Used 2006 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$35,900 - $37,989

Used Corvette for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Retired and in heaven!

FSTOLMAN, 07/20/2008
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I've owned a couple of Corvettes years ago and I enjoyed them. I'm retired now and couldn't avoid purchasing a two year old 2006 Z06 with 3,600 miles. Even my wonderful wife was so mezmerized with this car, she said buy it! The car is perfect and I am totally amazed with how great this Z06 is. Great looks, great power, fantastic handling and performance. I don't need to quote the stats. The car is a thrill every time I get behind the wheel. When I just look at it in my garage, I feel like I am in heaven.

Report Abuse

The Affordable Supercar

BikerJoe, 09/13/2009
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

The Z06 is truly a supercar that not only performs as well as cars costing hundreds of thousands, but beats most of them on the track and around town. I demand performance and drive mine fairly hard. My Z06 never lets me down, whether zipping through the curvy mountain roads at insane speeds or in stoplight to stoplight g-force fun. Also, I don't know where the mpg rating comes from in this listing, but I never get lower than 21-22 mpg average for a tank, and I get about 28-29 while cruising the highways at 74 mph. On a recent trip to Kentucky, I drove for 1200 miles and averaged 25 mpg, even though they were very mostly hard-driven miles. Interior is only okay. Build quality is awful.

Report Abuse

Idaho Z06

idaspud, 04/26/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Acceleration is unbelievable, control and cornering is excellent, ride comfort is good, interior quality is mediocre at best. Gas mileage is great too, get around 32 on the highway. Most fun car to drive I have ever had and I'm 66.

Report Abuse

"Z06"...whats left to say

Nomad, 11/15/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

As with most American boys...I have always dreamed of a Corvette. I have owned several BMW's, Camaro's, a Mustang, and a Trans-Am/Formula Firebird (original 6.6) My RED 2006 Z06 is by far my favorite. I have had people get out of their car in a bank drive through to look at it. I had several grown men ask to get a picture of them standing next to it...and its an AMERICAN car...WOW! I get more people looking at it on a daily basis than any car I have owned...Including the BMW's. I love the fact I can drive it everyday...with the only exception being in the snow.

Report Abuse

Bad machine

PATRICK, 10/20/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my fifth Vette, 61,66,78,96 & 06 and this is the best overall. Speed, performance, looks, and good ole American muscle. Compared to foreign cars this one is a steal and a head turner. Congrats to gm and more importantly the corvette division. Great job, keep ‘em coming and make the Vette live on, for ever and ever.

Report Abuse

it could have been great

scoundral, 12/19/2009
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Chevy missed its chance. Cheap typical American car interior and materials. If the sun is out you cannot see the Nav. Talking about the Nav. it seemed about three years out of date when the car was new. Chevy needs to learn from Japan. The sound system has the same issue, just ok when it could have easily been great for not much more money. Sorry no I-Pod connection here. Controls are not on wheel either, this had become the norm on a new car. Run flats hold ok but create a hard ride, last 18000 and cost $500. each. My tranny was fine then just failed, in shop for 6 weeks and now 200 miles later has failed again. Thank god for my extended warranty. lots of little problems.

Report Abuse

Excellent Corvette

justin, 09/14/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is the best car I have ever had. It drives like I want it to, but the only thing I don't like about it is the personal design of the car. Thanks for making such a car I love it I hope y'all will one day come up with even a better design than that is.

Report Abuse

Unreal

ELEANOR, 12/08/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

What an experience! Just picking up this beauty at the dealership was an experience. Had to go to NY to get this baby, was too much over list here in Miami. Drove car straight through overnight back to Miami from NY to avoid snowstorm. This is the car I have been waiting for my whole life. Had the 1969 427 with trips - brand new when I was young. What a difference between a 69 with the SAME 7 liter displacement and this new beauty. Don't know how they got the mileage from this new LS7 engine, remember very POOR mileage on my first Vette. Got so many stares and looks and the SOUND is INCREDIBLE! Every stop during trip home, found people standing around admiring the car. SOOOOO HAPPY!

Report Abuse

Not A Car for Everyone

Dale , 02/05/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is not a car for everyone and it was not intended to be. This is a car for car enthusiasts who not only tolerate a firm ride and aggressive exhaust but demand it. I hear of buyers who want to quiet the car and make it more comfortable to drive. Give me a break. Why did you buy this car in the first place? After GM spent millions making the car lighter these buyers add sound deadening material. If your not used to driving high performance cars don't buy this car or be prepared to learn since traction can be difficult to come by even with traction control on. Also, you guys that have to ride around in plush leather living room furniture buy a Maserati.

Report Abuse

A great sports car

TJ Becker, 05/10/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This Corvette is by far the best sports car that I have ever owned. I have many things from a Porche to a Ferrari, but this tops them all. It has the perfect amount of manuvuability and performance to satisfy anyone's needs. It is the ultimate sports car. I would recommend it to everyone.

Report Abuse

New Z06

JACK SENN, 07/22/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Z06 is the best car I've ever driven. The power is unbelievable. The fact that I can take a Lamborghini Gallardo or a Ferrari F490 in an American car that costs a third of what those two do is amazing. The styling is incredible, the ride is smoother than the 911 4s, or the BMW M6. This car is the real deal. My 505 hp 7.0l engine is getting about 22 miles to the gallon. This is all around the best car on the market for the money.

Report Abuse

Youwantthis

Mike Smith, 03/21/2017
Z06 2dr Coupe (7.0L 8cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Powerful and Exciting Machine

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

beenfun

Been Fun, 08/05/2018
Z06 2dr Coupe (7.0L 8cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

great car

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loaded corvette coupe

Don Byk, 10/26/2018
Z06 2dr Coupe (7.0L 8cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great car with every option available. However with both a supercharger and turbocharger the car is way too fast for me

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Problems with owning an '06 Z06 Corvette

alenatasevich1, 02/08/2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had nothing but problems with this car. Starter needs replacing. I had on road assistance called twice because the car didn't start. 2 & 1/2 months of owning this car and I'm informed that the "engine is cracked". I speak with mechanics & the dealership and I'm informed that this happened on installation at the factory as there was overtorquing that cracked the lower engine block. I was shown the problem visually. It's as clear as day which is another testimony to GM's & Chevrolet's quality control which is anything but. Nevertheless, they refuse to replace the car although its obvious that the car was delivered defective. GM is willing to replace the engine.

Report Abuse

Z06, a race car for the street.

Terry, 10/21/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

427 cubic inches with 505 horsepower and 475 ft. lbs. of torque in a 3100 lb package. The car is absolutely awesome in acceleration, braking, handling. I have owned 6 Corvettes in the past. This is by far the baddest production Corvette produced so far. The torque of the engine is seamless from idle to it;s 7,000 rpm redline.This vehicle's performance is spectacular. It is almost unbelievable this car is so docile and easy in bumper to bumper traffic as it is right at home on the race track doing 150mph plus. The 6 piston calipers up front with 14" rotors and the 4 piston calipers with 13.5" rotors making stopping unbelievable. On the race track there is absolutely no fad.

Report Abuse

Straight shooter

IcesStraight, 10/29/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car pulls no punches and I love it! The steering wheel is too close to the driver's head and is sure to send many to the hospital when the airbag deploys.

Report Abuse

Jim's 2006 z06

Jim, 11/05/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My car is a Black 2006 Z06. I drove the car off the showroom in Long Beach Ca to Modesto CA. 300 miles of fun. A very cool car. Looks great and other people always looking at it. It drives like a race car. Very powerful. The car will take off. Very comfortable interior and the touch screen navigation/stereo is very fun

Report Abuse

Super Car by Anyone's Definition

Chip Cochran, 04/22/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is unbelievable! One stomp on the gas at 3,500rpm or higher is the thrill of a lifetime - under 3,500 - fun and tame! Great gas mileage and the power is extreme if you demand it. Fabulous build quality and design. I have never had a car I enjoyed more. I will keep this the rest of my life as a weekend fun machine. Can't believe I actually got one - 2nd one my dealer got. Only waited 7 months.

Report Abuse

My fourth Corvette and best

Bill, 04/24/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the ultimate Corvette. I had an '03 Z06 which was nice but couldn't hold a candle to the 427 rocket.The folks at Chevy have given us a vehicle that I don't mind paying sticker for. This is the "baddest" Vette ever. I can't say enough nice things about this car. My wife thinks this car is to powerful. Keep it comming Chevrolet.

Report Abuse

The best car ever made in the US

My5th vette Jamil, 06/18/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is so much fun to drive, handles turns very well it's like a stealth jet. This is my 5th vVtte and by far the best ever made. The biggest downfall is the mark up dealers put on these cars. Other than that the car is a ten. By far the best ever. 505 hp is enough for the averge Joe like me! If you can afford the car then is a must to have .

Report Abuse

Over the top

blemley, 03/02/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my third Z06. I must say that I have been very surprised by the level of quality in the whole car. Every feature has been tweaked, improved or replaced. The interior is top notched. Every surface feels better to the touch. Since this one is based on the coupe it will now will allow me to carry larger items in the back which is amazing for a super car. This car is very efficient, comfortable, fast, affordable and athletic. The list of exotic materials in this car is simply amazing. The powerplant is this car is built with incredible strength and ability. I drove other cars in its performace range but the Z06 out shines them overall.

Report Abuse

The Best Corvette I Ever Owned

Kirby, 03/04/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 15th Corvette (first one, a '57, in 1959). It is without any question the best in every category. Performance is awesome, and my gas mileage is above the published values.

Report Abuse

The closest thing to a fighet jet

Sound of Speed, 04/01/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is an amazing car! 70 grand and able to beat Ferrari's, Lambo's and some of the world's fastest cars. It can turn in with the best of them and then run on the straight lines. 0-60 in just 3.8 seconds is what I was able to pull off. I took this car to the track an I was ahead of cars that cost in excess of 100K. I love the Head Up Display (HUD), it allows you to see your RPMs and speed without your eyes leaving the road, everything is in the perfect place, shifter, pedals, steering wheel and the seats hold you in while you pull those 1G turns an still allow you to be comfy on long drives. Gets looks from everyone and sounds great. Turn the HUD on and floor it at the stop light

Report Abuse

Ron's Z06

CorvetteRon, 05/26/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Velocity Yellow 2006 ZO6 is my 14th Corvette and is the best of the group by far. I owned a couple of ZR1s and 3 Z06s and there is no comparison to this beast. Chevy keeps improving the Vette with each generation and each model year. The car is as tame or as wild as you want it to be. It is great around town or on the road.

Report Abuse

Wow! 505hp Super car

Bob Burns, 05/26/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned fast cars, but this car is in the super fast class. What a fun car to drive everyday. Driving slow or fast this car will make you very happy. If you can find one.....Buy it!

Report Abuse

My Blue ZO6

My 5thvette, 07/20/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is one of the best beasts on the road. It rides like a Cadillac, but runs like a Ferrari. GMC -Chevrolet you guys have done a great job. The car runs, and runs. Handle great around the turns.

Report Abuse

results from my own Z06, 2006

Todd Harris, 10/17/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I drive my Z06, 2006 everyday. I was expecting harsh ride and bad gas mileage. I have been pleasantly surprised. I get 17 around town and 24 on the highway if I drive consertively. The car is a true supercar but totally reliable. It runs just like any other regular Corvette but the 505 horsepower is absolutely like a thrill ride at the amusement park. The worst part is replacement of the supersoft run flat tires. Insurance is not bad considering the car but I also have a perfect driving record. It runs around 1800 annually for me, a 40 year old male.

Report Abuse

What a machine

N Virginia, 10/17/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A fine quality car that I use for just about anything. Lots of luggage space and the seating area is very comfortable. I drive this car on the back road twisties, to work, and to the grocery store. The steering is precise with plenty of feedback sliding through the corners at over 1g on the heads up display. All in perfect control in a perfectly balanced car (on a track of course). The shifter is perfect as well as the pedals and steering wheel now that it adjusts fore and aft in the Z. The more you learn about this car, the better it gets. You can tell that this car has had tons of R&D.

Report Abuse

Love My ZO6

Big Gar, 11/26/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first Vette.It is truly unbelievable. It cruises the highways smoothly with no effort at all, then downshift and hold on it is gone. MPG is great, as I have made several long trips and averaged 26.7 mpg. Who needs a hybrid? The heat of the center console is tolerable for a while, then move your leg, just too hot. The faster I went in this rocket the better the handling felt. Taking mountain roads with signs saying 25 mph or 35 mph on tight curves and even hairpins at twice that speed was nothing for this car. Have had two other makes of American built so called rockets back down from this car.

Report Abuse

Great car but...

Tom Beames, 12/16/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Awesome performance but having problems with shifting from 2nd-3rd and 1st-2nd. Seems as though shifting linkage is not lined up. Some body work needed to be done by dealer. Poor alignment of right front fender, headlight, wheel well liner, etc. There also is a very noticable "mold" seam in left rear fender. Dealer wanted to buff it out and repaint. I said no. Lots of minor paint imperfections. Car is black so it shows everything. But, Lord it is fun!

Report Abuse

The best car ever

JP7, 02/02/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is amazing to drive fast, tight ,and never lets you down. It's suprisingly comfortable and has great gas mileage. GM has stood behind this vehicle and serviced it remarkably well. The people who built it had an incredible work ethic I haven't seen in a long time. Museum delivery was awsome. The handling at high speeds is also excellent. I just can't believe they put together a winner .

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050