Used 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,995 - $14,995

Used Silverado 2500HD for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Rig

bw626, 08/21/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is a nice rig, it looks good and is very powerful. The interior is roomy and comfortable for long trips. I pulled a 73 Cougar in my trailer with it and got only 6 MPG, but hey, it's a truck, don't expect Prius gas mileage. This is the best truck out there and there is nothing I would change about it, except I wish I got leather in mine.

Report Abuse

farm truck

Jerry Roth, 02/18/2017
LTZ 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It drives well on ice and snow

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just keeps purring

Mr. Jorgensen, 09/12/2018
LT2 4dr Crew Cab SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Diesels cost more to maintain, but no gas engine can match the power and rugged durability. The Allison transmission is bullet proof. 200,000 miles so far with original brakes, exhaust system, and serpentine belt. Cab and upholstery still good, but minor signs of age after 11 years. Can easily get another 150,000 miles./

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Newly Purchase Chevy Silverado 2500HD

dvkiel, 11/24/2014
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have recently purchased a good used 2007 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab, long bed truck with 33,000 original miles on it. I have only had it for about a month now but so far it appears to be everything that I am going to need in a truck. It has the 6.0L Vortec engine in it so it should handle the 23' 5th wheel that we are purchasing as well, pretty easily. The truck runs fine, rides pretty smooth (for a truck) and handles fine. I'm getting about what I would expect a truck of this size to get on mpg, averaging 12.6 on the first 4 tanks of gas. I expect lower once we start pulling the 5th wheel.

Report Abuse

It really is the truck

thelegs, 04/25/2007
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

What an amazing truck. I have had it for a little over a month and put almost 3200 miles on it. New Duramax is incredible. Very little turbo lag. Everything about this truck is the way a truck should be. All the toys and finally a power rear slider integrated trailer brake rear parking assist. Navigation is easy to use and ride is actually improved

Report Abuse

'07 2500 LTZ Dmax 4x4 Std Bd Crew

tmac6, 06/04/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just got this truck last week. Very comfortable to drive. Power is amazing, particularly off the line. Very quiet. Won't fit in the garage as it is too tall and long. A bit disappointed with the Bose sound system. Nice but certainly not audiophile quality. Nav system very user friendly. In new body style, they changed the passengers dome light from an airliner reading light to a more generic light. Result is that the light cannot be turned away from driver at night resulting in too much glare.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Cliff, 05/25/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After having two Z71 Suburbans, I gave in and purchased a truck that could pull my 30ft. RV and still be driver in the city. This is a great truck, quality is tops. I have almost 4000 miles and have not had any problems. I have also noticed that once the truck warms up, the mileage is not bad for a big gasoline engine. I have averaged 16 on the road and around 13 in town. Considering the size, power etc. this is not bad. The six speed transmission is great for pulling. My RV weighs in at about 7500lbs and you can't even tell it's there. I have driven in North Carolina pulling the trailer in the mountains with no issues. I haven't missed my Suburban.

Report Abuse

Great power with Duramax diesel

adamska, 11/15/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just put 6000 miles on our 07 2500HD crew cab with the Duramax diesel. We replaced our 2004 Silverado 1500 for towing our toy hauler, which is 10,000+ lbs when loaded with bikes. It tows with ease, very comfortable even up steep grades. Handeling is good, corners well too. The cabin is also much nicer, leather on seats is thicker than on our 04 truck. Overall interior fit and finish just as nice as any import. The trailering mirrors are great, much bigger than previous and with smaller miror on bottom. I can now actually see cars in blind spots. Overall we are very happy with our upgrade to the 2500 HD with Duramax diesel, just a great truck.

Report Abuse

Great redesign

so cal moto, 11/20/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We just turn 6,000 miles on our 07 2500HD crew cab with Duramax diesel and we love this truck. We traded in our 04 1500 extended cab for this truck. We looked at the 07 2500 classic trucks, but glad we waited. Vast improvement inside & out, higher bed sides on outside, completely new interior inside, no more cheap plastic pieces. Thicker leather on seats, great new dash with radio that can mix memory between FM, AM & XM for each "FAV" setting. Towing is incredible, beats any gas engine, any size. You can barely tell you are towing, very comfortable, able to tow our trailer up Mammoth upgrade on 395 with cruise control on, passing all the sad little gas engines on the side of the road!

Report Abuse

always in the shop

Chris, 07/06/2009
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle to tow a travel trailer which it did very well in the beginning. I dont have a lot of room so I'm going to list the parts that have been replaced on my truck at 50,000 miles.Front Locking Hubs,Pressure Relief valve,Rear end,Complete Engine with turbo,Turbo,Front axle, I paid $38000 for this truck and am now over $13000 deep in repairs the warranty would not cover the engine they said I drove through to deep of water and it sucked it into the intake from the bottom,bad investment on my part I guess these 4x4's arent supposed to leave the pavement.

Report Abuse

My big beast

Ginoclock, 06/29/2009
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought new to tow 5th wheel. 6.0 liter gas engine/auto tranny/cloth interior. Getting 14mpg around town (speeds range from 60mph to 30 mph, stop and go) Have not had an unladen trip on the highway yet so I don't know the mileage there but will by the end of July - I'm hoping for 18mpg. Paint is thin and scratches very easily - a big disappointment for me. Interior is dated; exterior is boxy, reliability has been good but I only have 6k on the the beast. Build quality is average. Ride is stiff even at 50psi in the tires. It does have power! Lookout boys, it's gonna unwind!

Report Abuse

Wish I got it in 4x4

StAnBu, 11/14/2018
LTZ 4dr Crew Cab LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have the LMM engine in the not classic body style. The truck was purchased in Texas where we didn't necessarily need 4x4. Live in Utah now where I wish I had it. I would keep it if it had 4x4. I have the Banks Power Pack installed (ram air scoop/cold air intake, Banks airfilter, Banks exhaust package, Six Gun tuner) and I get almost 18 MPG if I drive conservatively. If I drive like I want, I get about 17.5 mpg. I drive this truck everywhere...it is my daily. Because of the Banks aftermarket parts, I will outpull my dad's 2014 stock GMC 3500HD duellie. And you can't beat the Allison tranny. Now for the bad. The tire pressure sensors have crapped out and they are $180 each to replace. I have the typical cracks in the dashboard and they are only getting bigger. The interior door handles have the chrome peeling off which cuts fingers. The brake lines wore out earlier this year and needed to be replaced (made the brakes or power steering fail intermittently). I had a rear axle seal go bad and had to get that fixed. Both of those repairs cost me $1800 combined. I thought it was the brakes so I replaced the brakes and rotors but ended up not needing too (the brakes could have gone another 50k miles easy). I seem to go through fuel filters like candy. I also had to recently replace the seals in the fuel filter housing. $20 for the parts and they came with instructions. Some of the plastic parts on the exterior (like the bumpers on the doors) are falling off because the adhesive is old or simply due to age. The water tubes for the sunroof are clogged so I get leaks in the interior when it rains really heavy. Some of the interior plastics are wearing out. The side mirror retracting system and parking assist (side mirrors angle down) don't work anymore. Despite all of these issues, I would keep this truck if it was 4x4. The wife is asking that I find a more fuel economic vehicle as I go through a tank of diesel once a week. Nearly $70 in fuel each week is a bit of a downer...still...I would keep it if it was 4x4.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050