase another one soon. Love it!

Report Abuse

Love it when it works

Paul G., 03/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

fun car; however, have had some problems with fuel pump, major steering assembly repair, and ignition/electrical issues.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050